Hong Kong SAR

十樣香港限定體驗(在新加坡未必能做到)

隨著旅遊氣泡計劃正式推出,以下這些獨有體驗,是你來香港遊玩時不容錯過的

若你在新加坡透過免檢疫的旅遊氣泡計劃前往香港遊玩,應該會急不及待想知道這裡有何與眾不同之處。其實,兩地同樣擁有美不勝收的景點和出色的飲食文化,唯兩城亦各有各精采之處。香港的崇山峻嶺一向吸引不少遊客專程到來登山遠足,在摩天高樓俯瞰都會景致亦賞心悅目,至於迪士尼樂園的夢幻國度,則為旅客帶來奇妙刺激的冒險旅程。以下是十樣新加坡人只有在香港才可獲得的享受,這些獨特的香港體驗定能讓你盡興而歸。

緊記要事先預訂熱門的餐廳和景點,因為它們的服務時間和有關措施可能會因應2019冠狀病毒病疫情而更改。點擊此處了解香港-新加坡旅遊氣泡的最新詳情。至於新加坡有何令人期待的獨特之處,請瀏覽十樣新加坡限定體驗(在香港未必能做到)的精選推介。

1. 挑戰高山峻嶺

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-hiking-girl

新加坡的地勢較為平坦,加上全年氣候炎熱,似乎較難令人提起勁啟程遠足去。然而,香港坐擁24個幅員廣闊的郊野公園和無數行山徑,沿途可欣賞到氣勢不凡的壯麗景色,冬季時溫度較低,更是參加戶外活動的最佳時候。登山初哥可以先到龍脊試試身手,高低起伏的平緩山徑彎彎曲曲,通往港島南面的山脈,然後到石澳泳灘喝杯青島啤酒,慰勞一下完成旅程的壯舉。資深的登山友可挑戰海拔869米的大東山或934米高的鳳凰山,兩峰在香港均是數一數二的高山。你也可再下一城,完成長達100公里的麥理浩徑,整個領地的多條步道蜿蜒穿過多個山脈、水庫及海灘,是飽覽香港不同美景的最佳路線。

2. 一嚐香港的經典滋味

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-cha-chaan-teng-milk-tea

新加坡的傳統咖啡店自有一番地道風味,香港的茶餐廳融會不同的飲食文化於一身,也同樣充滿本土特色。港式茶餐廳匯集各式中西窩心美食,全日供應走親民路線的食品,如焗豬扒飯、湯通粉以至煎蛋午餐肉公仔麵,或夾著一大塊牛油的菠蘿包,體現多元化的餐飲模式。你可暫時忘卻新加坡的香脆咖央多士,在香港點一客塗滿牛油和糖漿的西多士;與其掛念老家的美祿恐龍,不如一嚐香港的鴛鴦(奶茶加咖啡)。茶餐廳的服務既高效又有點令人措手不及,例如位於佐敦的「澳洲牛奶公司」便以超速服務馳名,店外經常出現人龍排隊等候,足證它是城中許多人最愛朝聖的冰室。雖然等候時間往往教人失去耐性,但其炒蛋的口感綿密嫩滑,絕對值得花時間久等去一嚐箇中滋味。

3. 乘搭懷舊的交通工具

Star ferry and Peak tram are examples of old-school transport in Hong Kong

大部分香港人及新加坡人都會乘坐地鐵穿梭城中各地,因其省時便捷;然而,香港仍保留著多種歷史悠久的交通工具,讓人感受慢活的步調。暱稱為「叮叮」的雙層電車,往來港島各地已超過一個世紀,除了展現香港的昔日風情,亦不失為閒遊橫街窄巷的理想交通工具。至於在1888年通車的山頂纜車,則為旅客帶來更奇妙的登山體驗,整條鐵路以鋼索拉動,幾乎是以垂直狀態行走至太平山頂。至於自1880年代起提供渡輪服務的天星小輪,是香港別具代表性的渡海運輸系統,小輪在維多利亞港緩緩前進,讓乘客在八分鐘的船程之中,可以慢慢欣賞港九兩岸的城市景觀,是絕對不容錯過的香港體驗。你不時會見到紅帆高揚的鴨靈號在維港出現,這艘香港唯一仍在海上航行的中式古董帆船,現時每天均提供觀光服務。

