都市生活

十樣新加坡玩樂體驗(在香港未必能做到)

隨著旅遊氣泡準備就緒,香港人快將可到新加坡玩樂度假,以下我們與你分享為何對此感到興奮莫名的原因

表面上,新加坡和香港有不少相似之處,兩個都是港口城市,亦是大都會金融中心,同樣都有殖民地歷史背景。兩個城市可謂旗鼓相當,難分高下。現在,在2019冠狀病毒病疫情爆發後,兩城互相「伸出友誼之手」組成旅遊聯盟,共同推出首個亞洲旅遊氣泡,讓兩地居民為旅遊作好更佳準備。對香港人來說,這是感受獅城獨特之處的黃金機會,以下建議的十項新加坡玩樂體驗,大可讓你熱熱身。

緊記要事先預訂熱門的餐廳和景點,因為它們的服務時間和有關措施可能會因應2019冠狀病毒病疫情而更改。點擊此處了解香港-新加坡旅遊氣泡的最新詳情。

1) 冬日海灘假期

Credit: Taylor Simpson/Unsplash

新加坡是熱帶地區。即使香港天氣轉冷,新加坡依然悶熱,氣溫仍徘徊在攝氏30度。過去一年你苦苦盼望的海灘假期終於可以實現,而新加坡就是最好的目的地。

聖淘沙島可謂不作他選。島上滿佈熱帶海灘和恍如人間天堂的度假村,距離市中心以南約15分鐘車程,迎合所有人的需要。家庭旅客可在巴拉望島或到可游泳的潟湖盡情耍樂。西羅索海灘設有不少沙灘酒吧和排球場,讓你盡享陽光明媚的時光。如果你想在寧靜的地方盡情放鬆,Tanjong海灘自成一角,位置理想。在2019冠狀病毒病疫情下,聖淘沙實行人潮管制措施,故此請事先預約,以確保你能在沙灘上佔一席位。同時,不妨一訪聖淘沙自然探索徑,欣賞古樹、多種蝴蝶和土生的鵲鴝。

2) 品嚐真正的街頭美食

Credit: Shutterstock

對於許多人來說,在熟食中心盡情吃喝就是前往新加坡的原因。每個中心都有其特色菜,無論是沙嗲燒烤、參峇醬燒魔鬼魚、還是濃郁的叻沙,令你大啖地道滋味。你可依從當地的潛規則,在桌上留下一包紙巾佔據位置,然後到中心內的攤檔點選你喜愛的菜式,自製自助大餐。請緊記與其他人保持一米的社交距離(有些熟食中心已在地上貼上排隊標記),然後享受經典獅城美食,這種用餐方式在今日的香港已不多見。

3) 深入了解娘惹文化的過去

Credit: Shutterstock

娘惹(土生華人)文化融合了中國、馬拉和印度的影響,歷史可追溯到500年前。這種文化至今依然歷久不衰,並在新加坡人的生活及其建築中感受到當中的影響力。雖然土生華人博物館現正關閉進行翻新工程,並預期於2021年年中重開,但你仍然可以在加東和如切兩個社區中體驗到娘惹文化。那裡有不少建於1920年代的娘惹店屋,以獨特的瓷磚和動物雕像為特色,其中一個不能錯過的景點是家居博物館The Intan(需事先預約),館主Alvin Yapp收藏了數千件精巧的手工藝品。然後是時候用舌尖感受娘惹文化,建議你到328加東叻沙品嚐娘惹菜,或是首家榮獲米芝蓮殊榮的娘惹餐廳 Candlenut享用高級美食。

4)親睹東南亞藝術大師級作品

Credit: Shutterstock

香港的藝術界固然發展蓬勃,但如果你對東南亞藝術有興趣,新加坡才是你要去的地方。新加坡國家美術館 擁有亞洲區內搜羅自全球最多的現代東南亞藝術館藏,而其建築本身也是一座宏偉而經過翻新的殖民建築地標。除了寬敞的展覽空間外,館內還設有八家酒吧和餐廳,包括名廚Violet Oon的National Kitchen餐廳和Julien Royer的米芝蓮三星食府Odette

