曼谷

10樣曼谷限定體驗(在香港未必能做到)

來到泰國首都曼谷,你怎能錯過運河遊船之旅、米芝蓮星級街頭美食,還有教人血脈沸騰的泰拳對戰等當地體驗

備註:泰國現時為有意長期逗留的旅客推出「特殊觀光簽證」(Special Tourist Visa),持有人只要先在當地的檢疫飯店或官方指定隔離酒店自行隔離14(如持有人能出示已接種疫苗的證明,隔離期將縮短至7天),即可在當地停留90270天。

雖然香港和曼谷都是亞洲區內知名的大都會城市,不過兩地的個性截然不同。根據萬事達卡的年度全球最佳旅遊城市報告,曼谷於2019年接待了2,280萬過夜旅客,再次成為全球最多人旅遊的城市,原因不言而喻。這個城市多姿多采的文化特色、佳餚美食和精采的娛樂節目,旅客可盡情享受曼谷獨有的各種樂趣,以下我們特別為港人精選十樣不容錯過的曼谷限定體驗。

1. 乘船遊覽水上市場及運河

水上市場在曼谷是別具代表性的遊覽勝地

對香港人來說,乘搭小輪來往繁忙的維多利亞港是尋常不過的事情,然而乘船穿梭在曼谷縱橫交錯的khlong(運河),卻是完全不同的感受。吞武里有不少風景優美的運河,河上有露天長尾船接載遊客遊覽區內錯綜複雜的運河網絡,感受曼谷最寧謐的一面。如果你喜歡熱鬧,也可以造訪喧囂的曼谷水上市場,當中的Damnoen Saduak是市內規模數一數二的。至於距離市中心只有12公里的Taling Chan水上市場,則展現曼谷的地道民生風情。

2. 超大型的夜生活娛樂場所

泰國曼谷的天台酒吧

我們雖然不認為香港的夜生活娛樂低調內斂,不過在另一邊廂的曼谷,那裡的超大型娛樂場所,確實令當地夜生活更顯紙醉金迷。前往舉世知名的Sky Bar酒吧,居高臨下把酒俯瞰眼下的都會風景;或者以一身文青打扮潛入通羅區潮人出沒的地帶;或索性到喧鬧的考山路開懷暢飲。無論你想到性小眾娛樂場所尋幽探秘,還是在地下電子音樂俱樂部一展舞姿,在曼谷你都能找到喜歡的夜生活娛樂。

3. 一睹耳目一新的河畔區域

曼谷的河濱區經過翻新後,面貌截然不同

曼谷和香港,誰更具個性?曼谷河濱區經過大翻新後,以富有藝術氣息的全新面貌示人,也許小勝一仗。城內時尚型格的多用途空間如雨後春筍般湧現,前臨湄南河的The Jam Factory便是最早出現的多用途場所,它前身為舊倉庫,現已改建成環境幽靜的綜合場地,設有咖啡館、家品店、畫廊、餐廳、書店和寫字樓,大受潮人歡迎。其建築師Duangrit Bunnag在對岸依樣畫葫蘆,再將Warehouse 30改頭換面,吸引本地時尚精品店和手工咖啡店進駐,並不時舉行電影放映會和TEDx演講會,一站式迎合潮人追求的生活方式。

4. 暫別天壇大佛,朝拜泰國臥佛

臥佛寺內的臥佛像全長46米,是曼谷馳名的禮佛之地

曼谷寺廟和古蹟處處,大皇宮建築群和四面佛只是當中一二,定能滿足喜歡探索歷史文化的旅人。臥佛寺內的臥佛像全長46米,是曼谷馳名的禮佛之地。寺內放置了108個象徵佛祖斷除108種煩惱的缽,記得隨身攜帶多一點硬幣,把它們投進缽中祈願。

5. 親試泰拳滋味

泰拳是泰國十分普及的國技

李小龍被譽為世界級的功夫大師,但若果他有機會與泰拳手對決,未知誰分高下?泰拳是泰國的國技,是一門激烈的格鬥運動,由於在搏擊中容許拳手使用雙拳、兩肘、膝蓋和小腿來攻擊對手,故又被稱為「八肢藝術」。New Lumpinee Boxing Stadium拳擊場每逢星期二、五和六均舉行職業賽事,值得一看。如果你想親自登上擂台,亦可到Jitti Gym健身館參加泰拳健身班,接受前任冠軍泰拳手的訓練,鍛鍊健美體態。

6. 跳上另類交通工具暢遊曼谷

Tuk tuk是曼谷常見的交通工具

曼谷雖然以東南亞交通問題最嚴重之地稱冠,但城中有種交通工具亦贏得了最具魅力的美譽,那就是電動三輪車tuk tuk。乘坐車資便宜的tuk tuk穿梭大街小巷,是經典又暢快的曼谷體驗。不過緊記在開車前要跟司機商議好車資,而且要狠狠地討價還價,萬一談不攏,請勿感到不好意思,轉身離去就是。如果想要不一樣的旅程,你也可租一輛裝上音響和的士高燈飾的「派對版」tuk tuk,來一場街頭移動派對。

