札幌

札幌旅遊指南

我們整理了以下的札幌旅遊攻略,為你推介滑雪勝地、人氣海鮮食府和威士忌品酒會,無論什麼時節到訪都可體會札幌以至北海道周邊地區之美,展開豐富的行程

每逢冬季,日本最北的主島北海道皆成為旅遊首選目的地。入冬後,北海道首府札幌迷人的自然環境即被茫茫白雪覆蓋,而當地不但擁有日本一流的滑雪度假酒店和溫泉,還有暖身又暖心的美食,是亞洲首屈一指的冬季旅遊勝地。

雖然如此,並不表示北海道只適合冬季旅遊。春夏時分,旅客可更輕鬆地遊覽札幌。覆蓋山頂的皚皚白雪,換上蓊鬱林木和似錦繁花的景致(這裡的櫻花花季比日本其他地區遲一個月),而海鮮亦如常美味。此外,市內雲集型格的藝文空間、文青咖啡室和各式商店,整體旅遊體驗與日本其他高樓大廈林立的繁華都會截然不同。

以下的札幌旅遊攻略精選札幌及北海道其他地區的特色體驗,令你下一次的日本之旅行程更添精采。

刺激:莫埃來沼公園

這座位於札幌市內的公園由美籍日裔藝術家野口勇設計,高低起伏的人造山丘和草地上有多座藝術裝置及遊樂設施,是全年皆宜的怡人勝地。在隆冬季節若不到新雪谷滑雪,也可穿上雪靴、坐上雪橇或攜帶越野滑雪裝備,在這個優美的公園寫意遊玩。

Sapporo guide glass pyramid
Suiran Hotel Kyoto
廣告

咖啡室:森彥

手工咖啡室熱潮同樣席捲札幌。早在單一產地咖啡風靡東京之前,森彥咖啡室就在札幌一棟有70年歷史的古老房屋內,為客人奉上香濃咖啡和簡樸的甜品。其後咖啡室在一幢前身為倉庫的建築內開設分店Plantation,接著在城中各處陸續開設多家新潮有型的分店。

商店:Space 1-15

Space1-15位於札幌市中心,原本是一幢舊住宅大廈,後來變成購物商場。大廈內共有約20個單位,其中有獨立時裝店、咖啡室或藝廊等,例如403室是松風糖果店,而205室是北歐風陶瓷店Mano。部分商店平日不會開門營業,因此最好在周末前往該處。

活動:小樽雪燈之路

這裡並非要介紹著名的札幌雪祭,而是小樽雪燈之路。小樽位於札幌西北面約40公里外,每年2月均舉辦這個窩心怡人的另類冬季活動;屆時燈籠和蠟燭將照亮被白雪覆蓋的城鎮,街上還有冰屋、雪人和其他小型雪雕點綴其中。

溫泉:定山溪

要在嚴冬感受沁入心脾的溫暖,當然不能不到風景優美的定山溪去。從札幌市中心乘坐巴士前往當地,只需約一小時;當地許多酒店和傳統旅館均對外開放其溫泉浴場,即使並非住客亦可使用。如果時間充裕,不妨住宿一宵;浸罷溫泉後,在鋪設榻榻米的客房內,享用烹調精緻、菜式豐富的會席料理晚餐。

Sapporo guide

美食:味噌拉麵

光是提到札幌味噌拉麵,就足以教一眾拉麵迷垂涎三尺:彈性恰到好處的麵條,配上味噌湯底和叉燒片,再隨意加入少許粟米或一小塊北海道牛油,是寒冬裡的絕佳美食。薄野區的小巷拉麵街內,有17家小型拉麵店,任君選擇。