4. 居高臨下欣賞市景

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-Aqua-bar-Tsim-Sha-Tsui

新加坡的城市景觀令人歎為觀止,不過香港的天際線可謂更上一層樓。香港在全球擁有最多的摩天大樓,因此城中美不勝收的天台酒吧比比皆是,穩佔各大樓頂的有利位置,是俯瞰璀璨美景的最佳地點。高踞環球貿易廣場118樓的Ozone頂樓酒吧是全球最高的酒吧,堪稱鳥瞰維港兩岸眩目燈光的最佳位置。畏高一族可到鄰近位於北京道1號30樓的酒吧Aqua Spirit,一邊淺酌雞尾酒一邊觀賞對岸港島的天際線全景,又不會感到高處不勝寒。要選氣氛一流的戶外環境,則非灣仔位處頂樓的露天酒廊Wooloomooloo莫屬,那裡坐擁270度日與夜的醉人景觀,你可近觀維港,或遠眺跑馬地馬場一帶的景色。

5. 參觀傳統漁村

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-Tai-O-stilt-house-boat

香港的高樓叢林可能會給你僅限於玻璃幕牆和鋼筋大樓的印象,但其實這個國際大都會仍然有許多深具歷史文化的遺產值得探索。在大嶼山的大澳漁村,相連的水上棚屋與鬧市中的摩天大廈大相逕庭,因前者仍保留著昔日別具特色的漁村風情。你可以租一艘舢舨在水道上欣賞沿途風光,然後閒逛小巷在海味乾貨店購買手信,再在前身為大澳警署的大澳文物酒店品嚐下午茶。你也可以參加導賞團乘船在鄰近水域追尋香港獨有的中華白海豚蹤跡。

6. 樂園遊趣

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-Disneyland

聖淘沙的主題樂園固然為遊客帶來不少歷奇樂趣,不過香港亦不遑多讓,有米奇老鼠和一眾好友以此為家,香港迪士尼樂園的奇妙旅程包括驚險刺激的遊樂設施、目不暇給的娛樂表演、七彩繽紛的花車巡遊,還有伴你左右的一眾受歡迎迪士尼人物。另一邊廂,生於斯長於斯的海洋公園則提供截然不同的主題樂趣,過山車屹立在前臨大海的峭壁上,刺激萬分;多個水族館呈現海洋奇觀;兩頭駐園大熊貓可愛逗趣;不得不提的還有連接公園兩端的纜車之旅,沿途風景令人讚歎不絕。

7. 離島巡禮

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-Lamma-island-vinyl-records-restaurant

香港由250多個島嶼組成,每個島嶼均各具特色,中環碼頭有多條渡輪航線前往大部分離島,非常方便。不妨到長洲一探古老的海盜洞穴張保仔洞、多間寺廟,再登上滑浪風帆一試身手,或划艇出海遊覽。至於輕鬆悠閒的氛圍和鮮美的海鮮則是南丫島的招牌賣點,這個離島自成一角,匯聚多元文化,擁有不少獨立小店、迷人的精品店及以生猛海鮮炮製佳餚的各式餐廳。你亦可選在小小的坪洲寫意度日,沿著海岸漫步只需一小時,之後逛逛島上風格各異的手工藝品商店,以及活化歷史遺址(例如由舊牛皮廠改建的藝術空間「秘密花園」),然後在非常懷舊的海景海鮮酒家來一頓海鮮大餐。

8. 探索古老圍村

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-Walled-Village

新界還留有不少老香港的影子,例如新界圍村,明清時期(1368至1912年)雄踞當地的圍頭人和客家人聚居於此,他們於房屋四周築建圍牆,以抵禦海盜和外敵。時至今日,圍村不少祖屋依然屹立不倒,讓我們一睹其長方形建築、窄巷和圍牆的特色,不過,城垛中的大砲早就消失了。元朗的吉慶圍和沙田的曾大屋是保存最完好的兩個圍村,而龍躍頭文物徑則途經五個不同的古老圍村。

9. 拜訪大佛

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-big-buddha-lantau-island

當你置身在設有透明玻璃車底的昂坪360纜車水晶車廂,便恍如在大嶼山的峻嶺上空漂浮,此情此景實非筆墨能形容。下一站在何方?天壇大佛是也。這座大佛是世上同類型佛像中第二大,絕對值得親身造訪。爬上268級梯級,便抵達面容慈祥的大佛底部,請順道一遊附近的寶蓮禪寺,然後再沿途到附近的心經簡林,那裡的木柱刻上唐朝時期的佛教《心經》,在那裡漫步,感受充滿智慧的寧謐氛圍。

