藝術與文化

名古屋的當代武士

雖然日本最後一個幕府政權倒台將近150年,但名古屋的武士文化依然根深柢固. 撰文‭:‬Uichiro Tanaka‭

在高聳入雲的名古屋城石牆下,兩位古代戰士於淒美的櫻花樹群中一決生死。長刀擊在盔甲上,金屬碰撞的聲音在午前的空氣中迴蕩,最後,就在這座日本第四大城市的中心地段,小學生、遊客及軍事狂迷集體見證早已作古的武士之死。 隨著武士敗陣,戰事正式結束。兩位年輕戰士卻未有撒手塵寰,反而正在氣喘吁吁地呷著綠茶稍事休息。兩人小心翼翼地脫去頭盔,並整理髮髻,一班女粉絲舉起智能手機,在嬉笑聲中羞怯地索取親筆簽名。 昔日在戰場上披甲上陣的武士,大多都活在死亡陰影下,但是現今的武士則為教育和娛樂而戰,可謂與榮耀和霸業毫無關連。這兩位武士其實是名古屋款待武將隊的成員。武將隊於2009年成立,旨在推廣名古屋旅遊業,提升人們對武士文化的興趣。

Credit: Irwin Wong
Credit: Irwin Wong

武將隊現由六位武將﹙將軍﹚及四位陣笠﹙步兵﹚組成。他們平日會派兩名成員於名古屋城坐鎮表演,而周末則最少五位出動揮劍交鋒,配合舞蹈及傳統鼓樂表演助興。由於節目大受歡迎,武將隊更定期出征,在日本各地及海外巡迴演出。 武將隊負責人青木孝嗣表示︰「過去七年我們累積了一定的名氣,縱使人事幾經變動,更有其他團隊爭相仿效,但我認為始終只有武將隊最能夠呈現真實的武士面貌;我們甚至能操16世紀的日語呢!」 飾演德川家康的34歲成員倉橋岳表示︰「我想不少日本民眾欣賞表演時總會有所感觸,或許有些人與我國歷史脫節了,因此我們將過去重現在他們眼前。」 武將隊落戶名古屋並非偶然,因當地及所在的愛知縣都是武士的腹地。長居名古屋的澳洲僑民Chris Glenn是一名忠實的武士迷,他表示︰「歷史上曾建立豐功偉績的武士,大都出生於名古屋及附近地區。現在不論你前往愛知縣任何一個角落,都能接觸到武士歷史。」 由1467年開始,日本進入戰國時代,內戰頻仍。

Credit: Irwin Wong
Credit: Irwin Wong

當時各地軍閥推翻由幕府﹙從1192至1867年,幕府將軍是日本掌握實權的軍事獨裁者﹚欽點的守護大名,並互相爭權奪位。這是日本歷史中血淋淋的一章,亦曾改編成多套經典武士電影,當中包括黑澤明的鉅作《七俠四義》。在日本最偉大的武將德川家康領導下,德川幕府終於1603年建立,結束四分五裂的混戰時代。 愛知縣農業發達,物產豐盛,同時位處貿易交匯處,可謂各路兵家必爭之地。在一眾軍閥的覬覦下,防禦軍事可謂重中之重,縣內城堡一度達3,000座之多。名古屋城由德川家康於17世紀初興建,是愛知縣最瑰麗堂皇、結構最精密的堡壘,加上名古屋城四面環水,可謂固若金湯。德川命令附近的清須市居民和廟宇神社遷到城堡周圍,未幾即發展為繁華的城下町。 倉橋表示︰「德川對我啟發良多。他向世人顯示了,只要權力運用得宜,也能造福社稷,而這亦證明武士並非只顧窮兵黷武而已;德川體現了武士為太平盛世及人民福祉奮鬥的決心。」 名古屋城至今仍是區內重心,為希望進一步窺探武士文化的人,提供一扇絕佳的窗口。精雕細琢的本丸御殿原為名古屋城建築群的一部分,現正進行修葺,只局部開放予遊客參觀﹙2018年將完全開放﹚。 武士迷同時應走訪名古屋德川美術館。館內除展出德川家的珍貴藏品外,還有從鄰近的犬山城、清須城及小牧城發掘的珍品。

Credit: Irwin Wong

小牧長久手、桶狹間及長篠之戰的古戰場均在名古屋範圍內,至於關原之戰的戰場則位處名古屋以北50公里外。當時為1600年,逾30,000名武士苦戰七小時,最後光榮地戰死沙場。 今天,日本各地城鎮仍留有武士的蹤影。其雄姿和兵器不時出現在海報、廣告牌、博物館橫幅及漫畫封面上,甚至連慶祝兒童節的商店櫥窗也能找到其身影,當地家庭會在這一天祝禱子女身體健康、活力充沛,從而發揚武士精神。 青木孝嗣道︰「許多日本人仍然以思想和身體實踐武士精神。

Credit: Irwin Wong

我們在2011年東日本大地震中,就看到人民堅忍克制的言行舉止。」 在江戶時代﹙1603至1867年﹚頒佈的武士道可謂武士操守的規範,後來更普及至日本民眾的言行,強調軍事技巧和無畏無懼的精神,同時宣揚節儉、慈悲、真誠和匡老扶幼的信息。時至今日,武士道思想依然植根於日本民風和社會價值中,而劍道、弓道及赤手空拳的柔術等古典格鬥技巧,今天亦由日本學童傳承。武士道強調團體精神多於個人主義,從而鞏固國民對家庭和社會的忠誠。 倉橋道︰「武士的軍事角色已成過去,但他們的靈魂依然長存。日本歷史不是童話故事或荷李活電影。我深信武士的專注、忠誠及文化修養,在現世依然大派用場,更可引領我們追尋更美滿的人生。」

