都市生活

首爾8個必遊社區

我們為你盤點南韓首府最熱鬧繽紛的社區,包括將舊貨倉改建成藝術村的聖水洞,以及愈夜愈美麗的弘大

近年韓風大盛,搶耳的K-pop流行曲、屢掀追劇潮的韓劇和惹味的韓國料理,令韓流席捲世界各地。這股創新而澎湃的活力,在首爾街頭就最能感受得到。 

事實上,要切切實實認識這個大城市的多元面貌,也唯有走在街上,花點時間鑽進每一個社區。古廟、傳統市集、時尚酒吧、精品店等各式各樣的景點,令每個社區擁有不同的建築風格、氛圍和魅力。下次計劃到訪首爾前,不妨瀏覽我們為你搜羅的八個首爾社區精采行程。

三清洞

迷人的傳統文化村

seoul-neighbourhood-bukchon-hanok-village-street-sunrise-south-korea
Credit: Shutterstock

三清洞不單止低調,連房屋也不會比天高,至少在北村韓屋村便是如此。這個小區保留了大量以石頭和琉璃瓦屋簷建成的韓屋,這些老房子雖然有上百年歷史,但現在木門背後有不少是當地人的居所,也有部分被改建成商店、咖啡館、博物館甚至賓館。例如樂古齋首爾就是擁有四間客房的旅館,設備包括以天然玉石鋪砌的「溫突」(類似暖炕的暖氣地板)和雪松木浴盤。北村是個熱鬧的旅遊景點,不時可見身穿鮮艷韓服的遊客,有興趣加入者大可光顧當地商店的韓服出租服務。 

下一站可遊覽附近的王府和宮殿,景福宮的門將換崗儀式遠近馳名,而保存得更好的昌德宮則擁有聯合國教科文組織世界遺產認證。發思古之幽情後,不妨前往國立現代美術館返回當代的藝術世界,觀賞韓國抽象藝術先鋒劉永國等韓裔大師的前衛作品和國際藝術家的心血結晶。

A woman looks at a work of art outside the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art Seoul
Credit: Shutterstock

弘大

熱鬧的夜生活天堂

seoul-neighbourhood-people-tourist-shopping-and-walking-hongdae-street-market
Credit: Shutterstock

拜附近幾家大學所賜,首爾社區弘大是學生流連的地方,因此總是熱鬧繁華,朝氣勃勃。這裡入夜後是跳舞、唱卡啦OK或欣賞現場音樂表演的好去處;日間的大街則擠滿來購物的人潮,路上有無數餐廳、售賣辣炒年糕或韓式飯卷等小食的路邊攤,還有在街頭落力表演的一眾未來準韓星,人來人往好不熱鬧。以創意設計為招徠的酒店Ryse充分體現出這個社區的精神面貌,這裡吸引不少藝術家聯乘創作,並設有一個懷舊黑膠唱片庫的Print Culture Lounge和天台酒吧 Side Note Club等型格場所,是潮人聚首的地點之一。

Lobby_Print_Culture_Lounge_3812
Credit: Ryse

聖水洞

首爾的布魯克林

seoul-neighbourhood-seongsu-dong-amazing-brew-company-seongsu-dong-seoul-korea
Credit: Shutterstock

聖水洞跟紐約布魯克林都是由工業區轉型為潮人勝地的成功例子,將兩地相提並論也不為過。聖水洞是另類文創小店、畫廊、塗鴉壁畫和新興品牌雲集之地,在一幢幢紅磚建築中,昔日的舊鞋廠和金工店早已被手作皮革精品店及咖啡店等文青打卡點取代,周遭都是外露的磚牆、不經粉刷的水泥牆和升級再造家具,別有一番韻味。區內的熱點有咖啡館兼畫廊Daelim Changgo Gallery CO:LUMN、咖啡店Zagmachi,以及呈奉當地烘焙名店05 Bread的麵包糕餅的 Café Onion。不妨信步走到文化集中地S Factory,欣賞由藝術家、創業生力軍和首爾創作人舉行的展覽,順道選購創意產品。汲取過文化養份後,可在Amazing Brewing Company以一杯冰凍的韓國手工啤酒結束一天的行程。

seoul-neighbourhood-seongsu-dong-apgujeong-dong-eungbong-mountain-aerial-view
Credit: Shutterstock

江南

品味首爾上流族的生活

seoul-neighbourhood-gangnam-k-pop-hallyu-k-star-road
Credit: Shutterstock

2012K-pop大叔Psy一曲《江南Style》熱潮席捲各地流行榜和社交媒體後,江南已被全球公認為超豪生活的代名詞。這個首爾社區亦名副其實,不乏設計師名店、型格夜店和韓式化妝品專賣店,此外,這裡亦是整容醫院的集中地。

