藝術和文化

TeamLab創辦人將光影超自然空間世界帶到澳門

TeamLab創辦人豬子壽之暢談常設展TeamLab超自然空間,分享將如臨其境的數碼藝術帶到澳門的心得

身兼科學和藝術「達人」的豬子壽之在日本德島出生,今年42歲。雖然這兩個範疇看似南轅北轍,但他卻兩全其美,魚與熊掌兼得。他於2001年與四位好友創辦的數碼藝術團體TeamLab,就是這高手活用大腦兩邊區域的最佳印證。

這個起初純屬興趣的項目,已發展成轟動全球的藝術風潮,賣點是廣邀藝術家、工程師、數學家和建築師發揮創意,結合他們對藝術、科學、科技、設計和自然界的知識,塑造出讓人親歷其境的互動裝置。

首間常設投入式體驗展館TeamLab Borderless Tokyo位於東京,開幕首年已吸引230萬名來自160個國家的觀眾入場,更成為社交媒體瘋傳的熱話。

teamLab-SuperNature-Macao-INOKO-Toshiyuki-headshot-Black-Waves
Credit: Courtesy of teamLab

豬子壽之及其團隊全新製作的常設展覽TeamLab超自然空間,在幾度延遲後於2020年6月在澳門威尼斯人度假村隆重揭幕。置身其中,觀眾可探索20多件裝置作品,踏進各個數碼投影場景,觀賞繁花隨著身體動作飛舞,又或走進巨型雲團中,感受它在身邊時聚時散的過程。觀賞者透過與藝術裝置互動,甚至與之「融為一體」,每趟體驗都是獨一無二的。

不過,這位前衛藝術奇才的言談與科學家或藝術家卻大相逕庭,反而充滿哲學意味;他期望發揮自己對藝術與科學的專業知識,締造更理想或至少更美麗的世界。

豬子壽之說:「對大部分在大城市裡生活的人來說,身邊的事物全都是人造的平滑線條,缺乏質感,很容易令他們喪失與充滿不同質感的自然世界的連繫。我們透過TeamLab超自然空間創造出一個創新的境界,讓觀眾可徜徉於藝術品當中,重新檢視藝術與人、以及人與自然環境之間的關係。」

豬子壽之畢業於東京大學的物理情報學及數學工程系,他對科學充滿興趣,皆因他渴望理解世間萬象的本源。

teamLab-SuperNature-Macao-Expanding-Three-dimensional-Existence-in-Transforming-Space
Credit: Courtesy of teamLab

談到TeamLab的成立過程時,豬子壽之馬上大談哲學,跟我討論人類存在的議題。他解釋:「在嘗試透過科學理解世界的過程中,團隊會將事物拆解成較小的部分,例如將細胞拆解成分子,將森林分拆成樹木;但到了最後,我們卻無法再綜觀全局。」

「TeamLab的藝術體現我們詮釋世界全貌的意圖。團隊嘗試透過藝術和科學手法去探索人類存在的意義,我們的藝術品就是尋找答案的一環。」

這個過程亦引來大眾注目。TeamLab以東京為大本營,自九年前在村上隆的台北Kaikai Kiki畫廊舉辦首場主題展覽以來,曾先後到上海、新加坡、洛杉磯及墨爾本等地展覽。在數以百萬計、曾在社交媒體上分享TeamLab體驗的觀眾當中,不乏Hugh Jackman、Will Smith和Kendrick Lamar等名人,而豬子壽之當然樂見自家作品成為「打卡」焦點。

teamLab-SuperNature-Macao-Continuous-Life-and-Death-at-the-Now-of-Eternity-Cannot-be-Controlled-but-Live-Together
Credit: Courtesy of teamLab

他說:「將感動或啟發自己的事物記錄下來並與人分享,是人類天性之一,我自己旅行時也會這樣做。」

「歸根究柢,TeamLab以啟發入場觀眾以至主辦城市的創意為使命。都市人對世界的理解可能會受周遭環境影響而變得狹隘,而我們期望透過自家作品擴闊大眾的世界觀。」

澳門TeamLab超自然空間的節目看頭

Box-teamLab-SuperNature-Macao-Self-Organizing-Clouds
Credit: Courtesy of teamLab

1. 《無相之雲,雕塑與生命之間》

這個恍如巨型雲團的裝置在半空中漂浮,觀眾可直接穿進雲中把它分開,並觀賞團塊回復原狀的過程。

2.《 翻轉世界之塗鴉自然,紅色名錄》

這個立體空間的斜坡起伏有致,瀕危物種在「高山低谷」之間載浮載沉。

3. 《花與人的山林:迷失、沉浸與重生》

觀眾與櫻花、向日葵及其他花卉互動時,可將季節更迭之間花開花落的過程盡收眼底。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

The Wizard of Awes: TeamLab Founder Brings the Magic to Macao

Toshiyuki Inoko speaks about TeamLab SuperNature, his new techinicolour digital-art wonderland in Macao

Toshiyuki Inoko is a man of science, but he’s also a man of art. While some might view these as opposing concepts, the 42-year-old Tokushima native happily embraces both identities. And TeamLab, the digital art collective he founded with four friends in 2001, is the perfect platform for him to exercise both sides of his brain.

