悉尼

6大悉尼散步好去處

澳洲東南沿岸的悉尼海岸線蜿蜒多姿,既有美麗的海灘、壯觀的海港和閒適的氛圍,在悉尼散步實是一大樂事。這個海港城市不乏宜人的步行徑,當中有美麗的海港景致、野外風光、懸崖峭壁和各式咖啡店

1. 經典悉尼散步路線:邦迪至庫吉海岸

Sculpture by the Sea exhibition held on the spectacular Bondi to Tamarama coastal walk
Credit: MagSpace/Shutterstock

若要數最有悉尼特色的散步路線,就不得不提由邦迪懸崖之巔至庫吉海岸步道這一段。步道全長六公里,以滿佈白色細沙的邦迪海灘為起點,沿著悉尼海港岸邊伸延,沿途可飽覽浪濤拍岸的臨海風景、古代原住民的石刻藝術和數之不盡的咖啡和美食補給站。

步行全程只需數小時,何不悠閒地在此消磨一整天?在Bondi Icebergs Club海邊泳池俱樂部泡泡海水,在Clovelly Bowling Club保齡球俱樂部考考球技。穿梭悉尼多個小海灣曬曬日光浴為自己增添健康膚色,踏著滑板乘風破浪,或沿著水底天然步道浮潛。步道上有不少咖啡店,為客人奉上典型澳洲早午餐及flat white咖啡,讓你小休充電。

如果你仍覺得精力充沛,不想就此止步,可再多走三公里前往海邊市郊Maroubra,盡情享受金黃色的沙灘世界、追波逐浪及海邊餐廳的美食。

行程心得:澳洲每年春季(10月至11月)均會在邦迪至郊區Tamarama沿岸舉辦一年一度的海邊雕塑節Sculpture by the Sea,在岸邊設置100多座戶外藝術雕塑,蔚為奇觀。到了冬季(6月至7月),附近一帶海域可觀賞到遷徙中的座頭鯨出沒

路程:6公里;行程:2.5小時

難度:2/5(大致道路平坦,偶有陡峭的路段和梯級)

如何前往:由悉尼市中心乘巴士到邦迪海灘約需半小時,或乘火車到Bondi Junction車站,再轉的士約10分鐘車程便到

2. 悠閒舒適的悉尼散步路線:Glebe Foreshore公園遊

People walking through Bicentennial park in Sydney at sunset
Credit: Olga Kashubin/Shutterstock

如果你想輕鬆愉快地度過一個下午,可選擇漫步穿過多個前臨海灣Rozelle Bay和Blackwattle Bay的公園。你可先在Bicentennial Park 公園的草坪上野餐,把天際線和Anzac Bridge大橋等地標的美景盡收眼底,然後踱步到Federal Park公園觀看滑板手的招式和曲棍球比賽,或者在Jubilee Park 公園觀賞澳式足球聯盟和板球的熱烈賽事。如果你帶著孩子同行,他們定會在沿途的三大遊樂區玩過不亦樂乎。這條悉尼散步路線的終點站位於Pyrmont的悉尼魚市場,你可在此享用經典的炸魚薯條慰勞自己。

行程心得:建議花點時間繞道到郊區Glebe,一訪那裡維多利亞時期的特色建築、人來人往的咖啡店和充滿玩味的精品店

路程:2公里;行程:30分鐘

難度:1/5(路線不長,道路平坦)

如何前往:你可乘火車、巴士、地鐵或輕鐵到Bicentennial Park公園

3. 難度十足的悉尼散步路線:曼利至士必橋

Tidal pool at Fairlight Beach, Sydney
Credit: lrosebrugh/Shutterstock

你對於從曼利徒步走80公里到邦迪海灘的路線不感興趣?我們理解的。不過請你務必考慮從曼利步行到士必橋的首10公里路段。起步點由曼利海邊的郊區開始,緊記準備足夠的防曬霜和水。這條路線沿途風景優美,在粗糙的砂岩樓梯上蜿蜒而下,通往較為偏遠的海灘和觀賞悉尼港的有利位置。在Grotto Point欣賞古代原住民石刻以及歷史悠久的燈塔,在Castle Rock海灘清澈的海水中游泳,在Fairlight的潮汐池中尋找貝類動物。最後到達歷史悠久的士必橋,這座橋於1950年代重建後可以升降,讓船隻通過。