必試:成吉斯汗烤羊肉料理 

不少札幌旅遊攻略皆會將烤肉料理排入行程中。成吉斯汗烤羊肉料理的顧名思義來自成吉思汗的燒羊肉,是北海道的經典菜式,食客在桌上即席燒烤羊肉和各式蔬菜,絕對是寒冷冬夜的窩心美食。擁有超過60年歷史的成吉思汗燒羊肉店Daruma,店內有個馬蹄形櫃檯,供應成吉思汗羊肉燒烤之外,親切健談的廚師還會跟客人聊天,為食客帶來地道的札幌體驗。

Sapporo guide Zaborin

設計旅館:坐忘林

北海道有多家以型格當代設計風格演繹的傳統旅館。位於新雪谷的坐忘林是當地氣派最豪華的旅館之一,四周有恬靜的園林圍繞,15間套房均配備室內和陽台溫泉浴池,當然還有精緻上乘的懷石風料理供你品嚐。

美酒:威士忌

想對日本其中一家高級威士忌釀酒廠的歷史有更深入的了解,可往位於札幌以西50公里外的Nikka威士忌的余市釀酒廠參觀。釀酒廠內保存了自1930年代傳下來的釀酒桶,以及酒廠創辦人與蘇格蘭裔太太的故居供人參觀。此外,釀酒廠內還會舉行試酒會,並且發售只在余市釀酒廠才買得到的多款Nikka威士忌。

遠足:北海道白雪之旅

參加由Walk Japan舉辦的冬季長途遠足之旅,到鮮有遊人到訪的北海道東部探索一番。旅程全長八天,由導遊帶領,穿著雪鞋輕鬆走過被白雪覆蓋的北海道平原,體驗冬季的大自然氣息。

博物館:札幌藝術之森

這個藝術公園佔地40公頃,展品和設施應有盡有,在飄雪中漫步固然浪漫迷人,但如可不必受嚴寒之苦,在全年之中的其他時節造訪便更舒暢。第一站可遊覽野外美術館,然後前往工藝館參觀,並嘗試自製玻璃器皿、陶瓷和染布工藝,或在園內閒逛,沉醉於壯麗的四季美景之中。

自駕遊:留壽都

從札幌駕車朝西南方向行駛約90分鐘,即可抵達留壽都,是新雪谷之外的另一個戶外活動勝地。滑雪季節在4月下旬劃下句號,激流泛舟、釣魚和熱汽球等夏季活動隨即登場。即使天氣欠佳,留壽都亦提供大量室內親子活動,包括製作芝士和雪糕,以及手工藝工作坊等。

Seafood market in Sapporo

餐廳:札幌場外市場

如想拍得在Instagram上獲大量讚好的精采照片,那麼匯聚了約60家攤檔及小餐館、以活蟹和色彩斑斕的魚類為賣點的札幌場外市場,實在是不可錯過的地點。這裡亦是以相宜價格品嚐當地海鮮的好去處,你可以在這裡享用新鮮生蠔、時令壽司套餐,以及蓋上三文魚和吞拿魚等各式魚生、魚子和海膽的精美丼飯。

酒吧:Bar Yamazaki

這家懷舊酒吧位於薄野娛樂區,在札幌非常有名,原因包括200多款原創雞尾酒,其中面世數十年的招牌雞尾酒Sapporo,以伏特加調製,略帶甜味,由已故前店主山崎達郎創製,他以近百歲高齡仍然擔任調酒師,成為一時佳話。另外,酒吧更備有逾50款威士忌。

酒店:Unwind

2017年開幕的酒店Unwind毗鄰中島公園,有別於一般位於市中心的酒店,風格以山間旅館為藍本,採用古董家具、磚塊和木材佈置,酒吧的設計風格尤其突出,住客可在壁爐旁取暖;或在和暖的晚上到屋頂陽台小酌一杯雞尾酒,同樣舒適寫意。

Mount Moiwa delivers sweeping views north over Sapporo

最宜拍照於Instagram分享的地點:藻岩山

藻岩山聳立於札幌市西南部,可遠眺札幌北方全景。旅客乘搭登山纜車登上531米高的山峰,在日間可暢遊草木扶疏的森林,飽覽廣袤的札幌市貌和遠方的石狩灣。到了晚上,札幌市中心華燈璀璨,夜色更是迷人。

