藝術與文化

大阪亞洲電影節:給非影迷的電影指南

馬樂民在大阪發現當地人依然非常熱愛和重視香港電影

在1980與1990年代,香港電影風靡亞洲。不少香港紅星,例如成龍,在日本甚至進入主流,成為當地流行文化的一部分。當年亞洲電影(也許韓國電影除外)在日本風頭一時無兩,可惜好景不常,日本本土電影與荷李活賣座大片聲勢日益浩大,令亞洲電影黯然失色。

雖然熱潮退卻,但是日本目前仍有不少亞洲電影的忠實擁躉,而今年3月舉行的大阪亞洲電影節,可說是供影迷與心愛的電影歡聚的好去處。

大阪亞洲電影節由大阪映像文化振興事業實行委員會主辦,惹人注目的程度也許不及東京國際電影節,但卻有個非常明確的宗旨,就是要推動大阪成為展示亞洲電影的平台。

大阪亞洲電影節今年已是第13屆,已成為全球數一數二的亞洲電影展示平台,放映的作品包括商業及藝術電影。電影節獲得不少機構贊助,國泰航空亦是其中之一。

節目總監暉峻創三除了選映香港、南韓及台灣等亞洲電影主要產地的電影之外,同時亦安排放映多部來自東南亞的精采作品,更有特備節目,放映最新日本獨立電影作品,選片方針十分多元化。

即使你不十分熱衷看電影,大阪也是個值得一遊的好地方。電影節的活動集中在梅田區舉行,這一區有四條鐵路可以抵達,交通十分方便。主要放映場地ABC Hall位於朝日放送大樓的下面,只需沿著安治川河畔步行十分鐘,即可抵達距離最近的JR車站,沿途更有優美的風景為伴。

另外兩個放映場地是位於梅田藍天大廈的Cine Libre電影院及Umeda Burg 7電影院,都與梅田車站相距不遠。附近一帶有多家大型百貨公司可供購物,還有Grand Front Osaka商場內多家餐廳的美食,讓你大享口福。

電影節每年亦廣邀來自亞洲各地的電影人前來交流,今年的嘉賓來自香港、南韓、菲律賓、越南、印尼、台灣、馬來西亞、斯里蘭卡及柬埔寨等地。

特別為香港電影而設的焦點活動「香港夜」每年均吸引不少人前來參加,今年人數為歷來最高。整個活動最惹人注目的是香港演員杜汶澤。他的武打動作片《空手道》在電影節內放映,他亦出席一個全長一小時的座談會,暢談香港電影業的現況。此外,他亦獲電影節頒贈「亞洲之星」大獎,表揚他對電影業的貢獻和成就。

不少日本影迷熱烈地交流他們今年在電影節內觀看香港電影後的心得和感想,每當有人提及某一齣經典香港電影時,大家臉上均流露緬懷之色。由此可見,在許多日本影迷心中,香港電影依然是歷久不衰的。

事實上,香港電影在大阪亞洲電影節內經常一致獲得觀眾與評審的好評。繼去年《一念無明》奪得最佳電影大獎,今年評審將這項榮譽授予《中英街1號》;這部以黑白拍攝的電影講述香港兩代社運的歷史,內容極富爭議。愛情喜劇《春嬌救志明》則獲得最受觀眾喜愛電影獎,也是香港電影連續第二年獲得這個獎項。

一如日本其他大型活動,大阪亞洲電影節在各方面均安排得十分妥善,活動豐富,時間緊湊。電影節的觀眾亦彬彬有禮,電影放映期間保持安靜,並且會一直留在座位上,直至片尾的演職員名單都放映完畢,影院內燈光亮起,才會離開。

參加大阪亞洲電影節,除了可以對亞洲電影的各種最新潮流有所了解之外,同時也可趁此機會暢遊這個美麗的日本名城,探索電影以外的各種有趣事物。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Osaka Asian Film Festival: A non-film buff’s guide

KEVIN MA reports back from a city where Hong Kong films still command respect, and even a little love

During the 1980s and 90s, Hong Kong cinema’s popularity spread across Asia. In Japan, stars like Jackie Chan entered the mainstream and became a part of local pop culture. Since then, Asian cinema – perhaps with the exception of Korean films – has become somewhat of a niche in Japan, overshadowed by homegrown and Hollywood blockbusters.

Nevertheless, die-hard fans of Asian cinema still exist in Japan today, and few places offer a chance to indulge that obsession better than the Osaka Asian Film Festival, held during March this year.

Unlike the more glamourous Tokyo International Film Festival, OAFF – organised by the Osaka Executive Committee for the Promotion of Moving Image Culture – has a singular focus: to promote Osaka as a platform for showcasing Asian films.

Osaka Asian Film Festival

Having just completed its 13th year, OAFF – whose sponsors include Cathay Pacific – has become one of the world’s biggest and best showcases of Asian cinema, both commercial and arthouse.

In addition to films from major players like Hong Kong, South Korea and Taiwan, festival programming director Sozo Teruoka’s diverse lineup also played films from southeast Asia and has a section dedicated to the latest Japanese independent films.

The city of Osaka and the surrounding area also make this a film festival worth attending, even for middling film fans. All of the festivals’ events are held in the Umeda area, where four different rail systems converge. Its main venue – ABC Hall, below the Asahi Broadcasting Corporation building – is a 10-minute walk away from the nearest JR train station, but the walk takes you alongside the beautiful Aji River and is well worth it.

Chapman TO

The other two venues – Cine Libre at Umeda Sky Building and the Umeda Burg 7 cinema – are closer to Umeda station, and give an option to explore the large department stores or the giant Grand Front Osaka mall in the area, offering plenty of great dining options.

The festival includes filmmakers from across Asia and this year guests from Hong Kong, South Korea, the Philippines, Vietnam, Indonesia, Taiwan, Malaysia, Sri Lanka and Cambodia attended.

Hong Kong Night – an event dedicated to Hong Kong cinema – attracted the most people and one of this year’s biggest names to visit the festival was Hong Kong actor Chapman To.

He was here to present his latest directorial effort, martial arts drama The Empty Hands, but also held an hour-long seminar to share his views on the Hong Kong film industry and also received this year’s Asia Star lifetime achievement award.

Many of the Japanese audience members chatted enthusiastically about the Hong Kong films they had seen at this year’s festival and fawned with loving nostalgia every time a classic Hong Kong film was mentioned. It did appear that Hong Kong cinema is still alive and well in the hearts of many Japanese film buffs after all.

In fact, Hong Kong films often perform well with both OAFF’s audiences and jury. After Mad World won last year’s Grand Prize, this year’s jury bestowed the top award to No. 1 Chung Ying Street, a controversial black-and-white drama about two generations of Hong Kong social activists. Hong Kong also picked up the Audience Award for a second consecutive year, with romantic comedy Love Off the Cuff taking the honour.

Like many large-scale Japanese events, the OAFF is well-organised and tightly scheduled down to the second. The audiences are exceptionally well-behaved, always quiet during the screening and staying in their seats until the lights come back on in the cinema.

Those who make the effort to attend are always rewarded with an insight into current trends of the diverse world of Asian cinema, as well as a perfect opportunity to explore a beautiful city.

Osaka Asian Film Festival winners

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book