科技玩意

宅男旅遊:英國重要科學發現地點

英國物理學家Brian Cox的電視節目及公開講座帶我們到太陽系以外漫遊。Mark Jones請他帶我們暢遊多個改變世界的重要科學發現地點——其實全都在他的家鄉裡

八年前,由BrianCox教授主持的紀錄片集《Wonders of the Solar System》系列開始在BBC電視台播放。這當然並非第一個將紮實的物理學及天文學知識向普羅大眾介紹的節目(Cox本人小時候就深受美國天文學家CarlSagan的電視節目《Cosmos》影響),但卻是個別出心裁的科普節目。

Cox指出:「節目有個非常出色的原創意念,我們用地球上不同的地方與太陽系作類比,減少對圖像的倚賴。」

這位蓄披頭四髮型、以天文學家Caroline Herschel的名字來為愛貓命名的粒子物理學家,本著上述的意念,製作出一個近年令人難忘的旅遊節目。他向觀眾闡述宇宙之際,同時讓我們飽覽世上多處非凡勝地的風光。

Richard Saker/Contour by Getty Images

接著2011年推出的《Wonders of the Universe》也是用類比的手法,片集其中一個「類比」場景在秘魯拍攝,解釋時間的本質,然後踏足阿根廷冰川,以及走過納米比沙漠。在隨後幾集裡,他的足跡遍及加德滿都、新墨西哥州、埃及和贊比亞等地。

如果你想做個像Cox這樣的節目主持人,就必需喜愛飛行。幸好他的確熱衷於飛行。他最難忘的經驗就是有機會坐上他喜愛的English Electric Lightning飛機,型號跟他在曼徹斯特科學及工業博物館初次見到的展品類似。如果當年沒有先後成為搖滾樂手(他曾擔任Dare和D:Ream樂隊的鍵盤手)、學者、電視紅星和廣受公眾歡迎的講者,Cox說他「就會順理成章成為飛機師。在1970年代,我常隨父親前往曼徹斯特機場,我會將飛機型號逐一記下來」。

但即使身為電視節目主持,他卻認為電視未必是令人對科學產生興趣的最佳途徑:「電視能夠激發好奇心,但並非代替品。要進一步探索科學,你就要前往昔日科學發展出現重大突破的地方開眼界。」

這些科學重鎮許多都剛好位於Cox的故鄉英格蘭。從他的出生地大曼徹斯特郡的Saddleworth區,以及他執教的曼徹斯特大學駕車出發,更可輕鬆走訪其中多個地方。

因此,我們請Cox設計行程,遊覽別具科學趣味的地方。隨著Cox特別設計的行程,可訪尋時間的起源、現代科學的發源地、工業革命的開端、現代世界的源頭,以及生命的
秘密。

Getty Images

發現: 脫氧核糖核酸
地點: 都柏林三一學院,劍橋The Eagle酒吧

1943年,流亡都柏林的奧地利科學家薛丁格在三一學院的Institute for Advanced Studies主持一系列的講座,講座內容其後輯錄成《生命是什麼?》一書。

Cox說出當中的故事:

「這本書在當時可謂石破天驚,內容大部分講述複雜結構如何形成。試想想,在全宇宙已知的事物裡,人類的大腦可說是結構最複雜的物體,但熱力學定律卻指出,事物會隨時間流逝而趨向簡單和混亂。究竟生命的複雜程度與自然的基本定律,兩者如何可以共存?我還是本科生時讀了這本小書,後來啟發我拍攝《Wondersof Life》片集。」

(今天,薛丁格的名字總是跟貓扯上關係,而這隻貓也實在充滿矛盾和問題。)

在《生命是什麼?》一書中,薛丁格提及一種「非周期晶體」的存在:

「他推論出生物需要某種分子,將資訊代代相傳。」

搜尋這種分子的行動隨即展開。十年後的某天,分子生物學家弗朗西斯克里克在午飯時走進劍橋的The Eagle酒吧宣佈:「我發現了生命本身的秘密。」

這位日後獲得諾貝爾獎的科學家受薛丁格啟發,借鑑物理化學家羅莎琳富蘭克林開創先河的晶體學研究,與分子生物學家占士華生合作,發現一種以雙股螺旋結構組成的雙鏈分子,並將之名為DNA(脫氧核糖核酸)。現在,TheEagle酒吧供應一款名為Eagle’s DNA的麥啤,以記念這項發現。

