餐飲美食

香港2021年1月的賞心樂事

新一年迎來新體驗,先上新館子和欣賞藝術展覽,再到戶外舒展筋骨,保持身心健康,以最佳狀態迎接2021年

來到2021年,我們已整裝待發,迎接新的開始。各位決心實現新年健體大計(至少都堅持至1月底吧)的讀者亦已穿上運動鞋,向城中各條遠足徑出發。不妨先征服這些靠近市區的遠足徑,再挑戰高難度的路線

你的新年願望就是盡情探索香港不同角落?不妨來一趟離島一日行,暢遊南丫島大嶼山長洲;志向更遠大的你,也可計劃造訪較偏遠的島嶼

香港的1月還有許多新登場的驚喜和精采活動,但出門前記得留意最新的2019冠狀病毒病防疫措施和活動安排。

一年之計在「醒晨」

Interior of TIL coffee shop in Hong Kong

也許你曾發誓1月裡滴酒不沾,可幸城中不乏出色的咖啡店讓你盡情暢飲。其中新登場的TIL,名字是「Today is Long」(漫長的今天)的縮寫。這間澳洲風咖啡店位於寧靜的西營盤,在素淨的白色空間中,添上烏魯魯巨岩的赭紅色主調裝潢和不少盆栽做點綴,營造出舒適淡雅的空間,讓客人在此呷一杯澳洲風味的咖啡。

早午餐人氣熱點玖零剛於銅鑼灣利園開設第三間分店,除了拿手的窩心美食和晚市菜式外,新店設有特色烘焙咖啡吧,各款意大利濃縮咖啡均選用墨爾本品牌Zest的配方,另有台灣饕選咖啡出品的滴漏單品咖啡。

大飽口福之年

於銅鑼灣利園新開業的園中鴨子以富創意的「陰陽」菜式作招徠,將肉類和素菜組合成壁壘分明但又和諧共存的擺盤,最適合彈性素食者。陰陽北京烤鴨(半份北京烤鴨拼半份素烤鴨)和小籠包(餡料分為豬肉和新豬肉,另有一隻以紅菜頭汁染色的素菜小籠包)均是餐廳的招牌菜。

上月於中環盈置大廈開幕的Joint Asian Market (JAM)是個佔地2,000平方呎的美食廣場,網羅韓式熟食店Mamalee Market、粵式點心店Sifu、Uncle Quek的新加坡家常菜及Moi Moi的越式美食,讓你在時尚的環境大快朵頤。

Plate of food at Acme restaurant in Hong Kong

中東菜在香港掀起的熱潮並沒有半分減退跡象,剛於中環蘇豪區伊利近街開業的Acme便是明證。餐廳是創立烘焙店Baked 的Zahir Mohamed的另一力作,利用現代烹飪技術和時尚的賣相,革新中東經典菜式。Acme由曾於Ovolo Hotel Group掌廚的廚師Alfonso Portillo主理;我們有幸嚐過辣煮八爪魚鍋配蠶豆和辣肉腸、黎巴嫩七味羊排,以及龍蝦伴檸汁鹽膚木忌廉和豬油。

新年藝術巡禮

Joan Cornellà with his irreverent artwork on view in Hong Kong in January

藝術界鬼才Joan Cornellà充滿戲謔的作品再現城中,新展覽名為「生即是空」,是這位西班牙插畫家在港舉辦的最大型個展,粉絲可一次過欣賞48件充滿黑色幽默的雕塑、限量版畫及其他藝術品。展覽於中環香港蘇富比藝術空間舉行,如欲參觀,須事先於網上預約(展期至1月29日)。

: Cat Art by Shu Yamamoto exhibit in Hong Kong

貓奴們請注意:日本搞怪藝術家山本修的「貓美術館– CAT ART世界名畫展」已抵港,展出大量被喵星人「亂入」的藝術傑作,若想朝拜主子的風采,各位貓奴請移玉步至北角的北角匯(展期至1月10日)。

可曾想過芝麻街小可愛Elmo在毛茸茸底下藏著什麼廬山真面目?答案可在尖沙咀K11購物藝術館舉行的「K11 Outside In: An Unconventional World of Art Toys」展覽中尋(展期至2月28日)。這個玩味十足的展覽由獲獎雕塑家及玩具設計師 Jason Freeny主理,將一眾亞洲人氣動漫人物解剖,包括小飛俠阿童木和神勇飛鷹俠等,一窺他們的身體構造。

如果想讓小朋友樂不可支,不妨帶他們參觀「Frozen夢幻特展」,展覽在將軍澳中心舉行,偌大的展覽空間佔地達18,000平方呎,擺放多件真人大小的展品,重現魔法森林的經典場景(展期至2021年2月28日)。

戶外表演節目迎新歲

The-Grounds-LED-screen-and-state-of-the-art-sound-system,-the-Grounds-at-AIA-Vitality-Park-seating

雖然社交距離限制執行期間,大家都要暫時停止聚會,但我們仍期待大型休閒及娛樂空間The Grounds at AIA Vitality Park再臨。電影放映會和不時舉行的瑜伽活動門票很快就銷售一空,如有興趣,請定期瀏覽網站,看看那裡重新開放時有沒有機會在維港旁植上人工草皮的私人花園佔一席位。每個私人花園均圍上柵欄,可容納二人或四人,舒適又別致。

