丹麥

不平凡的平原

如果你想前往歐洲一個有海岸線、洋溢創意與擁有豐富歷史的地方旅行,今年不妨考慮一下丹麥的日德蘭半島

2018年,《Discovery》預測本年將有三大主要
旅遊趨勢:北歐再次成為旅遊熱門之選;亞洲古蹟
保育項目將吸引更多人前往遊覽;以及保健養生旅遊業
的發展將更精細更複雜。

北陲。北歐。名曲《In the Hall of the Mountain King》。英靈神殿。英雄傳說。史詩式故事,氣勢磅礡的音樂,雄偉壯麗的火山地貌和高低起伏山峰。北極光和深不見底的峽灣。它們全都真實存在。但讓我告訴你:其實它們大都十分「平板」。

法國北部是一片平原,而德國北部亦然。「低地國家」,顧名思義就是位處低地。瑞典許多地區和芬蘭絕大部分國土也是平原。至於丹麥亦不遑多讓,全國最高點海拔僅170.86米。

我在英國中北部地區長大,那裡的地勢就像一塊熱香餅,非常平坦。12歲時,我終於成功遊說父母首次帶我前往外地度假。他們建議到丹麥日德蘭半島的海灘去,我卻說服他們改去希臘。畢業後我也在法國皮卡第享受了一年空檔,那裡的地勢就如一塊法國甜薄餅,平坦而毫無特色。

數十年後,我遊走於英國奇爾特恩丘陵、西班牙南部的安達盧西亞山脈,以及香港的山巒之間,驀然察覺是時候重拾「平坦」的日子,於是決定動身前往兒時沒有去過的丹麥海灘。

該如何形容日德蘭半島?大概跟丹麥的另一端沒兩樣。哥本哈根是商業、政治和文化中心;而日德蘭半島則著重農業、漁業和工業,以及稍後將會談及的藝術。這個半島猶如一隻巨型的連指手套,從陸地延伸至北海。

我乘搭飛機抵達比隆。我不知道如果對外國旅客宣佈航班將降落「樂高機場」,他們會有何感想,不過的確是應該這樣稱呼比隆機場的。因為這個機場就是設於全球知名的樂高玩具發源地,自從樂高主題樂園於1968年在比隆開幕後,這個機場便不斷迎來樂高員工、供應商,還有數以百萬計的旅客。

現在還有另一個到訪比隆的理由:奇妙非凡的Lego House現已開幕,坐落這個實而不華的鄉間小鎮中心,為參觀者帶來嶄新體驗。1940年代末,原本售賣木製玩具的樂高改為生產塑膠積木,而Lego House的設計正將品牌引發的創意奇想進一步發揚光大。

驟眼看來,比隆並不像是國際品牌會落戶的地方。但只要你遠目眺望廣袤的田野和農莊,然後想像在漫長的寒冬裡,從北海席捲而至的風雨像是永無休止,你自然會幻想有個色彩鮮艷的城市,繼而希望能在遊戲室裡利用熱固性塑膠聚合物製作的細小積木,把這些奇思妙想構築出來。

在北陲平原生活的人,對海灘亦同樣嚮往。因此湧往西班牙南部、加勒比地區和東南亞的斯堪地那維亞人數以百萬計,不過丹麥人亦堅定不移地擁護自家的海濱度假勝地:日德蘭半島北部。

若要我選擇世上任何一個地方度過人生最後一個夏季,答案會是斯堪地那維亞。我或許會選擇瑞典西岸、哥德堡北部,或是芬蘭波爾沃對開的迷人島嶼和湖泊。這些地區都有一種其他地方沒有的悠閒氣氛,一片愉悅卻又從容不迫;皆因本性嚴肅的北歐人冬季在室內憋得久了,夏季來臨終於可以躺在石頭上享受日光浴,乘坐小艇四處嬉戲,並在長日照下舉行歡樂的家庭派對和野餐。

但在這趟旅程後,日德蘭半島已把所有競爭對手比下去,成為我心中的夏季度假首選。

我駕車穿越奧爾堡,這個一度死氣沉沉的工業城鎮現時已完全是學生、小型企業、饕客和在市集上售賣植物的園藝師的天下。不妨在當地停留一天,才展開奇特的丹麥式朝聖行程,前往更遠方的北陲地帶和斯卡恩。