1953年5月15日,某份報章的頭條以精煉的《Why You Are You》(《你何以是你》)為標頭,概括這項科學突破,令人難忘。

Robert Evans / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

「弗朗西斯克里克當時在舊Cavendish實驗室進行研究工作,現在我們可從實驗室見到前往酒吧的小徑,實在非常美妙。科學家都是情緒容易激動的人。當你有如此重大的發現時,你會做什麼?答案是到酒吧去。」

tcd.ie/visitors
greeneking-pubs.co.uk/pubs/cambridgeshire/eagle

George Pachantouris / Moment RM / Getty Images

發現: 重力
地點: 劍橋三一學院;格蘭瑟姆伍爾斯索普莊園

飲過Eagle’sDNA麥啤後,可沿著國王街信步而下,前往另一家三一學院,那裡的小教堂豎立著學院校友牛頓爵士的雕像。學院的圖書館氣派宏偉,由建築大師Christopher Wren爵士設計,其中收藏了一本改變世界的書籍:《自然哲學的數學原理》,書內附有作者牛頓親筆撰寫的註解。

G. Nimatallah / De Agostini / Getty Images

「他是首位現代科學家。1687年出版的《自然哲學的數學原理》,是一切現代科學的根基。這套著作雖已被愛因斯坦的狹義相對論取代,卻確立了一個關鍵理念,就是地球上的自然定律,與管轄宇宙的定律相同。」

「這是突飛猛進的發展。萬有引力定律描述炮彈如何受地球影響而運動,同一定律亦主宰地球圍繞太陽運行的軌跡,這就是牛頓的發現。」

據說,牛頓某天坐在樹下,一隻蘋果從樹枝掉下來,砸中了他的腦袋,令他恍然大悟。

從英格蘭東部駕車北上一小時,就可抵達當日牛頓被蘋果砸中的地方──伍爾斯索普莊園,這個優美莊園現屬NationalTrust古蹟信託機構管理,是新晉科學家拍照分享至Instagram的勝地。

nationaltrust.org.uk/woolsthorpe-manor
trinitycollegelibrarycambridge.wordpress.com/tag/principia-mathematica

發現: (也算是)太空
地點: Macclesfield市Jodrell Bank Observatory天文台

駕車西行幾個小時,穿越英國中北部的山脈和維多利亞時代的紅磚建築,前往西北部,就見到幾支望遠鏡。

這些絕非一般的望遠鏡。這裡是Jodrell Bank Observatory天文台,70年來一直進行最先進的太空探索。

「我在曼徹斯特長大,小時候父母常帶我到Jodrell Bank Observatory天文台參觀,因此很熟悉那個地方。天文台的巨型無線電望遠鏡至今仍然是全球數一數二的,這裡也是非常活躍的研究中心。」

那裡最矚目的是Lovell無線電望遠鏡。

「這台望遠鏡獨一無二,讓人感到它甚至能夠探索只在幻想中存在的地方,這台望遠鏡象徵天文學的魔力。」

Lovell望遠鏡(上圖)面世時,是當時世上最大型的望遠鏡。現在,JodrellBank Observatory天文台的科學家正於澳洲西部和南非部分地區,裝設人類已知的最大型望遠鏡陣。

Alan Novelli / Loop Images / Getty Images

「這裡是以無線電望遠鏡探索太空的全新『平方千米陣』計劃的總部。Jodrell Bank Observatory天文台是重要的研究基地,即使經過50年仍然極具代表性。」

jodrellbank.net

發現: 原子核、石墨烯
地點: 曼徹斯特大學

當Cox並非置身鏡頭面前,或在可容納10,000名觀眾的場地演講時,他就在歐洲核子研究組織的日內瓦實驗室和曼徹斯特大學工作。對於物理學家而言,這家大學的科學成就舉足輕重:盧瑟福在這裡發現原子核,而AndreGeim和Kostya Novoselov兩位教授於2004年亦在此首次成功分離石墨烯,這種物料有可能催生下一次工業革命。

Ed Rhodes/Loop Images/Getty Images

若說Cox為其家鄉城市感到自豪,就像形容曼聯是頗受歡迎的足球隊一樣多餘。

「偉大的物理學家Freeman Dyson撰寫了一篇著名文章《Manchester  and  Athens》,形容曼徹斯特和雅典是世上兩個最重要的城市,所以你們應到這兩個地方遊覽一番。我的朋友(設計師)PeterSaville也將曼徹斯特稱為『首個現代都市』。」

