中國內地

旅客必遊的中國十大勝地

旅遊限制解除後,你必定急不及待預早策劃行程出門度假。以下的中國內地航點距離香港只是很短的航程,正是我們在此重點推介的旅遊目的地

當航空旅遊逐漸回復常態,我們都在考慮應選擇到哪裡遊玩。隨著旅遊氣泡計劃帶動龐大的短程航班需求 — 中國勢將成為旅遊人士必選之地。

令人大感興趣的旅遊體驗何其多 — 包括觀賞野生動物、充滿未來派風格的奇幻城市景觀,以至到海灘度假勝地放鬆身心,或到古老的歷史遺跡尋幽探秘 — 即使是你曾到訪的地方,重臨舊地也總會有令人驚喜的新發現。

參考以下我們列出的中國十大必遊勝地,你便可以開始策劃行程了。

因應2019冠狀病毒病疫情反覆不定,中國內地可能會持續實施旅遊限制,國泰航空飛往中國內地的航班或會隨時作出調整。查看此網頁以掌握最新的航班資訊。

上海:創新建築的剪影

Shanghai street view
Credit: Shutterstock

這個大都會的人口多達2,400萬,坐擁多座高度全國數一數二的大樓。浦東區黃浦江的沿岸建築群宛如科幻電影的場景,一座座摩天大廈極富未來感,要見證中國的建築革命,最好登上達632米高的上海中心大廈頂層的觀景台,大樓的輪廓呈扭紋形,是全球第二高的建築,在此觀賞這個繁華都市的全景最適合不過。

上海的魅力並不只於擁有堂皇的玻璃建築,畢竟它自19世紀中葉已是主要的貿易樞紐,長久以來深受西方文化和美學影響,難怪市內裝飾藝術風格的大樓林立,規模冠絕亞洲。當中最馳名的上海外灘有不少經典建築,建於1929年的上海和平飯店便是一例。在另一邊廂的住宅區法租界和舊城區,同樣壯觀的建築佳作比比皆是。

觀賞舊建築之餘,別忘了造訪時尚的新天地,這個地產項目把東西方建築元素注入上海特有的傳統石庫門弄堂平民住宅,加以改建後,把它們變成商店、咖啡店、餐廳和酒店等消閒設施。

杭州:湖光山色中泡一杯好茶

Hangzhou sunset view

浙江省省會杭州是多間大型中國企業的大本營,電貿巨擘阿里巴巴只是其中的表表者,故此吸引不少年輕的中國創業家進駐,以求在科技界闖出名堂。不過,遠在它成為初創基地之前,杭州西湖早被列入世界文化遺產,是歷代騷人墨客創作的靈感泉源。西湖風光如畫,古寺、佛塔和湖上棧道終年吸引遊客慕名前來。

杭州也是吸引愛品茶的雅士必訪之地,他們均嚮往把西湖龍井村納入度假行程之列,龍井村就在西湖市中心以西,四面群山環抱,其同名炒綠茶享負盛名,最高級的品種是明前龍井,茶葉在清明節前的早春採摘,嫩芽較多,份外珍貴,每千克可賣上數千元。

廈門:海邊一抹歐洲風情

Xiamen lakeside view, pond

自從19世紀開始,福建省海邊城市廈門已是中國主要的貿易港口,從市內歐洲風格的建築可見一斑。名列世界遺產的鼓浪嶼雖然是個小島,但它的殖民時代別墅、大宅、教堂和學校堪稱建築典範,島上嚴禁車輛行駛,由市中心乘渡輪前往十分便捷,加上水族館和全球最大的鋼琴博物館就在島上,令鼓浪嶼成為度假勝地。

至於市內的南華路和華新路,曾是遠赴海外工作或經商的華僑歸根後的住所,他們回廈門後改建祖屋,為家鄉帶來西式的別墅和大宅設計。時至今日,這些建築已變身成書店、咖啡店和精品酒店,當中不少以東南亞花紋瓷磚裝飾,展現廈門獨有的中西結合美學。

