餐飲美食

2017年大熱飲食潮流:菲律賓菜

突然之間,菲律賓菜成為人人談論的熱門料理。我們遠赴馬尼拉,探究菲律賓菜如何榮升為本年度大熱飲食潮流,撰文:CHRIS DWYER

一直以來,菲律賓菜的知名度都遠遜其他東南亞菜系,原因令人費解。無論是泰國、越南菜,還是馬來西亞菜,都早已在全球廣受追捧,但說到菲菜,除了較多人認識的菲式炆豬腩仔和令人聞之色變、即將孵化成雛鴨的鴨仔蛋外,其他菜式均鮮有所聞。

相信除了菲律賓7,107個島嶼上為數一億的國民外,應該沒有太多人真正了解。 不過,這個情況將有所改變。不少媒體都宣佈,在2017年,菲律賓菜終於登上美食殿堂,可說實至名歸。

為了找出菲律賓菜火紅的原因,我遠赴菲律賓,來一趟探索馬尼拉內外的深度精華遊,發掘當地經典傳統菜式,以及由年輕破格的廚師將樸實的菲國菜昇華的創新料理。以下是我誠意推介的菲律賓美食一日遊。

早餐︰ASIONG’S CARINDERIA路邊攤檔

說到菲律賓人上下一致重視的飲食傳統可謂非早餐莫屬,而對不少當地人而言,早餐更是一日中最為重要的一餐。從馬尼拉駕車往南走90分鐘,便會到達被群山翠綠環抱的甲美地省,而這裡一間名為Asiong’s Carinderia的平民路邊攤檔,已為顧客服務了57年之久,尤以早上時段最為繁忙。

這裡主要售賣多款地道和地區美食,包括暖烘烘的麵包pan de sal,它以蒜蓉、迷迭香和羅勒烤成,配搭kesong puti軟身白芝士;另外還有以發酵芥菜、煙燻竹筴魚和美味大蒜香腸longganisa製成的煎蛋捲,以及上面鋪有achara醃木瓜的蒜片炒飯。

攤檔店主Sonny Lua表示︰「蒜片炒飯的香氣,不亞於美式早餐的煎煙肉。」 但若論Asiong’s Carinderia最出名的菜式,則非鼎鼎大名的pancit posit麵條莫屬。鋪滿香脆炸豬皮和酸柑橘的墨汁麵,記載著菲律賓的飲食文化史,Lua解釋菲律賓自15世紀便已將墨汁入饌,傳統上亦會加醋一起煮。

不過直至18世紀初,歐洲才出現第一篇記述以墨汁入饌的文獻,由此推斷墨汁料理很大可能源於馬尼拉南部,而非千里之外的意大利。

午餐︰ANTONIO’S餐廳

Philippine Food

Antonio’s餐廳距離Asiong’s Carinderia路邊攤檔約40分鐘車程。這家唯一能躋身亞洲排名頭50位的菲律賓餐廳由Tony「Boy」Escalante主理,附近則是形成塔阿爾湖壯麗景色的火山。

餐廳坐落於一幢美麗的白色殖民地建築,廣闊的菜園體現了Antonio’s餐廳採用「農場直送餐桌」概念的飲食態度。餐廳本為農莊,曾為馬尼拉的餐廳供應食材。

現在餐廳推出的菜式與時並進,薈萃歐洲和菲律賓飲食文化,如佐以Riesling白酒煮梨的香煎鵝肝,以及香蒜豬耳等菲律賓開胃小吃。廚師以油炸方式烹調豬耳這備受忽視的上佳食材,味道和口感出奇地恰到好處。

此外,餐廳也用上來自菲律賓南部米沙鄢群島的藍蟹,把它釀進澆上番茄醬汁的意大利雲吞。至於這裡的招牌菜則是lechon de leche烤乳豬,並佐以羅望子豬肝醬和意大利醋煮迷你洋蔥。美國名廚Anthony Bourdain更對它讚不絕口,並表示這是他嚐過最美味的豬肉料理,吸引他多次造訪反覆品嚐。