「只要到曼徹斯特的科學及工業博物館去,你就會明白箇中原因。這家博物館
讓參觀者探索工業革命的源頭,實在非常精采。」

Alberto Manuel Urosa Toledano / Moment Unreleased RF / Getty Images

「博物館建於由曼徹斯特前往利物浦的鐵路線上,首條客運鐵路的車站亦位於該處。」

「館內還有個展覽介紹曼徹斯特的排污系統,非常有趣。這個城市曾是全球其中一個人均壽命最短的地區,工業革命初期,更是污穢不堪。維多利亞時代的工程師建設龐大的水庫和運河系統,令情況徹底改變。在文明中,水向來扮演舉足輕重的角色。」

SpatzPhoto / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

從曼徹斯特的PennineHills山流淌而下的水水質特別軟,這種軟水不但令英格蘭西北部釀出名產苦麥啤,更催生了全球首個大型製造業——棉布貿易。

msimanchester.org.uk

發現: 電磁
地點: 倫敦皇家科學研究院

去年,Cox打破自己的健力士世界紀錄,令科學巡迴演講的門票銷售量再創新高峰。他今年和2019年都會花大部分時間在世界各地的大型場地舉行Brian Cox Live演講。

Anastasia Yakovleva / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

他主持演講時,會使用一系列高科技產品,包括30米闊的LED熒幕。然而,他認為這些講座跟19世紀時向公眾介紹科學新發現的小型講座本質上並無大分別,只是現在規模更大而已。

要是能夠令他回到過去(他比絕大多數人都更清楚如何做到),他會選擇回到1820年代Mayfair區的AlbemarleStreet街,參加皇家科學研究院的講座。

「對我而言,那裡的演講廳非常重要,是其中一個最偉大的科學勝地。昔日,物理學家法拉第和探險家班克斯都曾站在台上演講,他們知道,科學知識是要與大眾分享的。」

「法拉第本身也是在出席化學家戴維爵士的公開演講時,被後者發掘的。法拉第是鐵匠的兒子,他深受戴維的演講啟發,寫信對戴維說:『我希望成為你的助手』。」

法拉第的研究,令電力被大規模應用於工業、家居以至所有地方。

「設於皇家科學研究院的法拉第實驗室,正是他奠定現代文明根基之地。」

「那個實驗室現時仍然保存完好,你也可以去參觀。」rigb.org

Brian Cox博士早前於香港宣傳3月21日至24日在亞洲協會舉行的Great Festival of Innovation – Hong Kong events.trade.gov.uk/the-great-festival-of-innovation-hong-kong-2018

國泰航空每周有42班由香港飛往倫敦的航班,每周有七班由香港飛往曼徹斯特的航班,並於6月2日推出每周四班由香港飛往都柏林的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Tech and gadgets

Life, gravity, space: The UK’s top sci-tourism spots

His TV series and stadium shows have taken us far beyond the solar system. Now British physicist Brian Cox takes us on an exclusive tour of world-changing discoveries – all in his own backyard

Eight years ago, a series called Wonders of the Solar System began airing on the BBC, presented by Professor Brian Cox. It was by no means the first programme to bring hardcore physics and astronomy to a general audience (Cox himself was hugely influenced by Carl Sagan’s Cosmos when he was growing up). But there was a twist this time.

‘The original, very good idea,’ says Cox, ‘was that we should use places on Earth as analogues for the solar systems and not rely so heavily on graphics.’

Brian Cox, Observer UK, October 5, 2014
Richard Saker/Contour by Getty Images

With that, a particle physicist with a Beatles haircut and a cat named after astronomer Caroline Herschel got to make some of the most memorable travel programmes of recent years. In explaining the universe to us, he showed us some of the most extraordinary places on Earth.

Wonders of the Universe followed in 2011. One of its first ‘analogous’ scenes was shot in Peru – used to explain the nature of time. He then stepped on a glacier in Argentina and also trod the sand of the Namib desert. The next episodes sent him to Kathmandu, New Mexico, Egypt and Zambia among others.

You have to like flying to do Cox’s job. Happily, he does like flying: a lot. The best perk he’s ever had was getting to fly in his favourite aircraft, the English Electric Lightning – similar to the one he first saw in Manchester’s Museum of Science and Industry. If he hadn’t become a rock star first (as keyboard player with the bands Dare and D:Ream), then an academic, TV superstar and public lecturer on a stadium scale, he says he ‘could easily have become a pilot. In the ’70s I used to go to Manchester Airport with my dad and write down plane numbers’.

