都市生活

城市中的哲學家

競爭激烈的城市或是遠離煩囂的鄉郊對心靈更有益? 撰文:王偉雄 & 朱立安巴吉尼 ,插畫:CECIL TANG

東方觀點:有識之士擇地而居

在大城市生活的人,有不少都喜歡偶爾遠離城市的繁囂,走到山林鄉野間,清靜一下,或遠足野餐,或露營觀星,或在度假村屋與親友閒適地過幾天;主動接近大自然,除了享受較清新的空氣,還可以減慢平時過急的生活節奏,以放鬆緊張的精神。然而,如果你問這些城市人是否願意長居鄉間,相信他們絕大多數會表示不願意;城市生活無論在衣食住行和娛樂各方面都十分方便,而且選擇多姿多采,在城市住慣了,偶爾到鄉間稍作逗留,他們會樂在其中,可是,假如要他們在鄉下地方長住,恐怕連清新空氣都會化為悶氣了。

無論是古時或現代的中國,在鄉下與城市之間擇居,從來都是一個感情上的選擇。

中國古代的讀書人對在鄉間和城市之間移居有一種特殊的敏感,是其他文化沒有的。中國的科舉制度由漢朝開科取士開始,政治權力向民間的讀書人開放;科舉不只是為了通過考試以選拔最優秀的治國人才,否則取士便應只有「唯才是擇」這一標準,但事實上歷代取士大都依從地區均衡分配的原則,可見科舉制度還兼顧到地方代表性。因此,很多透過科舉而當官的人是來自農村的讀書人,這些鄉間的讀書人形成中國古代獨有的耕讀文化。

列印

在這個背景下,中國知識分子對鄉間和城市的分別有一個政治上的理解:城市是政治活動和權力的所在,到城市去,代表參與政治(至少是企圖參與政治);鄉間的生活是「日出而作,日入而息」,可說「帝力於我何有哉」(《擊壤歌》),到鄉間生活,代表遠離政治,即所謂「退隱」也。

退隱,不只是隱居,還有從官位或其他政治活動中退下來的意思,否則就談不上是退了。隱居其實不一定要在鄉間田園,有些人甚至認為「小隱隱於山,大隱隱於市」;至於退隱必定是到鄉間去,那是由於鄉間才有「退」的象徵意義。

事實上,古代很多讀書人都是在無可奈何的情況下退隱的:因為仕途坎坷,官場失意,再混下去也沒什麼好處,便只好退下來,歸隱田園;另一些則較高潔,是因為政治腐敗而不願繼續參與其中,體現了儒家理想的「天下有道則見,無道則隱」(《論語 • 泰伯》)。儒家參與政治的最高境界,是孟子對孔子的形容:「可以速而速,可以久而久,可以處而處,可以仕而仕。」(《孟子 • 萬章下》)不得已而酸溜溜的退隱,是等而下之的。

中國現代知識分子也許還有「退隱」這個概念,但那已經不是一個重要的概念,因為現代的政治無處不在,而且由於鄉村和城市之間的交通方便,鄉村也有電話、電視、互聯網等資訊服務,即使住在鄉村,也未必是真正的隱居了。

有趣的是,今時今日來自鄉下的亞洲年輕人要真正融入城市,也不是容易的事,因為「來自鄉間」這個身份成了被歧視的標籤。最佳例子莫如最近憑〈我是范雨素〉一文在網上「爆紅」的「鄉間作家」范雨素,她這篇自傳式的文章講述自己如何從湖北鄉下的家來到北京,最後在一個富裕的家庭內當褓姆的故事。文章內容豐富,筆觸樸實而細膩,感人至深。可是卻有不少住在城市裡的人對她的文章諸多挑剔,總是要找些理由來貶損她,這種態度恐怕只是基

於「城市人看不起鄉下人」這種源遠流長的心態而已。

 

西方觀點:我們需要改變城市的價值觀

聯合國於2014年宣佈全球首次有半數以上人口居於城市。至2050年,都市人口更會佔全球人口的三分之二。雖說城市稱霸全球不過是本世紀才出現的現象,但幾千年來西方哲學都是不折不扣的城市產物。城市塑造歷代思潮的輪廓,一如摩天大樓構成現代都市的天際線一樣。

西方哲學發軔於古希臘,在當時最偉大的雅典城邦茁壯成長。這背景幾乎肯定影響到哲學家思考人生的著眼點,以及他們所得出的答案。例如阿里士多德心目中的美好人生,是生而為雅典的自由人,可以享受奴隸的侍奉,而不是生於伯羅奔尼撒的農民,終生都要與大自然辛苦搏鬥。他的結論是,人生的至善莫過於沉思默想,而只有像他那樣的城市人方能享有這種生活方式。至於柏拉圖,當他構思心目中的理想國時,亦是以小城邦為藍本,而非廣袤的帝國或國民人數不多的小國。