至於新景點方面,不得不提廈門健康步道,這條全長23公里的跨道路橋樑連接多個廈門馳名景點,在2020年年初啟用,讓遊客隨意探索這個閒適的城市。

福州:文化和自然的寶庫

Fuzhou old town street night view

從廈門沿岸驅車而上,便可到達散發老城風情的福建省省會福州。那裡的文化歷史重鎮是三坊七巷,佔地38公頃,屹立多座前身為士大夫府第的明清時期建築。時至今日,它們成為咖啡店、精品店、本土小食店及售賣年輕設計師產品的展銷市場。

福州鄰近多個中國出色的戶外景點,最適合以此為據點來多趟探索一日遊,青雲山距離福州約一小時車程,通往秀麗的青龍瀑布,是人氣旺盛的遠足路線。另一個「打卡」勝地是海邊小縣城霞浦,它的灘塗和海帶田風景遠近馳名。

廣州:回眸過去,展望將來

Guangzhou modern architecture

南中國的羊城廣州,長久以來都是中國主要的貿易樞紐和製造業重鎮,現在這裡已發展成人口近1,500萬、以創新產業推動經濟的大都會,在大灣區舉足輕重。粵港澳大灣區是中央政府推出的發展政策,整合珠江三角洲多個城市,匯合成一個經濟火車頭。

縱使廣州發展日新月異,基建不斷改進,摩天大樓相繼拔地而起,多家鼎鼎大名的酒店先後進駐,還有許多歷史遺跡值得探索。東山口是其中之一,這區是20世紀初上流階層的住宅區,時至今天,這些紅磚大宅經過復修,成為了文青愛逛的藝術空間、精品店、咖啡店、餐廳和酒吧。

廣州更是粵菜的發源地,度過美好的假期,一頓傳統點心大餐實在不容錯過,你只管大啖不同形狀和大小的飽餃點心,佐以自選的一壺好茶,品嚐經典美味。

成都:可愛熊貓和火辣川菜

Chengdu mapo tofu dish and panda

成都是大熊貓和火辣菜式的代名詞,而且實至名歸。成都大熊貓繁育研究基地位於成都市以北,逾100頭國寶熊貓在此居住,絕對值得專程造訪。成都可謂集川菜之大成,更獲聯合國教科文組織封為「美食之都」。品嚐麻辣川菜的最佳方法,就是走到成都街頭,吃遍最地道的四川家常小菜及點心,如擔擔麵、麻婆豆腐和红油抄手。

成都為人津津樂道的名物當然不止於此,這裡的創意產業生機蓬勃,前途無限,國內年輕的藝術家和設計師受其悠閒的生活節奏吸引移居當地,並在此開設工作室。同時,成都亦獲海外藝廊和時裝品牌青睞,相繼在市內設立分店。

南京:一窺古代歷史面貌

Nanjing Fuzimiao along Qinhuai River

南京與北京、西安和洛陽並列為中國四大古都,南京是六個朝代的政治中心,遺下了古城牆和中山陵等歷史地標,因此成為歷史迷尋幽探秘的勝地。明朝開國皇帝朱元璋和皇后馬氏的合葬陵墓明孝陵亦位於南京,更被列入世界文化遺產。

橫跨市中心的秦淮河畔是夫子廟的所在地,這座供奉聖賢孔子的古廟歷史可追溯至約1,000年前,今日已發展成由明清建築群修建而成的綜合場所,內有商店、餐廳和咖啡店等。

這座歷史悠久的城市亦展望將來,矢志蛻變成可持續發展的智能都市,吸引科技及綠色能源企業進駐南京,設立研發中心。

重慶:味蕾發麻的菜餚和鬼城之旅

Chongqing highway bridge, night view

中國西部的超級都會重慶是一個發展迅速的經濟中心和交通樞紐,面積跟奧地利相若,卻有逾3,000萬人口。近年,一座座壯觀高樓沿著長江和嘉陵江拔地而起,兩條河流交會之處正是重慶市的中心商業區。河畔另一可觀之處是樓高11層的餐飲消閒設施洪崖洞,其前身是依山而建的防禦城樓,現在薈萃了購物、餐飲及消閒設施。

