香港特別行政區

探索香港的隱世離島

踏上七個較不為人知的離島,走出一成不變的日常,在美景環抱下盡情享受攀岩、地質奇景、露營及無人海灘帶來的悠閒愜意

香港的周邊水域有250多個島嶼,當中包括吸引人們聚居、社區活動相對活躍的長洲南丫島。然而,香港海域還有多個僅有少數居民留守(或根本沒有居民)的離島,彷彿是一粒粒與世隔絕的時間膠囊。

有機會在香港的偏遠離島度過一天,可為身心帶來「排毒」效果。這是你重投大自然懷抱的絕佳機會,而大自然亦提醒著人們,不久之前,香港的市郊只見鳥語花香,不見石屎森林。

乘船造訪位於香港海域的小島,已稱得上是一場歷奇之旅。不論是乘船往返的小島的途中,或是置身小島上,繁華城市與僻靜離島(清新的海風、壯闊的水平線及綠林遍佈的山野)形成的強烈對比,以及美不勝收的優美景色,確實令人印象深刻。

東平洲

暢遊聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園

Credit: Getty Images

若要以一個成語形容東平洲,「怪石嶙峋」極為貼切。事實上,東平洲隸屬於聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園,但對比島上歷經大自然數千年洗禮而形成的地貌奇景,這個稱號顯得毫不重要,因為其壯麗景觀令遊人無不讚嘆稱奇。從碼頭出發,沿著便捷的環島郊遊徑前行,一路上可欣賞到因海蝕而形成的沉積岩地貌,包括層層疊起、宛若守望塔的頁岩懸崖,以及磅礡氣勢、宛如龍脊的天然石脈,處處皆是令人讚嘆的美景。大塘是島上的主要村落,定居於此的村民不多,他們只會在遊客多的時候回到島上售賣小食及飲品。為安全起見,遊客最好自備食物到此野餐。

如何前往:從馬料水渡輪碼頭(從港鐵大學站B出口步行15分鐘或乘的士前往)乘船出發,船程約一個半小時

吉澳

遊逛清幽綠洲 

Credit: chaska/Instagram

別具古樸漁村風味的吉澳有一座天后廟,那裡有一個重達100公斤、具有250年歷史的老銅鐘,上面刻有國泰民安四字。這四個字對於這座藏在新界東北岸水域的小島來說,可說是一個貼切的寫照。目前島上的居民不到50人,你可能在清幽的步道閒逛大半天也遇不到一個人。年輕的情侶喜歡到村子廣場的戀人樹下許願,小島東隅有僻靜迷人的海灘。另外,這裡還有三座19世紀的大砲,經常成為遊客拍攝紀念照的焦點。

如何前往從馬料水渡輪碼頭(從港鐵大學站B出口步行15分鐘或乘的士前往)乘船出發,船程約一個半小時

橋咀島

一探僻靜海灘及奇趣火山岩

Credit: Shutterstock

很多人來到橋咀島就捨不得離開廈門灣(半月灣)和橋咀泳灘,皆因這裡水清沙幼,碧海藍天,令人倍感放鬆。想放鬆放空當然不是問題,但只要你願意登上連接兩個泳灘的行山徑,就可將西貢牛尾海的壯闊海景及周邊島嶼的景色盡收眼底。行完山如果依然意猶未盡,你還可以趁退潮時步行經過連島沙洲登上橋頭島,沿路還可以欣賞到一顆顆宛如菠蘿包的火山岩。

如何前往:從西貢公共渡輪碼頭搭乘街渡前往橋咀島只需15分鐘(或是多花點錢租一架速度較快的舢板)。街渡大約每半小時一班,直到下午五時三十分(請留意船班的會因應季節、工作日和周末而有所不同)

