香港特別行政區

香港全新M+博物館8大必看亮點

暢遊這個香港最新的藝文重鎮時,不要錯過一睹碩果僅存的霓虹燈牌,以及耗資千萬港元還原的壽司吧檯等藝術品

經過十多年的殷切期待,千呼萬喚的M+博物館終於盛大登場,令西九文化區從優美怡人的海濱大道晉身世界級藝術殿堂。這座亞洲首間國際級當代視覺文化博物館佔地700,000平方呎,規模龐大,展品琳琅滿目,或會讓人不知這趟文化藝術之旅該從何入手。為此,我們特別嚴選博物館八個不容錯過的展區及藝術傑作,助你規劃朝聖路線圖。

Hong Kong's neon signs saved from destruction at M+ museum
Credit: Kevin Mak Courtesy of HdM

1. 欣賞城中碩果僅存的霓虹招牌

即使你尚未進入博物館,透過正門的斗大窗戶你應該會留意到其首個「亮」點:一個個霓虹招牌。這些招牌是館方由2013年起從香港各處悉心收集得來,然後於館內鄰近正門的修復保管中心展廳展出。不妨留意展廳內的兩大動物:「森美餐廳」的趣緻牛牛及「鷄記蔴雀耍樂」的醒神公雞,兩者均勾勒出M+為保育香港以至世界各地霓虹燈所付出的無比心血。

Sigg Collection at M+
Credit: Lok Cheng for M+ Museum

2. 細味希克藏品的豐富意涵

M+希克藏品堪稱為博物館的寶庫,系列網羅逾1,500件中國的當代藝術品,創作年份橫跨40年。所有藏品均為瑞士收藏家兼外交官烏利・希克的慷慨捐贈,讓公眾有機會在M+博物館透過作品解讀中國當代發展。當中藝術家方力鈞的油畫《1995.2》用色大膽鮮明,格外矚目。作品活現他常用的光頭男人及大自然元素,彰顯過去與現在、個人與社會之間的關係,向中國1990年代社會及經濟蛻變的本質提出詰問。另外,方力鈞為希克繪畫的彩色肖像,同樣可堪細賞。

希克展廳的「從大革命到全球化」

M+ Museum Found Space
Credit: Kevin Mak Courtesy of HdM

3. 一探藏身潛空間的大型藝廊

榮獲美國普利茲克建築獎的建築事務所Herzog & de Meuron,讚揚潛空間是M+建築物不可或缺的中流砥柱。這個展覽空間名副其實潛藏於場館之下,沿著該處機場快綫鐵路隧道挖掘而成,充份利用香港現有的基建設施,構築成支撐整座博物館結構的重要底座。目前,潛空間展出了由M+委託藝術家梁慧圭創作的《聲之通天繩》和其他大型裝置,當中包括由藝術家傅丹製作的《我們人民》,他按實物比例重塑美國自由神像,由約260多塊部件組成。傅丹特意把部件分拆,安排於全球不同展覽場地展出,因此這座位於M+的作品只是自由神像的一部分。

Kiyotomo Sushi Bar by Kuramata Shiro
Credit: M+ Museum

4. 造訪耗資千萬還原的壽司吧

2014年,位於東京新橋區的清友壽司吧面臨結業命運,店內佈置經仔細拆件,載入四個貨櫃,然後直送到香港M+館址重新組裝。《清友壽司吧》的「幕後主腦」為20世紀最具影響力的日本家具兼室內設計師倉俁史朗,從餐廳設計以至每件藝術裝置,無不流露他的精心巧思。不妨登門造訪,欣賞這位大師如何在環境的制約中巧妙地展俏皮本色,例如以亮藍與深色鋼板構成鮮明對比,至於這項「神還原」之作是否值回1,500萬港元的收購索價,還請看官自行定奪。