10. 獨一無二的遊船之旅

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-unesco-geopark-rock-formations-coast

佔地150平方公里的香港聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園地貌獨特,在新加坡以至世上其他地方都難得一見。公園範圍涵蓋了多個島嶼,當中滿佈古老的岩石地貌、殘留的火山熔岩流,以及多個罕見的地理現象。奇觀包括萬宜水庫東壩在約1.4億多年前形成的六角形火山岩柱、一條連接風景怡人的橋咀洲和毗鄰小島橋頭的連島沙洲,以及在東平洲漫山遍野的奇岩怪石。在西貢碼頭上船參加半日導賞團,可飽覽偌大的地質公園部分美景,是令人難忘的香港體驗。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Hong Kong SAR

10 Things to Do in Hong Kong That You Can’t Do in Singapore

Here’s what you can’t miss on your travel bubble visit to Hong Kong

If you’re travelling to Hong Kong from Singapore as part of the quarantine-free travel bubble, then you’re bound to be looking for what sets Hong Kong apart. While both cities have incredible sights and an amazing food culture, there are still some things which remain unique to each. From scaling mountains to getting sky-high and meeting Mickey Mouse, here are just 10 things Singaporeans can only get their fill of in Hong Kong.

Remember to book ahead for popular restaurants and attractions – and that offerings may change to reflect COVID-19 measures. For the latest details on the Hong Kong-Singapore travel bubble, click here. And for a little hometown refresher, check out 10 things to do in Singapore that you can’t do in Hong Kong.

1. Hike the Mountaintops

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-hiking-girl

Singapore’s relatively flat terrain and year-round heat don’t scream ‘strap on your hiking boots’. Hong Kong, though, is home to 24 sprawling country parks and countless mountainous trails which offer up spectacular views – and the drop in temperature in the winter months makes it the perfect time to hit the great outdoors. Beginners should start with the Dragon’s Back, a gentle undulating trail that winds its way across the southern ridges of Hong Kong Island, before dropping down to Shek O beach for a well-earned Tsingtao. More experienced hikers can tackle Sunset Peak (869 metres) or Lantau Peak (934 metres) – two of Hong Kong’s highest mountains – or perhaps even commit to completing the 100-kilometre Maclehose Trail, which snakes across mountains, reservoirs and beaches along the entire width of the territory.

2. Eat a Classic Hong Kong Meal

Hong-Kong-cha-chaan-teng-milk-tea

Where Singapore has the humble kopitiam, Hong Kong has the equally humble cha chaan teng, a marriage of a different set of cultures. These bustling all-day cafes merge Western and Cantonese comfort foods to offer up idiosyncratic dishes which range from baked pork chop rice to macaroni, spam and egg noodles, or pineapple buns wrapped around a thick slab of butter. Swap crispy kaya toast for thick slabs of French toast slathered in butter and syrup, and trade that Milo dinosaur for the yin yeung, a potent combination of milk tea and coffee – inevitably accompanied with characteristically brusque service. The Australia Dairy Company in Jordan is one of the city’s most popular spots, as the queue outside proves. But take heart: their soft, rich, tender scrambled eggs are well worth the wait.

3. Ride Old-School Transport

Star ferry and Peak tram are examples of old-school transport in Hong Kong

While most Hongkongers and Singaporeans whizz about town on efficient subway systems, Hong Kong has retained its traditional modes of transport. Hop on the ‘ding ding’ – the double-decker trams have been operating along the length of Hong Kong Island for more than a century, offering a slice of history alongside a leisurely tour of the city. For a more thrill-inducing ride, board the Peak Tram – this funicular railway, built in 1888, heaves passengers almost vertically up the mountainside to Victoria Peak. The iconic Star Ferry has been puttering across Victoria Harbour since the 1880s, and the eight-minute journey is a genuine must among things to do in Hong Kong. Elsewhere on the harbour, you might spot the red sails of the Dukling – the last authentic Chinese junk to ply the waters around Hong Kong, which now offers daily sightseeing tours.