7. 觀賞曼谷木偶劇

傳統的木偶劇與泰國文化息息相關

在香港,你可以欣賞粵劇的藝術,來到曼谷,自然不能錯過泰國傳統的木偶劇表演。不妨到湄南河岸邊的Asiatique夜市,在那裡的Joe Louis Theatre劇院觀賞木偶劇。表演全長一小時,以精美華麗的木偶做主角,每個木偶背後都需要三至四位木偶師操控,以有趣的方式演繹源於印度史詩《羅摩衍那》的拉瑪堅傳說,描述哈奴曼和其他神靈的故事。

8. 搜購上等泰國絲綢製品

泰絲製品色彩鮮艷,通常用來製作精美絕倫的傳統服飾

絲織品當然可在香港買得到,但在曼谷,你卻要到前任間諜的故居選購絲綢。泰絲製品色彩鮮艷、織工精細,通常用來製作精美絕倫的泰國傳統服飾,因而名聞天下,而美國人Jim Thompson可謂歸功不少。他在二戰時曾擔任間諜,之後來到泰國定居,並著手復興當地的絲綢業。不妨參觀由其故居改建而成的Jim Thompson House & Art Center藝術中心,了解泰國絲綢的歷史和文化,並順道為自己選購華麗的絲綢服飾。

9. 遍嚐街頭美食和米芝蓮星級佳餚

在曼谷品嚐米芝蓮星級佳餚和街頭美食

如果比拼餐飲的款式和質素,世上沒有多少城市能與香港匹敵,不過,隨處均可嚐到泰式炒河粉和青木瓜沙律的曼谷,可能是香港的勁敵。曼谷佳餚豐儉由人,你既可在米芝蓮星級餐廳大快朵頤,也可在同一條街的路邊攤檔遍嚐令人垂涎的街頭美食。而Jay Fai餐廳更是榮獲米芝蓮殊榮的街頭美食,戴著護目眼鏡揮舞著大鑊炒菜的大廚Jay Fai,40多年來為食客炮製馳名的蟹肉奄列,實在不容錯過。如你追求的是豪華的餐飲體驗,可到米芝蓮星級食府Bo.Lan品嚐以可持續食材烹調的泰國菜,或者親臨米芝蓮二星餐廳Sorn,享用以傳統砂鍋、炭燒和用樹葉包裹蒸煮的新派泰國南部菜式。

10. 接受佛教僧侶的紋身祝福

泰式傳統sak yant紋身由佛教僧侶親自為你刺青

在香港並不難找到紋身店,不過在泰國,紋身有另一重意義。泰式傳統sak yant紋身被視為神聖的藝術,值得你親自朝聖。如果你想一嘗由佛教僧侶親自為你刺青的全套儀式,請前往曼谷市中心以西50公里的Wat Bang Phra寺廟,身穿橙色僧袍的sak yant紋身師傅會利用長竹竿,在你身上刺出傳統圖案;每個圖案都擁有不同的意義,有些具有保護能力,有些則能提升運氣。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Bangkok

10 Things to Do in Bangkok That You Can’t Do in Hong Kong

Canal boat tours, Michelin-starred street food and epic Muay Thai fights are among the things to do in Bangkok that make our list of essential experiences in the Thai capital

Note: Thailand is currently offering a Special Tourist Visa (STV) that allows entry for long-stay tourists for between 90 and 270 days, so long as 14 days quarantine is first completed at a State Quarantine or Alternative State Quarantine (ASQ) facility (or seven days for tourists who can show proof of vaccination).

They are both cosmopolitan Asian cities, but Hong Kong and Bangkok have very different personalities. Bangkok continues to hold the title for the most-visited city in the world – with 22.8 million overnight visitors in 2019, according to Mastercard’s annual Global Destination Cities Index – and it’s easy to see why. Bursting with culture, divine cuisine and exhilarating entertainment, there are plenty of things to do in Bangkok that you simply can’t do anywhere else. Here we highlight 10 things that Hongkongers won’t find at home.

1. Take in Floating Markets and Canal Tours

Floating markets are iconic attractions in Bangkok

We’re used to ferries in Hong Kong – but zipping across busy Victoria Harbour is a world away from gliding down the network of khlongs (canals) that crisscross Bangkok. Some of the prettiest khlongs can be found in Thonburi, with open-air long-tail boats offering tours of the neighbourhood and quaint lock systems. It’s one of the most peaceful things to do in Bangkok. Alternatively, visit the colourful chaos of Bangkok’s floating markets: Damnoen Saduak is one of the biggest, while more authentic charms can be found at Taling Chan floating market – just 12 kilometres from downtown Bangkok.

