自然和户外

在香港露營:風景最佳的紮營地點

想投入大自然的懷抱又不用離開香港?去露營比你想像中方便得多,而且同時可以遠足,享受水上活動及欣賞優美風景

香港地勢多山,山間較為平坦的地方高樓大廈林立,744萬居民大多住在這個混凝土森林內。然而香港境內的高山擁有不少風景優美的地點,讓人可以郊外為家,度過一、兩個充滿野趣的晚上。

在香港露營其實十分方便,有40多個由政府管理的營地,此外亦有由非政府組織及私人機構營運的露營地點可供選擇。這些營地很多都免費供人使用,而且乘搭公共交通工具即可抵達。不過其中有幾個營地可能需要再徒步走一段路,或者乘坐渡輪,才能抵達。如果你沒有營帳和用具,可以向Urban Camper或同類公司租用,亦十分方便。

以下為你推介多個香港的露營好去處。

西貢大浪灣

海闊天空,遠離塵囂

Credit: Mike Pickles

位於西貢的大浪灣可能是香港最著名的露營勝地,這裡有西灣、鹹田灣、大灣及東灣四個美麗的沙灘,每一個都有潔白細沙和清澈的海水。從海灣可以眺望遠處海上星羅棋佈的小島,景色如夢似幻,令人恍如置身某個東南亞小島上的樂園,忘記了這是全球最繁忙城市的一部分。

海上的風浪有時頗大,「大浪灣」並非一個虛名,然而喜歡玩滑浪的人卻被這裡的大風大浪吸引前來。大浪灣營地有基本設施,幾家餐廳和商店,你可以在這些商店內租用營帳及其他露營用具。

如何前往:從港鐵坑口站、彩虹站或旺角站乘搭巴士或小巴前往西貢市,在那裡可轉乘一程快艇,乘搭29R巴士或的士前往西灣亭,在這裡步行90分鐘至鹹田或大灣;或者乘搭94號巴士,然後從北潭凹沿麥理浩徑往東步行90分鐘;又可以在黃石碼頭乘渡輪前往赤徑,再步行約一小時前往。

西貢浪茄灣

醉人海灘美景

Credit: Mike Pickles

這個由政府管理的營地讓人有置身偏遠荒郊的感覺,其實要前往卻十分容易,令你意想不到。不過你要帶齊所需的裝備和用具(營帳、睡袋、煮食用具以及食水),雖然負擔有點重,當你見到被眾山圍繞的海灣內,躺著一片平坦寬闊、風景絕佳的沙灘,前面是一望無際的大海時,就會感到辛苦是值得的。前往營地時會經過萬宜水庫,這裡有古代火山爆發後形成的岩石,形狀奇特,值得前往一遊。

如何前往:從西貢市乘的士前往位於萬宜水庫一道水壩上的西貢萬宜路盡頭,沿著麥理浩徑第一段往北行約20分鐘。

大嶼山貝澳

於海灣享受畔優哉悠哉的時光

Credit: Mike Pickles

只要付出少少努力,位於大嶼山的貝澳就會給你帶來許多獎勵。這個長長的沙灘上有幼滑細沙,綠蔭濃密,氣氛寧靜,還有令人心醉神迷的日落景色,而且前往一點也不困難。貝澳被一個海灣環抱,由於附近是一條船隻主要航道,有時會見到前往澳門的渡輪在海面飛馳而過,雖然與附近的景物有點不協調,但整體氣氛相當舒適宜人。你可在政府管理的營地內紮營,營地設有燒烤爐、公共洗手間及更衣室。沙灘上有一家小商店和數家餐室。從營地走出大路上,只需再走幾分鐘,就可找到更多商店和餐室。

如何前往:從中環乘渡輪前往梅窩,那裡所有的巴士的會經過貝澳;或者乘港鐵到東涌站,再轉乘3M巴士到貝澳。

大嶼山浪高長岸

水上運動勝地

Credit: Mike Pickles

位於大嶼山南岸的長沙海灘,風景優美而且經常人跡罕至,是弄潮兒的好去處。位於這個海灘的浪高長岸是個水上運動中心,提供帆船、滑浪、風帆、風箏滑浪、划艇、滑水等多種水上運動。此外還提供課程、活動及住宿套票等,選擇豐富。這裡提供豪華露營體驗,有設備齊全的南非營屋,也有固定的營車,裡面備有空調、舒適的床舖及私人浴室,並且供應早餐。沙灘上有多家商店和受歡迎的餐廳,例如Bathers等,可供選擇。

