自然和户外

南丫島寫意一日遊

若想暫離市區的煩囂,度過輕鬆悠閒的一天,不妨前往南丫島一遊,在海灘上倘佯,或到處閒逛,體驗另類香港生活

從人潮煕來攘往的中環乘搭渡輪,只需25分鐘,就來到又名博寮洲的南丫島,將滿街途人、汽車和高樓大廈的市區拋諸腦後,換來眼前的山丘、海灘與小村落。南丫島面積13.5平方公里,是香港第三大離島,島上生活節奏悠閒,洋溢田園氣息,與一般遊客心目中的典型香港截然不同。

Credit: Mike Pickles

南丫島是個迷人的地方,氣氛悠閒,與市區急速繁忙的節奏截然不同。島上有海灘、海鮮酒家、特色小店和輕鬆易行的遠足徑,因此成為本地人及外地訪客作一日遊的好去處。這個小島也是香港人口最多元化的地區:島上約有7,000名居民,其中有三分之一在海外出生,估計分別擁有90多種不同國籍。不過這裡仍然有傳統的小漁村,其中一條小漁村就在渡輪碼頭旁邊。

Credit: Mike Pickles

島上大部分居民大多聚居於榕樹灣一帶,令人意想不至的是,這個地方數十年前是塑膠工業重鎮。此外還有多條較小的村落散佈島上,主要集中於北部,因為小島的南部是起伏的山丘。島上唯一比較煞風景的,是西端有南丫發電廠,幸好發電廠大部分隱於一座小丘之後,只見到三支煙囪。除了這一點之外,南丫島上一片田園氣息,置身其中,令人倍感輕鬆自在,不必特別安排什麼活動就能度過愉快寫意的一天。

Credit: Mike Pickles

前往南丫島

可從中環乘搭渡輪前往榕樹灣索罟灣,或從香港仔乘搭渡輪前往榕樹灣,所有航線船程大約25至35分鐘。

南丫島好去處

到海灘去

南丫島有兩個海灘,而且容易前往,成為不少一日遊訪客的主要目的地。若你喜歡搜尋奇特而不協調的風景,就要到大灣肚去。從榕樹灣渡輪碼頭步行15至20分鐘就可抵達這個小沙灘,沙灘旁就是南丫發電廠,因此遊人較其他沙灘少,這裡亦有「發電廠沙灘」的別名。從這裡步行一小段路,就來到洪聖爺灣泳灘,這裡有更多設施,因此泳客和遊人亦較多。

Credit: Mike Pickles

蘆鬚城泳灘鄰近索罟灣,風景可能更佳,而且平日遊人稀少,你甚至可以獨享整個海灘。從索罟灣步行一小時,就來到深灣;這是個山丘環抱的小海灣,由於是綠海龜產卵的地點,每年夏季至初秋遊人不能進入深灣限制地區

Credit: Mike Pickles

徒步遠足

南丫島上除了單車外,沒有其他交通工具代步(唯一的例外是島上提供緊急服務的迷你版救護車),因此遊人可以隨意在遍佈島上的小徑散步,或者來一趟略有難度的遠足。島上的最高點山地塘,只有353公呎高,但有部分山路亦不易行。

Credit: Mike Pickles

不過最受歡迎的遠足路線是往來榕樹灣與索罟灣的步行徑,無論在哪一頭起步都可以。這條步行徑沿山邊伸延,途中可以見到海景和發電廠的景色,然後穿過樹林茂盛的路段,快到索罟灣時,會經過神風洞,這是二戰時日軍收藏突擊快艇的據點。步行徑兩端都有不少餐廳食肆,供你出發前後補充體力和休息。喜歡騎單車的話,可到位於榕樹灣後街的凱嵐單車店租輛單車,在島上到處漫遊,不過島上山丘起伏,要多留意路面情況。

Credit: Mike Pickles

往古廟參拜

南丫島昔日是個以捕漁為生的社區,因此島上有多座古老的天后廟,其中最具規模的一座位於索罟灣,至於渡輪碼頭附近的榕樹灣大街末端,亦有另一座逾百年歷史的天后古廟,極具參觀價值。

遊覽地標

南丫島上設有香港首個風力發電站南丫風采發電站,只有一座「大風車」風力發電機,一枝獨秀地屹立於山頂上,免費讓公眾參觀。只需從島上兩個海灘之間的山丘往上走,即可輕鬆抵達。在那裡可以飽覽四周海景,從旁邊的觀景亭望出去,風景更佳。