江南亦是文化景點雲集的城區,當中最著名的有奉恩寺,這幢建於八世紀的佛寺保存完好,環境清幽怡人。區內的首爾藝術殿堂坐擁多個古典音樂廳和藝術博物館,COEX Mall商場內的Starfield Library設有非常矚目的書架,書卷味和設計美並重Glad Live Gangnam酒店的文化氣息亦不遑多讓,位於20樓的酒廊經常舉辦不同類型的當代藝術展覽和音樂演奏會。如想享受一頓別開生面的晚餐,可光顧主打正宗北韓美食盤龍山,品嚐冷麵和牛肉豆腐湯飯。

seoul-neighbourhood-starfield-library-at-gangnam-district-the-library-bookshelves-magazines
Credit: Shutterstock

梨泰院

首爾中部的文化熔爐  

seoul-neighbourhood-backstreet-itaewon-bars-cafes
Credit: Shutterstock

在眾多首爾社區中,位於漢江北的梨泰院是初來埗到的旅客首選的落腳地,皆因這裡夜生活精采,文化豐富多元。這裡是南韓首府第一個「特別遊客區」,小巷中愛爾蘭酒吧、墨西哥小館和各國特色食店並肩而立,可見這裡是外國僑民聚居的社區。如欲事先了解區內生活,可欣賞描繪成長的大熱韓劇《梨泰院Class》。要感受首爾的精品咖啡文化,Plant(時尚的純素咖啡店,提供以植物為食材的各類美食和優質咖啡)、Humboldt(主打創意設計,甜品非常出色)和The Baker’s Table(由歐洲烘焙師Micha Lichter主理的傳統德國餐廳和甜品店)是梨泰院其中幾家人氣之選。喜愛另闢蹊徑的話,梨泰院古典家具大街主要出售1960年代駐韓美軍留下的物品,絕對能滿足你的另類好奇心。

seoul-neighbourhood-itaewon-plant-the-bakers-table
Credit: Shutterstock

東大門 

前衛設計與城牆古跡並行不悖

seoul-neighbourhoods-dongdaemun-design-museum-exterior-zaha-hadid-architecture
Credit: Shutterstock

東大門位於首爾東部,是著名的購物天堂,雲集大型夜市、購物中心以至專賣店,選擇多如繁星。區內的明星建築是2014年落成的東大門設計廣場,由Zaha Hadid設計,這幢金屬大樓的外牆呈流線形,恍如外星飛船撞落草坪上,內裡滿載各式藝術展覽、裝置作品和精品店,是不可多得的藝術盛宴。 

另一個名勝是興仁之門,又名東大門,是圍繞舊城牆而設的八道城門之一,屬朝鮮時期的防禦工事。城牆一路延伸至綠樹成蔭的駱山公園,遊客在公園可登高眺望首都全景。如想「貼地」一點,可沿清溪川漫步。這裡曾經是高架道路,至2000年代中才復原重作水道。這條東西流向的河川滿佈池泉造景、藝術品和花圃,景色怡人,在夜裡更是燈光璀璨,瑰麗繽紛。

night-cityscape-traditional-dongdaemun-gate
Credit: Shutterstock

南大門

傳統美食巡禮

namdaemun-market-traditional-market-seoul-korea
Credit: Shutterstock

雖然各個首爾社區都不乏出色的韓國餐廳,但饞嘴的食客若想一次過遍嚐韓式滋味,就不能不到南大門市場一趟了。佔據了數幢大廈和多條街道的市集擺滿路邊攤,貨品種類繁多,不過價格相宜的布料、時裝和糖果加起來,仍不及琳瑯滿目的美食吸引。你可以在這裡大啖在鍋上即烤的韓式蔬菜冬粉煎包,或者坐在窄巷內密密麻麻的攤檔,看著「阿豬媽」(南韓人對阿姨的暱稱)在堆滿餃子和麵餅的灶頭前,熟練地為你炮製韓式拌飯,在石窩中堆滿蔬菜、鮮肉、米飯、雞蛋和大量韓式辣椒醬。

蠶室

湖泊、機動遊戲與摩天大樓並存之城

aerial-view-lotte-world-tower-seoul-hoods-korea
aerial-view-lotte-world-tower-seoul-eighbourhoods-south-korea

蠶室原為漢江東南面一個寧靜的近郊地區,直至555米高的樂天世界塔2017年開幕才熱鬧起來。這幢南韓最高的摩天大樓是個向上發展的「城市」,內有辦公室、住宅、Signiel Seoul 豪華酒店,以及全國最大型的商場:樂天世界購物中心。建築師更為這座高人一等的地標闢出空間,以容納一個室內遊樂場、一個溜冰場、大量餐廳和一個展出古跡迷你模型的民俗博物館。