如何前往:從中環乘渡輪前往梅窩,有多條巴士線都可以載你到長沙海灘去。

元朗名樂漁莊

亞洲最古怪有趣的農莊住宿體驗

Credit: kaman.carmenlai / Instagram

名樂漁莊位於新界元朗附近的海岸上,應該也屬於「豪華露營」體驗。同時也可能是在這裡介紹的多個露營體驗中,最不尋常的一個。這裡的住宿選擇包括一個充滿未來氣息的圓形營帳,有如巨型氣泡,有透明及半透明兩種,裡面設有床舖及空調;還有充滿彈性的古堡、吹氣火箭或巨型磨菇等。此外還有露營車及配備私人浴室的營屋。你也可以自攜營帳,在草地上紮營。營地內還有個有機農場,不時舉行與環保有關的講座;其他活動包括射箭、跳彈床、太空球及爬樹等。

如何前往:乘搭港鐵前往元朗,再轉乘33號、34號或K65號巴士前往流浮山。

西貢塔門

綠草如茵的露營勝地

Credit: peterlamphotography.com

這個名叫塔門的小島,位於西貢離岸,島上有大片翠綠的草地,是紮營度假的理想地點。跟香港大部分離島一樣,這裡山勢起伏有致,為遊人帶來壯觀景色,特別是日出及日落時分,最為吸引。島上西南邊有一條小漁村,約有100名居民,還有歷史悠久的古廟以及幾家小型食肆和小商店。你需要自備大部分食物,不過要好好看管,因為島上有不少野牛,牠們會樂於享用你帶來的美食。

如何前往:有兩條渡輪路線可供選擇:從港鐵鑽石山站乘96R巴士或在西貢市乘搭94號巴士前往黃石碼頭,或在港鐵大學站搭短程的士往馬料水渡輪碼頭。

東龍洲

荒島漫步,遊覽古蹟

Credit: peterlamphotography.com

東龍洲位於新界東南部,面積雖然只有2.42平方公里,卻有不少好去處。島上有史前時代遺下的石刻、建於16世紀的古炮台遺跡,以及可以通往小島南端及登上230米高的南堂山的小徑,還有宜於攀石的地點。可能由於渡輪班次稀疏,加上島上只有非常基本的設施,因此前往島上的遊人並不多。島上設有政府管理的營地,位於古炮台附近,風景非常優美。

如何前往:從港鐵西灣河站附近的西灣河碼頭有渡輪往返,周末及公眾假期每天有五班;港鐵油塘站附近的三家村則有六班渡輪來回。

大嶼山昂坪

於大佛座下安睡

Credit: Mike Pickles

高34米的天壇大佛位於大嶼山,是香港極受歡迎的旅遊景點,白天遊人如鰂,現在你有機會體驗遊人散去後,與天壇大佛相處的感受。昂坪營地位於樹木茂密的山谷中,設備齊全,只須步行一段短程,就來到天壇大佛及相連的寶蓮禪寺。這一帶位於海拔400米的高地上,旁邊就是雄偉的鳳凰山。乘搭公共交通工具就可以抵達營地,這裡有海景和山景,還可以看到壯觀的港珠澳大橋。附近的旅遊景點昂坪市集內,有大量商店和食肆供你選擇。

如何前往:乘搭港鐵至東涌站,轉乘23號巴士至昂坪,或乘昂坪360纜車 ─ 若選乘水晶纜車,可從車廂透明玻璃底部觀賞蒼翠的山坡、大海與機場的風景;也可從中環乘船至梅窩,再轉乘2號巴士至昂坪。

九龍基維爾營地

飽覽本地風光

Credit: Mike Pickles

基維爾營地由香港童軍總會擁有,地點交通方便,進入營地內卻給人一種回歸大自然的感覺。營地範圍非常大,設計得十分妥貼,四周有蒼翠樹木圍繞,而且佔有地利,附近就是香港兩條最長的遠足徑 ─ 麥理浩徑及衛奕信徑─的交匯點。而且步行一段短短的路程,就可以俯瞰整個九龍市區風光,更可遠眺維多利亞港及更遠處的風景。雖然有道路直達營地,不過沿途並沒有店舖或其他服務提供;營地內有巨型的燒烤爐,還有木搭的淋浴間和洗手間,設施相當完備。

