中國內地

揭開山東神秘面紗的旅遊指南

山東旅遊既可賞名山古剎,又有新潮的咖啡店與藝術空間,將古今融會變成當地的特色

山東省位處北京和上海之間,向來並非遊客首選的中國旅遊熱點。然而,山東省卻可說是一個歷史寶庫,加上近年來進行連串改頭換面的革新,現在已成為神州大地上一個引人入勝的旅遊目的地。

孕育中國文明的黃河,今天跟古時一樣,靜靜地流過山東省會濟南,並沒有任何改變。不過,當以玻璃幕牆為飾的摩天大樓在濟南拔地而起之際,城中的舊倉庫和工廠亦紛紛改建為藝術文化空間。城中林立的摩天大樓中,包括了一幢樓高518米、出自英國著名建築師Terry Farrell手筆的商業大樓。

如果你聽說濟南目前最著名的景點是個只會冒泡泡的大魚池,可能會打消前往一遊的念頭;不過有「天下第一泉」之稱的趵突泉,其實頗為清幽宜人。濟南有「泉城」之稱,市內約有70個至今依然活躍的泉眼,而趵突泉為眾泉之首。泉池邊有建於明清時代的亭臺水榭,池內終年湧出三股泉水,在清澈的泉池內有活潑的鯉魚在嬉戲。隨著季節變化,泉水的激湍程度也有所不同,但水溫則經常維持在攝氏17度左右;夏天大雨過後,趵突泉可噴湧至數呎之高。當地人前往趵突泉時例必帶備水壺水瓶,在獅頭噴嘴前排隊盛水帶回家,據說用這裡的泉水泡茶味道格外甘美。

趵突泉的泉水源於泰山山麓,這裡是山東一個鮮為人知的秘境。泰山為五嶽之首,也是道教視為最神聖的山峰,更獲聯合國教科文組織列為世界遺產。雖然主峰玉皇頂海拔僅1,532米,但由於矗立在山東平原上,氣勢磅薄,很容易令人產生宗教或靈性的聯想。

Credit: Gary Ng
Credit: Gary Ng

泰山既然被視為靈山,自然吸引絡繹不絕的遊人前來朝山。古往今來不少大人物,由秦始皇起計,不計其數的皇帝以至毛澤東,都曾登上泰山。他們到此一遊之後,都忍不住在這裡刻石為記,以此流傳後世。山上到處都可以見到摩崖石刻、宮觀寺廟、古柏蒼松和宗教遺跡。徒步登上6,293級石階,有如走入神州多變而輝煌的歷史。不過,如果你選擇乘搭纜車上山,那又另當別論了。

山東是道教發源地之一,道教在當地有深厚的影響,但佛教亦是當地主流信仰,位於濟南城南面有好些佛教寺院,其中不乏歷史悠久的重要古剎。位於濟南城外的寧靜群山之間的靈巖寺,就是中國四大名剎之一;寺內的巨石上長出盤根錯節的青檀樹,已有千年歷史的辟支塔屹立於山谷之上,古意盎然。

credit: Gary Ng

來到靈巖寺,絕不可錯過寺內的千佛殿。踏入殿內可瞻仰40尊宋代的彩繪泥塑羅漢坐像。每一尊羅漢像的面貌造型以至衣飾褶紋各不相同,加上五官表情栩栩如生,獲公認是中國最精美的宗教雕塑群之一。更令人嘖嘖稱奇的是,當研究者將其中一個真人大小的塑像打開後,在腹腔位置發現一套完整的內臟,全部用絲綢包裹填充物仿製而成。

提到與宗教信仰相關的名勝,當然不能缺少儒家的古蹟。位於山東的曲阜是一個氣氛寧靜的小城,繞城而建的城牆是明代的產物。這裡是中國最偉大的思想家孔夫子的故鄉。早在耶穌基督誕生前500多年,這位大成至聖先師已在曲阜一帶傳道授業;他的學說對後世影響深遠,成為中國思想的主流。

Credit: Gary Ng

從濟南乘坐高鐵南下,只需40分鐘車程即可來一趟朝聖之旅。許多人一下車便直奔名列聯合國世界文化遺產的孔廟。由於孔聖備受歷代君主尊崇,這座建於明代的孔廟不斷翻新和擴建,現已成為全中國規模數一數二的孔廟。孔廟與近百年後才落成的紫禁城一樣,採用中軸線左右對稱的佈局,正中央是高30米的大成殿,由多根木雕盤龍大柱支撐起來。殿前有一座氣派十足的杏壇,用於紀念孔子當年在一株杏樹下講學授課的事蹟。