4. Soak in Sky-High Views

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-Aqua-bar-Tsim-Sha-Tsui

Singapore has an impressive skyline, but Hong Kong takes it to new heights. It has the most skyscrapers in the world, and that means it’s bursting with spectacular rooftop venues and bars with views to die for. Perched on the 118th floor of the ICC building, Ozone is the highest bar in the world, with dizzying views over Victoria Harbour. Vertigo sufferers may feel slightly more comfortable at the nearby Aqua Spirit – a gorgeous bar on the 30th floor of 1 Peking Road, with panoramic views of the Hong Kong Island skyline. For an unusual al fresco setting, head to Wooloomooloo’s rooftop cocktail terrace in Wan Chai for dreamy 270-degree views that stretch from the harbour to Happy Valley racecourse and beyond.

5. Visit a Traditional Fishing Village

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-Tai-O-stilt-house-boat

Hong Kong’s forest of skyscrapers might make you think it’s just a city of glass and steel, but it still holds traditional culture in abundance. Over on Lantau Island, the picturesque stilt houses at Tai O fishing village are a world away from the towering urban jungle, and offer a glimpse into Hong Kong’s more traditional past. Hire a sampan to chug around the waterways before wandering the lanes of dried seafood stalls, then take tea at the Tai O Heritage Hotel, a former rural police station. You can also join cruises to meet one of Hong Kong’s unique residents: the indigenous pink dolphins that live in the surrounding waters.

6. See the House of Mouse

Hong-Kong-Disneyland-castle

Sentosa offers plenty of fun and adventure – but Hong Kong is home to Mickey and friends. The magic of Hong Kong Disneyland offers thrilling rides, spectacular shows, colourful parades and all your favourite characters. Meanwhile, the city’s homegrown Ocean Park offers a different theme park experience, with rollercoasters clinging to rocky cliffs overlooking the ocean, amazing sea life aquariums, two resident giant pandas and a breathtaking cable car ride connecting two sides of the park.

7. Go Island-Hopping

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-Lamma-island-vinyl-records-restaurant

Hong Kong is made up of more than 250 individual islands, each with its own character – and most of them easily reached from the ferry piers in Central. Head out to Cheung Chau to explore old pirate caves, temples and hop on a windsurfing board or kayak. Hippie vibes and excellent seafood are the calling cards of Lamma: the multicultural enclave is dotted with cute independent stores, charming boutiques and a wealth of restaurants boasting the catch of the day. Or spend the day on tiny Peng Chau – you can walk around the coastline in an hour, before browsing the eclectic handicraft stores and revamped heritage sites (like the artsy Leather Factory), and grabbing a bite at the wonderfully old-school Hoi King Seafood Restaurant.

8. Explore Ancient Walled Villages

Hong-Kong-Walled-Village

Out in the New Territories, you’ll find plenty of examples of old Hong Kong. The walled villages were the site of powerful Punti and Hakka clans throughout the Ming and Qing dynasties (1368-1912), built to defend against pirate raids and enemy attacks. A number of these ancestral homes remain today, characterised by rectangular structures, narrow lanes and protective walls – though sadly the cannons in the battlements are long gone. Kat Hing Wai in Yuen Long and Tsang Tai Uk in Sha Tin are two of the best-preserved examples, while the Lung Yeuk Tau Heritage Trail weaves a path through five different old walled villages.

9. Discover a Giant Buddha

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-big-buddha-lantau-island

Board one of the glass-bottomed Crystal Cabins of the Ngong Ping 360 cable car to feel like you’re floating over the mountains of Lantau. Your destination? The Tian Tan Buddha, better known to all as the Big Buddha. For good reason – it’s the second largest of its kind in the world. After clambering the 268 steps to reach the peaceful giant, pop into the nearby Po Lin Monastery and take a tranquil stroll down the Wisdom Path, which is lined with Buddhist sutras inscribed into wooden columns.

10. Take a Unique Boat Tour

Things-to-do-in-Hong-Kong-unesco-geopark-rock-formations-coast

The 150 square kilometres of the Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark offer sights that can’t be found in Singapore – or anywhere else, for that matter. The park – which actually spans several islands – is packed with ancient rock formations, remnants of volcanic lava flows and some rare geographical phenomena. Particular sites of interest include the polygonal volcanic rock columns at High Island, formed around 140 million years ago; the tombolo pathway that links charming Sharp Island to the nearby Kiu Tau islet; and the curious sea stack formations at Tung Ping Chau. See a slice of the Geopark with a guided half-day boat tour from Sai Kung Pier. It’s one of the most memorable things to do in Hong Kong.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book