節日活動

香港4月的賞心樂事

春暖花開的4月好時節,正好到離島和行山徑走走,享受陽光和清風,或造訪新餐廳和酒吧,嚐嚐時令新菜式以及雞尾酒。

香港的4月天氣和暖宜人,最好就是出外走走。你可以帶點食物,然後到香港最出色的市區公園野餐,登上行山徑的頂點欣賞一覽無遺的山下風景,或乘渡輪到各個離島遊覽,例如南面的蒲台島,那裡有被列為法定古蹟的天然地貌奇景,也有炮製海鮮大餐的餐廳。

Mai Po Marshes birdwatching
Credit: Shutterstock

4月22日是世界地球日,正好提醒我們要珍惜香港的大自然,可考慮動身前往新界的米埔自然保護區親親大自然。世界自然基金會定期舉辦生態導賞團,當中包括非常受歡迎的半日觀鳥團。如你對觀鳥特別有興趣,佔地60公頃的香港濕地公園亦是另一個閒適的好地點。

這個月在香港仍可以欣賞到優美的櫻花,試試到大埔海濱公園和將軍澳的香港單車館公園,後者的園區種植了11棵來自台灣和日本的櫻花樹,還有修葺工整的大草地和人工湖,景致優美。

遍嚐時令菜式

SPIGA Hokkaido scallop carpaccio, carrot-and ginger puree, oscietra caviar and puffed fregola

在這怡人時節,不妨出外享受一頓 Spiga餐廳的豐盛大餐,其全新的大廚嚐味套餐(每位688港元),利用亞洲食材炮製出別出心裁的意大利fusion菜式,例如澆上醬汁的北海道帶子刺身伴以甘筍和薑蓉,再加上Oscietra鱘魚子醬和炸珍珠麵;還有皮埃蒙特嫩牛肉他他,伴以吞拿魚醬、日曬番茄乾,鹹蛋黃和玉米粉薯條。

The Drunken Pot Causway Bay Interior

至於酒鍋則把慶祝牛年的氣氛延續到4月30日,其銅鑼灣和尖沙咀分店均推出「牛氣沖天」火鍋套餐(每位488港元),共有四款湯底以供選擇,除了傳統四川麻辣湯底外,酒鍋還推出三款全新湯底。只吃火鍋略嫌單調?餐廳窩心地推出兩小時任飲洋酒、清酒或香檳(分別另加98港元或258港元)。

Silencio Japanese restaurant cheers el primo

新派日式居酒屋Silencio的新任行政總廚Sato Kiyoshi設計的全新春季菜式,將招牌油甘魚開胃菜ham-aji帶來不一樣的新意:把油甘魚切碎製成他他,再伴以三文魚子、白蘿蔔片、青瓜和柿子混合薑味柚子汁調味;亦配合春天推出輕盈醒神的甜品,如Cheers(柚子沙冰配時令梨子、香檳啫喱和檸檬青檸泡沫)。如你有選擇困難症,不用多想,就點全新的八道菜Mizuho嚐味套餐吧(978港元),一邊欣賞現場爵士樂隊表演,一邊享用精緻的佳餚。

The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong Cafe 103 Pomellato Art of Italian Afternoon Tea

香港麗思卡爾頓酒店的Café 103於復活節推出「Art of Italian」下午茶 (供應期至5月31日,一位428港元,兩位728港元),以豐盛的滋味鹹甜美點,向奢華珠寶品牌Pomellato的意大利根源致意。雙人享用下午茶,更可獲邀到圓方商場的Pomellato精品店探索這間意大利珠寶店的精湛匠人工藝。

Smoke & Barrel Cider Glazed Baby Back Ribs

美式燒烤餐廳Smoke & Barrel 推出任食優惠,逢星期一及二晚提供燒肋骨任食和藍帶啤酒任飲晚餐,直至年底為止(每人388港元,限時90分鐘)。大廚Chris Tuthill同時亦開辦煙燻肉教室,課堂包括午餐,而你的煙燻肉製成品更可帶回家慢慢享用(每人1,200港元)。

享用醒神的新款雞尾酒涼快一下 

Zuma Nitro Espresso
Credit: G. Production www.Lcygary.com

如果和暖的春風令你昏昏欲睡,不如到Zuma走一趟,點一杯全新的Nitro Espresso Martini馬天尼雞尾酒,這杯加入了特濃咖啡和氮氣的冰凍雞尾酒,定能讓你精神大振,可玩樂到深宵。

到糖廠街市集逛逛

Tong Chong Street Market Tea Festival April 2021 Tea Academics

太古坊的糖廠街市集現已拓展成全年活動,逢星期一至五早上8點到下午3點舉行。本月的主題是品茶節(即日起至4月30日為止),雲集多間好茶攤檔,上林茶舍是其中一間,它是全港首間手沖茶吧,暫且放下汽水,到這裡品一杯無糖提神的手工好茶。至於茶葉專家BASAO亦是市集一份子,呈奉口感細膩的薄荷香片茶和黃梔香單叢烏龍茶雪糕。自備杯子到市集光顧所有餐飲攤檔,更可享5港元折扣(多善待地球,自備食物盒吧)。如對可持續發展產品感興趣,可到Handmadeship逛逛,它的復古背包很有特色。

