名古屋

名古屋旅遊指南

我們的名古屋旅遊攻略精心搜羅大量景點,從古代城堡到最紅的「打卡」寵物咖啡館,務求為你帶來難忘的旅行體驗。

名古屋這個城市,通常是旅客在往來東京京都的途中,透過新幹線的窗戶往外匆匆一瞥的浮光掠影。

這座城市以製造業和汽車生產而聞名,令人很難想像會吸引旅客聯群結隊前來。但這座日本第三大都市亦有其獨特的魅力,有不少值得一遊的好去處,從市中心歷史悠久的多層高城堡,到令人垂涎的赤味噌烏冬,當然還有不容錯過的寵物咖啡店,同時也是探索中山道古道沿途古鎮的最佳門戶。

以下我們為你精心挑選多個訪遊名古屋的賞心樂事,不妨加入你的下一趟行程內。

遊戲:Pachinko彈珠遊戲機

流行日本的pachinko彈珠遊戲機,誕生地原來就是名古屋。時至今日,名古屋的中區仍有不少震耳欲聾、煙霧彌漫、霓虹燈閃爍的pachinko彈珠遊戲機中心,裡面擠滿一臉認真的客人。如果你是好奇而勇於嘗新的旅客,就要到Zent Nagoya Kita去,這間店號稱日本最大的pachinko彈珠遊戲中心,設有超過1,200台pachinko彈珠遊戲機。

Nagoya guide cosplay
Kobe Mouriya
廣告

次文化代表: Cosplay角色扮演

名古屋的次文化亦相當有名,大須商店街就是世界Cosplay高峰會的發源地;每年夏天,這裡都會舉辦動漫人物角色扮演的活動。這個活動雖屬小眾興趣,但卻深受歡迎。如果並非在夏季前來的話,亦可前往大須區的日本漫畫學校,報名參加專業的日本動漫繪畫班

美食: 早晨套餐

好奇要如何暢遊名古屋?試試像當地人般生活吧。按照獨有的早餐文化,到當地的咖啡店排隊吃早晨套餐,通常包括一杯咖啡、一籃免費的多士和一隻水煮蛋。不妨到市內最受歡迎的連鎖咖啡店Komeda Coffee一嚐名古屋式的早餐。

最多人拍照分享的地點: Mocha

名古屋2017年開幕的貓咖啡店Mocha住了許多可愛指數爆燈的貓咪,令人流連忘返。客人悠閒品茶之際,看著貓咪在桌子之間遊走,或在金色的吊籃中睡懶覺,都會忍不住拿起iPhone拼命拍照。上午11時和晚上7時是餵貓時段,貓痴們絕不能錯過。

Nagoya guide plum blossom

賞花: 梅花盛放

櫻花在春天盛放,由1月底開始,便有機會在名古屋欣賞花海美景,白色、粉紅和紅色的梅花一齊盛開,美麗又壯觀。最佳的賞梅地點包括名古屋城以及東山動植物園

習俗: 吃麵時發出聲音

到名古屋若不吃一碗地道的味噌烏冬,整個旅程就不算圓滿。前往市內著名的烏冬連鎖店山本屋本店任何一間分店,點一份赤味噌煮烏冬,品嚐充滿嚼勁的烏冬和香濃的赤味噌湯。吃時要學其他本地人一樣,記得發出聲音,表示你十分享受烏冬的美味。

餐廳: 德川園花園餐廳

德川園花園餐廳可說是名古屋最有情調的地點,可以飽覧美麗的湖景和江戶時代的庭園景色。餐廳由幾座日本傳統建築組成,外面環繞著以燈籠照明的碎石小路。這間花園餐廳供應法式料理,並設有現代化的日式茶室。

主題樂園: 樂高樂園

一家大小來到名古屋又對行程了無頭緒?日本第一座樂高樂園於2017年4月在名古屋開幕,園內的迷你樂園裡有多座由樂高積木砌成的著名地標,包括東京塔、京都的清水寺和名古屋城等建築,合共使用了1,000萬塊樂高積木,製作精美,不容錯過。

Nagoya guide ninja

地標: 名古屋城

名古屋城理所當然就是名古屋最具代表性的地標。這座城堡於1612年建成(於二次大戰後幾乎要整座重建),除了歷史悠久之外,還有不少特色;數年前這裡開設了一所忍者訓練學校,每到周末,城堡還舉行忍者表演。不妨留意城堡屋簷上的金鯱(鯱是神話動物,是一尾虎頭魚身的鯉魚)造型裝飾,這是14世紀時封建藩主權勢與地位的象徵。

自駕遊:中山道

古老的中山道連接風光如畫的馬籠宿和妻籠宿,舊日風貌仍妥善保存,最宜在寒冬和炎夏之間的怡人季節前往一遊,充分享受遠離城市繁囂的悠閒。古道全長八公里,曾是連接京都和江戶(現為東京)的古驛道,漫步其中可飽覽綠意盎然的郊外風光。小鎮的石板路兩旁,歷史悠久的木建築林立,部分現為傳統旅館和咖啡室。

節慶:伊賀上野忍者節

位於名古屋西南面90分鐘車程的伊賀是忍者的故鄉。在日本封建時代,伊賀流忍術訓練出來的密探或殺手,以行動神出鬼沒、身手敏捷、詭計多端而聞名。忍者節於4月上旬至5月上旬舉行,期間市內每個周末均會舉辦活動,將傳統發揚光大:遊客可裝扮成忍者穿梭於伊賀市區,學習擲飛鏢和吹箭,親自體驗各種忍者秘術。