2. Indulge in the Supersized Nightlife Scene

Rooftop bar in Bangkok, Thailand

There’s no accusing Hong Kong of having a shy and retiring nightlife – but Bangkok takes things to the next level with large venues and larger-than-life entertainment. Head to the Hollywood-starring Sky Bar for dizzying rooftop views and a Hangovertini, slip on some thick-framed glasses and explore hipster hangouts in Thong Lor, or put in your bucket order (quite literally a small bucket loaded with booze) on boisterous Khao San Road. From a thriving LGBTQI scene to underground EDM clubs, theres something for every kind of party-seeker.

3. Check out the Revitalised Riverfront

Bangkok's riverfront has undergone amazing revitalisation

Is Bangkok cooler than Hong Kong? The city’s artsy waterfront renaissance might just swing it. The Jam Factory was one of the pioneers of cool multipurpose lifestyle spaces that have popped up across the city. The former warehouse has been transformed into a serene complex featuring a cafe, homeware store, gallery, restaurant, bookshop and office space overlooking the Chao Phraya river. Architect Duangrit Bunnag has repeated his successful concept on the opposite bank with Warehouse 30 – a one-stop shop for all hipster-needs, with cool local fashion boutiques, artisan coffee, film screenings and TEDx talks.

4. Swap the Big Buddha for the Reclining Buddha

The famous 46-metre reclining Buddha Wat Pho temple in Bangkok

Culture hounds will have no problem finding temples and heritage sites to explore in Bangkok, from the Grand Palace complex to the Erawan Shrine. One of the most popular is Wat Pho, home to the famous 46-metre reclining Buddha. Take coins with you to drop into the 108 bronze bowls for good luck – which correspond to the 108 actions that led Buddha to enlightenment.

5. Have a Muay Thai Experience

Muay Thai is Thailand’s popular national sport

Bruce Lee is revered as a kung fu master across the world – but could he have defeated a Muay Thai fighter? Thailand’s popular national sport is known as the art of eight limbs – a ferocious combat sport involving fists, elbows, knees and shins. Watch the professionals in action at the New Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, with fights taking place on Tuesdays, Fridays and Saturdays, or kickstart your fitness at centres like Jitti Gym, where ex-champions will whip you into shape.

6. Hop on Alternative Modes of Transport

Tuk tuk is a popular transportation vehicle in Bangkok

While Bangkok wins the unwanted title of having the worst traffic congestion in South East Asia, it arguably also wins the honour of its most charming mode of transportation. The humble tuk tuk, a motorised three-wheel rickshaw, is a cheap and cheerful way to zip across town and one of the most iconic things to do in Bangkok – but ensure you agree the fare price before you set off, haggle hard and don’t be afraid to walk away. You could also up the ante with a pimped-out party tuk tuk, complete with sound system and disco lights.

7. Watch a Bangkok Puppet Show

Enjoy traditional puppet show related to Thai culture

Trade Chinese opera for this traditional Thai entertainment at the Joe Louis Theatre, located in the Asiatique night market, on the banks of the Chao Phraya. The mesmerising hour-long performances feature ornate figurines requiring up to three or four skilled puppeteers to handle, and are a fun way to get acquainted with legends from the Ramakien, derived from the Hindu epic Ramayana featuring epic tales about gods like Hanuman.

8. Shop for Fine Silks

Brightly coloured Thai silk are often formed into stunning traditional costumes

You can buy silk in Hong Kong – but not from the home of an ex-spy. Brightly coloured, finely woven and formed into stunning traditional costumes, Thai silk has become sought after across the world. A large part of its fame lays at the hands of Jim Thompson, a former Second World War spy from America who later landed in Thailand and revitalised the silk industry. Visit the Jim Thompson House and Art Center to learn about the history and culture of silk, and to shop for your own gorgeous garments.

9. Feast on Street Food and Michelin-Starred Fare

Savour Michelin-starred cuisine and street food in Bangkok

Not many cities can rival Hong Kong when it comes to sheer volume and quality of food – but the Thai capital’s plentiful plates of pad thai and som tam (green papaya salad) present a compelling argument. In Bangkok, you can happily munch your way through Michelin-starred restaurants and mouthwatering street food on the same stretch of road. Better yet, tick both boxes at Jay Fai, the goggle-wearing, wok-wielding cook who’s been serving her signature crab omelettes for over 40 years. At the more refined end, sample sustainable Thai cuisine at Michelin-starred Bo.Lan, or treat your tastebuds to two-Michelin-starred Sorn’s renditions of southern Thai dishes cooked using traditional claypot cooking, charcoal grilling and leaf-steaming.

10. Get Inked by a Buddhist Monk

Sak yant tattoos are made by Buddhist monks

There are plenty of tattoo studios in Hong Kong, but the sacred art of sak yant is a Thai tradition that’s worthy of a pilgrimage. To experience the full ritual performed by Buddhist monks, head to Wat Bang Phra monastery 50 kilometres west of downtown Bangkok, where orange-robed sak yant masters wield bamboo rods to mark your skin with traditional designs that each carry a different significance – from protection to luck.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book