邁進現代,城市仍是孕育哲學的搖籃。啟蒙運動在阿姆斯特丹、巴黎和愛丁堡大放異采,這三個城市都是貿易樞紐,海納百川,吸引世界各地的人前來做買賣和交流,難怪理性的概念能夠超越時間和地域的限制,成為普世標準。

西方人習以為常,渾然不覺這種思維方式是他們的思想特質。他們認為哲學是普世共通的,我去年在夏威夷出席以「地域」為主題的東西方哲學家會議時發現,只有西方哲學家無視地域概念。席間,各地學者就議題踴躍發言,但研究西方哲學的與會者卻沒有多少話可以講;而我應付的方法,就是談論西方哲學中缺乏「地域」這一概念。

圖說東西: 在餐廳內

East-West-1
Credit: Yang Liu

城市生活的其中一個特色,是人情薄如紙。你每天碰到的人,大部分是不相識的,當中許多人亦從此不再相見。因此,西方哲學文化產生出以客觀自居的倫理哲學並不為奇。當中最明顯的例子,是在英國維多利亞時代誕生的功利主義。當時工業發展蓬勃,工業革命正以全速前進,能夠造福最多人的就是善行,而惡行當然就損害大多數人的福祉。被你損害或得益於你的人,跟你個人有什麼關係並不重要。正如功利主義始祖邊沁的格言謂:「每個人的權利應被視為處於等同地位,沒有人的權利比其他人重要」。此說在重視親戚朋友關係的農村是很難引起共鳴的。

也許,來自城市的西方哲學最大的盲點,就是對自然界的普遍漠視。17世紀英國哲學家Hobbes著名的文明定義,就是與「自然狀態」的對比。在他眼中,自然界是一場草木皆兵的戰爭,物種互相廝殺,生命「險惡、殘暴而短暫」。Hobbes的誇張修辭反映西方哲學界普遍存在的偏見。對哲學家而言,野性的大自然是理性社會的反面。原始人在野外如魚得水,只有文明的思想家才能隔著理性的距離來了解大自然。

盧梭可說是持相反意見人士中的表表者,他對當時以啟蒙自居的巴黎嗤之以鼻。雖然說他提倡回歸「高貴的野蠻人」的年代是穿鑿附會,但他確實認為在現代社會迫使我們大量聚居於城市,以房屋和街道將人與自然隔離之前,人的存在的確較簡單純粹。

今天,與其說盧梭的言論是浪漫的感歎,不如說是具有遠見的預言。雖然城市的活力和創意依然備受世人推崇,我們卻愈來愈意識到城市生活帶來的問題。城市人的精神健康問題較為普遍;貧富不均亦在城市更加猖獗,城市裡的富人左右世界大局,而貧民則為糊口而成為服務富人、遊客和商務旅客的廉價勞工。

城市將永垂不朽。但哲學也許能幫助我們尋回部分失落於鄉野的價值,使我們能建構一個更人性、更人道的城市環境。桑德爾和沃爾澤等社群主義思想家主張雙管齊下,透過建立實質的人倫關係和抽象價值,促進社會團結。提倡「關懷倫理」的Carol Gilligan等人亦強調情緒和人際關係在道德體系中的重要作用。至此,令個人在官僚體制內變得面目模糊的城市價值,終於與鄉野一直持守和重視的人倫關係取得平衡。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Urban life

East vs. West: Thoughts on cities

What’s better for the mind – urban competition or rural escape? Words by WAI-HUNG WONG and JULIAN BAGGINI, illustrations by CECIL TANG

The East view: true thinkers choose their own place

Many city dwellers need an occasional break from the hustle and bustle. They find tranquillity in idyllic surroundings, unwinding perhaps at a camp site or in a remote farmhouse. Abundant nature and fresh air offer not just a holiday for the lungs, but also an escape that calms the weary soul. But few urbanites want to make the move permanent. The rustic way of life is wonderful – in short bursts. Over time, they get bored of being refreshed and relaxed.

In ancient China – and in China today, as we’ll see – rural-urban relocation was an emotional issue.

The civil service examination system had its beginnings in the Han dynasty (206 BC-220 AD), when scholars were finally granted a path to political power through merit rather than patronage. The system tied in with regional quotas. Candidates from rural communities formed a unique farmer-scholar culture.

The difference between city and village had a political implication: the city was the centre of power and politics, a place where scholars strived to become part of the political elite. The ‘pure’ farmer ‘rises and works at sunrise, retires at sunset’, and is therefore ‘unaffected by the imperial power’ (Song of the Peasants). In short, it was the opposite of climbing the greasy pole: it was a hermit’s life.

The author held that a ‘serious hermit remains a human island in the city’. But a secluded place gave substance to the vow to abandon the pursuit of power. In reality, ancient scholars who retired to the country were often reluctant hermits – they had a hard time in the office and found no way out other than quitting it altogether. Others opted for a hermit’s life because they were disillusioned by corrupt bureaucracy.

