國泰航空

我可放心遨遊嗎?

在新冠病毒疫情大流行期間如需外遊,少不免對多方面心存顧慮。讓我們聚焦清潔衛生以至檢疫等重要範疇,逐一解答你的疑問

如你與我們志趣相投,現在最想做的一定是整理行裝,翱翔天際,再次遊歷四海。環顧現狀,目前外遊的確引伸眾多疑問,未知可否毫無掛慮地起飛遨遊。國泰航空職業健康主管Valni Haughton分享當前飛行體驗的點滴,讓你從機場至踏入機艙,每一步都能安心享受旅程。

身處機場

Holding a smartphone displaying mobile flight check-in

辦理登機手續和安檢的範圍是否安全?

Haughton表示:「機場向來人流擠迫,不過有賴當局實行額外措施,呼籲旅客加強個人衛生意識,保持警覺,雙管齊下可減低大量潛在風險。」

全體人士必須在香港國際機場所有室內及室外範圍佩戴口罩,除此之外,旅客亦須接受體溫量度、遞交健康申報表和保持社交距離等。機場更在多處提供消毒搓手液,並全面加強清潔和消毒工作。自助保安閘口將陸續採用生物特徵技術協助登機,進一步減少人與人互相接觸的機會。

事實上,省去在機場排隊的時間也可以減低與人接觸的機會,例如在網上預辦登機或善用國泰航空流動應用程式

Passenger waiting with a mask in an airport lounge

我仍能使用貴賓室嗎?

目前,國泰航空的大部分貴賓室暫時關閉。位於香港國際機場的寰宇堂以及上海浦東機場的貴賓室則維持開放,並按額外的衛生規定運作以保障來賓,例如落實加強清潔措施、檢查體溫和調整餐膳服務等。所有職員和貴賓須全程佩戴口罩,只有飲食時才獲豁免。

身處客艙

Passenger seated with mask onboard a plane

我身旁有其他乘客,我應如何保持安心?

不少人擔心,在機上與陌生人同坐一排或前後鄰近的位置會增添傳染風險。我們明白你的顧慮,Haughton就此說:「國際航空運輸協會根據獨立機構進行的研究而發出建議,指目前未有足夠的確實證據顯示有乘客在機艙交叉感染新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19),客艙散播病毒的風險頗低。」另外,由於機艙座位和乘客均面向同一方向,而椅背亦形成堅固的屏障,乘客面對面交流的機會有限,故此客艙的先天環境並不容易促成病毒傳播。研究報告亦表明,客艙內的換氣率和氣流方向不利於飛沫傳播。

國泰航空竭盡全力減低風險,包括在登機前為乘客進行健康篩查。登機後,我們亦實施嚴格的衛生措施,要求所有乘客和機組人員佩戴口罩,定時消毒所有物件的表面,又向乘客派發個人護理包,內含消毒濕紙巾和額外的口罩等防護用品。

在情況許可下,我們會盡量將座位隔開編排,進一步保持乘客間的社交距離。

Woman in a face mask

我應否佩戴口罩?

應該。國泰航空航班上的所有乘客均須在機上整個旅途佩戴口罩(飲食時除外)。Haughton解釋:「此舉是回應國際航空運輸協會、世界衛生組織和其他衛生諮詢團體的建議,指口罩有效避免飛沫傳播。」

HEPA air filter onboard planes

機艙空氣安全嗎?

安全Haughton指:「我們全體機隊的機艙皆採用高效微粒子空氣過濾系統(HEPA),能有效過濾空氣中99.999%的懸浮微生物及污染物。此外,每隔兩分鐘機艙內的空氣會經過徹底循環,並輸送約50%外來空氣,代表機艙空氣潔淨而安全。」此外,機艙內的氣流基本上是以垂直方向為主,而並非水平方向,有效降低飛沫傳播的可能性。

Hand touching an seatback inflight entertainment screen

我可安心觸摸我的座椅/娛樂系統屏幕/扶手嗎?