如想呼吸新鮮空氣,可到石村湖畔漫步。每年春天,這裡的櫻花均燦爛盛開。愛刺激的你,可在湖心小島上的主題公園玩機動遊戲過過癮。附近的棒球場在周末吸引大量球迷入場觀賽;賽事結束後,他們愛聯群結隊到附近的小酒吧和餐館遣興,令本來寧靜的蠶室街頭一下子熙來攘往。

Lotte-world-tower-seokchhon-lake-spring-cherry-blossom
Credit: Shutterstock
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

8 Must-Visit Seoul Neighbourhoods

We break down the South Korean capital’s most vibrant neighbourhoods, including the converted warehouses of artsy Seongsu-dong and the lively nightlife of Hongdae

South Korea’s bombastic K-pop beats (and addictive K-dramas), lip-smacking cuisine and tech innovations have propelled the country to the forefront of popular culture. Nowhere is this mix of energy and enterprise more keenly felt than on the streets of Seoul.

Indeed, the best way to get acquainted with this sprawling, multifaceted city is to pound the pavement, taking on one neighbourhood at a time. Each has its own vibe, architectural aesthetics and appeal – be it historic temples, traditional markets or sleek bars and boutiques. Before your next visit, read up on the best things to do and see in these eight Seoul neighbourhoods

Samcheong-dong

Charming heritage village

seoul-neighbourhood-bukchon-hanok-village-street-sunrise-south-korea
Credit: Shutterstock

The low-key area of Samcheong-dong is also low rise, at least in Bukchon Hanok Village, an enclave of centuries-old hanok dwellings made of stone with wooden doors and sloping tile roofs. Locals still live in some of these homes; other interiors have been refitted as shops, cafes, museums and even guesthouses. Rakkojae Seoul, for instance, has four rooms with natural jade ondol (heated) floors and cedar wood soaking tubs. Bukchon buzzes with tourists, often dressed in brightly coloured hanbok, which are available to rent from local shops. 

Continue your time travels at nearby palaces: Gyeongbokgung is known for its changing of the guards ceremony, while better-preserved Changdeokgung has the Unesco World Heritage stamp of approval. When you’re ready to step back into the modern world, visit the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art for avant-garde pieces by Korean masters such as Yoo Young-kuk – a pioneer of the abstract movement – alongside works by international artists.

seoul-neighbourhood-samcheong-dong-woman-looks-art-national-museum-of-modern-and-contemporary-art-seoul
Credit: Shutterstock

Hongdae

Boisterous nights out

seoul-neighbourhood-people-tourist-shopping-and-walking-hongdae-street-market
Credit: Shutterstock

Hongdae is an exuberant cauldron fuelled largely by the student population from several nearby universities. Come here after dark for the dance clubs, karaoke bars and live-music venues. By day, you’ll find throngs of shoppers on the main streets – navigating the cornucopia of restaurants, food stalls selling everything from tteokbokki (spicy rice cakes) to gimbap (seaweed covered rice rolls), and buskers and dance groups hoping to make it in the land of K-pop idol stardom. The design-centric Ryse hotel channels the Seoul neighbourhood’s spirit. It features artist collaborations and cool gathering spaces like the Print Culture Lounge (with a retro vinyl library) and rooftop Side Note Club.

Lobby_Print_Culture_Lounge_3812
Credit: courtesy of Ryse

Seongsu-dong

Seoul’s answer to Brooklyn

seoul-neighbourhood-seongsu-dong-amazing-brew-company-seongsu-dong-seoul-korea
Credit: Shutterstock

The comparison is easy enough to make: like Brooklyn, Seongsu-dong is full of industrial spaces that have turned hip. It’s packed with eccentric creatives, galleries, murals and up-and-coming businesses. Old shoe factories and metal workshops have been replaced by artisanal leather boutiques and spots where you sip your coffee among exposed brickwork, raw concrete and upcycled furnishing. Highlights of this Seoul neighbourhood include cafe-cum-gallery space Daelim Changgo Gallery CO:LUMN; Zagmachi; and Café Onion, which serves pastries from revered local bakery 05 Bread. Swing by S Factory, a cultural hub where artists, entrepreneurs and other savvy Seoulites show exhibitions and shill creative wares, before finishing up with a cold pint of Korean craft beer at Amazing Brewing Company.

seoul-neighbourhood-seongsu-dong-apgujeong-dong-eungbong-mountain-aerial-view
Credit: Shutterstock

Gangnam

Lifestyles of the rich and the famous

seoul-neighbourhood-gangnam-k-pop-hallyu-k-star-road
Credit: Shutterstock

Seared into the world’s collective consciousness since South Korean pop sensation Psy’s Gangnam Style stormed charts and social media feeds in 2012, Gangnam has become synonymous with a lavish lifestyle. Sure enough, there is no shortage of designer shops, stylish nightclubs and Korean beauty outlets – not to mention plastic surgery facilities.