列印

This practice had its roots in Confucian teaching. ‘When the Way prevails in the world, show yourself. When it does not, then hide,’ he said (The Analects of Confucius). The best Confucian scholars should follow the example of the philosopher himself: ‘When it was proper to go away quickly, he did so; when it was proper to delay, he did so; when it was proper to keep in retirement, he did so; when it was proper to go into office, he did so.’ So said Mencius about the philosopher in The Works of Mencius.

Perhaps the idea of living a hermit’s life is still present in modern Chinese intellectuals. But you can’t escape anywhere in a world where the line between the country and the city isn’t blurred by technology. Today, even the most determined to find complete seclusion can still connect to the outside world.

In Asia today, the traffic is overwhelmingly in the other direction as young people leave their villages and assimilate into urban life. ‘Coming from a rural area’ is all too often a label of discrimination.

Fan Yusu is a country-born writer who wrote I Am Fan Yusu, an autobiographical account that became an overnight sensation. She is a perfect example of such discrimination. A young girl from rural Hubei, she ends up as the nanny of a rich family in Beijing. She writes with a plain but subtle style. Many people are touched by her story told in a uniquely affecting way.

Yet people – urban people – still find fault in her writings and deride her prose style as ‘a bowl of coarse rice’. It’s a modern story with a very ancient lineage.

The West view: our urban values need to change

In 2014, the UN announced that for the first time more than half the world’s population lived in urban areas. By 2050, that will rise to two thirds. But although it has taken until the 21st century for the city to dominate the world, Western philosophy has been an urban phenomenon for millennia. The city has shaped the contours of its thought as surely as skyscrapers shape the modern skyline.

Western philosophy was born in Greece, growing up and living the prime of its life in Athens, the greatest city-state of its time. This almost certainly influenced the problems its philosophers chose to focus on, and the answers they gave to them.

When Aristotle considered the good life, for example, he had in mind a free man of Athens served by slaves, not a farmer in the Peloponnese struggling with nature. The best life, he concluded, was one of contemplation, a life only available to urban men like him. And when Plato imagined his ideal Republic, again the model was a relatively small city-state, not a sprawling empire or a thinly and sparsely populated nation.

In the era of modern philosophy, cities again became the focus. The Enlightenment flourished in Amsterdam, Paris and Edinburgh. These were centres of trade and exchange where people came from all corners of the known world. No wonder, then, that a conception of reason emerged that was universal and cosmopolitan, not rooted to particular times and places.

This seems so natural to Westerners that they don’t even notice it as a feature of their way of thinking. Their assumption that philosophy is about the universal and has nothing to say about place is not shared around the world, as I discovered when I went to last year’s East-West Philosophers Conference in Hawaii on the theme of ‘place’. There was plenty to be said, but not by scholars of Western philosophy, who were thin on the ground. (I got around the problem by talking about the absence of place in Western philosophy.)

East vs West: restaurants

East-West-1
Credit: Yang Liu

One feature of urban life is that it is largely impersonal. You don’t know most of the people you pass every day and many you will never see again. It should not therefore be surprising that the West’s urban philosophical culture has generated a moral philosophy that is proudly impersonal. The clearest example of this is utilitarianism, which was built among the chimney stacks of Victorian England. In this system, the right thing to do is whatever benefits the greatest number, the wrong whatever diminishes its welfare. Your relationship to the people you harm or help is irrelevant. ‘Every man to count for one and no-one to count for more than one,’ as ‘Bentham’s dictum’, named after the founder of utilitarianism, puts it. It’s a motto that resonates less in a village, where the special treatment of kith and kin would be second nature.

Perhaps the most striking reflection of the urban bias of Western philosophy is the short shrift it generally gives to nature. The 17th century English philosopher Hobbes famously defined civilisation in contrast to the ‘state of nature’ which he saw as a war of all against all, red in tooth and claw, where life was ‘nasty, brutish and short’.

Hobbes’ hyperbole reflects a common prejudice of his profession. For philosophers, untamed nature is the antithesis of rational society. The primitive human feels at home in the wild but it requires the distance of the civilised thinker to understand it.

The most notable dissenter was Jean-Jacques Rousseau, who despised the Enlightenment Paris of his age. Although he did not, as is widely believed, advocate a return to the era of the ‘noble savage’ he did think that there was a purity and simplicity of existence before modern society forced us to live among ever larger groups, alienated from nature by our brick houses and cobbled streets.

Today, Rousseau’s lament seems more prescient than romantic. While cities are still adored for their energy and creativity, we have become more aware of the problems associated with living in them. Mental health problems are more common in cities than elsewhere. Inequality also tends to be higher where the rich locate their globally connected homes and the poor congregate to take the badly paid jobs required to service them, tourists and business travellers.

The city is here to stay. But perhaps philosophy can help us recover some of the values we left behind in the country and so make our urban environment more human and more humane. Communitarian thinkers like Michael Sandel and Michael Walzer have drawn our attention to the need to promote social solidarity by nurturing particular ties as well as abstract values. Advocates of ‘care ethics’ like Carol Gilligan have also emphasised the role of emotion and relationships in morality. Bureaucratic, anonymous urban values are at last being balanced with more organic, personal ones that the countryside never abandoned.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book