東展廳的「物件.空間.互動」

M+ Museum interactive multimedia room
Credit: Kevin Mak Courtesy of HdM

5. 在多媒體中心沉醉於互動光影世界

在館內的多媒體中心,M+藏品中超過250部電影及影片統統任你點播。你可相約三五知己(以六人為上限),從橫跨不同類別的作品、表演、紀錄片,甚至藝術家訪談搜羅心儀的影片,在私人觀影間一起觀賞。互動媒體室每月均會帶來精心構思的嶄新體驗,讓你盡情投身於各式虛擬實境、數碼藝術及電子遊戲,緊貼時下的創新發展,甚至預視當代藝術的未來路向。

Gary-Chang_Domestic-Transformer
Credit: M+ Museum

6. 凝視香港變化多端的蝸居設計

最能體現城中特有蝸居現象的藝術傑作,當數本地建築師張智強的《香港變形蝸居》。這件比例達一比一的作品,取材自張智強14歲起與父母及三名姐妹同住的344平方呎住宅單位。多年後,他因應自己各種生活需要,把這片彈丸之地徹底改建,換上全新面貌。他在作品中把24個房間合而為一,製造出供五人居住的全自動生活空間,收納架、吊床、廚房及飯廳等設施一應俱全。匠心獨運之餘,亦反映了在狹小空間生活的種種不便,或許預示著未來住宅進一步壓縮的前景。

地下大堂展廳的「香港:此地彼方」

The Letter Writing Project by Lee Mingwei
Credit: M+ Museum

7. 讓魚雁往返不斷成為藝術

台灣藝術家李明維在外婆逝世後的一年半,一直憑信寄意,寫下未有向其啟齒的千言萬語。他透過互動裝置《魚雁計畫》,向觀者傳遞這份思念之情:你可在以木材及半透明玻璃搭建的驛亭之一安坐、站著或跪下來,為自己思念的人寫信,然後由博物館代為寄出,或把信件留在原處給他人閱讀,把個人點滴串連成一份集體情感。

南展廳的「個體‧源流‧表現」

Asian field: 200,000 handmade clay figures made by 300 Guangdong villagers
Credit: Dan Leung for M+ Museum

8. 親睹泥人人海的壯觀

300名廣州村民在一星期內人手製作出200,000個泥人的事跡你或許有所聽聞,但只有置身現場親睹Antony Gormley的《亞洲土地》,你才能確切感受到這是一項難能可貴的壯舉。觀賞作品之際,你可想像這個作品所投放的人力物力何其龐大,所有泥人雕像由20名學生花了三星期逐一悉心安放,讓觀眾從這片泥人人海中反思集體與個人的意義,定能為你的M+之行畫上完美句號,而且更會令你欲罷不能,著手計劃下次重遊的日子。

西展廳

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Hong Kong SAR

8 Things Not to Miss at Hong Kong’s new M+ Museum

From neon signs to multi-million-dollar sushi bars, here’s what you have to check out at Hong Kong’s new flagship cultural venue

After more than a decade, the M+ Museum has finally opened – transforming Hong Kong’s West Kowloon Cultural District from pleasant promenade into world-class arts venue. With Asia’s first global museum of contemporary visual culture occupying a 700,000 square-foot building, where do you even begin? Here are eight spaces and artworks to start with.

Hong Kong's neon signs saved from destruction at M+ museum
Credit: Kevin Mak Courtesy of HdM

1. See Hong Kong’s neon signs, saved from destruction

The initial M+ highlight presents itself even before you’ve stepped inside. Just across from the main entrance are large windows that peer into M+’s conservation gallery, with neon signs collected from around Hong Kong since 2013 on view. Seek out two iconic animals – the cow of Sammy’s Kitchen and the rooster of Kai Kee Mahjong Parlour, for a glimpse into M+’s work of preservation of neon signs, both in Hong Kong and across the world.

Sigg Collection at M+
Credit: Lok Cheng for M+ Museum

2. Take in a star of the Sigg Collection

The Sigg Collection is the crown jewel of M+: more than 1,500 works of Chinese contemporary art spanning some four decades, donated to the museum by Swiss collector and diplomat Uli Sigg. Fang Lijun’s vibrant 1995.2 is a standout: the piece uses the artist’s recurring themes of bald men and nature to create a sense of past against present, the individual against society; all questioning the nature of socioeconomic change in ’90s China. Keep an eye out for another work by Fang: a colourful portrait of Uli Sigg himself.