5) 練習星式英語

Credit: Shutterstock

你在傳統咖啡店聽到的斷續聲音便是星式英語,這是新加坡獨有的非正式方言,也是此地獨有。它是摻入了福建話、廣東話、潮州話、泰米爾語和馬來語借用詞的英語,反映出新加坡的多元文化特色。在新加坡中國文化中心的「Singapo人」展覽初步了解一下,然後上一堂星式英語課,再學以致用,到餐廳點一客咖央多士和一杯美祿恐龍,boleh(可以嘛)?

6) 探索高科技公園

Supertrees at the Gardens by the Bay Singapore
Credit: Victor Garcia/Unsplash

濱海灣花園的超級樹高達25至50米,有比天高之勢,入夜後更舉行有聲光影表演,超級樹絕非浪得虛名。如想近距離觀賞,可沿著空中走廊OCBC Skyway漫步,同時飽覽壯麗的天際線景觀。雲霧森林有一個非常矚目的室內瀑布,而花穹則是世界上最大的溫室,其外型像一個雞蛋殼,由玻璃和鋼搭建而成,時尚感十足。

7) 投進TeamLab的夢幻光影世界

Credit: Touann Gatouillat Vergos/Unsplash

東京數碼藝術團體TeamLab於藝術科學博物館舉辦「未來世界:藝術與科學的交匯」展覽,令博物館成為新加坡最教人夢寐以求的「打卡」熱點。在這個互動式展覽中,超過170,000盞LED燈構成了色彩斑斕、千變萬化的圖案。而另一個藝術裝置則描繪了朵朵花卉盛開、凋謝以至飛散的情景,把一年的生命周期濃縮在一小時內展現。

8) 在環球影城感受電影成真的夢幻

Credit: Shutterstock

香港迪士尼樂園固然歡樂無窮,但聖淘沙主題公園截然不同的世界亦值得你好好探索,就由新加坡環球影城開始,體驗從多套電影獲啟發而設計的遊樂設施。如果你追求刺激遊樂,就應該知道「太空堡壘卡拉狄加:人類與機械戰隊」是世界上最高的雙軌過山車,而「侏羅紀河流探險」則以水花四濺的高潮作結。如果有小孩同行,可帶他們跟《荒失失奇兵》、《壞蛋獎門人》和《芝麻街》等大熱角色合照留念。意猶未盡?附近的S.E.A.海洋館和斜坡滑車場Skyline Luge Sentosa保證令你盡興而歸。

9) 探索新加坡的多元文化心臟地帶

The colourful shops of Haji Lane in Singapore's Kampong Glam neighbourhood
Credit: Bna Ignacio/Unsplash

香港是個中西文化共融的大都會,新加坡則受馬來半島和中東的文化影響較深。獅城歷史最悠久的甘榜格南是當中最有活力的社區,1800年代,該區曾經是穆斯林蘇丹王族的聚居地和活動中心;現時的馬來傳統文化館前身便是王宮的所在地。鄰近的蘇丹回教堂以華麗的金色圓頂見稱,仍然吸引大量朝聖者到來,他們與哈芝巷訪尋咖啡店和精品店的時尚潮人擦肩而過,讓區內顯得格外繁華熱鬧。服飾店Royal Fabrics的蠟染印花布織品以手工精美馳名,不妨到此搜購手信;周邊還有許多售賣阿拉伯香料和地氈的店子值得一逛。距離該區僅數分鐘步程,Muscat Street後面的露天藝廊Gelam Gallery以色彩瑰麗的壁畫和用框架裝裱的藝術作品,令後巷顯得繽紛多姿。另一處矚目地標是懷舊相機博物館,館內有許多值得細賞的奇趣相機展品,到訪甘榜格南必然不容錯過。

