音樂

當街頭樂手成為超級巨星時

數百年來,街頭樂手一直是城市生活的一部分。不少今天經常現身頂尖國際音樂節的常客,最初都是由街頭獻唱展開音樂生涯

有人視街頭表演為周末的消遣,或是賺點啤酒錢的方法,但也有些音樂人以街頭表演維生。不時有音樂人因此獲得灌錄唱片的合約,成為網絡紅人,並登上國際大型音樂節的舞台。以下幾個城市的街頭經常有百花齊放的音樂表演,甚至可能見證下一位樂壇巨星的誕生。

GTS Productions / Shutterstock

首爾

韓國流行曲熱潮席捲全球,令不少新晉音樂人夢想可以成為如Hyukoh等流行樂團或IU等創作歌手。首爾西北面的弘大區就有不少街頭音樂表演,這是個潮流集中地,以藝術氣息濃厚的弘益大學為中心,附近一帶開設了不少咖啡館、酒吧、潮流商舖和攤檔。在貫通弘大區南北兩端的Eoulmadag-ro路上,可以見到有渴望一舉成名的年輕人隨著流行曲踏著整齊的舞步,不遠處有抱著結他的唱作歌手在低吟淺唱,而沿途亦有街頭魔術師和卡通人像畫師在大顯身手。

都柏林

Grafton Street街是這個愛爾蘭首都的購物天堂,高級名店林立,不但吸引前來購物的人潮,也吸引不少藝人在這裡尋覓知音,形成一個熱鬧的街頭表演社區。他們各懷絕技,有搖滾結他手、爵士樂貝斯手、傳統蓋爾特民歌樂隊,甚至風笛演奏家。一夜成名的故事時有發生,最近的一位是13歲的Allie Sherlock。她是這條街的常客,憑翻唱Ed Sheeran的〈Supermarket Flowers〉在YouTube被人瘋傳而走紅,更因此成為美國清談節目主持人Ellen DeGeneres的座上客;美國樂隊One Republic的成員RyanTedder擁有的唱片公司Patriot亦與她簽了唱片合約。

倫敦

倫敦的Covent Garden是城中一個非常熱鬧的街頭表演場地。這個別具氣氛的行人專用區位於時尚的倫敦西區,雖然政府規定表演者必須持牌及通過試演評核,依然吸引大批樂手和才藝表演者前來。另一邊廂,搖滾及藍調一人樂隊Lewis Floyd Henry將東倫敦的紅磚巷化作個人表演的舞台,他利用嬰兒車載著的擴音器,播放用電結他彈奏的Motörhead及Jimi Hendrix搖滾金曲。他腳邊還有一套迷你鼓,實行手腳並用,貫徹一人樂隊的精神。地鐵也是欣賞音樂演奏的好去處,街頭藝人可在部分地鐵站內表演,包括利物浦街車站。

新奧爾良

當地的法語區以波本威士忌酒吧和爵士樂會所聞名,氣氛自由散漫,而一眾街頭表演藝人,亦在營造這種獨特的氣氛上貢獻良多。其中一位值得留意的是單簧管好手Doreen Ketchens,她與自己的樂隊經常演奏Dixieland曲風或更傳統的爵士樂。其他常見的表演包括人體雕塑(即全身髹上油彩的裸體女人)、膝上鋼棒結他及新民歌樂隊等,讓你在品嚐波本威士忌時極盡視聽之娛。

墨爾本

據估計墨爾本大約有2,000位街頭表演藝人,因此經常有機會在街頭遇上精采的音樂演出。自去年開始,所有於公共地方表演的藝人均須領牌,但此舉無損演出者的熱情。熱門演出地點包括位於雅拉河岸的Southbank Promenade河畔大道和市中心的伯克街購物商場,這裡的樂手不分老幼,身上背著樂器,用五顏六色的牛奶箱在路邊架起擴音器、結他踏板和鍵琴即席演出,吸引路人駐足欣賞。

三位來自街頭的音樂明星

他們憑一己的努力,從街頭走向更廣闊、更閃亮的舞台

Ed Sheeran

Michelle Roberts / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Ed Sheeran是2017年Spotify串流次數最多的歌手,他在訪問中承認「曾經在(倫敦地鐵的)Circle Line線內露宿並在晚上演唱」。但在2010年,Ed Sheeran獲得演員兼音樂人Jamie Foxx賞識並邀請到美國,在Foxx主持的電台節目中表演。不久之後,他剛發行的個人細碟就在iTunes流行榜上攀升至第二位,而他亦簽約成為Atlantic Records唱片公司的歌手。

Tracy Chapman

MediaPunch Inc / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

很少人知道這位於克里夫蘭市出生的唱作歌手曾於1980年代中在麻省劍橋市的Harvard Square廣場那一帶賣唱,由此展開音樂事業。當時她就在附近的Tufts大學讀書,同學Brian Koppelman將她推薦給任職唱片公司高層的父親。不久,她就成為創下銷量紀錄的歌手,隨後多張唱片達到白金銷量,更獲多項格林美獎殊榮。