社區:中島公園

中島公園位於札幌市中心,是體驗文化的悠閒勝地。公園佔地21公頃,綠意盎然,還有可供划艇的池塘、日式庭園和茶室、天文台、戶外雕塑和演奏廳等景點。園內開設了不少舒適怡人的咖啡室如丸美珈琲店,以及Gallery SouTo Ov等小型當代藝廊。

Sapporo

商場:札幌工廠

札幌工廠因位於日本首家啤酒廠的原址而得名,現已變身為樓高四層、設有玻璃中庭的大型商場,看上去儼如巨型溫室,內有時裝店、家品店以至電影院,可謂包羅萬有。為了紀念商場的歷史根源,這裡設有啤酒館,售賣的啤酒與1870年代釀製的口味相若。

節慶:札幌丁香節

搜尋札幌的旅遊攻略,不難發現季節性盛放的花海畫面。如果你錯過了賞櫻季節,不妨多等幾個星期,改為賞丁香。札幌丁香節通常於5月下旬舉行,表示這個城市正式進入夏季。丁香節的歷史可以追溯至1959年,舉行地點分別為大通公園及川下公園。為遊人提供的活動包括音樂節、茶道儀式、競猜比賽及導賞團等,是享受戶外活動的好機會。

Osaka guide essentials

札幌實用資訊

● 抵達新千歲機場後,可乘搭每15分鐘一班的JR機場鐵路前往市中心的札幌站(車程37分鐘,每15分鐘一班)。中央巴士路線車程較長,但如途經所下榻的酒店,亦是不錯的選擇。

● 回程前,預留時間在機場購物。新千歲機場的大型商場網羅各式各樣手信,包括北海道品牌Royce朱古力、小樽啤酒和當地釀製的清酒,以至急凍大蟹、瓶裝海膽和北海道特產,讓你買個不亦樂乎。

● 於春、夏和秋季在札幌市內踏單車是怡人的體驗。Porocle社區單車相當便利,全日租金只需1,080日元(約80港元),市內設有數十個取車和還車站,更舉辦單車導賞團。

● 札幌的街道在冬季多數會結冰,如果沒穿上合適的雪鞋,行走時很容易滑倒。不想做滾地葫蘆的話,可到北海道的便利店購買防滑鞋底使用。

本文原於2017年12月刊登,並於20209月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Sapporo

The Sapporo Guide

From skiing to seafood and whisky tastings, you’re never short of things to do in Sapporo and the surrounding Hokkaido region, whatever time of year

A thick covering of snow, warming comfort food, stunning natural surroundings and easy access to some of Japan’s best ski resorts and hot springs have made Sapporo on the northernmost Japanese island of Hokkaido one of Asia’s top winter destinations. 

But that doesn’t mean it’s a winter-only destination. In spring and summer, Sapporo is easier to navigate, with the white snow capping the mountains replaced by lush greens and flowers in bloom – cherry blossom season arrives a month later than in southern Japan – while the seafood is as fresh as ever. Throw in cool art venues, hip cafes and shops, and you get a city break far away from the rest of glitzy, high-rise Japan.

Here’s a selection of the very best things to do in Sapporo and Hokkaido to add to your itinerary.

THE THRILL: Moerenuma Park

The Isamu Noguchi-designed Moerenuma Park in Sapporo is a lovely spot all year round, with art installations and play equipment spread over undulating man-made hills and lawns. In winter, eExplore the park – a laidback alternative to Niseko’s skiing – in snowshoes, sleds or cross-country skis.

Sapporo guide glass pyramid
Suiran Hotel Kyoto
Advertisement

THE COFFEE SHOP: Morihiko

The artisanal cafe bug has also bitten Sapporo. Morihiko opened here long before single-origin brews took Tokyo by storm, serving coffee and simple desserts in a creaking 70-year-old house. It’s since branched out with an ex-warehouse venue called Plantation and a couple of other hip outlets around the city.

