重要業務

探索天津的科技產業

天津在2017宣佈計劃成為「華北首個無現金城市」,向全智能都市的目標邁進。

過去一年,科技界兩則重大新聞均出自天津:第一則是6月時,天津宣佈計劃在2017年內成為「華北首個無現金城市」,向全智能都市的目標邁進。距離北京僅半小時高鐵車程的天津,其實無意完全摒棄鈔票和硬幣,只是與支付寶合作,確保市內大部分商戶、交通及設施接納流動付款。

而在1月,網上零售巨頭京東亦宣佈最遲在今年夏季將自動載貨機器引入天津,無人機、機械人和無人駕駛車輛將首度在公共空間應用,消息震撼國際。此舉標誌著這個北方城市繼續搶攻高新科技領域,向目前採取同類策略的國內一線城市看齊。

這些創新倡議配合中央政策,進一步融合前通商口岸天津、北京和毗鄰的河北省。這三地會統合成為京津冀城市群,而其發展的勢頭,亦反映於這地區內的連串鴻圖大計和驚人數據:目前,北京和河北已有逾850家公司在天津設立辦公室,政府更分三年斥資360億美元,建造1,100公里長的鐵路,包括於2030年前竣工的大型城際鐵路網絡。京津冀發展計劃的目標是各取所長,運用河北的天然資源、北京的知識和政府機構,以及天津的港口交通和製造業優勢,為整個地區創造財富。

天津是世界上其中一個最繁忙的船運中心,更是數一數二的航空樞紐,而中資公司亦與空中巴士和龐巴迪等國際航空業巨擘合作,在區內積極擴展業務。天津的高等學府同時在創科界發揮舉足輕重的影響,其中天津大學、南開大學和天津科技大學等,均已培育了無數人才,並推動無人機、機械人與綠色能源等領域的創新科技發展。

人物:
魏建倉

在1月份的拉斯維加斯消費電子展上,天津水底機械人公司深之藍一鳴驚人,旗下產品和扮演美人魚的兩位女士令全場矚目。深之藍創始人兼總經理魏建倉表示,公司以「成為國際知名品牌」為發展目標,而這次於美國參展,公司憑藉水底無人機和水底滑翔機系列成功引起關注。

白鯊MIX聽起來像是海洋世界主題樂園售賣的零食,但深之藍卻稱它為「全球最小的雙螺旋槳水底摩托車」。只要緊握著這台細小的機器,便能不費吹灰之力暢遊深海。水底摩托主要用於交通,而水底無人機功能則更多樣,包括檢查橋樑和監控水底安全。

31歲的魏建倉自2013年創立深之藍,至今已經與軍事用品承包商和中國科學院等機構多次合作,特別訂造和操作水底機械人,但他表示公司正瞄準新的主要顧客群:「我們今年的目標是打開一般用戶的水底無人機市場,並拓展海外業務,確保顧客能以物有所值的價錢獲得滿意的體驗。」

深之藍總部設於濱海新區的中關村科技園,據魏建倉表示,其發展並非全賴近海的優勢。「在天津,不少官員都很親切和平易近人,而且科技園提供大量支援,逐漸建立起雲集創科專才的強大網絡。」魏建倉去年入圍中國青年創業獎,他認為:「最重要是培育人才,尤其是具有創新精神的人。」 sublue.cn

產品: Dr Watch 2.0

打著「你的專屬私家醫生」旗號的Dr Watch 2.0,是中國首屈一指的可穿戴醫療科技產品。位於天津的開發商橙意家人科技,去年底與電子業龍頭飛利浦簽定策略性投資協議,顯示Dr Watch 2.0的市場地位水漲船高。這款產品不但通過多項中國生產驗證程序,還獲得美國食品及藥物管理局認證。

橙意家人科技最新推出的Dr Watch 2.0,是最先進的可穿戴醫療科技產品。此外,Dr Watch 2.0亦能徹夜監測血氧水平、心率和睡眠規律,還可在用戶活動時充當計步器和BMI測量工具。產品收集的數據將會自動整合成簡單報告,使用智能電話的應用程式便能閱讀,更可儲存於雲端,或利用內置藍牙發送至其他裝置,方便顧客遙距關注長輩的健康狀況。

Dr Watch 2.0比起市面上其他健康手帶優勝的特色,在於這產品跟中國過百家醫院均有合作,因此用家能透過智能手機的應用程式預約醫生,並讓醫生利用收集得來的數據診症。它索價人民幣2,988元,一點也不便宜,橙意家人面對的競爭亦日趨激烈,但隨著智能醫療科技在中國迅速成長,這是一個值得留意的品牌。chengyifamily.com

蓄勢待發

安全養殖

專門研究食品安全的生物工程公司弘羊,透過整合大數據和雲端技術,評估養殖場的動物疫病風險。該公司是天津濱海高新技術產業開發區內即將設立的國際醫學城之主要合作夥伴。 hongyang-bio.com

萬能晶片

過去數年,Phytium一直領導著微處理器行業的發展,例如在2016年破天荒推出首台64核ARM處理器。公司旗下產品已應用於虛擬實境、擴增實境、雲端運算服務和超級電腦。 phytium.com.cn

謝絕司機

由清華大學主導的清智科技積極研究無人駕駛項目,公司宣佈旗下首批中國全自動駕駛穿梭巴士,將於天津旅遊勝地東麗湖和華明高新區啟用。 tsintel.net

國泰航空及國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往北京的航班,每周有70班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Serious business

Exploring Tianjin’s tech scene

With plans to be the first cashless city in north China, Tianjin is becoming one of Asia's tech hubs to watch. Words by JAKE NEWBY, illustrations by RYAN CHAN

Just in the past year, two major tech-world announcements came out of Tianjin. The first was in June, when the city said it was aiming to be ‘the first cashless city in the north’ of China by the end of 2017 as it set its sights on becoming a fully smart city. The municipality, just half an hour from Beijing by high-speed train, wasn’t completely doing away with old-fashioned notes and coins, but rather partnering with Alipay to ensure that the majority of vendors in the city, plus public transport and utilities, accept mobile payment.