臉紅的思春期

TopPhoto/Alamy Live News

南韓歌手安智煐及歌手兼結他手禹智潤,最初在距離首爾東南面兩小時車程的榮州市街頭獻唱曲風可愛的另類流行曲。這兩位童年好友在2014年組隊參加電視發掘新星節目《SuperstarK6》,因此獲得一紙唱片合約。她們在2016年推出首張錄音室專輯《RedPlanet》,至今依然是流行榜上的常客。

國泰假期推出前往香港參加11月9至11日舉行的Clockenflap音樂及藝術節機票加門票套票優惠。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Music

5 of the world’s best busking hotspots

Streetside musicians have been part of city life for centuries – and many of today’s top festival acts started out busking. By TIM PRITCHARD

For some, it’s a bit of fun on the weekend or a way to make a bit of beer money. But for other musicians, busking is a way of life – and occasionally it’s the first step on the road to recording contracts, social media stardom and playing the world’s biggest festivals.

Here are some of the best cities to catch a streetside symphony – or spot The Next Big Act.

Busking
GTS Productions / Shutterstock

Seoul

K-pop’s now-global popularity has inspired a new generation of musicians hoping to be the next Hyukoh or IU. In Seoul, you’ll find them busking in Hongdae, a hip district in the capital’s northwest anchored by the artsy Hongik University and surrounded by cafes, bars and trendy shops and stalls. Young hopefuls crank out choreographed K-pop routines, while soulful singer-songwriters strum guitars and street magicians and caricature artists ply their trade along Eoulmadag-ro, which runs north to south through the area.

Dublin

Shoppers browsing high-street brands along the Irish capital’s Grafton Street are the perfect potential audience for buskers. The street is the epicentre of the busking community, with a diversity of acts on any given day: rock guitarists, jazz bassists, Celtic folk bands, bagpipers. One recent success story is 13-year-old Allie Sherlock, a Grafton Street regular whose cover of Ed Sheeran’s Supermarket Flowers went viral on YouTube, securing her an invitation to Ellen DeGeneres’ chatshow in the US and a recording contract with Patriot, the label of One Republic’s Ryan Tedder.

London

Covent Garden is one of London’s liveliest street music scenes. While both a permit and an audition are required, the charming pedestrianised area in the fashionable West End is hugely popular for musicians and showmen. Elsewhere, one-man rock’n’roll and blues act Lewis Floyd Henry has made a stretch of Brick Lane his own, cranking out covers of Motörhead and Jimi Hendrix on his electric guitar via an amp squished into a pram and a miniature drum kit which he plays with his feet. You can also catch live music on the Underground, where buskers have been given pitches at several stations – including Liverpool Street – to entertain commuters.

New Orleans

The city’s French Quarter is known for its bourbon bars, jazz clubs and freewheeling, spontaneous vibe – which is also helped by a generous smattering of street musicians. Keep an eye out for Doreen Ketchens, a clarinettist who regularly puts on Dixieland and more traditional jazz performances with her band. Other sights include human statues – nude, body-painted women; and more lap-steel and neo-folk bands than you can shake a tumbler of bourbon at.

Melbourne

With an estimated 2,000 buskers thronging the city, there are plenty of chances to encounter Melbourne’s street musicians. Since last year, all public busking requires a licence, but that hasn’t dampened the musicians’ ardour. Top spots include Southbank Promenade, along the Yarra river, and Bourke Street Mall in the city centre, where you’ll find musicians young and old with instruments slung across their bodies and all manner of amps, guitar pedals and keyboards propped up on colourful milkcrates.

3 who made it big

The stages only got bigger and brighter for these hardworking buskers-turned-megastars

Ed Sheeran

Ed Sheeran Performing Live
Michelle Roberts / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

The most streamed artist on Spotify in 2017 has admitted he was once ‘sleeping on the [London Underground’s] Circle Line and doing gigs in the evenings’. But in 2010, actor and musician Jamie Foxx invited him to perform on his US radio show. Shortly after, Sheeran’s EP reached number two in the iTunes charts and he signed with Atlantic Records.

Tracy Chapman

Tracy Chapman performing at an Amnesty International
MediaPunch Inc / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Few realise the Cleveland-born singer-songwriter got her start busking around Harvard Square in Cambridge, Massachusetts, while studying at nearby Tufts in the mid-80s. A fellow student, Brian Koppelman, introduced her to his record exec father, and not long after she cut a record and the platinum discs and Grammys followed.

Bolbbalgan4

Bolbbalgan4, Seoul Korea,
TopPhoto/Alamy Live News

South Korean singer Ahn Ji-young and singer-guitarist Woo Ji-yoon started out performing their cutesy indie-pop on the streets of Yeongju, two hours southeast of Seoul. The childhood friends entered TV talent show Superstar K6 in 2014, which helped them land a recording contract. They released their first studio album, Red Planet, in 2016, and regularly feature in the South Korean charts.

Cathay Pacific Holidays is selling flight, hotel and ticket packages to Hong Kong for the Clockenflap music and arts festival taking place over 9-11 November

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book