可以。Haughton說:「國泰航空所有機艙均經過徹底清潔,你的座位範圍包括娛樂系統屏幕、椅背上的頭枕、空調裝置等所有設施的表面,均會在每趟航班出發前全面消毒。」客艙內的公眾範圍如備餐空間和廁所,亦以相同程序清潔。

我們向所有乘客派發個人護理包,你可按需要使用裡面提供的消毒濕紙巾,保持雙手清潔,或用來消毒你座位周圍的設施。

萬一有COVID-19的確診者乘坐過我們的航機,我們會採取進一步的特別清潔程序,確保航機在新一批乘客登機之前已全面清毒妥當。

Reading a book during home quarantine for COVID-19

我將需要接受強制檢疫嗎?

這取決於你目的地所施行的措施。全球各地分別發出不同的嚴格旅遊提示,並不時更新。香港方面只准許永久居民入境,而所有入境者亦須進行14天強制檢疫。請到我們的入境及檢疫措施專頁查看最新資訊。

Passenger in a mask feeling ill

如果我在登機後感到不適,應該怎麼辦?

Haughton表示:「如你在登機後才出現COVID-19病徵或感到不適,請立即通知我們的機艙服務員尋求協助。此外,我們建議你繼續保持良好的個人衛生習慣,全程戴上口罩、勤用皂液洗手、保持社交距離、使用消毒搓手液並避免觸摸面部等。當你抵達目的地後,務必向當地的衛生部門報告你的健康狀況和病徵。」

Inflight food menu during COVID-19

我可安心享用機上餐膳嗎?

可以。航空飲食服務本身已遵從嚴格的指引來預備食品,而國泰航空亦在疫情爆發後加緊監督機上餐膳服務,包括要求員工穿上個人防護裝備、增加體溫量度的次數和進行額外的清潔程序。同時,我們已調整了機上餐膳服務,以減低乘客和機艙服務員的接觸機會。

Cathay Pacific cabin crew in a mask during COVID-19

我可以放心和機艙服務員交談嗎?

可以。國泰航空於香港的全體員工已接受嚴格訓練,恪守健康與安全指引,在登機櫃位、貴賓室以至客艙內均全程佩戴口罩。

Haughton補充:「機艙服務員會額外佩戴手套和眼罩以加強防護裝備。需要作外站停留的機組人員必須遵從嚴格規定,在酒店房間內禁足,不得與當地人士接觸。」

Hands holding a money bill

如我未能如期起行,我可否更改或取消我的航班?

可以。為應對疫情,國泰航空推出多項措施,幫助顧客靈活調動行程。如你經國泰航空直接購買機票,你可以登入自助訂位管理服務,更改、取消行程或要求退款。如你是通過旅行社或第三方網站購買機票,則必須到該旅行社或第三方網站處理票務更改事宜。 至於有關兌換機票獎勵的事宜,請聯絡亞州萬里通馬可孛羅會。具體條款及細節,請查閱你的機票詳情。

本文原於2020年8月刊登,並於2020年10月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

Can I Fly With Confidence?

From cleaning to quarantine, here are some answers to your top concerns about travelling in the COVID-19 era

If you’re anything like us, you can’t wait to pack a bag, take to the skies and travel the world again. But understandably, you might have questions about how confidently you can fly right now. Cathay Pacific’s Head of Occupational Health Valni Haughton shares her views on the flight experience from airport to aircraft, and explains why you can fly with confidence.

IN THE AIRPORT

Holding a smartphone displaying mobile flight check-in

Are check-in and security secure places?

‘Airports are traditionally crowded places – but with a combination of extra measures and vigilance toward personal hygiene, potential risks can be greatly minimised,’ says Haughton.

At Hong Kong International Airport, measures include mandatory face coverings for all airport employees and travellers, thorough temperature checks, health declaration forms, hand sanitiser stations, physical distancing practices and increased cleaning and sanitisation throughout. Later this year, biometric scanners will also be added to the boarding procedure to again reduce the need for human-to-human contact.

Reduce the time you’ll need to spend in queues by taking advantage of online self check-in tools. For example, check-in online or via the Cathay Pacific mobile app, and use self-service baggage kiosks where possible.

Passenger waiting with a mask in an airport lounge

Can I visit lounges?

Most of Cathay Pacific’s lounges are currently closed, with the exception of The Wing at Hong Kong International Airport and the lounge in Shanghai Pudong. Extra protocols have been put in place at these two locations to safeguard guests, which include additional cleaning measures, temperature checks and a simplified meal service. All staff and guests will also be required to wear face coverings at all times, except for when eating and drinking.