Credit: Mike Pickles

佳餚美食

南丫島的美食首選自然是海鮮,無論是榕樹灣或索罟灣,海邊都開滿了海鮮酒家。位於榕樹灣的海鮮酒家附送落日美景,但索罟灣那邊的風景則平平無奇。本地人都喜歡光顧壽記海鮮酒家(榕樹灣大街43號,+852 2982 0210),後面寬敞陽台上的座位特別受歡迎。

除了海鮮外,榕樹灣還有其他菜式選擇,例如印度餐廳Bombay,雖然餐廳外面沒有什麼風景可看,但食物烹調出色,足以彌補;而Lamma Grill對面則新開設了一家小型泰國菜館(榕樹灣大街36號,+852 2982 1447)。位於滙豐銀行附近的西班牙餐廳Dale Cadela(榕樹灣大街23號,+852 6344 5288)不但食物愈來愈受歡迎,而且也成為許多人相約暢聚的地點。很多人更將餐廳老闆的名字來取代餐廳原來的名稱,叫它做「Carlos」。

想吃甜品的話,一定要去品嚐島上馳名的阿婆豆腐花。這是個簡單的棚屋攤檔,位於大灣肚附近的大路旁,出售以傳統方式製作的豆腐花,入口軟滑清香,吸引大量顧客慕名而來。

Credit: Mike Pickles

特色購物

南丫島上沒有大型零售連鎖店和超級市場,只有各式小店和便利店,不過你需要的東西應該都能夠買到,特別是沙灘用品。小飾物店隨處可見,不過也有不少別具一格的特色小店,例如南島黑膠,香港只有寥寥可數的黑膠唱片店,這是其中一家。此外,還有幾家出售自家製本地特式醬料的小店,不妨買來作手信。島上還有一家由啤酒釀造商Yardley Brothers開設的酒吧,不過這個品牌已不再在島上釀啤酒了。

Credit: Mike Pickles

暢遊南丫島的實用小心得

  • 如果周末遇上好天氣,即是陽光普照但又不太炎熱的話,南丫島上就會人頭湧湧,選擇遊覽日子時記住留意了

  • 帶備合適的遠足裝備和游泳用品,此外,一旦離開榕樹灣後,可供避雨的地方極少,因此帶備雨傘是明智之舉

  • 南丫島是個認識香港居民的好地方,只需到榕樹灣任何一家酒吧去就可以了,例如Blue GooseDiesel’sLamma Grill都是不錯的去處,有些外地遊客亦因此成為島上長期居民。如果你運氣好的話,可能在海灘或某個偏靜的山丘上碰到有人開派對

  • 如果你想在島上留宿,榕樹灣有幾家簡樸的酒店可供入住,而旅遊住宿網站Airbnb上亦有不少選擇

Credit: Mike Pickles
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

How to Plan a Day Trip to Lamma Island

Take a break from the big city with a day trip to laidback Lamma Island, where beaches and counterculture offer an alternative perspective to Hong Kong living

Just 25 minutes by ferry from the teeming streets of Central, Lamma Island (or Pok Liu Chau) swaps the cars, roads and high-rises of the city for mountains, beaches and village life. At 13.5 square kilometres, Hong Kong’s third-largest island provides a change of pace and tends to challenge visitors’ stereotypes of Hong Kong.

Credit: Mike Pickles

A charming place with a mildly countercultural vibe, at least by Hong Kong standards, Lamma Island is one of the more popular day trips for locals and visitors lured by its beaches, seafood restaurants, shops and gentle hiking. It also features the city’s most diverse population; about a third of the roughly 7,000 residents were born overseas, with an estimated 90-plus nationalities between them. However, you can still find traditional fishing communities, including one right next to the main ferry pier.

Credit: Mike Pickles

Most of the residents live in and around the village of Yung Shue Wan – which, surprisingly, was a centre for the plastics industry decades ago – with smaller villages dotted around the rest of the island, concentrated in the north; the south is mostly mountainous. The one thing that jars with the bucolic vibe are the towers of the Lamma Power Station to the far west of the island; fortunately, it’s mostly hidden behind a hill, except for its trio of chimneys. Despite the presence of the power station, Lamma isn’t exactly a high-energy kind of place – in the best way possible. It’s easy to while away pleasant days here, doing not doing much at all.

Credit: Mike Pickles

How to Get to Lamma Island

Take the ferry from Central to either Yung Shue Wan or Sok Kwu Wan, or from Aberdeen to Yung Shue Wan (all rides between 25 and 35 minutes).