我喜歡踏足天涯海角,登上愈來愈狹窄的崖邊,海岸之間彷彿相距咫尺。對於丹麥人而言,天涯海角並非斯卡恩(雖然它也庶幾近矣),而是Grenen。

我把車輛泊好,沿著長長的海灘漫步。要是當年12歲的我目睹這鐵色的大海,以及遮天蔽日的炭灰色雲層,必會大發牢騷。但現已成年的我,逃離香港悶熱的夏季,感覺猶如新造的人(也許已不太新了),滿懷感恩地吞吐著瀰漫鹹味的空氣,享受潮濕的海風把身上的Gore-Tex外套吹得窸窣作響。

之後我脫下運動鞋,一腳踏進卡特加特海峽,另一腳則踏進斯卡格拉克海峽。

這兩個奇妙的地名,彷彿出自《魔戒》作者托爾金筆下,分別屬於波羅的海和北海之間的兩個水域,令你同時置身於兩個浪濤洶湧拍岸的北方海洋裡,跟一邊躍入水中覓食,一邊守護著岸上孩子的海豹媽媽為伴。Grenen也許會成為你人生必到的100個地點之一,也許不會;但這是個極富詩意的地方(丹麥其中一位最偉大的詩人Holger Drachmann就長眠於此),洋溢斯堪地那維亞風情,而且到訪當地完全免費。

斯卡恩在19世紀成為富豪的度假勝地,因而廣為人識,更啟發了一群深受印象派影響的畫家,為捕捉戶外光影變化而到當地寫生,更以城鎮之名自立門派。他們的影響流傳後世,在多條街道上遺下洋溢裝飾藝術風格的奪目建築、一家精緻的酒店(Brøndums),還有兩座一流的小型博物館:斯卡恩博物館,以及斯卡恩畫派兩位著名成員Michael Ancher與其妻Anna(娘家姓Brøndum)的故居。

然而,斯卡恩最吸引之處並非磚瓦樓房或水彩畫,而是沙丘。沿著斯卡格拉克海峽的岸邊南下,前往景色迷人得宛如繪本的村莊Lønstrup,歐洲其中一個最壯麗眩目的沙丘帶,就聳立在這個村莊的田野和教堂之外。不斷被強風吹移的沙丘威力驚人,只消數十年,就把當地人於1900年建造的Rubjerg Knude燈塔半埋在沙堆之下。步行前往燈塔的路程或許艱辛,卻教人雀躍萬分,一步步踏著深至足踝的細沙,穿過一片有如置身科幻冒險遊戲的風景。來到燈塔下面,遠眺綿延不絕的懸崖和海灣,金黃色的陽光下,海風帶來的盡是北陲的清爽氣息,滲入心脾。如果能夠把當地空氣用瓶子封裝起來該有多好,每天吸一口,已彷彿教人長生不老。

Denmark

2018 Travel Trend #1a: Denmark

If you’re after a European destination with coastline, creativity and history, put Denmark’s Jutland peninsula on your radar this year

Discovery is predicting that three trends will dominate travel in 2018: the renaissance of northern Europe; the rise of Asian heritage projects; and an increasingly sophisticated health and wellness tourism industry.

In the first trend we highlight Denmark’s appeal as part of the northern Europe trend. Click here for that broader article.

The North. Northern Europe. In the Hall of the Mountain King. Valhalla. Sagas. Epic tales, epic music, epic landscapes of volcanoes and jagged peaks. Northern Lights and fathomless fjords.

They all exist. But I’ve got news for you. Most of it is flat.

Northern France is flat and so is northern Germany. The Low Countries are… low. Lots of Sweden and most of Finland is lowly, too. As for Denmark: its highest point is 170.86 metres.

I grew up in the mid-to-northlands of England. It’s flat as a pancake. At the age of 12, I finally persuaded my parents to take me abroad on holiday for the first time. They suggested the beaches of Jutland in Denmark; I made them take me to Greece instead. I also spent a gap year in Picardie in France: flat and featureless as a crepe.

A few decades on, now spending my time between the Chiltern Hills in England, southern Spain’s Andalucían mountains and the peaks of Hong Kong, I reckoned it was time to get some ‘flat’ back in my life and finally see those Danish beaches.