You can also find pockets of culture, notably the Bongeunsa, a serene and beautifully preserved eighth-century Buddhist temple; Seoul Arts Centre, a complex with classical music concert halls and multiple art museums; and the dazzling bookshelves of Starfield Library at COEX Mall. Glad Live Gangnam hotel gets in on the act with rotating exhibitions of contemporary art and live music in the 20th floor lounge. For an interesting meal, stop by Banryongsan, which serves faithful renditions of North Korean dishes like naengmyeon (cold noodles) and garit gukbap (tofu and beef rice soup).

seoul-neighbourhood-starfield-library-at-gangnam-district-the-library-bookshelves-magazines
Credit: Shutterstock

Itaewon

Central Seoul’s multicultural hub

seoul-neighbourhood-backstreet-itaewon-bars-cafes
Credit: Shutterstock

Among all the Seoul neighbourhoods, many first-time visitors choose to base themselves in Itaewon, on the north side of the Han River, for its nightlife and multicultural vibe. It was the city’s first ‘special tourist zone’ and has a strong expat community, reflected in the winding alleys stuffed with Irish pubs, Mexican joints and other foreign fare. (Get a peek at the ’hood by watching the coming-of-age K-drama Itaewon Class.) Seoul’s indie coffee cred is seriously high, and Itaewon favourites include Plant (a chic vegan cafe with a plant-based menu and top coffee); Humboldt (a design-friendly cafe that also does a strong line of desserts); and The Bakers Table (a quaint German restaurant and dessert shop run by European pâtissier Micha Lichter). One of the area’s charming quirks is Antique Furniture Street, where you can peruse possessions left behind by American soldiers in the 1960s.

seoul-neighbourhood-itaewon-plant-the-bakers-table
Credit: Shutterstock

Dongdaemun

Futuristic design and ancient fortress walls

seoul-neighbourhoods-dongdaemun-design-museum-exterior-zaha-hadid-architecture
Credit: Shutterstock

Dongdaemun in Seoul’s east is known for myriad shopping options, from a huge night market to countless malls and speciality shops. It got a dose of starchitecture when the Zaha Hadid-designed Dongdaemun Design Museum debuted in 2014. The building’s sinuous metallic curves resemble some alien craft crash-landed on the manicured lawns. Inside await various art exhibitions, installations and boutiques worth exploring. 

Another spectacle is Heunginjimun, also known as the Dongdaemun Gate, one of eight historic gateways in the Josean-era fortress walls that surround the old city. Follow the walls to leafy Naksan Park, which also offers panoramic views high above the city. Alternatively, get ‘low’ with a stroll along Cheonggyecheon stream: a former highway rehabilitated into a nature-filled stream in the mid-2000s. The myriad water features, artworks and flowers make a pleasant trip east or west, especially at night when certain sections erupt into colourful lights.

night-cityscape-traditional-dongdaemun-gate
Credit: Shutterstock

Namdaemun

Traditional foodie delights

namdaemun-market-traditional-market-seoul-korea
Credit: Shutterstock

While there are plenty of great Korean restaurants around the city, for hungry foodies wanting to tick off several dishes in one go, Namdaemun Market is a must. The market spills over into several buildings and streets for a fun trawl through stalls selling affordable fabric, clothes and sweets – but the real drawcard is the food. Hoover up delicacies like japchae hotteok (vegetable noodle pancakes), fried fresh on the griddle, and take a seat at one of the many stalls crammed in the narrow indoor alleys, where ahjummas (an affectionate term for ‘aunties’) skilfully assemble bowls of bibimbap brimming with fresh vegetables, meat, rice and eggs and slathered in gochujang chilli paste, alongside piles of dumplings and noodles.

Jamsil

Lakes, rides and a vertical city

aerial-view-lotte-world-tower-seoul-hoods-korea
Credit: Shutterstock

Among all the trendy Seoul neighbourhoods, Jamil was simply a sleepy suburb southeast of the Han River – that is until the opening of the 555-metre-tall Lotte World Tower in 2017. South Korea’s tallest skyscraper is a vertical city with offices, residences, the plush Signiel Seoul hotel and the country’s largest shopping complex, Lotte World Mall. The architects even found space for an indoor amusement park, an ice rink, restaurants and a folk museum with historical miniature models.

For a breath of fresh air, try a relaxing walk around Seokchon Lake, which welcomes cherry blossoms each spring. Or get some adrenaline-spiking thrills at the amusement park rides on the island in the lake. Weekends usually see sports fans streaming out of the nearby baseball stadium and into the cluster of little bars and restaurants in the otherwise quiet streets of Jamsil.

Lotte-world-tower-seokchhon-lake-spring-cherry-blossom
Credit: Shutterstock
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book