10) 在黑夜中欣賞野生動物

Credit: Shutterstock

在新加坡各地,你會有許多機會近距離接觸物種繁多的野生動物。武吉知馬天然保護區到處都是獮猴的蹤影,烏敏島的紅樹林也成為翠鳥和水獺的棲息地,而在2019年對外開放的湯申自然公園,是瀕危物種印尼亞葉猴的重要保護區。香港當然也有多姿多采的野生動物值得欣賞,但只有在新加坡才可看到的物種,則非要到訪夜間野生動物園莫屬,但你需要事先預訂門票。這個全球首創的夜間動物園,讓訪客在不見天日的棲息地觀賞夜間出沒的動物世界。你可以登上觀光電車或循著四條徒步小徑深入叢林,探尋花豹、馬來老虎、馬來貘和亞洲大象的蹤跡。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Singapore

10 Things to Do in Singapore That You Can’t Do in Hong Kong

As the travel bubble gets underway, we share the many reasons Hongkongers should be excited to make Singapore their next getaway

On the surface, Singapore and Hong Kong have much in common: two port cities and cosmopolitan financial hubs with a shared colonial heritage. It’s been enough to spark a (mostly) friendly rivalry. Now, in response to COVID-19, they’ve teamed up to launch Asia’s very first travel bubble, making it far simpler to travel between the two cities. For Hongkongers, it’s a golden chance to experience all that’s unique about the Lion City. Below are just 10 things to do in Singapore to get you started.

Remember to book ahead for popular restaurants and attractions – and that offerings may change to reflect COVID-19 measures. For the latest details on the Hong Kong-Singapore travel bubble, click here.

1. Have a Winter Beach Holiday

Credit: Taylor Simpson/Unsplash

Singapore doesn’t get cold. Even when it’s getting chilly in Hong Kong, Singapore stays sultry, with temperatures easily hitting 30 degrees. It’s the perfect city for that beach holiday you’ve been dreaming about this past year.

That’s what Sentosa is for. This island of tropical beaches and paradisical resorts is just 15 minutes south of the city centre, and has something to offer everyone. Families will dig the playgrounds and swimmable lagoons of Palawan; Siloso has beach bars and volleyball courts for plenty of sun-kissed action; and Tanjong is the most secluded stretch if you’re after some relaxation. Make an advance reservation to be sure you’ve got a spot on the sand; it’s a way for Sentosa to manage crowds in the COVID-19 era. To spot heritage trees, butterflies and the native Oriental Magpie-Robin, set out on the Sentosa Nature Discovery trail.

2. Get a True Taste of Hawker Food

Credit: Shutterstock

For many, eating at a hawker centre is the reason to visit Singapore. Each centre has a specialty, be it barbecued satay, stingray laden with sambal chilli, or rich laksa. Follow the universal protocol and leave a packet of tissues to chope (reserve) your spot at a table, then create your own feast by ordering from the smorgasbord of surrounding food stalls. Just keep a healthy distance of one metre from others (some centres have added floor queue markings). You’ll experience Singaporean classics as they were meant to be eaten – and a style of dining that is rare in modern Hong Kong.

3. Dive into the Peranakan Past

Credit: Shutterstock

Peranakan culture is a hybrid of Chinese, Malay and Indian influences that dates back 500 years. That culture is still going strong, kept alive in both Singapore’s people and its architecture. While the Peranakan Museum is closed for renovations through mid-2021, you can still experience it in the Katong and Joo Chiat neighbourhoods, where 1920s-era Peranakan shophouses feature distinctive ceramic tiles and animal figurines. One gem is The Intan (book in advance), a home museum where owner Alvin Yapp has lovingly amassed thousands of artefacts. Then for a taste of the culture, sample the cuisine at 328 Katong Laksa or go upscale at Candlenut, the first Michelin-starred Peranakan restaurant.

4. See the Old Masters of South East Asian Art

Credit: Shutterstock

Hong Kong has a thriving art scene, but for South East Asian art, Singapore is the place to go. The National Gallery Singapore houses the world’s largest collection of modern art from the region – in an impressively renovated colonial landmark. In addition to its vast exhibition spaces, there’s also eight on-site bars and restaurants, including celebrity chef Violet Oon’s National Kitchen and Julien Royer’s masterful three-Michelin-starred Odette.