How to describe Jutland? As the other half of Denmark, maybe. Copenhagen is commerce, politics, culture; Jutland is farming, fishing, industry – and, as we’ll see, art. Jutland is a peninsula stretching into the North Sea like a big mitten.

I landed at Billund. I don’t know how international travellers would feel if told they were landing at ‘Lego Airport’ – but that’s what Billund Airport ought to be called. It was built in the global toy brand’s hometown to bring in staff, suppliers and the millions of visitors who have visited Legoland since it opened in 1968.

Now there’s another reason to come: Lego House, a new experience right in the heart of this unassuming provincial town, designed to celebrate the creativity and craziness engendered by the brand which moved from selling wooden toys to plastic building bricks in the late 1940s.

It’s about the least likely place for a global brand to be. But then you look at the expanses of fields and farms and think about those long winters with the wind and rain sheeting off the North Sea. It would make you dream of brightly coloured cities – and then want to turn those dreams into playroom reality with small bricks of thermoplastic polymer.

But when you live in the northern flatlands, you also pine for the beach. Scandinavians flock in their millions to southern Spain, the Caribbean and southeast Asia; but Danes are steadfastly loyal to their own slice of coastal heaven: north Jutland.

If I had to choose anywhere in the world to spend my last summer’s day, it’d be Scandinavia. The west coast of Sweden, north of Gothenburg; or the enchanted islands and lakes beyond Porvoo in Finland. There’s a relaxed, unhurried joyousness you only get when a fundamentally serious people who have been kept inside for months get to bask on rocks, mess around in boats and have jolly family parties and picnics in the eternal sunlight.

But after this trip, Jutland might trump the others.

I drove beyond Aalborg – a once grim industrial town that’s now been handed lock, stock and barrel over to students, small entrepreneurs, foodies and market gardeners. Spend a day there before following the peculiarly Danish pilgrimage to the far north, and Skagen.

I love the extreme tips of places, where the land narrows and the coasts come within pebble-throwing distance of each other. For Danes, that place isn’t Skagen (though it’s very close), but Grenen.

I walked along huge stretches of beach. The 12-year-old me would’ve whinged at the gunmetal sea and charcoal grey clouds eclipsing the sun. Adult me, fresh (or not-so-fresh) from a sticky Hong Kong summer, gratefully gulped the salty air and revelled in the swish of a moisture-laden breeze on Gore-Tex.

Then I slipped off my trainers and stood with one foot in the Kattegat and the other in the Skagerrak.

Those wonderful Tolkien-ish names belong, respectively, to the two bodies of water between the Baltic and the North Seas. You’re divided between the two great northern bodies of water churning and embracing while seal mothers bob in the water, keeping an eye on their beached pups. Maybe Grenen will make your list of 100 places to visit before you die, maybe it won’t. But it’s a poetic spot (and Holger Drachmann, one of Denmark’s greatest poets, is buried there) – indubitably Scandinavian and 100 per cent free to visit.

Skagen made its name in the 19th century as a retreat for the affluent and as an inspiration for the school of painters who, influenced by the Impressionists’ theories of light and practice of working outdoors, took their name from the town. Their legacy is streets of handsome art deco-influenced buildings, a fine hotel (Brøndums) and two of the best small museums anywhere: the Skagens Museum and Anchers Hus, the home of two great alumni – painters Michael Ancher and his wife Anna (née Brøndum).

But it’s sand – not mortar, bricks or watercolours – you come for. So you head down the Skagerrak coast to the picture-book village of Lønstrup. Here, beyond the fields and churches, is one of Europe’s most majestic and dizzying dune systems. So relentless is the windblown sand that it took no time at all – a matter of decades – for the dunes to half-bury the fine Rubjerg Knude lighthouse they built in 1900. You take an exhilarating, if exhausting, walk, ankle-deep in fine sand through a landscape that looks like it belongs in some sci-fi adventure game. Below the lighthouse you gaze over cliffs and bays stretching as far as the eye can see as a sun-soaked wind immerses your body and soul in the essence of pure north. If only you could bottle it. A gulp a day and you’d feel as if you could live forever.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book