But even as a TV presenter, he doesn’t believe TV is always the best way to get excited about science. ‘TV is no substitute. It can light the flame. But to go further you need to go to the places where science was done at the cutting edge.’

It so happens that many of those places are in England, his own country, and more than a few are within an easy drive of his birthplace (Saddleworth, Greater Manchester) and his workplace (Manchester University).

And so we asked Cox to create an itinerary of sites of really special scientific interest. Follow Cox’s Bespoke Tour and you’ll tick off the origin of time, the place where modern science began, the start of the industrial revolution, the origins of the modern world and the secrets of life itself.

Old library-Brian cox
Getty Images

The discovery: DNA
The place: Trinity College, Dublin; The Eagle, Cambridge

At the Institute for Advanced Studies at Trinity College, Dublin, in 1943, an émigré scientist called Erwin Schrödinger delivered a series of lectures that were eventually published as a book called What Is Life?

Cox takes up the story:

‘It was a radical book. A lot of it was about how complicated structures emerge. If you think about the human brain, it’s one of the most complicated structures we know of anywhere in the universe: yet the laws of thermodynamics state that things get less complicated and more disordered over time. How do you square the complexity of life with the basic laws of nature? That was the inspiration for my series Wonders of Life – all inspired by that little book I read as an undergraduate.’

(Schrödinger’s name today is usually linked to a cat: a very paradoxical and problematic cat it is, too.)

In What Is Life? Schrödinger mentioned the existence of an ‘aperiodic crystal’:

‘He’d worked out that you need some molecule to carry information from generation to generation.’

The hunt for this molecule was on. One lunchtime, a decade later, molecular biologist Francis Crick walked into The Eagle pub in Cambridge and announced, ‘I have discovered the secret of life itself.’

Inspired by Schrödinger, in partnership with James Watson and owing much to the pioneering crystallography work of Rosalind Franklin, the soon-to-be Nobel prizewinner had found that molecule – or rather two strands of molecules in a double helix structure they called DNA. (The Eagle now serves a pint called Eagle’s DNA, to commemorate the discovery.)

The Eagle pub, Cambridge, UK
Robert Evans / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

A newspaper headline on 15 May 1953 summed up the breakthrough with memorable economy: Why You Are You.

‘It’s great you can see the path down from the old Cavendish lab where he worked. Scientists are excitable people. What do you do when you’ve had this revelation? You go to the pub.’

tcd.ie/visitors
greeneking-pubs.co.uk/pubs/cambridgeshire/eagle

Cambridge Trinity college
George Pachantouris / Moment RM / Getty Images

The discovery: DNA
The place: Trinity College, Dublin; The Eagle, Cambridge

After a pint of Eagle’s DNA you can stroll down King’s Parade towards another Trinity College. In the chapel there’s a statue of one of its alumni, Sir Isaac Newton; and in the college’s sublime library built by Sir Christopher Wren there is Newton’s hand-annotated copy of the book that changed the world: Principia Mathematica.

Statue of Isaac Newton (Woolsthorpe-by-Colsterworth, 1642-Kensington, 1727), marble, Chapel of Trinity College, Cambridge, United kingdom.
G. Nimatallah / De Agostini / Getty Images

‘He was the first modern scientist. The Principia Mathematica of 1687 is the basis of all modern science. It has been replaced by Einstein’s theory of special relativity: but the key idea that the laws of nature that you encounter here on Earth are the same that govern the universe is made real in that document.

‘It was a big leap. The universal law of gravity in the same law that describes how a cannonball moves in relation to the Earth is the same one that dictates the Earth’s orbit around the sun. That’s Newton.’

The story goes that this particular realisation popped into Newton’s head – or onto it – when he was sitting under a tree and an apple fell from a branch above.

An hour’s drive north through eastern England and you come to the very place Newton was sitting when the apple fell on his head: a fine National Trust property called Woolsthorpe Manor and a budding scientist’s top Instagram opportunity.

nationaltrust.org.uk/woolsthorpe-manor
trinitycollegelibrarycambridge.wordpress.com/tag/principia-mathematica

The discovery: Space (sort of)
The place: Jodrell Bank Observatory, Macclesfield

You drive west for a couple of hours through the hills and the red brick Victorian buildings of the north Midlands towards the northwest of England. Then you reach some telescopes.

