商務旅行

廈門:探索中國蓬勃的科技之城

政府具前瞻性的政策正在吸引年輕企業家和科技巨頭加入這個冒起的創新沿海城市

談及中國的創新科技發展時,深圳、廣州這些大城市,或者北京、杭州及西安等科技重鎮定必榜上有名。但其實,福建省的沿岸小城廈門,最近則不斷在這方面大展拳腳。

早在1980年代,廈門已是被鄧小平點名發展的四大經濟特區之一。現在更成為中國其中一個冒起的一線城市,每平方公里的國內生產總值位列全國第四,僅次於深圳、上海及廣州三大城市。直至2017年為止,廈門已有1,200間科技公司於當地的科學園和創業培育中心營運,當中機械人科技、人工智能、大數據、虛擬實境、電子商貿、手機軟件、自動化技術、物聯網等尖端新興行業,均在這個城市百花齊放。

政府具前瞻性的政策持續推動城市發展,如各種資助創客空間發展的計劃,包括設立凝聚創意人士、企業家及設計師的咖啡館式場所,在市內數目就接近100個之多。當地更建立了廈門市軟件園,自拍科技巨擘美圖的總部便設於此處,另外還有其他3,000多間公司進駐。此外,廈門現更成為了發展應用醫療保健業大數據的試點。

廈門因不及北京和上海般國際化,所以曾面對人才荒的問題,可是愈來愈多渴求革新的年輕人開始湧入廈門,不僅是為了在當地創業,還希望在這個趕潮流的沿海城市安居樂業,感受蓬勃的創意界在此施展創新魅力,並享受創新都市規劃的發展成果,如在2017年落成、全球最長的高架單車徑等。當然,廈門擁有未受污染的清新空氣、宜人氣候及一望無際的海景,可謂中國最宜居的城市,難怪吸引人才到此發展。

人物: 蔡文勝

Innovation Asia, Xiamen, tech hub
Ryan Chan

蔡文勝很在乎你的容貌,因此於2008年在廈門跟其他人共同創辦了美圖公司,自此成為全球數一數二自拍修圖應用程式的先驅。公司旗下的應用程式系列包括美圖秀秀、BeautyPlus及以視頻為主的社交媒體美拍等,迄今已擁有4.8億用戶,而全球安裝過相關程式的裝置更多達15億。此外,美圖亦有生產自家手機,當中糖果色系的手機滿載人工智能修圖功能,並配備更大的前置鏡頭。

蔡文勝於1970年在鄰近廈門的泉州市出生,是一名家財萬貫的天使投資者。自2017年起他已投資超過19間公司,然而,他早於1999年便開始買賣全球過期互聯網域名,並於2003年創立了導航網站265.com,其後被Google收購。

蔡文勝創立美圖,旨在「建立一個美麗世界」,而在廈門實現這項壯舉絕對適合不過。他不會將廈門與三藩市或矽谷相比,反而與西雅圖相提並論,並表示︰「廈門是工作和生活完美平衡的理想之地,堪比西雅圖,美國最美麗的城市。」

可是,美圖的業績並非像修圖後的效果般美好,伴隨著2017年在港上市時股價表現疲弱,令蔡文勝的美圖之旅未能盡如人意,促使他尋求提升自拍以外的軟件功能,如引進人工智能和大數據等技術。這些新功能除了分析皮膚狀況外,更為用家推介保健美容專家推薦的彩妝產品,或適合你面形的髮型。社交媒體亦是蔡文勝轉向發展的另一範疇:美圖近期推出類似Instagram的應用程式,或有望為這已屹立十年的科技巨擘轉虧為盈。

產品: 美柚

Xiamen, tech hub
Ryan Chan

美柚是一個於2013年創立的應用程式,由起初簡單的經期記錄演變成多用途女性保健程式,堪稱中國女性的社交平台。此外,美柚更提供懷孕準備和精神健康等服務,還設有以時裝、健身及減肥或交友等話題的討論區。

今年,這間以廈門為基地的公司獲企業網站iheima.com列入中國獨角獸企業百強排行榜﹙「獨角獸」指市值逾10億美元的私營初創公司﹚。中國的女性保健應用程式市場競爭激烈,多個對手力爭上游,然而,美柚憑藉以社區為基礎的理念突圍而出,規模遠較開初龐大。

今天,美柚擁有超過1.5億註冊用戶及700萬個日常活躍用戶。部分有關性健康話題的討論在一般平台被視為禁忌,美柚便成為分享資訊的重要來源,因此有關討論區非常熱鬧。

蓄勢待發

自製無人機

想自製無人機?市場上開源無人機的組件大多都是廈門赫星的出品。Pixhawk2是這間公司全新出品的組件,讓你的無人機以全自動駕駛模式飛行。

取證科技

來自廈門的美亞柏科是中國頂尖電子數據取證科技公司之一。他們的觸碰式屏幕裝置「取證魔方」猶如「取證萬用刀」,能協助執法人員瞬間破解、掃描及分析手機和電腦的數據。

虛擬實境遊戲

2017年,廈門手機遊戲巨擘吉比特推出首個專為虛擬實境而設的跨平台遊戲《Deadly Hunter》,主要透過個人電腦在Steam平台上線。配合如Oculus Rift 等備受歡迎的頭戴式顯示器使用,令你投入逼真的遊戲世界。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Serious business

Xiamen: Inside one of China’s most exciting tech cities

Forward-thinking government plans are attracting young entrepreneurs and tech giants to this increasingly innovative coastal city. Words by TOM O'MALLEY, illustrations by RYAN CHAN

When it comes to technology and innovation in China, mega-cities like Shenzhen and Guangzhou, or established behemoths like Beijing, Hangzhou and Xi’an, usually grab all the headlines. But the compact city of Xiamen, hugging the coast in Fujian Province, has been punching above its weight for a while now.