渝菜一字記之曰「辣」,不要錯過品嚐令人大汗淋漓和味蕾發麻的重慶火鍋、酸辣粉,以及用上大量四川辣椒和花椒熬湯、辣味沖天的水煮魚。

除了暢遊市中心外,不妨預留時間前往酆都鬼城,從重慶市中心沿著長江驅車東行,不論是駕車或乘火車約需兩小時。酆都鬼城以各種地府的神殿寺廟造型馳名,可說是另類主題公園。

三亞:陽光與海灘之最

Sanya luxury hotels and resorts

海濱城市三亞位於海南島南端,有「中國夏威夷」的美譽,熱帶氣候宜人,陽光與海灘吸引愈來愈多人到此滑浪,加上陸續進駐的豪華酒店和度假村,如三亞亞龍灣瑞吉度假酒店、同在亞龍灣的三亞美高梅度假酒店、坐落海棠灣的三亞保利瑰麗酒店和三亞艾迪遜酒店等,令它成為中國境內最受歡迎的度假勝地。如果你選的是規模龐大、坐擁1,314間客房的三亞亞特蘭蒂斯酒店,更可以盡情享受嬉水之樂,暢遊酒店內的水上樂園、露天水族館、跟不同海洋生物互動,或索性住在水底套房,並且共有五間供你挑選。

從三亞驅車出發,約90分鐘車程便抵達衝浪勝地日月灣,不論是初學者還是老手都愛在此一試身手。這裡更是多個國際衝浪賽事的比賽場地,亦是中國國家衝浪隊和學院的基地,年輕的運動員都在此接受訓練,期望他朝能代表國家參加奧運。

北京:走過中國的宮廷歷史

Beijing historical traditional buildings and streets

中國擁有數千年歷史,北京在過去700年來大部分時間均是一國之都,歷史底蘊深厚,作為明清兩代24位皇帝和家眷居所的紫禁城也屹立於此600年。佔地達72公頃的紫禁城現已成為故宮博物院,不論是亭台樓閣、御花園、文物均獲精心修復,並定期舉辦展覽,每年訪客數以百萬計。

若你希望探索平民百姓的歷史,北京城內所餘無幾的胡同是你必訪之地。胡同內的社區稱為四合院,四面以灰磚建成的小屋包圍著中央的庭院,這是數百年前北京居民的家園。時至今天,市內的胡同宛如迷宮一樣,當中最具人氣的是南鑼鼓巷、東四街道和五道營胡同。這些胡同的建築大多經過修復,並有城中最時尚的酒吧、餐廳、咖啡店和精品酒店進駐。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Chinese mainland

10 Places in China Every Traveller Should Visit

Planning a holiday once the travel lockdown ends? These destinations across China – all a short-haul flight from Hong Kong – are at the top of our list

As air travel slowly resumes, we’re all thinking about our next trip. Travel bubbles and short-haul flights are going to figure big – and that puts places in China front and centre.

China offers up a fascinating variety of experiences – from wildlife to futuristic cityscapes to beach resorts and ancient culture – and there’s always something new since your last visit.

Start your travel planning here with our list of top 10 places to visit in China.

Cathay Pacific services to the Chinese mainland are subject to change due to evolving COVID-19 travel restrictions. Check this page for the most up-to-date flight information.

Shanghai: For Snapshots of an Architectural Revolution

Shanghai street view

A megacity of 24 million, Shanghai boasts some of China’s tallest buildings. Its futuristic skyline in Pudong district along the Huangpu River features Blade Runner-esque skyscrapers. There’s no better place to witness China’s architectural revolution than the observatory atop the 632-metre, twisting Shanghai Tower – the world’s second-tallest building – for a panoramic view of this vibrant city.

But it’s not all shining glass. Having served as a major trading hub since the mid-1800s, Shanghai has long been influenced by Western culture and aesthetics. This is evidenced by all the art deco buildings still standing in the city – the largest such collection in Asia. The Bund – Shanghai’s famous riverfront promenade – is home to many classic structures such as the Fairmont Peace Hotel, built in 1929. Over in the former French Concession and the Old City, you’ll find equally impressive architectural gems throughout these residential neighbourhoods.