THE SHOP: Space 1-15

Each of the roughly 20 flats at Space 1-15 – an old block-of-flats-turned-mall in central Sapporo – is an independent boutique, cafe or gallery: like the sweetshop Matsukaze in flat 403 or Scandinavian-influenced ceramic shop Mano in flat 205. Visit on a weekend, as some shops are closed during the week.

THE EVENT: Otaru Snow Light Path

No, not the famous Yuki Matsuri (Sapporo Snow Festival). Otaru, about 40 kilometres northwest of Sapporo, has a mellow winter alternative on evenings in February, when the Otaru Snow Light Path sees much of the snow-covered town lit by lanterns and candles, with igloos, snowmen and other small snow sculptures scattered about.

THE HOT SPRINGS: Jozankei

Just over an hour from central Sapporo by bus, the pretty Jozankei area is ideal for warming winter bones. Many of the town’s hotels and traditional ryokan open their natural hot spring baths to non-guests, although if you can, spend a night here to enjoy an intricate multi-course kaiseki dinner in a tatami-matted guestroom.

Sapporo guide

THE DISH: Miso Ramen

Sapporo miso ramen: the name alone makes ramen aficionados weak at the knees. The mix of slightly springy noodles, miso-flavored broth and roast pork slices – possibly topped with corn or a knob of Hokkaido butter – is perfect on a cold winter’s day. Try it at Ramen Yokocho, a narrow alley in the Susukino area with 17 tiny ramen joints to choose from.

THE RITUAL: Jingisukan

Among the things to do in Sapporo, jingisukan barbecue is a classic Hokkaido culinary experience, which takes its name from Genghis Khan. The grilled-at-your-table mix of lamb and vegetables is great comfort food on a cold night. For an authentic Sapporo experience, take a seat at the oval counter of Daruma, which has been serving the mutton barbecue with lively chatter for over 60 years.

Sapporo guide Zaborin

THE DESIGN RYOKAN: Zaborin

Hokkaido has some very contemporary takes on the traditional ryokan. In Niseko, the 15-suite Zaborin is one of the most luxurious on the scene, mixing peaceful wooded surroundings and in-room (and on-balcony) hot spring baths with fine, kaiseki-style dining.

THE DRINK: Whisky

Nikka Whisky’s Yoichi distillery, about 50 kilometres west of Sapporo, is a chance to learn about the roots of one of the country’s top whisky makers. The distillery includes the original vats from the 1930s and the house that the founder and his Scottish wife once lived in. Better still, it also does tastings and sells Nikka varieties only available in Yoichi.

THE WALK: Hokkaido Snow Tour

Explore rarely visited east Hokkaido with this wintry Walk Japan tour. The guided eight-day walk – all while wearing snowshoes – is a gentle hike through Hokkaido’s snow-covered flatlands and pristine winter environment.

THE MUSEUM: Sapporo Art Park

Snowshoeing around the Art Park in winter is a treat, but with 40 hectares packed full of things to see and do, there’s no reason not to visit during the rest of the year when you don’t have to worry about frostbite. Start with the Sculpture Garden and the Craft Hall, then try making your own glassware, ceramics and dyed cloth. Alternatively, wander around and soak up the vast natural surroundings in their seasonal glory.

THE ROAD TRIP: Rusutsu

A 90 minute drive southwest of Sapporo, Rusutsu is an alternative to ever-popular Niseko for a hit of the great outdoors. From late April, the skiing is replaced by summer activities that range from rafting and fishing to hot-air ballooning. And when the weather isn’t cooperating, Rusutsu has plenty of family-friendly indoor options, including cheesemaking, ice cream-making and craft workshops.