Then, in January, online retail giant JD.com made international headlines with the announcement that it would be bringing a fleet of autonomous delivery vehicles to the streets of Tianjin by this summer, the first time its delivery drones, robots and unmanned vehicles will be used in public spaces. The move was the latest part of the northern municipality’s broader innovation offensive, similar to those currently gripping urban centres across the country.

Such innovation drives are taking place amid an attempt by the central government to further integrate the former treaty port with Beijing and neighbouring Hebei province. The development of the Jing-Jin-Ji region, as it’s been termed, comes with ambitious targets and dizzying figures: more than 850 firms from Beijing and Hebei have already established offices in Tianjin as part of the project, while US$36 billion is being spent on 1,100 kilometres of rail lines in the area in three years, including a massive intercity network to be completed by 2030. The goal is to leverage Hebei’s natural resources, Beijing’s knowledge and government institutions, and Tianjin’s port access and manufacturing to increase the region’s wealth.

The city already boasts one of the busiest shipping centres in the world and has long been an aviation hub, with Chinese companies joined by international players such as Airbus and Bombardier in hosting major operations there. The municipality’s higher education institutions are also important innovation players in China, with Tianjin University, Nankai University and Tianjin University of Science and Technology particularly prominent in the fields of drone technology, robotics and green energy.

people

The People:
Wei Jiancang

Tianjin-founded underwater scooter company Sublue made a splash with its products – as well as the two women hired to dress as mermaids – at Las Vegas’ Consumer Electronics Show in January. Having headed to the US with the hope of ‘building an internationally known brand’, according to chief executive and founder Wei Jiancang, the company received considerable attention for its range of autonomous underwater vehicles and underwater gliders.

The White Shark MIX may sound like a snack you’d buy at Sea World, but the company claims it’s the world’s smallest underwater scooter equipped with double propellers. Hold on to the small device, and it’ll have you moving through water without much effort on your part. That’s just for getting around, but Sublue’s underwater drone products can perform tasks such as checking bridges for problems and monitoring underwater security.

Since 31-year-old Wei founded the firm in 2013, Sublue has worked with military contractors and organisations such as the Chinese Academy of Sciences to tailor-make and operate underwater robots. But Wei says one of its main targets now is a different kind of customer. ‘Our plan this year is to open up and lead the consumer market for underwater drones and to expand our international operations – all while ensuring value for money and a rewarding experience for the customer,’ says Wei.

Based in Binhai New Area’s Zhongguancun Science Park, Sublue’s development in the city has been propelled by more than just its proximity to the sea, according to its founder. ‘A number of the leaders in Tianjin are amiable and easy to approach, there’s a lot of on-site support here and they’re slowly building up a strong collection of innovators,’ says Wei, who last year made the shortlist for China’s Youth Entrepreneurship Award. ‘The critical factor is the people – especially the innovators.’ sublue.cn

The Product: Dr Watch 2.0

Billed as ‘your own private doctor’, Dr Watch 2.0 is one of China’s leading wearable health-tech products. In a sign of its increasing market importance, the device’s developer – Tianjin-based Oranger – signed a strategic investment agreement with electronics giant Philips late last year. Meanwhile the product itself has not only cleared a number of Chinese manufacturing approval processes but has also been certified by the Food and Drug Administration in the US.

Innovation-Asia-3

At the forefront of the recent wave of wearable health tech in China, Dr Watch 2.0 monitors the blood oxygen levels, heart rate and sleep patterns of the user overnight, while also serving as a pedometer and BMI measurement tool when the wearer is active. The statistics are then collated into a mini-report that can be read via a smartphone app. This information can also be stored in a cloud or transmitted to other devices via built-in Bluetooth, making the watch popular among customers with elderly relatives as it allows them to monitor the wearer’s health status remotely.

One standout feature that other fitness bands on the market lack is the company’s partnership with hundreds of hospitals throughout China. The app can be used to book appointments with doctors, who may consult the data it has gathered.

At RMB 2,988, Dr Watch 2.0 is not cheap, and Oranger faces increasing competition. But with the growth of health tech in China, it certainly is a brand to monitor. chengyifamily.com

What to watch

Down on the farm

Food safety specialist Hong Yang incorporates big data and cloud technology to assess risk of animal disease on farms. The company is a key partner for Tianjin Binhai Hi-Tech Industrial Development Area’s forthcoming International Medical City. hongyang-bio.com

Powerful chips

Phytium has been making waves in the world of microprocessors, including unveiling an industry first 64-core ARM processor in 2016. Its products are being used for VR/AR applications and cloud computing services, as well as in supercomputers. phytium.com.cn

No driver necessary

Originating from Tsinghua University, Tsintel Technology is exploring driverless vehicle projects. The company has announced plans to implement China’s first fully automatic shuttle buses at Tianjin’s scenic Dongli Lake and Huaming Hi-Tech Park. tsintel.net

Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon fly to Beijing from Hong Kong 70 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book