在宏偉的孔府和修建得美輪美奐的園林內漫步,你會深深的感受到孔子留給後人的物質遺產,絕不遜於他長留世間的精神財富。

Credit: Gary Ng

高速鐵路網的出現帶給山東驚人的變化,除了帶動旅遊業蓬勃發展,更讓住家與辦公室相距遙遠的上班族大大縮短了上下班的時間,這種變化在海濱城市青島尤為明顯。這個在20世紀初由德國租借興建港口的城市,後來成為深受毛澤東青睞的度假勝地,當年他特別喜歡在第二海水浴場游泳。青島涵碧樓酒店於2014年開幕時,亦同時令青島的旅遊業更上一層樓。這間處處散發現代氣息的高級酒店,由澳洲建築師Kerry Hill設計,所有套房、別墅、水療中心及餐廳均可眺望大海。青島涵碧樓酒店的出現,宣佈了青島已告別過去,邁向未來。

城中其他地區亦紛紛仿效,進行變身,其中包括集社交會所與圖書館於一身的當代書店方所。除了書籍之外,這裡還有飲品、服裝、小玩意和家居用品等供人選購,並且定期邀請藝術家、畫家和作家舉辦座談會。

Credit: Gary Ng

城內還有1907光影俱樂部,它由德國水兵俱樂部的舊址改建而成,裡面陳列了各種跟電影有關的文物。這座殖民時期的建築經過精心復修,設有藝術展覽空間、電影博物館、放映室,以及一間咖啡館,可以一面品嚐精品咖啡,一面欣賞裡面陳列的古董相機。

青島德國總督樓又稱為迎賓館,是一幢建於20世紀初的花崗岩建築,屋頂蓋上紅瓦。這座官邸後來改作酒店,多年來始終保持昔日擺設,以歷史魅力為主要賣點。現在這幢建築已改為博物館,用來展示這座城市的歷史,可說再理想不過。館內一些經得起時間考驗而留存下來的展品,例如一座鑲嵌玉石的壁爐,更會勾起參觀者的好奇心。

Credit: Gary Ng

德國人管治青島的時間雖然短暫,但卻留下了深遠的影響,其中一項就是青島啤酒,現在世界各地的酒吧裡都有青島啤酒的蹤影。啤酒廠老闆明白「青島啤酒」名聲響亮,於是在市中心開設了數間Tsingtao 1903旗艦餐廳酒吧,以時髦的裝潢、現場音樂和源源不絕的鮮釀啤酒,吸引年輕人和喜愛杯中物的劉伶。然而,遊客前來青島並不只是為了啤酒。近年來手工咖啡熱潮席捲青島,由咖啡師起家的女企業家張蓉乘勢開設FishCoffeer啡享家,她從南美洲產地直接進口咖啡豆,然後在店內自行烘焙。

Credit: Gary Ng

山東非常滿足於當地擁有的一切,套句當地的話,這裡有「一山一水一聖人」,加上生機盎然的現代氣息,現在你有四大理由前來暢遊一番了。

本文原於2018年10月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Chinese mainland

An Overall Guide to Shandong

From its ancient temples and historic mountains to the new wave of coffee shops and arts spaces, Shandong is striving hard to be both ancient and modern

Tucked between Beijing and Shanghai, Shandong province hasn’t always featured highly on lists of China’s must-sees. Yet the province is a treasure chest of history, and in recent years has given itself a makeover that’s turned it into one of the country’s more intriguing destinations. Explore everything from fabled mountains to modern culture with this guide to Shandong. 

The Yellow river, the well from which Chinese civilisation sprang, glides serenely past Jinan, the provincial capital. That’s no different today. As glassy skyscrapers go up in Jinan (including a 518-metre supertall designed by British architect Terry Farrell), old warehouses and factories are becoming art and cultural spaces.

Gary Ng

Okay, the fact that currently Jinan’s most famous sight is essentially a bubbling fishpond might make you consider skipping the city for now, but actually, Baotu Spring, one of around 70 active artesian wells around the city, is rather lovely. Qing-era pavilions skirt crystal-clear pools alive with darting carp, into which a trio of springs cascade year-round. Depending on the seasons, the intensity changes (though the water remains a constant 17°C) – after the summer rains Baotu spurts several feet into the air. For locals, it’s mandatory to line up and fill your kettle at gushing lion-head spouts: the water is said to make the best tea.

But trace the spring to its source in the foothills of the Taishan range, and Shandong’s best-kept secrets start to unfold. Mount Tai is the holiest of China’s five sacred Taoist peaks. At only 1,532 metres high, it might not sound all that impressive, but the Unesco World Heritage-listed mountain lords it up over the level Shandong plain so that it’s easy to grasp its spiritual allure.