Sapporo seafood market

THE RESTAURANT: Jyogai Ichiba Seafood Market

A contender for Sapporo’s most Instagrammable site because of the 60-ish stalls and small restaurants full of fresh crab and colourful fish, Jyogai Ichiba is also a great place to sample Sapporo’s seafood without breaking the budget. You can get fresh oysters, in-season sushi sets and great donburi – bowls of rice topped with a mix of raw cuts of fish like salmon and tuna, fish roe and sea urchin.

THE BAR: Bar Yamazaki

A Sapporo classic, Bar Yamakazi is an old-fashioned bar in the Susukino entertainment district that has several claims to fame. The first is a menu that features more than 200 original cocktails, including the signature Sapporo, a slightly sweet vodka-based concoction created decades ago by the late owner, Tatsuro Yamazaki, a legend in Japan’s bar scene who could be found mixing drinks here into his 90s. To that you can add more than 50 whiskies.

THE HOTEL: Unwind

Modelled on a mountain lodge, Unwind, which opened in 2017 close to Nakajima Park, is not your typical city centre hotel. Design-wise, expect antique furnishings and lots of brick and wood – especially in the bar, where you can get comfy by an open fire. On a warmer night, take your cocktails to the rooftop terrace.

Aerial view Sapporo

THE INSTAGRAM SPOT: Mount Moiwa

From its position in the southwest of the city, Mount Moiwa delivers sweeping views north over Sapporo. Reached by a ropeway, the 531-metre-tall peak rewards daytime visits with a landscape of thick forest, which gives way to the sprawling city and a far-off glimpse of Ishikari Bay. By night, it’s even better, revealing a tapestry of lights over central Sapporo.

THE NEIGHBOURHOOD: Nakajima Park

In central Sapporo, Nakajima Park is a laidback spot full of places to soak up culture. Besides the greenery, the 21-hectare park has attractions including a boating pond, a Japanese garden and teahouse, an observatory, outdoor sculptures and a concert hall. Surrounding it are mellow cafes like Marumi Coffee Stand and small contemporary galleries such as Gallery Sou and To Ov.

Shopping mall in Sapporo
Credit: Blanscape / Shutterstock

THE MALL: Sapporo Factory

Despite being a four-level glass atrium that resembles a giant greenhouse, Sapporo Factory actually takes its name from its location, on the site of Japan’s first brewery. The complex mixes everything from fashion boutiques and interior design shops to a multiscreen cinema. Giving a nod to its roots, Sapporo Factory even has a shop that sells beer brewed specially to taste like the original batches from the 1870s.

THE FESTIVAL: Sapporo Lilac Festival

Photographing seasonal blooms is high among the popular things to do in Sapporo. If you miss the cherry blossoms, wait a couple of weeks and see the lilacs instead. Taking place at the end of May, the Sapporo Lilac Festival marks the official start of summer in the city. The festival, held in Odori Park and Kawashimo Park, dates back to 1959. Visitors can enjoy a music festival, a tea ceremony and other events including quizzes and guided tours.

Osaka guide essentials icons

Sapporo essentials

  • When you arrive at New Chitose Airport, the best way to get into the city centre is on the JR Airport Express to Sapporo Station (37 minutes; every 15 minutes), but the slower Chuo Bus route is also an option if your hotel is on one of its stops.
  • New Chitose Airport’s sprawling souvenir mall has got all the bases covered for pre-flight shopping, from local Royce chocolate, Otaru Beer and regional sake to giant frozen crab, bottled sea urchin and many other Hokkaido specialities.
  • Sapporo is a lovely city to cycle around in spring, summer and autumn. For ¥1,080 (HK$80) per day and with dozens of pick-up and drop-off ports around the city, the Porocle community bicycle system is handy. It also organises guided cycling tours.
  • Walking Sapporo’s icy winter roads can be a challenge without proper footwear. To avoid slipping, buy a pair of non-slip cleats in Hokkaido’s convenience stores and stick them to the soles of your shoes.

This story was originally published in December 2017 and updated in September 2020

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book