自然和户外

初次見到… …秘魯的亞馬遜叢林

攝影師夏永康在秘魯的亞馬遜森林與大自然作親密接觸

我一生都在城市居住,香港是我的家;而我總是忙於在工作與生活之間取得平衡。

我從未試過住在森林裡,因此與幾個朋友結伴,前往秘魯的亞馬遜熱帶雨林,體驗一下森林中生活的滋味。

我想跟大自然更接近,尤其是接近一個如此偉大的自然環境。我們住的地方十分簡樸,吃的都是當地的農產品和自家烹調的秘魯菜式。我本來打算好好地輕鬆一下,可是這趟旅程卻為我帶來意想不到的改變。

秘魯的亞馬遜熱帶雨林風景當然美麗,但是美麗的風景到處都有,我不感到有什麼特別。特別之處是亞馬遜本身的環境:你可以感到大自然神奇的魔力。那裡各式花草樹木、蝴蝶、魚類和飛鳥到處可見,見到這些動物在野外自由自在地生活,我感受到生命那種生生不息的動力。

我向來認為人生的意義就是努力工作和賺錢,但是經過這趟亞馬遜之行後,我的想法改變了。我在那裡感受到宇宙的力量,希望這樣說不會太老套吧。

我的職業是攝影師,亞馬遜之行讓我學會享受攝影的過程,享受與同事合作的樂趣,而並非只著眼於最終的結果。出發之前,我沒有預期那個地方會帶給我什麼改變;可是出乎我意料之外,旅程結束時我發現自己有所改變,實在令人驚喜。

夏永康的25周年回顧展《越軌》於上海攝影藝術中心舉行,即日起至1月10日為止。forwardassembly.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

The first time I saw … the Amazon

Photographer WING SHYA on getting closer to nature in the Peruvian Amazon

I’ve ALWAYS lived in cities – Hong Kong is my home – always busily balancing work and life.

I’ve never lived in the wild, which is exactly why I wanted to visit Peru and the epic Amazon rainforest with some friends.

I was looking for an experience that would bring me closer to nature and one of the great natural wonders of the world. We would be staying in simple, basic accommodation; eating local produce and home-cooked Peruvian food. All I wanted to do was relax, but that trip changed me in ways I didn’t expect.

Sure, the Peruvian Amazon is beautiful: but that wasn’t what was so unusual to me coming from Hong Kong. The unusual thing is the Amazon environment itself: you can feel the magic of nature. There were flowers, plants, trees, butterflies, fish and birds everywhere. Seeing these animals truly in the wild, I felt the power and energy of life.

Wing Shya Amazon forest

I always thought the meaning of life was to work hard and make money. But after this Amazon trip, I think differently. Without sounding too cheesy, I have seen the power of the universe.

I’m a photographer by trade. This Amazon trip taught me to enjoy the process of photography, to enjoy working with my colleagues rather than just worrying about the end result. I didn’t expect to feel any differently after travelling there. I changed unexpectedly, which was a nice surprise.

Wing Shya’s 25-year retrospective exhibition, Acting Out, is at the Shanghai Center of Photography until 10 January.


Discover More

Cathay Travell Book


Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book