What started as a passion project has become one of the world’s biggest art phenomena, characterised by immersive, interactive installations that blend disciplines of art, science, technology, design and nature – with input from artists, engineers, mathematicians and architects.

The first permanent immersive museum, TeamLab Borderless Tokyo, attracted 2.3 million visitors from 160 countries during its first year of operation, and garnered many, many more posts and shares on social media.

teamLab-SuperNature-Macao-INOKO-Toshiyuki-headshot-Black-Waves
Credit: Courtesy of teamLab

After many delays, Inoko and his team unveiled their new permanent exhibition at the Venetian Macao in June 2020. At TeamLab SuperNature Macao, visitors can explore more than 20 installations that will see them treading through digitally projected fields of colourful blooms that dance alongside the viewer as they move, or walking inside a giant white cloud as it separates and merges around them. It’s an experience that allows the viewer to interact with and become part of the art, making every viewing unique to each visitor.

In real life, however, the mastermind behind such groundbreaking artworks doesn’t talk like a scientist or an artist. Instead he sounds more like a philosopher, one who hopes to use his expertise in art and science to make the world a better – or at least a more beautiful – place.

‘For many of us who live in big cities where everything is flat and smooth, it’s easy to lose touch with the three-dimensionality of nature,’ says Inoko. ‘With TeamLab SuperNature, we’re creating a space where visitors can immerse themselves within our art works and explore new ways of looking at the relationship between art and humans, as well as between humans and nature.’

An information physics and mathematical engineering graduate from the University of Tokyo, Inoko’s interest in science stems from his urge to understand what the world around him is made of.

teamLab-SuperNature-Macao-Expanding-Three-dimensional-Existence-in-Transforming-Space
Credit: Courtesy of teamLab

When asked about TeamLab’s creation process, Inoko immediately jumps into philosopher mode, and kicks off a discussion on the topic of human existence.

‘In the process of trying to understand the world through science, we break things down into smaller pieces – from cells to molecules, from a forest to a tree. But in the end, we lose sight of the bigger picture,’ he explains.

‘TeamLab’s art is our attempt to depict the world in its entirety. Through our artistic and scientific approaches, we try to figure out the meaning of existence – I see our artworks as part of that ongoing search for the answer.’

teamLab-SuperNature-Macao-Continuous-Life-and-Death-at-the-Now-of-Eternity-Cannot-be-Controlled-but-Live-Together
Credit: Courtesy of teamLab

It’s a process that has certainly caught the popular attention. Since TeamLab’s first solo exhibition at Takashi Murakami’s Kaikai Kiki Gallery in Taipei nine years ago, the Tokyo-based art collective has taken their works to Shanghai, Singapore, Los Angeles, Melbourne and beyond. Celebs like Hugh Jackman, Will Smith and Kendrick Lamar are among the millions of visitors who have posted their TeamLab experiences on social media. And Inoko is more than happy to see his work featured in all those selfies and Insta Stories.

‘It’s part of human nature – if you see something that moves or inspires you, you want to record it and share with others,’ he says. ‘I do the same when I travel.

‘Ultimately, what TeamLab wants to do is to become an inspiration to the people who come to see our shows, as well as the cities that host our exhibitions. For city dwellers, our understanding of the world can become very narrow as a result of our surroundings. Through our work, we hope to broaden that view.’

3 Highlights from TeamLab SuperNature Macao

Box-teamLab-SuperNature-Macao-Self-Organizing-Clouds
Credit: Courtesy of teamLab

1. Massless Clouds Between Sculpture and Life

Essentially a giant cloud that floats in mid-air, viewers can walk right through the installation, break it apart, and then watch as it merges back into one.

2. Inverted Globe Graffiti Nature, Red List

Inside a three-dimensional space with different elevations, endangered species swim and float across different mountains and valleys.

3. Mountains of Flowers and People: Lost, Immersed and Reborn

Witness the changing of seasons as cherry blossoms, sunflowers and other blooms go through their lifecycle while viewers interact with them.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book