Shandong
Gary Ng

And allure it has in spades. Everyone who’s anyone has climbed it: China’s First Emperor of Terracotta Warriors fame, Mao Zedong and dozens of emperors in between. Naturally, none of them could resist leaving their mark on the mountain for posterity. There’s cliff-face calligraphy, temples, ancient cypresses and religious relics at every turn. To hike up Mount Tai’s 6,293 steps is to journey right the way through China’s storied, illustrious past. Unless, of course, you use the cable car.

It’s not just Taoism that has shaped and been shaped by Shandong. Buddhist temples south of Jinan were once the most important in China. One of these is Lingyan Temple, in some quiet hills outside the city, where sandalwood trees sprout from ancient stone and a 1,000-year-old pagoda rises above the valley.

Gary Ng

The one to see, however, is the Thousand Buddha Hall, with its enthralling cast of 40 luohan (Buddhist Arhat) figures seated around the chamber. Unerringly lifelike, each monk is distinct, from facial features to the folds of their robes. Dating back to the Song dynasty, these are considered some of the finest religious sculptures in China. Even more remarkable, when researchers cracked one of the life-sized statues open they found a full set of internal organs inside, made out of stuffed silk.

While we’re ticking off the belief systems, here’s another: Confucianism. Girdled by a Ming dynasty wall, the sleepy Shandong town of Qufu contains within it the history and legacy of China’s foremost philosopher and spiritual thinker, Kong Fu Zi – known to the English-speaking world as Confucius. The Great Sage lived and worked here 500 years before Christ, and his philosophies have since come to define what it is to be Chinese.

Just 40 minutes south of Jinan by high-speed train, Qufu is within easy reach for a pilgrimage; most of the faithful make a beeline for the Unesco World Heritage-listed Temple of Confucius. Centuries of reverence for the sage have caused the continual restoration and expansion of this Ming dynasty complex, and it’s now one of the largest in China, bearing a close resemblance to the architectural symmetry of Beijing’s Forbidden City, but built almost a century later. At its heart, Dacheng Hall rises up 30 metres high, supported by enormous pillars carved with writhing dragons. To its front is the grand Apricot Platform, thought to be where Confucius preached beneath an apricot tree.

Shandong
Gary Ng

Wandering the immense Kong Family Mansion and its ornamental gardens, you get a sense of the material wealth of Confucius over the generations just as much as the spiritual wealth.

Shandong
Gary Ng

While much of Shandong was transmogrified by the advent of the high-speed rail network – which apart from igniting a tourism boom, allowed commuters to flit between home and far-distant office – nowhere changed quite as much as the seaside city of Qingdao. A German concession port in the early years of the 20th century, later a holiday spot much favoured by Mao Zedong, who liked to swim off Number Two Beach, it took a step upmarket with the opening of The Lalu in 2014. Designed by the Australian architect Kerry Hill, the strikingly modernist hotel’s suites, villas, spa and restaurants overlook the ocean. The Lalu declared that Qingdao was gliding away from the past.

Other parts of the city soon followed. The Fang Suo Commune is one of those contemporary bookshops that’s as much social club as library. As well as the drinks, clothing, gadgets and homeware you can buy, the shop also regularly hosts talks by artists, painters and writers.

Shandong
Gary Ng

There’s the 1907 Movie Club, once a club for German sailors, now the city’s hub for all things celluloid, its colonial exterior thoughtfully restored and its interior given over to art exhibitions, a film museum, screening rooms and a cafe replete with flat whites and antique cameras.

For many years, the Governor’s Mansion, a solid granite, red-tiled edifice built in the early 20th century, was a fusty hotel, trading on its heritage and not much else. It’s now a museum, with a well-interpreted display of the city’s history that’s augmented by curiosities that have stood the test of time such as a jade fireplace.

Shandong
Gary Ng

Another legacy of Germany’s brief stay in Qingdao, the Tsingtao brewery, has made a name for itself in bars around the world. Its owners have since opened a number of 1903 bars downtown, pulling in the young and the thirsty with a mixture of crisp decor, live music and swift-flowing amber nectar. And it’s not just beer that’s pulling in Qingdao’s punters. FishCoffeer, set up by barista-turned-entrepreneur Zhang Rong, is riding the artisanal coffee boom, with beans sourced directly from producers in South America roasted on the premises.

Shandong
Gary Ng

Shandong is pretty happy with what it has: one mountain, one river, one sage, as the local saying goes. Add a whole new vibe, and you’ve got four reasons to visit.

This story was originally published in October 2018 and updated in September 2020

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book