加爾各答

揭開印度Unakoti山之謎

探索亞洲各著名地點令人不解之謎。撰文:VANESSA KO

姑勿論是誰在Unakoti山上刻鑿出那些巨型淺浮雕和印度神明砂岩雕像,他的確挑選了一個神聖壯闊的地點來襯托這些傑作。Unakoti山位於印度東北部,環境清幽靈秀,舉目盡是青山瀑布,很適合向諸神崇拜,因而吸引無數朝聖者前來。山上有數以百計的印度教浮雕,最著名的是九米高的濕婆神頭像和象頭人身的巨大象神浮雕。這些雕像估計出自九世紀,與印度其他地方的浮雕比較,手工並不算是最精巧,但神秘程度肯定無人能及。

雖然這些浮雕數量眾多,卻沒有任何正式文獻記載它們的來源,就只有傳說流傳後世。在眾多說法中,有指一位雕刻家在睡夢中看見濕婆顯靈後,一夜之間就雕鑿出所有浮雕。Unakoti山位置偏僻,但景色恬靜怡人,除了不少慕名而來的遊客,就連Ashokastami節(今年定於4月14日)也選址於此舉行,朝聖者會在當地的湖泊中浸浴,以祈求神靈庇佑。

探索Unakoti 港龍航空設有由香港飛往 加爾各答的航班, 每周有六班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Kolkata

Mysteries of Asia: Unakoti, India

Surrounded by lush hills and waterfalls, this peaceful area in northeastern India is worthy of gods and their pilgrims. By VANESSA KO

Whoever created Unakoti’s giant bas-relief rock carvings and sandstone sculptures of Hindu deities found a fittingly majestic canvas for the task. Surrounded by lush hills and waterfalls, the peaceful area in northeastern India is a worthy location for a tribute to the gods and an attractive spot for pilgrims. Hundreds of Hindu images are found here, featuring, most prominently, a nine-metre-high Shiva face and a large Ganesha figure with his recognisable elephant head.

The works, believed to date back to the ninth century, aren’t as intricate as many found across India, but they’re perhaps the most mysterious: there are no records of this large collection’s creation, only legends, like the one telling of an artist who completed them in one night after seeing Shiva in a dream. Although remote, the place’s hushed beauty draws visitors, as do events like the Ashokastami Festival (this year falling on 14 April), when pilgrims bathe in a lake to seek blessings. 

Cathay Dragon flies to Kolkata from Hong Kong six times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book