Be sure to explore the stylish Xintiandi area, with its pedestrian lanes of shikumen, townhouses built in a traditional Shanghainese style which combines elements of Western and Chinese architecture. These days, many of them contain shops, cafes, restaurants and hotels.

Hangzhou: For a Scenic Lake and a Fine Cup of Tea

Hangzhou sunset lakeside view

As the hometown of major Chinese companies like e-commerce giant Alibaba, Hangzhou has emerged as the base for many Chinese young entrepreneurs looking to become the next big name in tech. But long before the capital of Zhejiang province turned into an up-and-coming start-up hub, Hangzhou’s Unesco-listed West Lake (Xihu) inspired generations of Chinese poets and artists. Tourists flock to the iconic lake year-round to take in its picture-perfect scenery, which includes temples, pagodas and walkways over the water.

It’s also one of the most appealing places in China for tea enthusiasts who will want to spend part of their getaway in Longjing Village, located in the rolling hills of Xihu district just west of the city centre and famous for its namesake pan-roasted green tea. The high-end version is Mingqian longjing, with leaves picked during the early spring before Qingming Festival – it can cost thousands of dollars per kilogram.

Xiamen: For a European Vibe by the Sea

Xiamen lakeside view, pond

The coastal city of Xiamen in Fujian province has been an essential trading port for China since the 1800s, and this identity is reflected in the city’s European-influenced architecture. The best examples of colonial-era villas, mansions, churches and schools can be seen on the Unesco-listed island of Gulangyu, a vehicle-free haven just a short ferry ride from the city centre. This tourist hotspot also has an aquarium and the world’s largest piano museum.

Back in the city on Nanhua Lu and Huaxin Lu – streets that were once home to Chinese migrant workers and merchants returning from overseas – old Western-style villas and mansions have been converted into bookshops, cafes and boutique hotels. Many are decked out in South East Asian-inspired patterned tiles that have become a part of Xiamen’s East-meets-West aesthetic.

A new addition to the city’s attractions is the Xiamen Health Trail. This 23-kilometre walking path opened in early 2020 and connects many of Xiamen’s best-known scenic spots, allowing visitors to take in the relaxed city at their own pace.

Fuzhou: For Adventures in Culture and Nature

Fuzhou old town street night view

Up the coast from Xiamen lies Fuzhou, the capital of Fujian province and a city that shines with old-town charm. Its cultural centrepiece is Sanfang Qixiang (Three Lanes and Seven Alleys), a 38-hectare area of Ming and Qing dynasty-era buildings that were once home to the city’s elite. These heritage buildings now house cafes, boutiques, shops selling local snacks, and a marketplace showcasing products by young designers.

The city is also an ideal base for several day trips into China’s great outdoors. An hour’s drive from the city is Qingyun Mountain, a popular hiking spot that leads to the beautiful Qinglong (Green Dragon) Waterfall. Another photogenic spot is Xiapu, a small seaside county famed for its mudflats and seaweed farms.

Guangzhou: For a Blend of Past and Future

Guangzhou modern architecture

Guangzhou has long been one of China’s major trading hubs and manufacturing centres. Today, the southern city of nearly 15 million is an innovation-driven metropolis playing a key role in the Greater Bay Area, a government-led scheme which combines the Pearl River Delta into an integrated economic powerhouse.

But even as Guangzhou develops at breakneck speed with infrastructural upgrades, towering skyscrapers and big-name hotels, the city has plenty of worthwhile heritage sites. The Dongshankou area, which was an upper-class residential neighbourhood during the early 20th century, is now a hipster hangout featuring art spaces, boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars housed in restored red-brick mansions.

The city is also the spiritual home of Cantonese cuisine, which means no getaway is complete without a classic dim sum meal. Order dumplings, buns and rolls of all shapes and sizes, washed down with your pick of tea.

Chengdu: For Cute Pandas and Spicy Dishes

Chengdu mapo tofu dish and panda

Chengdu is best known for giant pandas and spicy food, and with good reason. The Giant Panda Breeding Research Base, located just north of the city, is home to more than 100 of the gentle national treasures. And as the centre of Sichuan cuisine, Chengdu has been designated a Unesco City of Gastronomy. To best experience the fiery yet numbing flavours of this definitive Chinese cuisine, simply take to the streets of the city – you’ll quickly find the most authentic versions of humble Sichuan home-style dishes and snacks such as dandan noodles, mapo tofu and dumplings doused with chilli oil.