5. Practise your Singlish 

Credit: Shutterstock

Those staccato sounds you’re overhearing at the kopitiam (coffee shop) are Singlish, the unofficial, informal language that’s unique to Singapore. It’s a mix of English with Hokkien, Cantonese, Teochew, Tamil and Malay loanwords that captures Singapore’s multicultural heritage. Get your bearings at the Singapo(Ren) exhibit at the Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre, then take a Singlish class and practise in the real world by ordering a kaya toast with a Milo dinosaur, boleh?

6. Explore a High-Tech Park

Supertrees at the Gardens by the Bay Singapore
Credit: Victor Garcia/Unsplash

You’ve never seen trees like Singapore’s: Supertrees at Gardens by the Bay stretch 25 to 50 metres skyward and put on a nightly light and sound show. Get a closer look while strolling along the OCBC Skyway, which also provides sweeping skyline views. The Cloud Forest has a dramatic indoor waterfall while The Flower Dome is the world’s largest greenhouse, with a cooling eggshell-like exterior of glass and steel.

7. Immerse Yourself in the World of TeamLab

Credit: Touann Gatouillat Vergos/Unsplash

Tokyo-based digital art collective TeamLab is behind the Future World: Where Art Meets Science exhibition at the ArtScience Museum, which may well be the most Instagram-friendly destination in Singapore. Within the interactive Future World exhibit, more than 170,000 LED lights form a kaleidoscope of shifting colours. Another installation depicts flowers going through a year’s cycle of blossoming, wilting and scattering within an hour.

8. Live the Movie Magic at Universal Studios

Credit: Shutterstock

Take a break from Hong Kong Disneyland to explore a whole new world of theme parks on Sentosa, beginning with Universal Studios Singapore for a dose of fun inspired by the silver screen. If you’re here for the adrenaline rush, you should know that Battlestar Galactica: Human vs. Cylon is the world’s tallest duelling roller coaster setup – and that the rafting ride through Jurassic Park ends with a major splash. If you brought along the kids, take photos with characters from favourites like Madagascar, Despicable Me and Sesame Street. Find more thrills at nearby S.E.A. Aquarium and Skyline Luge Sentosa.

9. Explore Singapore’s Multicultural Heart

The colourful shops of Haji Lane in Singapore's Kampong Glam neighbourhood
Credit: Bna Ignacio/Unsplash

While Hong Kong is East-meets-West, Singapore throws the entire Malay Peninsula and Middle East into the mix. Take Kampong Glam, the city’s oldest neighbourhood and one of its most dynamic. In the 1800s, this was a Muslim hub where sultans lived; their former palace is now the Malay Heritage Centre. The golden domes of the nearby Masjid Sultan mosque still draw worshippers, who brush shoulders with hipsters drawn to the cafes and boutiques of Haji Lane. Pick up souvenirs at Royal Fabrics, known for its batik, and the many Arab spice and rug shops. A few minutes away, tucked behind Muscat Street, Gelam Gallery’s bright murals and framed works cover the back lanes. Another eye-popping sight is the Vintage Camera’s Museum, a wonderfully quirky stop while you’re in the ’hood.

10. Spot Wildlife in the Dark

Credit: Shutterstock

There’s a surprising variety of places to get up close with wildlife across Singapore. Bukit Timah Nature Reserve is full of macaques, the mangroves of Pulau Ubin are home to kingfishers and otters and Thomson Nature Park opened in 2019 to support the endangered Raffles’ banded langur. Of course, Hong Kong also has its share of vibrant wildlife – so for a truly only-in-Singapore experience, you’ve got to book the Night Safari. It’s the world’s first nocturnal zoo, offering up the chance to observe animals when they’re most active – after dark. Hop on the guided tram ride or follow the four walking trails to encounter leopards, tigers, tapirs and Asian elephants at play.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book