From Revolution to Globalisation, Sigg Galleries

M+ Museum found space
Credit: Kevin Mak Courtesy of HdM

3. Explore the huge gallery that is the Found Space

Found Space is the raison d’etre for the building of M+, claims Pritzker Prize-winning architecture firm Herzog & de Meuron. Literally a space ‘found’ by excavating the Airport Express tunnels underneath the site, this area anchors the entire museum structure with its use of existing Hong Kong infrastructure. For now, Found Space houses an M+ commission, Haegue Yang’s Sonic Rescue Ropes, and other substantial installations including We the People by Danh Vo – a one-to-one scale replica of the Statue of Liberty, made up of 260-some pieces which are dispersed in exhibition spaces across the world.

Kiyotomo Sushi Bar by Kuramata Shiro
Credit: M+ Museum

4. Check out a multi-million-dollar sushi bar

In 2014, the Kiyotomo Sushi Bar was dismantled piece by piece from its home in Tokyo’s Shinbashi district, placed inside four shipping containers, and transported to be reinstalled in its new home, M+. From restaurant to installation, Kiyotomo Sushi Bar stands as a testament to the ingenuity of Shiro Kuramata, who is considered the most influential Japanese furniture and interior designer of the 20th century. Head inside to see how his signature playfulness balances with restraint – such as in the pairing of bright blues with dark steel – and judge for yourself whether the acquisition price of HK$15 million was worth it.

Things, Spaces, Interactions; East Galleries

M+ Museum interactive multimedia room
Credit: Kevin Mak Courtesy of HdM

5. Get interactive in the Mediatheque

The M+ Collection of more than 250 films and videos awaits here, all available to watch on demand. Search cross-genre works, performances, documentaries and even artist interviews, and watch your clip of choice in a private Viewing Booth with up to six friends. At the Interactive Media Room, you can immerse yourself in virtual reality, digital art and video games with monthly programmes of experimental experiences that take you right into the heart of current innovations – and beyond, to the future of contemporary art.

Gary-Chang_Domestic-Transformer
Credit: M+ Museum

6. See the transforming Hong Kong microflat

If there’s one work that can represent the very Hong Kong phenomenon of compact living, it’s local architect Gary Chang’s Domestic Transformer, a 1:1 model of his 344 square foot microflat. Chang first lived here with his parents and three sisters at age 14; years later, he completely redesigned the space to accommodate his own changing needs. Chang essentially incorporated 24 rooms into one, creating a fully automated living space with shelving and amenities like a hammock, kitchen and dining area for five. It’s simultaneously ingenious and troubling, a glimpse into an ever-more-compact future.

Hong Kong: Here and Beyond, Main Hall Gallery

The Letter Writing Project by Lee Mingwei
Credit: M+ Museum, The Letter Writing Project by Lee Mingwei

7. Write a chain letter that’s also art

For a year and a half after his grandmother’s passing, Taiwanese artist Lee Mingwei wrote letters to her, setting down everything he’d meant to say – but never got to. His interactive installation The Letter Writing Project passes on the sentiment to the visitor: sit, kneel, or stand in one of the booths made of wood and translucent glass, and scribble a note to anyone you please. Post it via the museum, or leave it in place for others to read and contribute to a chain of collective emotion.

Individuals, Networks, Expressions; South Galleries

Asian field: 200,000 handmade clay figures made by 300 Guangdong villagers
Credit: Dan Leung for M+ Museum, Asian field

8. See a sea of clay people

You may have read about the 200,000 handmade figures made by 300 Guangdong villagers over the course of a week – but you really must see Antony Gormley’s Asian Field to believe it. Contemplate the immensity of the effort that’s gone into this project, consider how each individual sculpture was placed with the help of 20 students over three weeks, then ponder the meaning of collectivity and the individual in this memorable exhibition that makes for a great ending to your visit to M+. It’ll certainly nudge you to plan for another visit soon after.

West Gallery

Related stories:

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book