But it’s not all bears and spice. Chengdu boasts an energetic, up-and-coming creative scene. Drawn by the laid-back lifestyle, young artists and designers from around the country are converging in the city to set up studios, and international art galleries and fashion labels have also started to pay attention.

Nanjing: For Glimpses of Ancient History

Nanjing Fuzimiao along Qinhuai River

Nanjing is one of China’s four ancient capitals, along with Beijing, Xi’an and Luoyang. It served as the centre of Chinese political power for six dynasties, and as a result the city is full of sites that will appeal to history buffs, from ancient walls to monuments such as Dr. Sun Yat-sen’s Mausoleum. There’s also the Unesco-listed Ming Xiaoling, the grand mausoleum of the Hongwu Emperor, who founded the Ming dynasty in 1368.

Set along the Qinhuai River in the city centre is Fuzimiao, or the Confucius Temple, which was originally built almost 1,000 years ago to worship the Chinese philosopher. It has evolved to include a complex of shops, restaurants and cafes in restored Ming and Qing dynasty-era buildings.

The historic city is now looking towards the future by focusing on development as a sustainable smart city, attracting enterprises in the tech and green energy sectors to Nanjing to set up research and development centres.

Chongqing: For Fiery Cuisine and a Ghost Town Tour

Chongqing highway bridge, night view

A fast-growing economic centre and transportation hub for western China, the megacity of Chongqing has a population of over 30 million in an area the size of Austria. In recent years, a range of impressive high-rises have sprung up along the Yangtze and Jialing rivers, which converge on the city’s central business district. Also on the waterfront, one of the hilly megacity’s most popular attractions is Hongya Cave, the site of an ancient military fortress which has been transformed into an 11-storey shopping, dining and lifestyle complex.

Chongqing’s cuisine specialises in spice – make sure to order the sweat-inducing, palate-numbing Chongqing-style hot pot, hot and sour rice noodles and shuizhuyu, boiled fish swimming in a fiery broth of Sichuan chillies and peppercorns.

Find time to venture beyond the city centre with a two-hour drive or train ride along the Yangtze to Fengdu Ghost City. This complex of temples and shrines is a sort of Chinese mythological afterlife theme park.

Sanya: For the Ultimate Beach Holiday

Sanya luxury hotels and resorts

The seaside city of Sanya sits on the southern end of Hainan Island, the ‘Hawaii of China’. It’s one of the popular places in China to visit year-round, thanks to the tropical climate, beautiful beaches, budding surfing scene and growing number of luxury hotels and resorts, from the MGM Grand and St. Regis in Yalong Bay to the Rosewood and The Edition in Haitang Bay. At the gigantic, 1,314-room Atlantis Sanya resort, guests can live the life aquatic by visiting the onsite water park and open-air aquarium, interacting with various sea animals or staying in one of five underwater suites.

A 90-minute car ride from Sanya takes you to Riyue (sun and moon) Bay – a popular hangout for surfers of all levels and the site of several international surf competitions. The area is also home to China’s national surfing team and academy, where young athletes train for the Olympic Games.

Beijing: For Walks Through Chinese Imperial History

Beijing historical traditional buildings and streets

Beijing has served as the nation’s capital for most of the past seven centuries. The 600-year-old Forbidden City was the home of 24 Ming and Qing dynasty emperors and their families, and today the sprawling 72-hectare complex houses the Palace Museum, where millions come each year to see the impressively restored buildings, pavilions, gardens, artifacts and exhibitions.

For a more down-to-earth slice of history, explore the city’s remaining hutongs – narrow alleyways lined by grey-brick, traditional courtyard houses called siheyuan – for a glimpse of what life was like for Beijing residents centuries ago. Among the most popular hutongs in this urban maze are Nanluoguxiang, Dongsi and Wudaoying, where you’ll find some of the city’s hippest bars, restaurants, cafes and boutique hotels, hidden within restored buildings.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book