One of China’s new breed of emerging first-tier cities, Xiamen is ranked fourth in GDP per square kilometre, behind only Shenzhen, Shanghai and Guangzhou. In 2017, there were 1,200 tech companies operating in its science parks and incubators. Robotics, artificial intelligence, big data, virtual reality, e-commerce, mobile software, automation, the internet of things – these cutting-edge, emerging industries are thriving in a city that Deng Xiaoping established as one of his original four special economic zones back in the 1980s.

Forward-thinking government policy continues to help propel the city on, with schemes like funding for the development of hacker spaces. These include cafe-like places to host communities of creators, entrepreneurs and designers; there are almost 100 such spots in the city. There’s also Xiamen Software Park, home to selfie tech giant Meitu’s headquarters, and more than 3,000 other companies. It’s now part of a pilot batch of cities that will develop the use of big data for the healthcare industry.

It used to be that talent acquisition was a problem for cities like Xiamen, with its lower global profile compared with Beijing and Shanghai. But increasingly, hungry young innovators flock to Xiamen seeking not only to thrive in its startups, but also to live and work in a coastal city riding a wave of cool. With its flourishing creative scene, innovative urban projects like the world’s longest elevated cycle path established in 2017, unpolluted air and pleasant climate, Xiamen is one of China’s most attractive cities to live and prosper.

The person: Cai Wensheng

Innovation Asia, Xiamen
Ryan Chan

Cai Wensheng cares about how you look. That’s why he co-founded Meitu (literally ‘beautiful picture’) in Xiamen in 2008, a company that has grown into one of the world’s leading creators of beauty-enhancing selfie apps. Cai’s suite of apps, including Meitu, BeautyPlus and video-based social media app Meipai, has over 480 million users and has been installed on over 1.5 billion devices worldwide – including Meitu-made phones. The company’s candy-coloured handsets are loaded with beauty-enhancing artificial intelligence (AI) features and larger front-facing cameras.

Born in 1970 in Quanzhou, a city close to Xiamen, Cai is a billionaire angel investor, with investments in more than 19 companies since 2017. But he started out in 1999 purchasing and selling expired domain names to buyers all over the world. In 2003, he founded navigation website 265.com, which was acquired by Google.

At Meitu, Cai’s mission is ‘to build a beautiful world’, and there’s no better city to do it in than Xiamen. ‘Xiamen is the best city in terms of a place where living and working are combined,’ says Cai, who compares it not to San Francisco or Silicon Valley but to Seattle – ‘the most beautiful city in the United States’, as he calls it.

But his journey at Meitu hasn’t been all enhanced smiles and rosy cheeks, with stocks performing poorly following a bumper Hong Kong public offering in 2017. Which is why Cai is seeking to elevate his software beyond the selfie, offering new features that employ AI and big data to do things like analyse your skin and work with health and beauty professionals to suggest makeup products, or hairstyles that match your face shape. Social media is another area that Cai is increasingly turning to, with the recent launch of an Instagram-style app that might provide more revenue possibilities for the 10-year-old tech giant, which is still yet to turn a profit. meitu.com

The product: Meiyou

Innoivation Asia, Xiamen
Ryan Chan

Meiyou, also called Meet You, an app founded in 2013, started out as a simple period tracker but has evolved into a multifaceted women’s health app and a social platform for Chinese females. As well as providing services in areas like pregnancy preparation and mental health, it also offers message boards to discuss topics like fashion, fitness and weight loss or simply to make new friends.

This year the Xiamen-based company was listed by entrepreneurship website iheima.com as one of the Top 100 Unicorn Companies in China (‘unicorn’ denotes a private startup valued at over US$1 billion). The women’s health app sector in China is fiercely competitive, with a number of rivals vying for top spot. But it’s the community-based approach of Meiyou that has elevated this product above its rivals, and seen it become so much more than what it set out to be.

Today, the app boasts more than 150 million registered users, and 7 million daily active users, and its busy message boards are seen by many as a vital information-sharing resource amid some of the taboos that still surround sexual health discussions.

What to watch

DIY drones

Want to build your own drone? The open-source components you find will likely be made by Xiamen-based Hex. Pixhawk2 is the company’s latest component, which lets your drone fly in autopilot.

Forensic Tech

Xiamen firm Meiya Pico is one of China’s leading forensic technology companies. The company calls its Forensic Magicube touch-screen device the ‘Swiss Army Knife of forensics’. It helps operatives in the field crack, scan and analyse data from phones and computers in seconds.

Gaming Reality

Xiamen mobile game giant G-Bits released Deadly Hunter, its first cross-platform game designed exclusively for virtual reality, on the PC-based Steam platform in 2017. This highly immersive game is designed to be used with popular hardware like Oculus Rift.

Cathay Dragon flies to Xiamen from Hong Kong 28 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book