What to Do on Lamma Island

Hit the Beach

Lamma Island’s easily accessible beaches are the biggest draw for a lot of day trippers. Fans of incongruous juxtapositions should try Tai Wan To, 15-20 minutes’ walk from Yung Shue Wan ferry pier, perched right next to the jutting mass of Lamma Power Station, which explains its relative emptiness (and nickname of ‘Power Station beach’). A short walk away, the picturesque Hung Shing Ye has many more facilities and more visitors.

Credit: Mike Pickles

Lo So Shing, close to Sok Kwu Wan, is possibly even more beautiful, and on weekdays you may even have it to yourself. Anyone prepared to walk for an hour or so from Sok Kwu Wan should check out stunning Sham Wan, secluded in its own mountain-fringed inlet: access is prohibited in summer and early autumn because of nesting green sea turtles.

Credit: Mike Pickles

Take a Hike

With no means of transport other than the self-powered, Lamma features a network of paths that allow for everything from a pleasant stroll to a challenging hike. (Keep your eye out for the exception to the rule: one of the island’s trademark minituarised emergency services vehicles.) The highest peak, Mount Stenhouse, is only 353 metres high but features some very tricky terrain.

Credit: Mike Pickles

The most popular option is the sealed path from Yung Shue Wan to Sok Kwu Wan, or vice versa, which leads along a hillside with sea and power station views, through a forested section and, near Sok Kwu Wan, past the Kamikaze Cave used by the Japanese military to store speedboats in the second world war; this path gives you a wide range of dining options at either end. The alternative is to hire a bike from Hoi Nam Bicycle Shop on Yung Shue Wan Back Street, but the aware that the island is pretty hilly.

Credit: Mike Pickles

Pay Your Respects

Unsurprisingly for a community formerly based around fishing, Lamma Island features several picturesque temples dedicated to Tin Hau, the goddess of the sea, the most impressive of them at Sok Kwu Wan, with another at the far end of Yung Shue Wan Main Street from the ferry pier.

Visit a Landmark

Hong Kong’s energy priorities are laid bare by the gigantic fossil fuel-powered power station contrasting with the single wind turbine known as Lamma Winds, which is open to the public and accessible via a pleasant walk up the hill between the two main beaches. You’ll be rewarded by magnificent sea views, particularly from the neighbouring pagoda.

Credit: Mike Pickles

Where to Eat

Lamma’s number-one dining attraction is the seafood restaurants that line the seafront at both Yung Shue Wan, where they have fine sunset views, and Sok Kwu Wan (where there’s not much else). Locals tend to favour Andy’s Sau Kee (43 Main Street, Yung Shue Wan; +852 2982 0210), particularly the sizeable terrace at the back.

Yung Shue Wan dining options include a variety of cuisines including Bombay, where the quality of the Indian food makes up for the lack of a view; and the new hole-in-the-wall Thai opposite the Lamma Grill (36 Yung Shue Wan Main Street; +852 2982 1447). Increasingly popular both for its food and as a gathering spot is Spanish restaurant Dale Cadela (23 Yung Shue Wan Main Street; +852 6344 5288), near the Hongkong bank, generally referred to as ‘Carlos’ after its owner.

For dessert, at least during the daytime, long-term fixture Ah Por Tofu Fa, a shack by the main path near Tai Wan To beach, draws crowds for its rendering of the traditional local tofu fa (silken tofu) pudding.

Credit: Mike Pickles

Where to Shop

There are no big retail chains on Lamma, with small shops rather than supermarkets and convenience stores, although everything you need should be available, particularly for the beach. Trinket shops are legion, while there are also a few curiosities like Lamma Vinyl, one of Hong Kong’s very few vinyl record shops, and several shops selling homemade local sauces. There’s also a bar owned by the excellent Yardley Brothers, although it no longer brews its beer on the island.

Credit: Mike Pickles

Practical Tips for Visiting Lamma Island

If the weather’s pleasant (sunny but not too hot), be forewarned that Lamma gets very crowded at weekends

Bring walking gear, swimming gear and, given that there’s minimal cover from the elements available once you leave Yung Shue Wan, an umbrella

Lamma is a good place to get to know Hong Kong residents – simply head to pretty much any of Yung Shue Wan’s bars: the Blue Goose, Diesel’s and the Lamma Grill are good places to start. Tourists have been known to end up as long-term residents this way. If you’re lucky, there might even be a party on a beach or up a secluded hill

If you want to stay longer than a day trip, there are several modest hotels in Yung Shue Wan and numerous options on Airbnb

Credit: Mike Pickles
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book