東龍島

勇闖攀岩秘境

Credit: Chill_ian/Instagram

如果你有機會問攀岩運動員他們最喜歡香港的哪個攀岩場,相信他們會毫不遲疑地回答:「東龍島」,心裡可能還會想「傻瓜,還用問嗎?」東龍島位於香港東面海域,島上有至少五處稱得上名字的攀岩場,每一處都有其獨特的挑戰性,在此攀岩還可遠眺港島東區景致及壯麗的環迴海景。如果你有些懼高,寧願腳踏實地的話,不妨造訪具300年歷史的古炮台,或是一探著名的古老石刻。東龍島亦是個熱門的露營好去處,遠離都市煩囂的你可以在此遠眺繁華的市區。前來露營時緊記要帶妥糧水補給。

如何前往:每逢周末和大多數公眾假期,筲箕灣避風塘(距離港鐵西灣河站約五分鐘步行路程)有多個渡輪航班往返;三家村碼頭(從港鐵油塘站A2出口步行十分鐘)亦有渡輪前往

索罟群島

獨霸海上樂園

Credit: Leo Lam

索罟群島是位於大嶼山南面海域的一個迷你群島,同時也是一個荒蕪的世外之境。島上最後一批居民遷出至今已有半個世紀,雜草叢生的小屋和廟宇,以及荒廢的難民營遺跡,成為這裡曾經有人類居住的唯一線索。荒蕪的島嶼有什麼值得造訪之處?答案只有一個——唯你獨享。由於目前並無渡輪航班或街渡往返索罟群島,唯有包船才能抵達。也就是說,到訪者可以將整個群島「據為己有」。早在1980年,一家房地產開發公司曾計劃將索罟群島開發為度假勝地,但計劃最後無疾而終。這對真心追求世外桃源的人來說,確實是個大好消息。

如何前往:Adventure Tours或同類型的公司包船前往,船隻從中環的渡輪碼頭出發。單程需時約兩小時

塔門

投入放風箏及野營樂趣

Credit: yytravelmap/Instagram

塔門說不上是吸引遊客朝聖的旅遊熱點,平日的小島總是顯得空空蕩蕩。這裡僅剩下幾位居民、一兩家販賣海味的小檔口,以及可以毫無疑問地號稱為全島最美味餐廳的唯一一家食肆。然而,塔門天后宮每逢十年舉辦的太平清醮,總能吸引老漁村的舊居民從四面八方回鄉慶祝。島上太平清醮的歷史可追溯至18世紀末,當年村內正在舉辦喜宴,席間突遇狂風暴雨肆虐,眾人於是向天后娘娘跪拜祈求人、船、牲畜平安,來日必每十年建醮酬神。兩個世紀後的今天,村民的後代至今依然定期履行承諾(最後一次醮期是在2019年4月)。每逢周末或假日,小島依然吸引遊客前來探索,放風箏(大鵬灣的海面總是吹來陣陣微風),甚至有遊客會攜帶帳篷前來這座綠色之島,在綠草如茵的高地上紮營過夜。

如何前往:從黃石碼頭(從西貢搭乘巴士前往需時40分鐘)搭乘街渡前往

蒲台島

盡享行山樂及海鮮大餐

Credit: Shutterstock

蒲台島是香港最南端的島嶼,素有「香港南極」之稱。在許多人的心目中,這是個別具異國風情、可以享用豐盛海鮮午餐的好去處。當然,這是看法完全正確,但如果你願意在島上的郊遊徑走一圈,不但可以讓你飢腸轆轆、食慾大開,島上的奇岩怪石,還可以讓你的想像力自由放飛。多年來,海風及海浪的侵蝕造就了蒲台島的天然地貌奇景,島上的主要景點包括僧人石以及鄰近的靈龜石等等。繼續往前走,還可見一幅由五條高聳石塊組成的石崖,看上去宛若一個手掌,因此得名佛手崖。蒲台島位於南中國海之濱,當地盛產味道鮮甜的海藻,到此遊覽時絕對不容錯過島上餐廳必備的海藻湯,曬乾的海藻更是島上最熱銷的手信。

如何前往:從香港仔碼頭或是赤柱卜公碼頭搭乘街渡輪前往,船程需時約30分鐘。按此查看航班時間表

出發之前

由於這些離島的位置偏遠,交通不便,建議在出發前預先做好計劃。為了安全起見,請帶備飲用水、食物,以及外套以防天氣變化,並在出發前為手機充飽電。

如上所述,許多離島的對外交通主要為街渡,許多船家僅會於週末和公眾假期提供服務,價格雖然便宜但班次非常疏落。按此處可查看各離島的街渡服務時間表

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Hong Kong SAR

Exploring Hong Kong’s Secret Islands

These lesser-known outlying islands offer intriguing draws, from rock climbing and unusual geology to camping and deserted beaches

More than 250 islands dot the waters around Hong Kong. Some, like Cheung Chau and Lamma, are home to lively communities, but there are many other outlying islands which count just a handful of residents (or none at all) and drift along in their own little time capsule.

