自然和户外

星球大戰之旅: 愛爾蘭的風光

愛爾蘭壯麗的風光在最新的兩部《星球大戰》電影裡變身成為遙遠銀河系裡的異星世界。撰文 RONAN J O'SHEA

小時候,每年暑假我都會去祖母家住六個星期;打發日子的活動包括到表親家裡玩、往海灘去和大啖祖母親手製作、滋味天下無雙的煎薄餅。當時我從沒有想過,我至愛的《星球大戰》與愛爾蘭有什麼關係。原來我真是大錯特錯。

野性大西洋之路位於有綠寶石島之稱的愛爾蘭西岸,從南到北蜿蜒2,500公里,地貌嶙峋奇峭,景色壯麗。近年,電影攝製隊絡繹前來,將這個地方搬上銀幕,變成賣座的《星球大戰》系列中《原力覺醒》與《最後絕地武士》中那個遙遠的銀河系。

馬林角

Chris Hill ©Tourism Ireland/Failte Ireland

電影系列裡著名的太空船千歲鷹號曾經光臨位於因尼斯赫文半島的馬林角(其中的Slieve League Cliffs山是歐洲數一數二的高山)。工作人員在馬林角的山崖上,將這艘太空船一點一點的搭建出來;然後飾演Rey的DaisyRidley與飾演LukeSkywalker的Mark Hamill前來拍戲。拍攝完畢後,Hamill於當地的Farren’s Bar酒吧現身,小酌一杯。這家酒吧的外牆有一幅Yoda的壁畫。facebook.com/farrenbar1825

盧普角

Valerie O'Sullivan

盧普角位於克萊爾郡,是從野性大西洋之路中間伸出來、一片有如手指般狹長的土地。在《最後絕地武士》的預告片中,可以見到這個地方。這裡有座燈塔,風景絕佳,不過拍攝時不對外開放。盧普角是觀鳥者喜愛的地方,也有很多人前來看海豚。稍往北行,就會來到CliffsofMoher懸崖(這是愛爾蘭最多人前來遊覽的自然景點)與TheBurren自然風景區;後者由水蝕石灰岩形成獨特的風景,非常受環保旅遊人士的喜愛,它保留了冰河時代的美麗地貌。

Skellig Michael 島

Valerie O'Sullivan ©Failte Ireland

在《原力覺醒》的結尾,Chewbacca與Rey駕著千歲鷹號在Ahch-To星球漫遊的大遠景,那就是SkelligMichael島的景色。這個島嶼位於凱里郡海岸對開,早於六世紀就有修士在島上清修,片中所見Luke的營地就是修士們當年的修行之所。這個島嶼名列聯合國教科文組織世界遺產,因此攝製組只能在島上拍兩天戲。為了連戲,他們要另覓地點搭建Luke的營地,詳情參閱下文。天氣好的時候,可到這個位於凱里郡對開的島嶼遊覽,不過導賞團極受歡迎,渡船航班亦有限,出發前最好先訂票。

岬角

科克郡與凱里郡的吸引之處可說不相伯仲,但只有有眼無珠的人才會錯過科克郡的美好之處。郡內的主要城市有多家博物館、餐廳與小酒吧,而郡內其他地方則有不少歷史古城和風景美麗的郊區。《星球大戰》的攝製隊則在Brow Head岬角(愛爾蘭最南端)嶙峋的山洞與礦穴拍攝《最後絕地武士》,這一場戲講的是Rey受訓以及發現Luke不可告人的秘密。

西比爾角

Valerie O’Sullivan ©Tourism Ireland/Failte Ireland

Ahch-To星球的另一個替身是西比爾角,位於說愛爾蘭語的丁格爾半島。《最後絕地武士》的攝製隊在這裡重建那些蜂巢形的小石屋,用來拍攝Chewie、Rey與Luke以及星球的原生物種porg在Luke的營地的場面。飾演Kylo Ren的Adam Driver與Rey有隔空傳心的情節,他特地飛來愛爾蘭,在鏡頭外與Rey做對手戲。

國泰航空於6月2日推出由香港直飛都柏林的航班服務

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

Movie itinerary: A Star Wars tour of Ireland

Ireland’s dramatic landscapes stand in for a galaxy far, far away in the latest Star Wars movies. By RONAN J O'SHEA

As a child, I visited my nan for six weeks each summer. My days were spent visiting cousins, going to the beach and eating Grandma Mac’s inimitable pancakes. Back then, I could never have imagined Ireland would ever have anything to do with my other love – Star Wars. How wrong I was.

In recent years, the Emerald Isle’s rugged Wild Atlantic Way – a 2,500 kilometre route stretching from north to south along the western coast – has welcomed film crews as they recreated that galaxy far, far away in the franchise’s latest blockbuster films, The Force Awakens and The Last Jedi.

Malin Head

Tourism Ireland
Chris Hill ©Tourism Ireland/Failte Ireland

The franchise’s most famous vessel, the Millennium Falcon, paid a special visit to Malin Head (whose Slieve League Cliffs are among the highest in Europe), on the Inishowen peninsula. A replica of the Falcon was built, piece by piece, on the cliffs of Malin Head, while Daisy Ridley (Rey) and Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker) also flew in for scenes. After filming wrapped, Hamill popped by Farren’s Bar, which sports a Yoda mural on the exterior. facebook.com/farrenbar1825

Loop Head

Movie-Itinerary-1
Valerie O'Sullivan

Loop Head, in County Clare, is a finger-shaped slither of uninhabited land in the middle of the Wild Atlantic Way that makes an appearance in The Last Jedi trailer. Its lighthouse – which was closed to the public during filming – has excellent views, while the peninsula is popular with birdwatchers and dolphin-watching excursions. Travel further north and you’ll reach the Cliffs of Moher (Ireland’s most visited natural attraction) and The Burren – a beautiful glacial-era landscape of karst rock popular with ecotourists.

Skellig Michael

Kerry; skellig Michaelcredit: Valerie O'Sullivan ©Failte Ireland
Valerie O'Sullivan ©Failte Ireland

The wide shots of Ahch-To, the remote rocky island Chewbacca and Rey travel to in the Millennium Falcon in the final scenes of The Force Awakens, were of Skellig Michael. Filming was limited to two days due to its Unesco World Heritage-listed status – which is why the ‘beehive’ huts (which housed monks in the sixth century) that made up Luke’s camp were recreated elsewhere (more on that later). The island off the coast of County Kerry can be visited in good weather, but book ahead as tours are popular and boat numbers limited.

Brow Head

brow head

The Rebel County may be Kerry’s rival, but only a fool would miss Cork’s charms. The main city is teeming with museums, restaurants and hole-in-the-wall pubs, while the wider county has many historic towns and beautiful countryside. Star Wars crews, meanwhile, used the craggy caves and mine shafts of Brow Head (Ireland’s most southerly point) while filming The Last Jedi, as Rey undergoes training and discovers Luke’s dark secrets.

Ceann Sibéal

Movie-Itinerary-4
Valerie O’Sullivan ©Tourism Ireland/Failte Ireland

Another stand in for Ahch-To was the headland of Ceann Sibéal, on the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) Dingle peninsula. Here, The Last Jedi crew recreated the beehive huts for scenes between Chewie, Rey and Luke – and the adorable porgs – at Luke’s camp. Adam Driver, who played Kylo Ren, flew to Ireland to act off-screen for the scenes featuring telepathic exchanges with Rey.

Cathay Pacific launches direct flights to Dublin from Hong Kong on 2 June

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book