晚餐︰TOYO EATERY小館

Philippine Food

馬尼拉飲食界急速蛻變,而新興餐廳反映菲國對自家菜式產生前所未有的自信和自豪感。由多個倉庫改建而成的型格餐廳內,主廚Jordy Navarra以本土食材為傳統菲律賓菜注入新意。歡迎光臨馬尼拉飲食界蓬勃發展的象徵:Toyo Eatery小館。

Navarra曾為倫敦近郊由英國廚神Heston Blumenthal開設的Fat Duck餐廳及香港廚魔梁經倫的Bo Innovation餐廳掌勺,更將兩間米芝蓮三星餐廳習得的創新意念和注重細節的精神帶至Toyo Eatery小館。 他自創的kalabaza烤南瓜濃湯, 佐以炸番薯、豆豉、腰果蓉和海膽,集烹調技巧、特色和色香味於一身。

此外他選用澳洲Mayura和牛、糯米飯、chicharon炸豬皮和金槍魚乾烹調碎牛肉蓋飯,把這道傳統平實的菜式提升至另一境界,至於其松露巧克力則混合了牛奶焦糖醬和魚露,效果更是出乎意料的美味。 不過芸芸菜式之中,「Bahay Kubo」才是鎮店之寶。這道菜以每個菲國小孩都會琅琅上口的傳統他加祿語童謠命名,看上去像一盆花苗的菜餚,其實是廚師巧妙地以多於19種食材製成的蔬菜沙津,精心營造出泥土的模樣和質感。

這道菜簡直一試難忘,名副其實層次豐富,而且口感獨特,每一口都充滿驚喜。 Navarra前任老闆梁經倫如此形容Jordy和菲律賓菜︰「隨著Jordy及其他新晉廚師打拼出屬於自己的一片天,菲律賓料理也許是下一股席捲亞洲的飲食潮流。

Jordy將菲律賓菜發揚光大,他把地道菜式升格至高級料理,再以自身經歷和文化入饌。他以大膽多變的味道闖出名堂,另闢蹊徑的做法令人鼓舞,這可謂需要破舊立新的勇氣和對烹飪的理解才能成事呢!」

Toyo Eatery這類新興餐廳、Asiong’sCarinderia一類傳統小吃攤檔,還有像Antonio’s般定位於兩者之間的餐廳,在菲律賓有如恆河沙數。餐飲選擇之多,令愈來愈多來自世界各地的遊客,終於發現這個一直被忽視的美食天堂。

圖片:George Tapan

國泰航空設有由香港 飛往馬尼拉的航班,每周有49班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and dining

Hippest food trend of 2017: Filipino cuisine

All of a sudden, everyone’s talking about the cuisine of the Philippines. In Manila, we find out why. Words by CHRIS DWYER

It’s always been something of a mystery that Filipino food has escaped the global hype of its Southeast Asian counterparts. Thai, Vietnamese and Malaysian fare have all found global affection. Yet the cuisine of the Philippines – beyond its famous adobo stew and the infamous developing bird embryo balut – remains relatively unknown beyond its 100 million people and 7,107 islands.

That, however, is starting to change. Many are proclaiming 2017 as the year Filipino food finally gets the appreciation it deserves.

To find out why, I went to the source – an intensive tour in and around Manila, in search of both iconic traditional dishes and the avant-garde new wave of young chefs who are elevating humble Pinoy staples. Here’s how to experience the best of Filipino food in one day.

BREAKFAST: ASIONG’S CARINDERIA

Asiong's Carinderia, Philippines

Few culinary traditions unite the Philippines like breakfast. For many it’s the most substantial and important meal of the day. About 90 minutes’ drive south of the capital, in the hilly, verdant surrounds of Cavite Province, is Asiong Carinderia, a humble roadside stop that has been serving customers for 57 years – particularly in the morning.