A day or more spent on one of Hong Kong’s outlying islands is a mini-detox. It’s a chance to reconnect with nature, and a gentle, happy reminder that not so very long ago outside the city centre pretty much all of Hong Kong was similarly mellow and un-concreted.

Sailing to one of Hong Kong’s smaller isles is an adventure in itself; the contrast between inner city and outer island is something to relish (fresh sea breezes, wide horizons, while the only high-rises are mountains) both on the way there and back – and all the time you’re there, too.

Tung Ping Chau

For a Unesco Global Geopark

outlying-islands-hong-kong-coastline-tung-ping-chau
Credit: Getty Images

In a word, Tung Ping Chau rocks. The fact that it’s part of a Unesco Global Geopark is almost beside the point – the outlying island’s weird and wonderful geology has been amazing people for thousands of years. A handy trail from the pier loops around the island, taking in wave-carved shale, cliffs stacked up like watch towers, a line of rocks that (of course) form a petrified dragon and an amazing natural stone-lined corridor. Very few people live in the main village, Tai Tong, day in, day out, but they do pop back to sell food and cold drinks when visitor numbers are likely to be high. Take a picnic, just in case.

How to Get There:  Ferries sail from Ma Liu Shui Ferry Pier (a 15-minute walk or a short taxi from University MTR station Exit B) and take around 1.5 hours

Kat O

For a Quiet Oasis

outlying-islands-hong-kong-kat-o-tree-by-shore
Credit: chaska/Instagram

Don’t come to Kat O expecting ‘bells and whistles’, though there is an impressive 100-kilogram, 250-year-old brass bell outside the Tin Hau temple, inscribed with the words: ‘The country flourishes and the people live in peace’ – an aphorism that pretty much sums up the whole island, which is tucked away off the coast of the New Territory’s northeastern shores. Fewer than 50 people live here now, and it’s possible to wander Kat O’s lonely trails for quite some time and hardly see a soul. Young couples come to make wishes under the lovers’ tree in the main square of the village and there are some inviting deserted beaches on the east side of the island. Three 19th-century cannons show up regularly in souvenir photos.

How to Get There: Ferries sail from Ma Liu Shui Ferry Pier (a 15-minute walk or a short taxi from University MTR station Exit B) and take around 1.5 hours

Sharp Island

For Beaches and Volcanic Rocks

outlying-islands-hong-kong-rocks-shoreline-sharp-island
Credit: Shutterstock

A lot of people get to one of the beaches – Hap Mun or Kiu Tsai – on Sharp Island and venture no further. Why should they? There’s golden sand, azure waters and plenty of space to kick back and relax. Laze if you want, but the hiking trail that runs between the two strands grants magnificent views over the sea and surrounding outlying islands that sprinkle the bay known as Port Shelter in Sai Kung. For an extra treat, hop over to Kiu Tau Chau, which is only accessible at low tide, when the water recedes to reveal clusters of volcanic rocks that look like pineapple buns.

How to Get There: Catch a kaito ferry from Sai Kung Public Ferry Pier for the 15-minute journey to Sharp Island (or pay a bit more to hire a faster sampan). Ferries leave approximately every half hour, until 5:30pm (though frequency can vary between seasons or on weekdays and weekends)

Tung Lung Chau

For Rock-climbing Daredevils

outlying-islands-hong-kong-rock-climbing-cliffs-shoreline-tung-lung-chau
Credit: Chill_ian/Instagram

Ask any sports climber in Hong Kong about their favourite pitches and they’ll say ‘Tung Lung Chau’ while just managing to hold back the words, ‘of course, you dummy.’ Just off Hong Kong Island’s eastern coast, Tung Lung Chau obligingly furnishes no fewer than five named climbs, each with its own set of challenges and some spectacular urban and marine panoramas. Rather keep your feet on the ground? No problem. There’s a 300-year-old fort to explore as well as some ancient rock carvings. The island is also a popular camping site – in sight of the city, but well out of it. Just be sure to bring along your own provisions.