如何前往:乘塔港鐵至彩虹站,然後沿清水灣道而行,再左轉入飛鵝山道,步行45分鐘即可抵達,或者可以乘搭的士直達。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

Camping in Hong Kong: The Most Scenic Spots to Pitch Your Tent

Looking to escape to nature without leaving Hong Kong? Camping out is easier than you might think and a great way to combine hikes, watersports and gorgeous scenery

Camping in Hong Kong is easier than you might think. There’s no denying Hong Kong is crowded, with most of its 7.44 million residents squeezed into forests of high-rises in low-lying areas between the numerous hills. Fortunately, those hills are also equipped with scenic spots where the great outdoors can become your home for a night or two.

There are more than 40 campsites around the city operated by the government and others run by NGOs and private companies. Many are free and most are easily reached by public transport, although a few will require a bit of a hike to get there, and you may have to hop on a ferry before putting in the hard yards to the mountaintops and beaches they’ve staked claim to. Companies like Urban Camper sell and rent a wide range of camping equipment.

Read on for the best spots to go camping in Hong Kong.

Tai Long Wan, Sai Kung

Big, Famous and Far Away

Credit: Mike Pickles

Probably the most well-known spot to go camping in Hong Kong, this collection of four beautiful beaches – Sai Wan, Ham Tim, Tai Wan and Tung Wan – offers white sand, clear water and dreamy views of a bay dotted with tiny islands, making them feel more like a South East Asian island paradise than part of one of the world’s busiest cities.

The sea can be fierce at times – hence its name, which means ‘Big Wave Bay,’ and its popularity with surfers. There are basic facilities and a few restaurants and shops, which offer the option to rent a tent and other camping equipment when you arrive.

How to Get There: Bus to Sai Kung town from Hang Hau, Choi Hung, Diamond Hill or Mong Kok MTR stations. From there, options include take a speedboat the whole way; take bus 29R or a taxi to Sai Wan Pavilion and hike for 90 minutes to Ham Tin or Tai Wan; or take bus 94 and either hike for 90 minutes on the MacLehose Trail eastwards from Pak Tam Au or take a ferry from Wong Shek Pier to Chek Kang and hike for an hour.

Long Ke Wan, Sai Kung

Blissful Beach Vibes

Credit: Mike Pickles

An official government campsite that feels very far away but is surprisingly easy to get to. You’ll need to bring everything (tent, sleeping bags, cooking equipment – and water) but it’s worth it for the spectacular setting: a wide, flat, extremely pretty beach in a tight bay shrouded by hills, with uninterrupted sea views. Nearby High Island Reservoir, the access point to the beach, features ancient rock formations.

How to Get There: From Sai Kung Town, take a taxi to the very end of Sai Kung Man Yee Road, on a dam over High Island Reservoir, then hike north for 20 minutes along Section 1 of the MacLehose Trail.

Pui O, Lantau Island

Chilling by the Bay

Credit: Mike Pickles

Lantau Island’s Pui O provides plenty of reward for little effort. Easy to reach, it’s a long, tranquil beach with fine sand, trees and sensational sunset views. It’s located in a bay, albeit one with sometimes incongruous line of sight to a major shipping lane and Macao ferries zipping past. The government-run campsite gives you a little fenced-off area for your tent and access to barbecue pits; there are also public toilets and changing rooms. A small shop and a few restaurants are on the beach, and several more of both a few minutes’ walk away on the main road.

How to Get There: Take the ferry from Central to Mui Wo, where all buses go through Pui O; or take the MTR to Tung Chung and bus 3M to Pui O.

Long Coast Seasport, Lantau Island

The One for Watersports

Credit: Mike Pickles

Located by the long, beautiful, often underpopulated Cheung Sha beach, on the south coast of Lantau, Long Coast Seasport is a top choice for water babies looking to go camping in Hong Kong; it’s a watersports centre offering sailing, surfing, windsurfing, kiteboarding, kayaking, wakeboarding and more, with lessons and combined activity and accommodation packages available. It’s very much at the glamping end of the spectrum, with fully equipped safari tents and static caravans featuring aircon, comfortable beds and private bathrooms. Breakfast is included, and there are shops and popular restaurants such as Bathers on the beach.