行程心得:若你打算在行程完結後一訪曼利的人氣衝浪海灘,以及海濱長廊附近的餐廳、咖啡館和酒吧,可選擇相反方向,從士必橋出發到曼利

路程:10公里;行程:4小時

難度:3.5/5(沿途有不少岩石,還有一段陡峭的上坡路,這段路線相當長,因此充滿挑戰性,並不適合帶同幼童同行)

如何前往:從環形碼頭登上曼利渡輪,船程30分鐘

4. 湖邊悉尼散步路線:帕拉瑪塔湖

One of the best Sydney walks takes you to Ayrfield Shipwreck on the Parramatta River
Credit: Jeffery Hamstock/Shutterstock

悉尼西部有三條環繞水塘和湖泊的步道,是遠離煩囂的悉尼散步好去處。環湖步道Lake Circuit全長逾四公里,穿過茂密的赤桉樹、山龍眼和野花林,沿途都有樹蔭,環境非常寧謐,但也相當熱鬧,因為在當地棲息的澳洲長尾鸚鵡、葵花鸚鵡和笑翠鳥,既有奪目美麗的外表,也有嘹亮的叫聲。同時,也別錯過比較安靜的青蛙和體型頗大的蜥蜴,還有源自19 世紀的帕拉瑪塔大壩。你既可租用腳踏船或划艇遊覽觀光,或在指定的泳區暢泳。不妨預備一些漢堡包食材在湖區的燒烤爐炮製充電大餐,當然也可直接光顧湖邊的咖啡館。

行程心得:10月底至4月初期間,區內有救生員當值,如果你打算在湖中暢泳,最好帶備泳鞋

路程:4.2公里;行程:1.5至2小時

難度:2/5(適合不同體能的人士,沿途有少數不太徒峭的上坡路和表面凹凸不平的路段)

如何前往:在悉尼的Bourke Street街上鄰近巴士站乘搭Hillsbus Route路線的609號巴士

5. 悉尼古蹟散步路線:South Head Heritage Trail古蹟徑

Take a walk to see Sydney landmark
Shutterstock (Editorial use only)By David Carillet

在悉尼海港國家公園散步,可一次過飽覽海港景色,同時深入了解澳洲的軍事歷史。綠樹成蔭的步道以屈臣氏灣渡輪碼頭為起點,那裡有酒店酒吧或高級咖啡店讓你在出發前補充水分,終點站是歷史悠久、塗上奪目紅白條紋的霍恩比燈塔。沿途有已退役的大炮、炮台和燈塔小屋,你更可佔地利之便觀賞悉尼港、Middle Head和其他陸岬的壯麗景致。如果你在冬天造訪,更有機會看到鯨魚出沒。記得帶備泳衣,Camp Cove Beach海灘是游泳勝地。即使沒帶泳衣也不用發愁,你可以在頗受歡迎的天體營勝地Lady Bay Beach海灘與其他一絲不掛的人一起享受日光浴。

行程心得:如想進一步了解悉尼的軍事歷史,可參加在South Head地底舉行的地下隧道導賞團(每位25澳元 / 150港元)

路程:4.5公里;行程:2小時

難度:1/5(途中有小段梯級,其他道路非常平坦)

如何前往:由環形碼頭乘搭渡輪到屈臣氏灣,船程約20分鐘

6. 悉尼富裕區域散步路線:Hermitage Foreshore步道

People a walk through Sydney at Shark Beach in Nielsen Park
Credit: Nick Clark Creative/Shutterstock

這條輕鬆平坦的悉尼散步路線部分位於悉尼海港國家公園內,沿途可欣賞鯊魚島和悉尼海港大橋的迷人景色。你更有機會一窺悉尼富豪的生活面貌,皆因這條沿海小徑途經市內富裕住宅區Vaucluse的外圍。不容錯過的景點包括保留原貌的Vaucluse House,它是建於 19 世紀初殖民時期的農場和大宅,以及被列入文化遺產的府第Strickland House。你亦可選擇到金黃色的海灘消磨時間,那麼你的終點站會是尼新園公園和鯊魚灘,兩者都是悉尼人周末常到的消閒之地。