去大館追花逐香

In Bloom Tai Kwun Origami Florist flower arrangements

在復活節的周末(4月2至5日),挑一個陽光燦爛的日子到大館賞花去吧,屆時檢閱廣場會舉行「花見大館」活動,有各式各樣花藝創作展覽、可持續發展商品攤檔和相關活動。你可到紙語花香選購花藝裝飾,或到農產品品牌「本地種植」購買可持續發展本地蜜糖和其他農產品。參與的餐廳亦提供以花為題的時令美饌至4月18日,你大可試試Statement餐室的Botanical下午茶,品嚐以花卉和水果為靈感的多款精緻鹹甜美點。

欣賞精采展覽

4月的大日子特別多,而15日是世界藝術日,實在好應該欣賞一場藝術展覽慶祝一下。尖沙咀的香港藝術館正舉行「不是時裝店!」展覽,透過藝術館四大館藏與衣飾鞋履相關的作品,探討時裝與藝術細水長流的關係,展期至2022年1月5日為止。

AISHONANZUKA gallery Akos Ezer Delivery Man artwork
Credit: Courtesy of Akos Ezer/Aishonanzuka gallery

設於中環的藝廊Aishonanzuka 會繼續展出匈牙利藝術家Akos Ezer的首個香港個人展,展覽名為「Let the Time Pass」(消磨時間),展期至4月18日,是Ezer於2019冠狀病毒病疫情期間創作的最新作品。他利用絢爛奪目而玩味十足的油畫,踏實地探討疫情期間的孤獨感和自省。

看一場戶外電影

The Grounds in Hong Kong where you can watch movies outdoors

中環海旁的大型休閒及娛樂空間The Grounds已重新對外開放,場地為確保人與人之間有足夠的社交距離,訪客均可在自己的私人花園享受舒適的專屬空間,欣賞戶外電影和表演活動,甚至參加瑜伽及健身訓練班。不妨相約好友透過大銀幕一起重溫經典電影,然後使用電子應用程式傳送餐飲訂單予附近的美食廊BaseHall,很快便有專人將食物及飲料送到你的座位。

留港度假

View from the Ritz Carlton Deluxe Victoria Harbour Suite in Kowloon, Hong Kong

趁海外假期尚未成行,不妨先利用城中多項staycation優惠熱一熱身,在四季、朗廷、麗思卡爾頓和黃金海岸等頂級酒店來一趟留港度假之旅。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Festivals and events

Best Things to Do in Hong Kong in April 2021

Get out to sunny islands and breezy trails, or dive into new restaurants, bars and menus in Hong Kong this month

It’s April and things are heating up in Hong Kong. Pack a picnic and explore the city’s best urban parks, head up hilly trails to catch blockbuster views or hop on a ferry to one of the outlying islands – including southern Po Toi, where you can explore ancient rock carvings and enjoy a seafood feast.

Mai Po Marshes birdwatching
Credit: Shutterstock

Earth Day falls on 22 April, which is a reminder to cherish the nature we have in Hong Kong. Mark it with a visit to Mai Po Nature Reserve in the New Territories. The WWF organises eco-tours of the area, including a popular half-day birdwatching tour. The 60-hectare Hong Kong Wetland Park offers another serene day of birdwatching in the New Territories.

You can still spot cherry blossoms in Hong Kong this month: try Tai Po Waterfront Park and Tseung Kwan O’s Hong Kong Velodrome Park, which has 11 cherry trees from Taiwan and Japan, as well as pretty lawns and artificial lakes.

Feast on Seasonal Menus

SPIGA Hokkaido scallop carpaccio, carrot-and ginger puree, oscietra caviar and puffed fregola

Take yourself out for an indulgent meal with Spiga’s new chef’s tasting menu (HK$688 per person), which fuses Italian and Asian ingredients with flair and panache. Dishes include Hokkaido scallop carpaccio, served with carrot and ginger purée and topped with Oscietra caviar and puffed fregola; and a Piedmontese beef tenderloin tartare, served with tonnato sauce, sun-dried tomatoes, cured egg yolk and polenta chips.

The Drunken Pot Causway Bay Interior

The Drunken Pot continues Year of the Ox celebrations until 30 April, with a Lavish Ring of Beef menu (HK$488) at its restaurants in Causeway Bay and Tsim Sha Tsui. You can also choose between three new broths for your hotpot – or stick to the classic tastebud-tingling Sichuan stock. Take the edge off the heat with a two hour free-flow of wine and sake or bubbles (additional HK$98 or HK$258, respectively).