本地酒店歡度假期

Hong-Kong-Staycation-Gold-Coast-Hotel-Deluxe-Seaview-Room-King-Bed

雖然想飛的心早已蠢蠢欲動,但在耐心等待期間,不妨先出發來個留港度假小旅行,享受大量本地頂級酒店的留港度假staycation優惠,當中四季、朗廷、麗思卡爾頓及黃金海岸酒店等馳名居停。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Best Things to Do in Hong Kong in January 2021

Kick off the new year with some new restaurants and art exhibitions, plus a healthy dose of the outdoors

We’re all ready for a fresh start in 2021. Those of us committed to sticking to our resolutions (at least until the end of January…) will be back out on the hiking paths (start with these, closer to the city, before graduating to some truly intrepid trails).

Maybe you’ve resolved to get out and explore more of Hong Kong this year? If so, plan a day trip to Lamma Island, Lantau or Cheung Chau or set your compass further afield to one of the lesser-visited islands.

There are also plenty of openings and events scheduled around Hong Kong in January – just keep an eye on the latest COVID-19 regulations and confirm any details before you head out.

Start the Year with a Buzz

Interior of TIL coffee shop in Hong Kong

Some of you may have kicked the booze for Dry January. Thankfully there’s no shortage of great coffee shops around town: among them is a new entrant in sleepy Sai Ying Pun: TIL. Short for ‘Today is Long’, the space is all clean white walls, Uluru-red accents and potted plants, perfect to kick back in and enjoy delicious pours of Aussie-style coffee.

Popular brunch spot NINETYs has opened its third branch, this time in Causeway Bay’s Lee Gardens. Expect the usual comforting staples, alongside an evening menu – and a speciality roastery serving espresso blends from Melbourne’s Zest and pour-over single-original coffee from Taster Coffee in Taiwan.

Feast on New Treats

Duckee, newly opened in Causeway Bay’s Lee Gardens, plates up a creative ‘yin-yang’ menu featuring meat and plant-based ingredients on the same plate for flexitarians. The yin-yang Peking duck (a half-portion of Peking duck with two portions of roast vegetarian duck) and the xiaolongbao (some with pork, others with omnipork, and one veggie xiaolongbao made with beetroot juice) are highlights.

Last month saw the opening of Joint Asian Market (JAM) in Central’s Nexxus Building. The 2,000-square-foot space is a contemporary food hall featuring Korean deli Mamalee Market, dim sum restaurant Sifu, Singaporean staples from Uncle Quek and Vietnamese dishes at Moi Moi.

Plate of food at Acme, a Middle Eastern restaurant in Hong Kong

Hong Kong’s love for Middle Eastern cuisine shows no signs of abating with the opening of Acme on Soho’s Elgin Street. The brainchild of Baked’s Zahir Mohamed, the restaurant serves classic regional dishes with contemporary presentation and techniques. Heading up the kitchen is chef Alfonso Portillo, formerly of the Ovolo Hotel Group. We’re excited to try the octopus harissa cassoulet with fava beans and nduja; seven Lebanon spice lamb chops; and lobster with lemon sumac cream and lard.

Check Out Art Exhibitions

Joan Cornellà with his irreverent artwork on view in Hong Kong in January

Artistic provocateur Joan Cornellà’s irreverent creations are back for My Life Is Pointless, the Spanish illustrator’s largest exhibition in Hong Kong to date. Come to see 48 darkly comic sculptures, limited-edition prints and artworks. Book online for an appointment at Sotheby’s gallery in Central (until 29 January).

: Cat Art by Shu Yamamoto exhibit in Hong Kong

This one’s for the feline obsessed: Cat Art by Shu Yamamoto presents the eccentric Japanese artist’s reimagining of masterpieces of the art world, featuring cheeky felines. Swing by the exhibition at Harbour North in North Point (until 10 January).

Ever wondered what Elmo looks underneath all the fuzz? Well, you’ll find out at K11 Art Mall in Tsim Sha Tsui at K11 Outside In: An Unconventional World of Art Toys (until 28 February). This playful showcase includes Asian favourites Astro Boy and Gatchaman, as deconstructed by award-winning sculptor and toy designer Jason Freeny.

And if you’re looking for something to really thrill the kids, try the Frozen exhibition. The 18,000-square-foot exhibition space in Tseung Kwan O’s Park Central has room for everything from life-sized attractions to its own enchanted forest (until 28 February 2021).

Catch Live Performances and Outdoor Shows

The-Grounds-LED-screen-and-state-of-the-art-sound-system,-the-Grounds-at-AIA-Vitality-Park-seating

While social distancing restrictions have required a temporarily pause, we’re looking forward to the return of The Grounds at AIA Vitality Park. Tickets for movie screenings – and the occasional yoga session – sell out fast, so check the website regularly for your chance to score seats in charming two- or four-person pods with picket fences on this astroturfed patch by the harbour.

Holiday at Local Hotels

Hong-Kong-Staycation-Gold-Coast-Hotel-Deluxe-Seaview-Room-King-Bed

While you’re waiting to take off on that next overseas adventure, take advantage of the wealth of staycation offers at top hotels right here in Hong Kong: among them the Four Seasons, the Langham, The Ritz-Carlton and the Gold Coast Hotel.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book