行程心得:如想避開人潮,可前往規模較小的海灘,如Queens Beach和Hermit Bay Beach

路程:2公里;行程:1小時

難度:1/5(道路頗為平坦,沿岸路段很好走)

如何前往:悉尼市中心有多條巴士線途經這條路線的起點,從Bondi Junction火車站亦可步行而至

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Sydney

Coast with the Most: 6 of Sydney’s Best Walks

Enjoy the best of Sydney with walks that soak up the sunshine, beautiful beaches and outdoor lifestyle Australia’s southeast coast is famed for

1. The Classic Sydney Walk: Bondi to Coogee 

Sculpture by the Sea exhibition held on the spectacular Bondi to Tamarama coastal walk
Credit: MagSpace/Shutterstock

The clifftop Bondi to Coogee walk is a quintessential Sydney experience. Starting at the white-sand dusted Bondi Beach, the trail traces the Sydney Harbour coastline for six kilometres, delivering stunning oceanfront scenes, ancient aboriginal rock carvings and plenty of pit stops along the way.

You can walk it in a couple of hours – but why not make a day of it: bathe in the Bondi Icebergs Club sea pools and test your aim at the Clovelly Bowling Club. Beach-hop around Sydney’s numerous sandy coves to top up your tan, catch some breaks on a surfboard or snorkel along underwater nature trails. Cafes along the way offer classic Aussie brunch feeds and flat whites to rest and refuel.

If you’ve got some energy left in the tank, why not tack on an extra three kilometres to the beachside suburb of Maroubra for more golden sands, pounding waves and seaside restaurants.

Top tip: The annual Sculpture by the Sea jazzes up the coastal route from Bondi to Tamarama with more than 100 outdoor art sculptures every spring (October-November). In winter (June-July), keep an eye out for migrating humpback whales

Distance/Time: 6 kilometres (2.5 hours)

Difficulty: 2/5 (mainly gentle paths, with some steep sections and stairs)

Getting there: Buses from central Sydney to Bondi Beach take around 30 minutes, or catch a train to Bondi Junction then grab a cab for the final 10 minute drive

2. The Gentle Sydney Walk: Glebe Foreshore Walk

People walking through Bicentennial park in Sydney at sunset
Credit: Olga Kashubin/Shutterstock

This gentle stroll through a series of parks overlooking Rozelle Bay and Blackwattle Bay is a lovely way to pass an afternoon. Bring a picnic to enjoy on the manicured lawns in Bicentennial Park while drinking in skyline views and landmarks like the Anzac Bridge. Watch skateboarders and hockey games at Federal Park, or find AFL and cricket matches in full swing over in Jubilee Park – kids will also enjoy exploring three large play areas dotted throughout. End your classic Sydney walk at the Sydney Fish Markets in Pyrmont and treat yourself to a classic Sydney feed of fish and chips.

Top tip: A detour into Glebe itself rewards adventurers with Victorian-era architecture, buzzy cafes and quirky, fun boutiques

Distance/Time: 2 kilometres (30 minutes)

Difficulty: 1/5 (a short walk with flat, gentle paths)

Getting there: You can get to Bicentennial Park via train, bus, metro or light rail

3. The Challenging Sydney Walk: Manly to Spit Bridge 

The best Sydney walks include the tidal pools at Fairlight Beach
Credit: lrosebrugh/Shutterstock

Don’t fancy the 80-kilometre Manly to Bondi Beach walk? Don’t blame you. But definitely consider the first 10-kilometere section from Manly to Spit Bridge. Pack plenty of suncream and water for the hike, which starts in the beachside suburb of Manly. The scenic route weaves its way up and down rough sandstone staircases, giving access to remote beaches and vantage points over Sydney Harbour. Admire ancient aboriginal rock engravings at Grotto Point as well as the historic lighthouse, swim in the crystal-clear waters around Castle Rock and hunt for shellfish in the tidal pools at Fairlight. End up by the historic Spit Bridge, rebuilt in the 1950s, that raises and lowers to let ships pass.

