商務旅行

東京的初創中心

政府積極將初創公司發展成獨角獸公司, 鼓勵海外創業者到市內投資

初創企業研討會Slush Tokyo的市場推廣及公關部主管Victoria Daet,形容東京的初創環境為「獨一無二、富競爭力、茁壯成長」。今年,她率領的團隊所舉辦的活動吸引了6,000人出席,數字較2017年大幅攀升。

她表示:「雖然東京初創界的發展步伐未如三藩市和中國般迅速,但目前正在急起直追,並且逐漸走出過去陰霾,開始對外開放。」研討會於2017年起更由「Slush Asia」改名為「Slush Tokyo」,可見這裡發展初創公司網絡的成效已有一定規模,足以支援當地主辦大型活動。

市內的初創企業集中地亦如雨後春筍。豐田汽車在本鄉町設置人工智能研發基地,東京大學的「創業廣場」亦同樣選址當地,而Google則於澀谷開設辦事處。東京站一帶的地段已發展為金融科技樞紐,其中創業培育機構Finolab也在此落戶。至於五反田谷的租金則相對廉宜,環境寫意,是新成立的初創公司的不二之選。

去年6月,政府公佈了一項發展綱領,銳意於2023年前將國內獨角獸公司(市值逾10億美元的私人公司)的數目提升至20間,而首相安倍晉三亦已宣布「第四次工業革命正式揭幕」,預示嶄新年代即將降臨,科技將會令實體、數碼及生物世界的分野變得模糊。

政府為鼓勵外來創業者及投資者到市內開拓商機,向海外創業者推出一年期的初創簽證計劃。Daet稱:「與美國相比,日本市場仍算開放,而且競爭力不俗。儘管目前的科技發展已頗有成就,但創新科技的發展空間是無限的。不少人願意為嶄新意念投放資金,而且初創社群更是多姿多采、兼容並蓄。」

人物:
山田進太郎

Ryan Chan

雖然日本的獨角獸公司出乎意料地為數不多,但國內的獨角獸公司始祖山田進太郎已成為有志創業者的成功典範。2013年,山田進太郎夥拍大學校友富島寛和石塚亮,創辦流動版電子商貿網站Mercari,為買賣雙方尋找合適配對。他接受彭博訪問時表示,自己在半年內遊歷了23個國家,因而啟發他自立門戶。他細訴:「這趟旅程拓闊了我的眼界,驅使我想創造一些無論在任何地方都有用的東西。我開始構思一個平台,讓大家只需使用智能手機便可進行金錢、物件或服務的交易。」

2016年3月,這間企業成為日本首間市值逾10億美元的初創公司,因而成為傳媒焦點。短短三個月後,據報這個網上跳蚤市場於日本、英國及美國每月擁有超過1,000萬名活躍客戶,其應用程式每月的交易金額達100億日圓(7億港元)。截至2017年12月,此應用程式於全球的下載次數超過1億次。

山田進太郎胸懷大志,決心進一步拓展其事業版圖。他向《日經亞洲評論》表示,希望其應用程式能「傳遍世界各地,令交易再無疆界。」他亦透露有意委派前Facebook行政高層John Lagerling開拓美國市場。

日本初創市場方興未艾,山田進太郎的驕人成就或會激發更多人投身其中。他向一名記者指出:「踏出第一步的人不多,若我身先士卒,可能會有更多人相信成功在望。」

Ryan Chan

產品: 月球探索車

東京初創公司ispace的目光遠至星際,並豪言要創建「地球與月球共存於同一生態系統的世界」。ispace致力在月球設立基地,並成功入圍Google月球X大獎競賽(以成功發射航天器到月球為目標的比賽),因而備受注目。比賽最終不分高下,而這間打入決賽的初創公司則決定自行實踐參賽的計劃,研發月球探索車:Hakuto-R。

9月份,公司宣佈已向Elon Musk創辦的美國私人航天設備製造商SpaceX,預訂兩枚Falcon 9火箭,以運載ispace的探測器具執行兩項登月任務,火箭最快可於2020年登陸月球。

ispace行政總裁袴田武史表示:「我們與SpaceX的理念一致,就是冀盼讓人類可於太空居住,因此我們很高興能與SpaceX合作,共同踏出征途的第一步。」不過,公司不僅期望能於2021年或之前成功登上月球,更希望能收集月球數據。

另一方面,ispace正與另外三間公司聯手參加美國太空總署的競賽,以求參與日後的合作項目,競賽旨在挑選可運載至少十公斤物資登月的公司。至今,A輪融資階段已籌集了9,000萬美元,創下日本紀錄。無論最終成功登月與否,ispace的團隊已經在地球突破多個界限。

蓄勢待發

所見略同

招聘平台Wantedly透過衡量用戶和招聘公司是否擁有共同興趣、目標、價值觀及其他工作以外的因素,為雙方尋找合適配對。Slush Tokyo發言人Victoria Daet表示:「這間初創公司正逐漸改變招聘模式,致力打破單憑履歷表決定一切的常態。」

最佳地點

應用程式SpaceMarket協助用戶搜尋舉辦活動的場地。只要自訂日期、預算及地點,SpaceMarket便會列出所有合適之選,由火車車廂以至棒球場一應俱全。

賺錢門路

CrowdWorks是自由工作者的網上求職平台,Sony、豐田汽車及SoftBank亦是平台的客戶。它是東京增長最迅速的初創公司之一,用戶人數達180萬。

國泰港龍航空及國泰航空設有由香港飛往東京的航班,每周有56班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Business Travel

Tokyo’s Startup Scene

As the government plans to grow startups into unicorns, the city is attracting foreign investors to the tech scene

‘Unique, competitive and growing’ is how Victoria Daet, head of marketing and PR for startup conference Slush Tokyo, describes the entrepreneurial scene in her city. She and her team organised an event this year that drew 6,000 attendees, a huge increase from 2017.