How to Get There: Ferries runs from Sai Wan Ho typhoon shelter (a five-minute walk from Sai Wan Ho MTR station) on weekends and most public holidays; and from Sam Ka Tsuen Ferry Pier (a 10-minute walk from Yau Tong MTR station Exit A2)

Soko Islands

For Solitude and Exclusivity

outlying-islands-hong-kong-rock-climbing-cliffs-shoreline-soko-islands-sokos-from-above
Credit: Leo Lam

The Sokos – a mini archipelago well south of Lantau Island – are a walk on the wild side. Nobody’s lived on this cluster of outlying islands for half a century, and the only signs of human habitation are a few overgrown houses and shrines and the foundations of a long abandoned refugee camp. So why come? The answer has to be solitude – and exclusivity. There are no ferry or kaito services, so the only way of getting here is by hiring a private charter. So you’re pretty much guaranteed your own island. Back in 1980, a property development company planned to develop the Sokos into a resort – plans that anyone in search of complete peace and quiet will be glad to hear never got off the ground.

How to Get There: Hire a private charter with a company like Adventure Tours, who set sail from Central ferry piers. The journey takes about two hours each way

Tap Mun

For Camping and Kite Flying

tap-mun-hiking-trail-hong-kong
Credit: yytravelmap/Instagram

Tap Mun’s an unlikely place of pilgrimage. It’s pretty much deserted year-round, with just a few score residents, a couple of shops selling dried seafood and a restaurant that can safely bill itself as the best on the island. Yet once every 10 years, former residents flock from all over Hong Kong and around the world to celebrate this age-old fishing community at its Tin Hau temple. The celebration dates back to the late 18th century, when a storm ravaged a wedding held on Tap Mun and villagers prayed to Tin Hau, goddess of the sea, for protection. In honour of not losing their boats, livestock and loved ones, the villagers vowed to hold a celebration every decade – a promise still honoured two centuries later (the last one took place in April 2019). At just about any other time, visitors are free to explore, fly kites (there’s usually a stiff breeze blowing in from Mirs Bay) and even camp overnight on the green uplands that give Tap Mun its name: ‘Grass Island’.

How to Get There: Kaito ferries sail from Wong Shek Pier (40-minute bus ride from Sai Kung town)

Po Toi

For Hiking Followed by a Seafood Lunch

Po-Toi-islands-lighthouse-HK-secret-islands
Credit: Shutterstock

Being the southernmost of Hong Kong’s outlying islands, Po Toi is jocularly known as the ‘South Pole of Hong Kong’ and many view it as little more than a mildly exotic spot for an extended seafood lunch. Of course, that’s quite right, but a hike around the isle sharpens the appetite – and the imagination – splendidly. Over the years wind and waves and tectonics have given Po Toi some amazing natural sculptures: check out the towering Monk Rock, and its near neighbour, Tortoise Rock. Further on, five slender slabs etched into a cliff face look like nothing so much as the palm of Buddha. Po Toi’s location in the South China Sea makes it a prime source for tangy seaweed soup –  a feature of most restaurant menus – while dried seaweed is the island’s bestselling souvenir.

How to Get There: Kaito ferries sail from Aberdeen pier and Blake Pier in Stanley, both take about 30 minutes. Check schedules here

Before You Go

As these islands lie on the fringes of Hong Kong, well away from mainstream transport, any excursion requires advanced planning. To be on the safe side, take water, some food, an extra layer in case the weather changes and charge up your phone before leaving.

Small kaito ferries ply to and from many outlying islands, as noted above. The services favour weekends and public holidays, and while inexpensive are characteristically infrequent; check the full list of timetables here.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book