餐飲美食

尋味之旅:雜碎

志在尋味的饕客足跡踏遍全球,只為尋找心目中完美的佳餚美饌。陳紀臨與方曉嵐從香港旅行6,889哩,往三藩市一嚐最美味的雜碎

雜碎原本叫做李鴻章雜碎,一般人認為這道菜是他發明的。 李鴻章是晚清重臣,不但手握軍政大權,在洋務方面亦同樣舉足輕重。

據說李鴻章於1896年訪問美國時,曾設宴款待當地官員。飯後客人詢問席上的菜式是什麼,李鴻章答道:「雜碎」,即是將各種不同的材料混雜在一起。

從此雜碎就成了當地中國餐館內經常出現的菜式,東起紐約,西至三藩市,都可以嚐到這道菜的滋味。 雜碎大受歡迎,原因很簡單:這道菜四季皆宜,你喜歡使用什麼材料都可以,只要味道配合就行。 一般來說,材料以味道較清淡的肉類如雞肉、豬肉、鮮蝦和魚等為主,再以醬油、紹酒和糖等調味,令味道鮮中帶鹹。

此外還會加入多種蔬菜如西芹、椰菜、洋蔥、竹筍、沙葛、草菇、冬菇、荷蘭豆和紅蘿蔔等同炒。所有材料炒熟後,勾芡再加入麻油數滴,增加香氣。最後將雜碎舀起,淋在一碗熱騰騰的白飯上。

由於李鴻章是安徽人,因此雜碎有時也被視為安徽菜,不過這道菜在中國其實難得一見。如果想一嚐這道正宗美式中菜,最好到美國去,例如三藩市的三和粥粉麵。 這是當地唐人街一家歷史非常悠久的餐廳,2015年10月遷到新址重新開業,餐牌上有不少充滿家庭風味的美式中菜,當然包括雜碎。

陳紀臨與方曉嵐是《China: The Cookbook》(Phaidon Press出版)的作者

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

World’s Best Dishes: Chop Suey

Chan Kei-Lum and Diora Fong Chan travel 6,889 miles from Hong Kong to San Francisco for an authentic plate of chop suey, a Chinese-American special

The full name for chop suey is actually Li Hongzhang chop suey – named after the man many believe was responsible for its creation. Li was a powerful figure in the Qing dynasty, in charge of military, economic and foreign affairs.

As the story goes, in 1896 Li made a visit to the United States, where he hosted a Chinese dinner for American officials. When they asked what had been served, Li’s response was ‘chop suey’ – ‘many things put together’. Chop suey soon became a staple on the menus of Chinese restaurants from New York to San Francisco.

It’s easy to understand its popularity: a dish for all seasons, chop suey can be made from whatever ingredients you want, as long as they work together. Generally, it features lighter proteins like chicken, pork, shrimp and fish, enriched by condiments like soy sauce, cooking wine and sugar, which give the dish its balanced sweet and salty flavour. Vegetables like celery, cabbage, onion, bamboo shoots, jicama, straw mushrooms, black mushrooms, snow peas and carrots complement the meat. A dash of sesame oil lends a rich, nutty flavour to the broth, poured over a bowl of steaming rice.

Because Li was from Anhui, chop suey is sometimes considered to be from the eastern Chinese province – but in reality, it’s rarely found in China. You’re better off looking in the US for an authentic plate of the Chinese-American special – like San Francisco’s Sam Wo Restaurant. One of the oldest restaurants in Chinatown, it reopened in October 2015 in a new space featuring a menu of homestyle Chinese-American dishes – including chop suey.

Chan Kei-lum and Diora Fong Chan are the authors of China: The Cookbook (Phaidon Press)

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book