Credit: Irwin Wong
Credit: Irwin Wong

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Where you can still see samurai live and fight

In Nagoya, samurai culture lives on. Words by Uichiro Tanaka

Below the towering stone ramparts of Nagoya Castle, ringed by delicate cherry blossoms, two ancient warriors fight to the death. As sword strikes armour, the clanging sound of metal reverberates through the late-morning air. And finally, here in the heart of Japan’s fourth-largest city, schoolchildren, tourists and military enthusiasts witness the death of a long-dead samurai. With this defeat, the battle draws to a close. The two young combatants – breathless, but not lifeless – take a break to sip green tea. They carefully remove helmets and readjust topknots, as female admirers wield smartphones, giggle and bashfully request autographs. Many samurai, a warrior class of days gone by, lived in the shadow of death. But today’s skirmish is all about education and entertainment, not honour and glory. For these are two members of the Nagoya Omotenashi Bushotai (‘band of gracious warrior commanders’), formed in 2009 to promote tourism in Nagoya and to heighten interest in samurai culture.

Credit: Irwin Wong
Credit: Irwin Wong

The Omotenashi Bushotai currently comprises six bushos, or army generals, and four jingasa, or footsoldiers. With a pair always present at Nagoya Castle on weekdays, weekends typically see at least five members put on sword fights, dances and traditional drum performances. The group has become so popular they regularly travel across Japan and overseas. ‘Over the past seven years we have become quite famous,’ says Aoki Takatsugu, the group’s general manager. ‘Members come and go, and other groups try to imitate us, but I think we’re the most authentic. We even speak 16th-century Japanese.’ ‘I think many Japanese people feel something inside when they witness our performance,’ says 34-year-old member Gaku Kurahashi, who always portrays famous samurai general Ieyasu Tokugawa. ‘Perhaps some have lost touch with our country’s history. We bring the past back to life for them.’ That the Omotenashi Bushotai should choose to base themselves in Nagoya isn’t just happenstance; Nagoya, as well as the surrounding Aichi prefecture, is the heartland of the samurai. ‘The majority of samurai who went on to achieve great things were born in and around this city,’ says Chris Glenn, an Australian expat, samurai aficionado and long-time Nagoya resident. ‘Today, wherever you go in Aichi, you’re never far from samurai history.’ From 1467 onwards, Japan experienced a turbulent period of nearly constant civil war.

Credit: Irwin Wong
Credit: Irwin Wong

For me, Ieyasu is an inspiration,’ says Kurahashi. ‘His actions show that power, when used wisely, can be a real force for good, and that samurai weren’t only interested in fighting. Ieyasu shows that samurai worked for harmony and prosperity and the well-being of the people.’ Nagoya Castle is still the focal point of the city and makes a great first port of call for those looking to learn more about samurai culture. The gorgeous Honmaru Palace, originally part of the castle complex and currently being restored, is now partly open (the last part will open in 2018). Samurai enthusiasts should also visit Nagoya’s Tokugawa Art Museum, which exhibits various treasures of the Tokugawa clan, and the nearby samurai castles of Inuyama, Kiyosu and Komaki. The samurai battlefields of Komaki-Nagakute, Okehazama and Nagashino also lie within the Nagoya area, while 50 kilometres north of the city are the Sekigahara battlefields.

Credit: Irwin Wong

During this time – known as the Sengoku or Warring States period – the country’s local warlords overthrew military governors appointed by the shogunate (shoguns were the de facto military dictators of Japan from 1192 to 1867) and then fought among themselves for power. It is this bloody episode in Japanese history that is depicted in many classic samurai movies, such as Akira Kurosawa’s epic masterpiece Seven Samurai. The chaos only came to an end in 1603 under the Tokugawa Shogunate headed by Ieyasu Tokugawa, one of Japan’s greatest samurai warriors. With its bountiful agriculture, rich natural resources and position at a trading crossroads, Aichi was often coveted by neighbouring warlords. Defence was a priority, and the prefecture was once home to over 3,000 castles. Nagoya Castle was one of Aichi’s finest, most impressive and best-constructed castles, built by Ieyasu in the early 1600s. It was almost completely surrounded by water and virtually impregnable. Ieyasu ordered residents from the nearby town of Kiyosu – together with their temples and shrines – to move to the area around the castle, which soon developed into a bustling town.

Credit: Irwin Wong

It was here in 1600 that over 30,000 samurai warriors died in seven hours of gory combat. Those walking around the cities and towns of Japan today still encounter the samurai. His face and weapons appear on posters and billboards, on museum banners and comic book covers, and in shop windows celebrating Children’s Day, a time for families to celebrate the health, vitality and inner warrior of their offspring. ‘The samurai spirit still resides in the minds and bodies of many Japanese people,’ says Takatsugu. ‘We saw this in the stoic behaviour of the people during the Great East Japan Earthquake in 2011.’ During the Edo period (1603-1867) the principles of bushido, the samurai code of conduct, developed as a more general way of behaviour for the Japanese people, emphasising military skills and fearlessness, as well as frugality, compassion, honesty and care for one’s family. Today many aspects of bushido remain deeply rooted in Japan’s national character and social values. Japanese schoolchildren practise the classic warrior skills of sword fighting (kendo), archery (kyudo) and hand-to-hand, unarmed combat (jujitsu). Conformity, rather than individuality, reinforces loyalty to one’s family and society. ‘As warriors, the samurai belong in the past,’ says Kurahashi. ‘But their soul is still alive. The history of Japan is neither a fairy story nor a Hollywood movie. I believe the dedication, loyalty and cultured ways of the samurai are still relevant. They can still guide us to lead better lives.’

Credit: Irwin Wong
Credit: Irwin Wong
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book