Not just any telescopes. This is the Jodrell Bank Observatory, a place that has been at the forefront of space exploration for seven decades.

‘I grew up in Manchester knowing about Jodrell Bank – my mum and dad would take me there. It is still one of the world’s largest radio telescopes and a very active research centre.’

The site is dominated by the Lovell radio telescope.

‘It’s unique. You feel this thing is capable of discovering places you can only dream of. It’s a symbol of everything that’s magical about astronomy.’

In its time, the Lovell (above) was the world’s largest telescope. Now the scientists at Jodrell Bank are devising the largest telescope array known to mankind, to be situated across Western Australia and parts of South Africa.

Hay bales in a field below Jodrell Bank Radio Telescope in Cheshire
Alan Novelli / Loop Images / Getty Images

‘It is the headquarters of a new project to build the Square Kilometre Array. Jodrell is the premier research instrument. Even after 50 years it is still iconic.’

jodrellbank.net

The discovery: The atomic nucleus; Graphene
The place: University of Manchester

Cox’s workplaces, when he’s not in front of a TV camera or in a 10,000-seater venue, include the Cern lab in Geneva – and the University of Manchester. For a physicist, this is no backwater. Ernest Rutherford discovered the atomic nucleus here. And graphene, the material that may well spark the next industrial revolution, was first isolated here in 2004 by Professors Andre Geim and Kostya Novoselov.

The University of Manchester at night
Ed Rhodes/Loop Images/Getty Images

To say Cox is proud of his home city is a bit like saying Manchester United is a fairly popular football team.

‘The great physicist Freeman Dyson wrote a famous essay called Manchester and Athens – he said they are the two most important cities in the world. So you should go to them both. A friend of mine, [the designer] Peter Saville, also called Manchester “the first modern city”.

‘You can see why at Manchester’s Museum of Science and Industry. It’s terrific: you can see the industrial revolution beginning in that museum.

England, Manchester, University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology
Alberto Manuel Urosa Toledano / Moment Unreleased RF / Getty Images

‘The first passenger railway station is also there – the museum was built on the Manchester to Liverpool line.

‘There’s a fascinating exhibition about the sewage system of Manchester. The city had one of the lowest life expectancies in the world. At the start of the industrial revolution it was just filthy. The Victorian engineers built this vast system of reservoirs and canals and completely transformed it. Water has always played a great part in civilisation.’

Children watching a model railway layout at the Museum of Science and Industry Manchester
SpatzPhoto / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

The water that flows down from the Pennine Hills above Manchester is exceptionally soft. As well as creating one of the other glories of northwest England – its bitter ale – it helped create the cotton trade, the world’s first large-scale manufacturing industry.

msimanchester.org.uk

The discovery: Electromagnetism
The place: Royal Institution, London

Last year, Cox broke his own Guinness World Record for the most tickets sold for a science tour. He spent much of the year (as he will 2019) touring worldwide with his Brian Cox Live lectures.

Anastasia Yakovleva / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

He has a battery of wonderful technology at his disposal, including a 30 metre-wide LED screen. Yet he sees the shows simply as an evolution of the small-scale lectures that took place in the 19th century, which began to introduce scientific discovery to a wider public.

If you could send him back in time (and he’d know better than most how to do that) he’d go back to the Royal Institution lectures of the 1820s on Mayfair’s Albemarle Street.

‘The lecture theatre there is an important place for me. You are in one of those great places. It was where Michael Faraday and Joseph Banks spoke – men who really understood that science is not something to be kept to yourself.  

‘And Faraday was himself discovered by Humphrey Davy when he went to his public lectures. Faraday was the son of a blacksmith. Inspired by the lectures, he wrote to Davey and said, “I want to be your assistant.”’

Faraday’s work led to the widescale application of electricity in industry, the home – and everywhere, in fact.

‘Faraday’s lab at the Royal Institution is where he laid the foundations of modern civilisation.

‘You can see it. It’s still there, that lab.’  rigb.org

Professor Brian Cox was in Hong Kong to promote the Great Festival of Innovation – Hong Kong, which will be held over 21-24 March at the Asia Society. events.trade.gov.uk/the-great-festival-of-innovation-hong-kong-2018

Cathay Pacific flies to London 42 times a week; to Manchester seven times a week; and launches a four-times-weekly service to Dublin from Hong Kong on 2 June

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book