機上娛樂

天窄地狹 – 《一念無明》創作人專訪

導演黃進(右)與編劇陳楚珩(左)藉他們的得獎作品探討精神病人的處境。撰文:馬樂民

今年春季,導演黃進與編劇陳楚珩初試啼聲的長片《一念無明》在大阪亞洲電影節放映,一鳴驚人。電影放映後,我與編、導兩人暢談他們這部備受注目的作品。這部撼動人心的電影的主角是一名被診斷患上躁鬱症的男子(余文樂飾),在精神科醫院出院後,被送往與住在狹小「劏房」(即一個住宅單位再分間成多個獨立單位)的父親(曾志偉飾)同住。故事雖然是虛構的,但其中一切均源自現實。

《一念無明》探討精神病這個主題,在香港電影中極為罕見,亦因此引起不少討論。根據官方統計數字,2015年有逾80萬人到公立醫院的精神科求診,但香港電影卻很少以如此寫實的手法探討這個題材。

這部電影早於2013年開始籌備。香港新浪潮導演譚家明是黃進與陳楚珩在大學的老師,他建議兩人參加政府當時剛推出的「首部劇情電影計劃」;這個計劃旨在資助年輕導演拍攝首部電影。陳楚珩於是開始尋找題材。

她說:「我一直都想寫關於精神病的故事,我覺得電影應該以更寫實的方式來拍這種題材。」她在新聞上看到一個中年男子在照顧父親時,意外將他殺死。這個故事後來成為片中令人同情的男主角的原型。

黃進曾經拍過幾部短片,不過《一念無明》是部長片,拍攝過程比拍短片複雜得多。拍片的預算只有200萬港元(同時由於沒有商業壓力,因此可以盡情發揮創意),黃進說,他想聘用專業攝製隊,但這筆錢只夠請他們16天。至於演員,兩位明星都願意不收片酬,待有票房收入才分紅。

香港電影的製作向來以「飛紙仔」(臨場即興創作)著稱,但是由於拍攝時間有限,因此本片無法負擔這種奢侈,無論劇本以至拍攝,都必須事前細心安排,不容有失。黃進說:「我們主要在狹窄的空間內拍攝,所以我不用任何鏡頭運動。我想全片應該只有三個鏡頭是移動的。」

《一念無明》在大阪亞洲電影節上映後翌日獲得電影節的大獎,評審團對本片深表讚賞,認為是「以毫不畏縮與同情的目光直視被人忽視的現實」。評審團更指出本片「既嚴厲又溫柔,悲情之中帶著希望,是一部流露愛心的電影。」一個月後,《一念無明》在香港電影金像獎獲得三個獎項,包括黃進獲新晉導演獎。由於本片
正式上映前已獲多個獎項,加上有半年在全球多個電影節內放映,贏得無數口碑,因此上映後成為香港年度票房收入數一數二的本地電影。

不少躁鬱症患者、社工及醫生看過這部電影後,亦對它擊節讚賞。
陳楚珩說:「他們認為電影反映現實,這一點令我們很高興。有位醫生說,這是他近十年來看過關於精神病最寫實的電影。有些躁鬱症患者說,他們在電影裡看到自己,有人將他們的故事講出來,令他們感到安慰。」

黃進也希望他們的電影能令觀眾對精神病有更多了解,他說:「電影是一種溝通方式,如果觀眾對某個題材沒有足夠的認識,我們身為講故事的人,是否有責任多走一步,幫助觀眾去了解呢?」

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Inflight entertainment

In a Tight Space: Interview with the Makers of Mad World

Wong Chun and Florence Chan tackle mental illness in their award-winning film. By KEVIN MA

I’m backstage with Wong Chun and Florence Chan at this spring’s Osaka Asian Film Festival during a screening of their debut feature, Mad World. Chan wrote the script; Wong directed it. The film is a devastating story of a man diagnosed with bipolar disorder (Shawn Yue) who is sent to live with his father (Eric Tsang) in his subdivided flat after a stint in a psychiatric hospital. It’s a work of fiction, but very much anchored in reality.

Mad World has provoked plenty of discussion for delving into a topic rarely examined in Hong Kong cinema: mental illness. According to government statistics, more than 800,000 people sought psychiatric help in public hospitals in 2015. Hong Kong films rarely examine the issue in such a realistic style.

The film project began in 2013. Wong and Chan’s former university teacher, Hong Kong New Wave director Patrick Tam, introduced them to the government’s new First Feature Film Initiative, which funds debut feature films made by young directors. Chan began looking for ideas.

‘I’ve always wanted to write about mental illness because I think films should depict it more realistically,’ says Chan. She found a story of a middle-aged man who accidentally killed one of his parents, which became the setup for the story’s tragic character.

Mad World

Wong has directed several short films, but Mad World’s production was more elaborate than anything he’d ever done. With a budget of HK$2 million – a sacrifice for creative autonomy – Wong could only afford to hire a professional crew for 16 days. The stars opted for a share of the profits rather than a regular fee.

Hong Kong films are famous for the amount of improvisation on set, but the tight schedule meant meticulous preparation. ‘We also had to shoot in a lot of tight spaces, so we didn’t use any camera movements,’ Wong says. ‘I think the whole film only has three tracking shots.’

A day after the screening, Mad World won the top prize at the Osaka festival, with the jury praising its ‘unflinching and sympathetic view of a neglected reality’. ‘It is harsh but tender, tragic but hopeful. This film is an act of love,’ it added. A month later, Mad World won three awards at the Hong Kong Film Awards, including best new director for Wong. It is also one of the highest-grossing local films of the year – thanks to buzz generated by its numerous awards and a whirlwind half-year tour of film festivals around the world.

Mad World has also received positive feedback from people with bipolar disorder, social workers and doctors.

‘We were glad that they thought the film was true to life,’ says Chan. ‘One doctor said that it was the most realistic depiction of mental illness on film in at least a decade. Some people with bipolar disorder said that they saw themselves in the film. They felt consoled that someone told their story.’

Wong also hopes that they have helped the audience understand mental illness. ‘Film is an act of communication,’ Wong says. ‘If the audience doesn’t have sufficient background to understand a topic, shouldn’t we, as storytellers, take that extra step to help them understand it?’

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book