Top tip: Do the hike in reverse if you’d prefer to finish by exploring Manly’s popular surf beach and lively promenade with restaurants, cafes and bars
Distance/Time: 10 kilometres (4 hours)
Difficulty: 3.5/5 (rocky paths, a steep ascent and fairly length trail make this hike more of a challenge. Not ideal for small children)
Getting there: Hop on the Manly Ferry for a 30-minute sail from Circular Quay

4. The Lakeside Sydney Walk: Lake Parramatta

One of the best Sydney walks takes you to Ayrfield Shipwreck on the Parramatta River
Credit: Jeffery Hamstock/Shutterstock

The three walking trails weave around the reservoir and lake in west Sydney offer an escape from the city. The full Lake Circuit is just over four kilometres of shaded paths through a glorious bushland of red gum trees, banksias and wildflowers. It may be peaceful, but don’t expect quiet: resident rosellas, cockatoos and kookaburras are as noisy as they are photogenic. Keep an eye out for quieter natives like frogs and rather large lizards, too, as well as the 19th-century Parramatta Dam. You can also rent a pedal boat or kayak or enjoy a dip in the designated swimming area. Bring some burgers to chuck on the on-site barbecue pits to refuel – or just head to the lakeside cafe.

Top tip: Lifeguards are on duty from late October to early April, but water shoes are recommended for swimming in the lake

Distance/Time: 4.2 kilometres (1.5-2 hours)

Difficulty: 2/5 (fine for all levels of fitness, with a few mild inclines and uneven surfaces)

Get there: Take Hillsbus Route #609 (nearest stop on Bourke Street); or hop in a taxi

5. The Historic Sydney Walk: South Head Heritage Trail

Take a walk to see Sydney landmark Hornby Lighthouse
Credit: David Carillet/Shutterstock

Combine harbour views with a dive into Australia’s military history on this walk in the Sydney Harbour National Park. The leafy trail starts at Watsons Bay ferry terminal, where you can enjoy a pre-drink at the hotel bar or upmarket cafe, and ends at the historic candy-striped Hornby Lighthouse. On the way you’ll pass old military cannons, gun emplacements and lightkeeper cottages. You’ll also be treated to stellar views of Sydney Harbour and various outcrops like Middle Head, plus a good chance of whale spotting during the winter months. Do bring your swimmers: Camp Cove Beach is perfect for a dip. But no worries if you forget – you can always join other clothes-free sunbathers at the popular nudist Lady Bay Beach.

Top tip: For a deeper dive into Sydney’s military past, join a guided tour of underground tunnels carved out of sandstone beneath South Head (AU$25/HK$150 per person)

Distance/Time: 4.5 kilometres (2 hours)

Difficulty: 1/5 (a few steps to navigate, otherwise very accessible)

Get there: Ferries from Circular Quay to Watsons Bay take around 20 minutes

6. The Bougie Sydney Walk: Hermitage Foreshore Walk 

People taking a walk through Sydney at Shark Beach in Nielsen Park
Credit: Nick Clark Creative/Shutterstock

This gentle Sydney walk, also part of the Sydney Harbour National Park, comes with dazzling views of Shark Island and the Sydney Harbour Bridge. You’ll also enjoy seeing how the other half live: this coastal trail skirts around Vaucluse, one of the city’s most affluent residential areas. Sites to check out include the original Vaucluse House, a colonial farm and residence built in the early 19th century, and heritage-listed Strickland House. You’ll also have a choice of golden shores to take a break, and you’ll end up at Nielsen Park and Shark Beach, a favourite weekend hangout for Sydneysiders.

Top tip: Try smaller Queens Beach and Hermit Bay Beach if you’re looking to avoid the crowds

Distance/Time: 2 kilometres (1 hour)

Difficulty: 1/5 (fairly flat and easy coastal path)

Get there: The start of the track is accessible from several bus routes from the city or Bondi Junction

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book