How to Get There: Take the ferry from Central to Mui Wo, then any of a range of buses to Cheung Sha beach.

Mingle Farm, Yuen Long

Asia’s Quirkiest Farmstay

Credit: kaman.carmenlai / Instagram

Mingle Farm, by the coast near the New Territories town of Yuen Long, probably qualifies as a ‘glamping’ experience. It’s probably also the most unusual camping in Hong Kong experience on this list: accommodations include a futuristic bubble, either transparent or opaque, complete with beds and aircon; bouncy castles; inflatable rockets or giant toadstools. There are also caravans and houses with private bathrooms, or simply turn up and pitch your tent on the grass. As the name implies, there’s an onsite organic farm that hosts talks on eco-related themes and offers activities including archery, trampolining, zorbing and tree climbing.

How to Get There: Take the MTR to Yuen Long, then bus 33, 34 or K65 to Lau Fau Shan.

Grass Island, Sai Kung

Turf’s Up

Credit: peterlamphotography.com

This tiny dot off the coast of Sai Kung, known as Tap Mun in Cantonese, lives up to its name; the extensive patches of lush grass are perfect for pitching up a tent. Like most of Hong Kong’s islands, it’s hilly, providing stunning views, particularly stunning at sunrise and sunset. There’s a resident population of about 100 in a small fishing village in the southwest of the island, where there are also interesting temples and small eateries and shops. Bring most of your own food, but don’t leave it unattended; the island is also home to numerous wild cows who will happily help themselves to your stash.

How to Get There: There are two ferry routes: either take bus 96R from Diamond Hill MTR station or bus 94 from Sai Kung Town to Wong Shek Pier; or take a short taxi ride from University MTR station to Ma Liu Shui Pier.

Tung Lung Chau

Walk on the Wild Side

Credit: peterlamphotography.com

A wild, rugged island in the southeastern New Territories, Tung Lung Chau packs plenty into its 2.42 square kilometres and makes for a great spot to go camping in Hong Kong. It features prehistoric stone carvings; a ruined 16th century fort; pleasant walking paths to the scenic southern tip and over the 230-metre-high Nam Tong Shan; and some of Hong Kong’s best outdoor rock climbing. And it tends to be pretty empty, perhaps because there are only a few boats there a day and very basic services. The government campsite is in a picturesque location next to the fort.

How to Get There: There are five ferries a day on weekends and public holidays to and from Sai Wan Ho Pier, close to Sai Wan Ho MTR station; and six to and from Sam Ka Tsuen, close to Yau Tong MTR.

Ngong Ping, Lantau Island

Sleeping in the Shadow of the Buddha

Credit: Mike Pickles

Here’s your chance to go camping in Hong Kong and hang out by one of its top attractions at the same time – Lantau Island’s 34-metre-tall seated bronze Tian Tan Buddha – after the daytime tourist hordes have cleared out. The well-equipped campsite is in a wooded valley a short walk from the so-called Big Buddha and adjoining monastery, part of a highland area about 400 metres above sea level, next to the majestic Lantau Peak. It’s reachable by public transport and you get views of the sea, mountains and equally impressive Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge. The adjoining tourist village of Ngong Ping has ample shops and eateries.

How to Get There: Take the MTR to Tung Chung, then either bus 23 to Ngong Ping or the Ngong Ping 360 cable car – the glass-bottomed cabins afford particularly lovely views of steep forested hillsides, sea and airport; or take the ferry from Central to Mui Wo and bus 2 to Ngong Ping.

Gilwell, Kowloon

Scout Out the Local Sights

Credit: Mike Pickles

Handily located but with an impressively back-to-nature feel about it, Gilwell Campsite is owned by the Scout Association of Hong Kong. It’s huge, well designed, surrounded by greenery and well positioned – close to the intersection of Hong Kong’s two longest hiking routes – MacLehose and Wilson – and a short walk from panoramic views of Kowloon, the harbour and beyond. It’s accessible by road, which is handy given that there are no shops or services nearby, although there’s a massive barbecue pit and some rather nice wooden showers and toilets.

How to Get There: Take the MTR to Choi Hung, then walk along Clear Water Bay Road, turn left at Fei Ngo Shan Road and hike for about 45 minutes – or you can take a taxi all the way there.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book