IN THE CABIN

Passenger seated with mask onboard a plane

Can I feel confident if I am sitting next to other passengers?

Understandably, one of the biggest concerns for air travel is sitting next to a fellow passenger you don’t know. ‘The International Air Transport Association (IATA) advises that independent research has found that there is still little confirmed evidence of onboard COVID-19 transmission between passengers to date, and the risk is counted as low,’ says Haughton. The cabin environment already makes the transmission of viruses difficult as there is limited face-to-face interaction with fellow passengers due to seats and passengers facing forwards, and with seatbacks acting as a solid barrier. Research also suggests that the airflow exchange rates and direction are less conducive to droplet spread.

Cathay Pacific is doing everything to minimise this risk, which includes screening all passengers before boarding, instigating best hygiene practices onboard by requiring all passengers and crew to wear face coverings, regularly sanitising surfaces, and distributing customer care kits equipped with antibacterial wipes and extra masks.

Physical distancing is further enhanced by blocking seats between passengers wherever possible.

Woman in a face mask

Should I wear a mask?

Yes. All passengers on Cathay Pacific flights must wear a mask for the duration of their journey, other than when they eat or drink. ‘In line with recommendations from IATA, WHO and other health advisory bodies, face coverings are effective at reducing droplet spread,’ explains Haughton.

HEPA air filter onboard planes

Is cabin air OK to breathe?

Yes. ‘All our aircraft cabins are installed with HEPA filters, which remove 99.999 per cent of airborne microbes and contaminants,’ says Haughton. ‘The air is recycled every two minutes – and mixed with 50 per cent outside air, meaning it is sterile and safe to breathe.’

Hand touching an seatback inflight entertainment screen

Can I touch my seat/TV screen/armrest?

Yes. ‘On Cathay Pacific flights, every surface in your personal seating area – from screens, to headrests, to air conditioning controls – is thoroughly cleaned and disinfected between flights,’ says Haughton. The same cleaning procedure also applies to public spaces, from the galley to the toilets.

Customer care kits containing antibacterial wipes can also be used by passengers for peace of mind if they would like to clean their hands or personally sanitise their seating area.

In a case where there has been a confirmed COVID-19 patient onboard, a further set of special cleaning procedures are enacted to eliminate the virus from the aircraft before new passengers board.

Reading a book during quarantine for COVID-19

Will I be quarantined?

This will depend on your destination. At the moment there are many strict travel advisories in place that differ from region to region. In Hong Kong, only permanent residents may enter, and will be subject to a two-week quarantine. To stay up to date, visit our Travel Restrictions page.

Passenger in a mask feeling ill

What happens if I feel ill onboard?

‘If you begin to experience symptoms of COVID-19 or another illness while onboard, it’s important to immediately alert one of our cabin crew so they can assist you,’ Haughton says. ‘Additionally, you should continue to follow best practices for hygiene – wear a mask, wash your hands regularly with soap, maintain physical distancing, use hand sanitiser and avoid touching your face. You will also have to report your symptoms to the health authorities when you disembark.’

Inflight food menu during COVID-19

Can I eat the food served onboard?

Yes. Airline catering services were already subject to high standards of food preparation, and Cathay Pacific has since added additional layers of scrutiny – including more Personal Protective Equipment, extra temperature checks and increased cleaning. Meanwhile, meal services onboard have also been simplified to minimise interaction with cabin crew.

Cathay Pacific cabin crew in a mask during COVID-19

Can I talk to cabin crew with confidence?

Yes. All Cathay Pacific staff in Hong Kong, from check-in to the lounges to the cabin, will be wearing masks at all times and have been trained in health and safety procedures.

‘Onboard flights, crew have additionally been provided with gloves and eye protection,’ explains Haughton. ‘Strict protocols have been put in place for staff layovers, with all cabin crew sequestered to their hotel rooms and barred from contact with the local population.’

Hands holding a money bill

If I’m not able to fly, can I get a refund for my flight?

Yes. In response to COVID-19 disruptions Cathay Pacific has introduced a number of measures to help you cancel, rebook and stay flexible with your travel plans. This includes waiving cancellation fees for affected flights; offering you the flexibility to change your flights; or exchanging your flight for Cathay Credits.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book