‘Although not as quick as our friends in San Francisco and China, the scene in Tokyo is picking up the pace. It is slowly stepping out of the shadows and starting to open up,’ she says. The fact that Slush Asia became Slush Tokyo in 2017 is indicative of this – the city has enough of a startup community to support its own headline events.

Startup hubs have sprouted in the city. Toyota has its artificial intelligence research facility in Hongo district, where you will also find the University of Tokyo’s Entrepreneur Plaza, while Google has its office in Shibuya. The area around Tokyo Station has become a FinTech hub, home to accelerator Finolab. For early-stage startups there is Gotanda Valley, with cheaper rents and a laid-back vibe.

Last June, the government released a growth strategy that included plans to grow startups into unicorns (private companies valued at over US$1 billion). Indeed, the ambition is for the country to have 20 unicorns by 2023, with Prime Minister Shinzo Abe declaring ‘the start of a fourth Industrial Revolution’ – a phrase that refers to a futuristic era in which technology blurs the divisions between physical, digital and biological spheres.

The country has also implemented a one-year startup visa programme for foreign founders, as the government pushes to get founders and investors to the city to discover what it has to offer. ‘The market is still quite competitive and open compared with the US,’ says Daet. ‘Despite all the technical advancements, there is still a lot of room for innovation. There are people eager to fund new ideas, and the community is fun, vibrant and welcoming.’

The People:
Shintaro Yamada

Tokyo, innovation asia
Ryan Chan

Japan is surprisingly lacking in unicorns, but the founder of its very first, Shintaro Yamada, has become a model of success for aspirants. In 2013, Yamada teamed up with his university friends Tommy Tomishima and Ryo Ishizuka to create Mercari – a mobile e-commerce site that matches buyers and sellers. He told Bloomberg that the venture was inspired by a six-month exploration of 23 countries. ‘It broadened my mind, made me want to make something that could be useful anywhere in the world,’ he recounted. ‘I began to think about a platform that would allow people to exchange money or things or services using their smartphones.’

In March 2016, the venture hit the headlines when it became Japan’s first US$1 billion startup. Just three months later, the online flea market reportedly had more than 10 million monthly active customers across Japan, the UK and the US; and its app was generating 10 billion yen (HK$700 million) in monthly transactions. By December 2017, the app had surpassed 100 million downloads worldwide.

Yamada has ambitions to continue expanding to more locations, telling the Nikkei Asian Review he aims for the app to ‘go into countries all over the world and let people make transactions across borders’. He also spoke of his desire for expansion in the US, where the business is run by former Facebook executive John Lagerling.

In Japan’s still nascent startup scene, Yamada’s dizzying success may provide impetus. As he told one reporter, ‘There are just not that many people trying. Maybe if I do it, more people will believe that it’s possible to succeed.’

Innovation Asia, Tokyo
Ryan Chan

The Product: Lunar rover

‘A world where the earth and moon are one ecosystem’ is the bold ambition of ispace, a Tokyo-based startup with its eyes to the stars. Working towards creating a Lunar base, ispace was propelled into the public sphere with its entry into the Google Lunar X Prize, a competition to land a spacecraft on the moon. A finalist in the competition, which ultimately had no winner, the startup decided to push on with its plans to develop its Lunar rover – the Hakuto-R.

In September, the company announced that it had booked space on two of the missions being run by Elon Musk’s SpaceX, the private US aerospace manufacturer. Ispace vehicles will be onboard two of SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rockets, which could see them land on the moon as early as 2020.

‘We share the vision with SpaceX of enabling humans to live in space, so we’re very glad they will join us in this first step of our journey,’ says ispace chief executive Takeshi Hakamada. By 2021, however, the company hopes to not just reach the moon but to also gather data from it.

Ispace has also teamed up with three other companies to compete to send vehicles to the moon with NASA. The US agency is seeking a plan for landers capable of putting a payload of at least 10 kilograms on the moon. So far, a Series A funding round has raised US$90 million – a Japanese record. Whether it reaches the moon or not, the ispace team is certainly pushing boundaries on earth.

What to watch

Think alike

Job recruitment platform Wantedly matches users and companies through shared interests, goals, values and other non-work-related criteria. ‘This startup is slowly changing how we see recruitment and is challenging the norm of seeing people as just CVs,’ says Victoria Daet of Slush Tokyo.

The right place‭ ‬

SpaceMarket is an app that helps people search for venues for their events. It lists everything from train carriages to baseball stadiums, finding matches by date, budget and location.

Good gigs‭ ‬

CrowdWorks is an online marketplace for freelancers. With clients including Sony, Toyota and SoftBank, it is one of Tokyo’s fastest growing startups and has 1.8 million users.

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific fly to Tokyo from Hong Kong 56 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book