Silencio Japanese restaurant cheers el primo

Modern Japanese izakaya Silencio rolls out a spring menu from new executive chef Sato Kiyoshi. Expect a refreshing twist on favourites like the ham-aji – a tartare of hamachi mixed with salmon roe, daikon sheets, cucumber, persimmon and ginger ponzu; and light, bright desserts like the Cheers (yuzu granita with seasonal pear, champagne jelly and lemon lime foam). There’s also a new Mizuho tasting menu (HK$978 for eight courses), served before the resident live jazz band.

The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong Cafe 103 Pomellato Art of Italian Afternoon Tea

The Ritz-Carlton’s Café 103 has launched a special Art of Italian Afternoon Tea (from HK$428 for one; HK$728 for two, available until 31 May) with a spread of savoury and sweet treats paying homage to luxe jeweller Pomellato’s Italian roots. Dine as a pair and you’ll also receive an invitation to an Italian jewellery experience at Pomellato’s Elements boutique.

Smoke & Barrel Cider Glazed Baby Back Ribs

American barbecue specialists Smoke & Barrel are putting on a spread with all-you-can-eat ribs washed down with free-flow Pabst Blue Ribbon beers on Monday and Tuesday nights until the end of the year (HK$388 per person, for 90 minutes). Chef Chris Tuthill is also running meat smoking classes, which include lunch and your own smoked meats to take home (HK$1,200 per person).

Cool Off with Refreshing New Cocktails

Zuma Nitro Espresso
Credit: Photo.G. Production

If you’re wilting in the heat, stop by Zuma for one of its new Nitro Espresso Martinis. Served chilled, the new caffeinated concoction will keep you refreshed – and buzzed – through the evening.

Hang Out at Tong Chong Street Market

Tong Chong Street Market Tea Festival April 2021 Tea Academics

Taikoo Place’s Tong Chong Street Market is now running all year on weekdays from 8am-3pm. This month it celebrates a Tea Festival (until 30 April). Among the stalls you’ll find Green Ginkgo Tea, Hong Kong’s first hand-brewed tea bar (try its craft fizzy tap tea for a refreshing, sugar-free alternative to soft drinks); and tea expert BASAO’s delicate tea-infused minty jasmine tea and Gardenia Dancong ice cream. Visitors will get a HK$5 discount at all F&B stalls by bringing their own cups (and why not bring your own food containers for extra karma?). You can also pick up sustainable products such as retro backpacks by Handmadeship.

DIY Snacks at the Cup Noodles Museum

Nissin Cup Noodles Museum Hong Kong display

You can’t travel to Japan right now, but from this month you can celebrate one of its most famous dishes at the newly launched Cup Noodles Museum at Tsim Sha Tsui’s China Hong Kong City mall. The third museum from Japanese ramen giant Nissin Foods is its first outside Japan, allowing Hongkongers to customise their own personalised pots – from cup to broth to toppings. You can also try your hand at making noodles from scratch and check out exhibitions on the branding and history of ramen.

Stop and Smell the Flowers at Tai Kwun

In Bloom Tai Kwun Origami Florist flower arrangements

Check out floral creations, sustainable products and more at Tai Kwun’s sun-dappled In Bloom flower market on the Parade Ground over the Easter weekend (2-5 April). You’ll also be able to pick up floral decorations at Origami Florist and sustainable local honey and other produce at FarmShare. Participating restaurants are also offering seasonal treats until 18 April – swing by Statement for its Botanical Afternoon Tea to tuck into savoury nibbles and desserts infused with, and inspired by, fruits and flowers.

Check Out Exhibitions

How better to celebrate International Art Day on 15 April than by checking out a show? Not a Fashion Store interrogates the time-honoured connection between fashion and art through works related to clothing, shoes and accessories from the Hong Kong Museum of Art’s four core collections. You’ve got until 5 January 2022 to catch the exhibition at the Tsim Sha Tsui museum.

AISHONANZUKA gallery Akos Ezer Delivery Man artwork
Credit: Courtesy of Akos Ezer/Aishonanzuka gallery

Central gallery Aishonanzuka continues to show Akos Ezer’s first solo exhibition in Hong Kong, Let the Time Pass, until 18 April. The Hungarian artist’s latest pieces were created during the COVID-19 pandemic, so naturally explore issues of isolation and introspection against a canvas of playful Technicolor backdrops.

Catch a Screening at an Outdoor Cinema

Things to do in Hong Kong in March include outdoor cinema The Grounds at AIA Vitality Park

The Grounds has reopened with a packed programme of outdoor film screenings, gigs, yoga and wellness classes in a socially distanced space by the Central Harbourfront. Get your pals together to catch cult classics on the big screen and tuck into food and beverage from nearby BaseHall, delivered straight to your seats on the lawn.

Splash Out on a Staycation

Ritz Carlton Deluxe Victoria Harbour Suite Kowloon Hotel

While you’re waiting to take off on that next overseas adventure, you can still take advantage of staycation offers at top hotels right here in Hong Kong: among them the Four Seasons, the Langham, The Ritz-Carlton and the Gold Coast Hotel.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book