商務旅行

專訪重要商業創辦人。本月:Ray Dalio

投資機構橋水對沖基金公司創辦人探討生活和工作的原則

你多年前在網上發表〈原則〉一文,談及橋水的工作文化,去年更出版600頁的《原則︰生活和工作》一書。你為何堅持分享這些原則?

過去30年來,我都會以重點形式記下自己決策時的準則,它們是公司和我達致任何成就的關鍵。大約十年前,我以PDF格式在網上發表了這些準則,至今被下載350萬次,更有數以千計讀者透過網絡向我道謝。去年,年屆68的我從人生第二階段(被依賴)邁入第三階段(再無人依賴自己),我已將公司交給其他人打理,於是決定將多年來累積的決策準則結集成書,使之傳承下去。我現時的人生目標不是追求更多的成功,而是協助他人取得更大成就。

本月,國泰航空的乘客可在機上觀看30分鐘動畫版《原則》;是什麼驅使你製作動畫片呢?

我認為所有概念應以詳盡無遺和淺白易懂的方式表達,《原則︰生活和工作》一書就是詳盡無遺的例證;而講解〈達致成功的原則〉的30分鐘動畫,就做到淺白易懂。數年前我將自己對經濟學的了解濃縮成一部名為〈經濟機器如何運作〉的30分鐘動畫,並吸引超過600萬人次觀看,這成為了我製作《原則》的動力,讓大眾以快捷、免費且富娛樂性的方式,獲知最重要的原則。

Ray Dalio

將600頁內容精簡成半小時的動畫難度很高吧。

的確很難,但做起來充滿樂趣。要令複雜內容變得十分簡單是一項大挑戰,但有賴編輯、創意總監、動畫師、作曲家和音效設計師組成的優秀團隊通力合作,促成了這樁美事。我們大幅精簡內容,務求製成內容詳實的動畫。各人施展渾身解數並互相配合,就像即興合奏優美的爵士樂。

《原則》擁護橋水徹底透明的工作文化。你可以向讀者分享更多嗎?

我發現真正的精英思維模式成效顯著,目標是建立有意義的工作和關係,而這就必須透過誠實透明的體制來實現。如果大家不能清楚了解真相,便不會對事物產生個人見解,阻礙我們作出最好的決定或建立優秀的社群。想像一下我們可以免除多少誤會,這個世界的運作效率會提升多少,更不用說當我們知道大家都說真話,彼此之間會增加多少信任。我不是要每個人透露內心深處的秘密,而是坦誠分享對同事的看法,以及對大家追求共同使命的方式有何想法。  

你亦成立了Dalio Foundation基金,你如何看待慈善工作?

我投身慈善活動純粹是憑著一腔熱誠,我喜歡與家人一起參與,我們各自有感興趣的慈善項目,因此支持的範疇繁多,並一概視為家庭活動,共同參與其中。我熱衷於支持海洋探索,並希望透過媒體展示精采的成果,讓數以百萬計的觀眾欣賞。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Serious business

Interview with Ray Dalio of investment firm Bridgewater Associates

The founder of investment firm Bridgewater Associates describes his company's unusual work culture

Principles, a document you wrote on Bridgewater’s work culture, has been available online for years, and last year you published the 600-page book Principles: Life and Work. Why is it important to you to share these lessons?

For the past 30 years, whenever I had a decision to make I would write down the criteria I used in the form of principles. These principles are the reasons for whatever success my company and I have had. About 10 years ago I put a PDF copy of them online and it was downloaded 3.5 million times and I received thousands of thank yous. Last year, at 68, I transitioned from the second phase of my life (in which others depended on me) to the third stage (in which no one is dependent and I’m free), which meant that I passed along my company to others, and I decided to pass these principles along in a book. My goal in life now is not to be more successful but to help others be more successful.

A 30-minute animated version of Principles is showing onboard Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon this month. Why did you create the film?

I think all concepts should be presented in both a well-fleshed-out way, which is what I did in my book Principles: Life and Work, and in an ultra-simple way, which is what I did in the 30-minute animated adventure Principles for Success. A few years ago, I did a 30-minute animated video distillation of everything I knew about economics called How the Economic Machine Works, which was viewed over six million times, so it was obvious that I should do it with Principles so anyone could get the most important principles in a quick, free and entertaining way. 

Ray Dalio

Was it challenging to distil 600 pages into a half-hour animation?

It was, but it was a kick doing it. There’s a challenge and a beauty to taking something that’s complex and making it ultra-simple with the help of a talented team of editors, creative directors, animators, composers and sound designers. We all iterated and refined a lot to get it right, with everyone executing their skills well. It was like playing great improv jazz.       

Principles espouses Bridgewater’s culture of radical transparency. Could you tell our readers a bit about this?

I found it extraordinarily effective to have a real idea-meritocracy, in which meaningful work and meaningful relationships are the goals, and truthfulness and transparency are the ways of achieving those goals. If people don’t have the ability to see things for themselves, they can’t form their own opinions, which would prevent getting at the best decisions and building a great community. Imagine how many fewer misunderstandings we would have and how much more efficient the world would be – and how much more trust we’d all have – knowing what’s true. I’m not talking about everyone’s very personal inner secrets; I’m talking about people’s opinions of each other and of how we work together in pursuit of a common mission.     

You also have the Dalio Foundation. What is your approach to philanthropy?

I pursue philanthropy as a passion-driven activity and love to do it with family members, who each have their own particular philanthropic passions – so our philanthropy is eclectic but coordinated as a family activity. I’m passionate about supporting ocean exploration, and aim to show it in breathtaking media so millions of people can see it.   

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book