Asiong’s Carinderia serves up a bounty of local and regional dishes: pan de sal, a warm bread made with garlic, rosemary and basil, served with kesong puti, a soft white cheese; an omelette made with fermented mustard greens, smoked scad fish and delicious, garlicky longganisa sausage; and garlic fried rice, topped with achara, a pickle made from papaya. ‘The smell of garlic fried rice in the morning is our equivalent of bacon frying,’ says owner Sonny Lua.

But Asiong’s Carinderia’s most famous dish is the sensational pancit posit – squid ink noodles topped with crispy pork crackling and sour citrus. It’s a dish emblematic of the country’s culinary history. Lua explains that squid ink has been used as an ingredient in the Philippines since the 15th century, when it was traditionally cooked with vinegar. The first recorded use in Europe only came in the early 18th century, so it’s quite possible that squid ink pasta actually originated south of Manila, thousands of miles from Italy.

LUNCH: ANTONIO’S

Philippine Food

About 40 minutes’ drive from Asiong Carinderia is Antonio’s, one of only two restaurants in the Philippines to make it onto the hallowed Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants list. Tony ‘Boy’ Escalante is the owner of the famous spot, not far from the volcano that forms the majestic Taal Lake.

The white, colonial-style architectureis beautiful, while huge gardens show how Antonio’s embodies the farm-to-table concept – by starting out life as a farm. It once supplied Manila’s restaurants. Today its modern menu reflects a mix of European and Filipino influences, so foie gras on Riesling-poached pear is joined in the list of tarters by pork ear salpicao, a fried version of a vastly underrated ingredient that provides a unique balance of flavour and texture.

Blue crab from the Visayas, islands in the southern Philippines, are crafted into ravioli with a kaffir tomato coulis, but the mother of all dishes has to be the lechon de leche (roasted suckling pig) served with tamarind liver sauce and balsamic-infused pearl onions. Anthony Bourdain famously called lechon the best pig ever – and he has tried more than a few in his time.

DINNER: TOYO EATERY

Philippine Food

Manila’s dining scene is rapidly evolving and innovating with new restaurants reflecting the country’s newfound confidence and pride in its cuisine. In a cool converted series of warehouses, chef Jordy Navarra works magic with local ingredients as he riffs on classic Filipino dishes. Welcome to Toyo Eatery, the poster child for the capital’s booming culinary landscape.

Navarra had stints at Heston Blumenthal’s Fat Duck outside London and Alvin Leung’s Bo Innovation in Hong Kong, and at Toyo he brings together plenty of the innovation and meticulousness that he learnt while in these three-Michelin-star kitchens.

His take on kalabaza (roasted squash soup) – with fried sweet potatoes, fermented beans, cashew butter and uni – is technical, beautiful, unusual and delicious. He elevates the humble classic, shredded beef on rice, to new heights, with Australian Mayura wagyu, sticky rice chicharon pork crackling and dried tuna roe. And his chocolate truffle brings together dulce de leche caramel and fish sauce, and somehow makes it work.

But his real showstopper is Bahay Kubo, named after a classic Tagalog folk song that every child learns at school. What looks like a plant pot full of soil, complete with a seedling, is in fact a brilliant take on vegetable salad with no fewer than 19 ingredients mixed to simulate the look and texture of earth. It’s a memorable dish, multilayered and textural, a surprise in every spoon.

Leung, Navarra’s former boss, puts Jordy and the country’s cuisine in context. ‘Filipino cuisine could be the next Asian wave with new chefs like Jordy and others finding their voice and identity. He’s putting the country’s cuisine on the map, elevating it with very high standards and incorporating his own stories and culture into it,’ he says. ‘What he is doing now is very exciting, creating a presence and blazing a new trail with bold and varied flavours. That takes courage and understanding.’

Around the Philippines there are countless dynamic new restaurants like Toyo and countless old-school spots like Asiong’s Carinderia, not to mention places like Antonio’s which come somewhere between the two. With such a variety of dining options, increasing numbers of global travellers are finally set to recognise the country as the proud culinary destination that it always has been.

All photos by George Tapan

Cathay Pacific flies to Manila from Hong Kong 49 times a week 

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book