美食:炸雞翼

對於一個以美食聞名的國家而言,雞翼似乎難登大雅之堂,但名古屋卻是例外。炸雞翼是當地有名的家常美食,配上一杯啤酒,更添滋味。將雞翼炸至外皮略脆,淋上以醬油、米酒、醋和大蒜調製的酸甜醬汁,最後灑上胡椒和白芝麻,令人食指大動。要一嚐滋味,可前往以名古屋為大本營、在城中有數十家分店的連鎖居酒屋Sekai no Yamachan。另外還有1950年代開業至今的伍味酉,這裡供應以優質名古屋交趾雞炮製的烤雞肉串,以及味噌燉菜和味噌炸豬扒等名物。

酒店:京屋旅館

京屋旅館是間融入現代風格的傳統日式旅館,讓旅客於名古屋市中心享受難得的恬靜。九間客房均採用榻榻米地板和格子趟門等經典設計,配以現代化的室外木地板和精巧日式庭園景致。旅館設有公共熱水澡堂,並供應以時令食材入饌的精緻晚餐,多道菜式以小碟盛載,傾力呈獻上乘的傳統日式旅館體驗。

社區:常滑市

從名古屋市中心驅車南下約45分鐘,即可抵達日本的陶瓷名鎮常滑市。遊客可到訪雅致的磚砌工作坊,選購當地出品的常滑燒陶藝製品,或參加陶器製作班。春夏兩季,還可到坂井海灘挖蜆,親自體驗這種深受日本兒童喜愛的活動。

購物區:大須商店街

大須商店街已有400年歷史,本是為服務區內佛寺(包括大須觀音寺)而設,後來逐漸發展成一條熱鬧繁榮的商店街。這裡約有1,200家店舖,從傳統手工藝品店,到cosplay角色扮演道具店,包羅萬有。區內每年舉行多項慶典,包括4月上旬的春祭、7月下旬的cosplay角色扮演盛會,還有10月以街頭藝人表演為主題的大須大道町人祭等。大須觀音寺一般於每月18日和28日舉行廟會,是搜羅紀念品的好去處。

Osaka guide essentials

名古屋實用資訊

● 坐飛機抵達名古屋中部國際機場之後,乘搭名鐵機場線鐵路,不到30分鐘就可抵達名古屋。乘的士則相當昂貴,車資一般超過13,000日元。

● 名古屋與日本其他城市都有便捷的交通網絡連接:最快的新幹線到京都只需30多分鐘,前往東京則需約100分鐘。

● 名古屋城是觀光首選,有興趣和當地人接觸,同時順便對城堡有多一點認識的話,不妨參加由Aichi Goodwill Guides Network提供的免費英語導賞團。

● 名古屋市內交通便利,共有六條地鐵線。環狀的名城線可前往多個主要景點。在市區到處參觀遊覽,最好購買地鐵的一日全線通用車票。

本文原於2017年12月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nagoya

The Nagoya Guide

From historic castle to Instagrammable pet cafes, our ultimate guide for what to do in Nagoya will ensure you have an unforgettable trip

Nagoya is usually a city that visitors gaze at only briefly through the window of the bullet train as they whizz between Tokyo and Kyoto.

Its reputation as a manufacturing centre and a hub for carmakers makes it hard to imagine visitors arriving in droves. But Japan’s third-largest city has its charms, with numerous reasons to visit – from its historic multi-tiered castle in the heart of the city to the delights of slurping its delicious red miso noodles, not forgetting its pet cafes. It’s also a perfect jumping off point for exploring the preserved towns along the old Nakasendo highway

Here’s a selection of the very best suggestions of what to do in Nagoya during your next trip.

THE GAME: Pachinko

One of Nagoya’s more unusual claims to fame is that it is the birthplace of pachinko, the Japanese pinball game. Today, a concentration of eardrum-burstingly loud, smoky, neon-lit pachinko parlours – crammed with very serious-looking gamers – can be found in the Naka district. The curious (and the brave) should visit Zent Nagoya Kita, billed as the biggest in Japan, with 1,200-plus machines.

Nagoya guide
Kobe beef
Advertisement

THE SUB CULTURE: Cosplay

Nagoya has a reputation for sub cultures – the Osu Shopping Arcade is the birthplace of the World Cosplay Summit, which each summer celebrates the niche activity of dressing up as cartoon characters. Those visiting out of season can take part in a professional manga drawing class at a local manga school in the Osu district.

THE RITUAL: Breakfast

If you’re wondering what to do in Nagoya, do as the locals do and follow the very specific breakfast ritual, which involves queuing at a local cafe for a ‘morning set’ – normally coffee plus a basket of toast and a boiled egg. Look out for outlets of the popular Komeda cafe chain across the city.

THE MOST INSTAGRAMMABLE SPOT: Mocha

Head to Mocha, a cat cafe opened in 2017 with huge cute appeal thanks to its feline residents. The cats wander among the tables or lounge in gold hanging baskets as customers sip tea, causing their iPhones to go into meltdown due to photography overload. Hardcore cat lovers shouldn’t miss the 11am and 7pm feeding times.

Nagoya guide

THE FLOWER: Plum Blossoms

TheWinter is too early for the iconic cherry blossoms erupt in spring – but it’s possible to enjoy Nagoya’s flowers from late January, with the arrival of the much-revered plum blossoms. Top spots for viewing the flowers – which come in a spectrum of hues from white to pink to red – include the grounds of Nagoya Castle and Higashiyama Zoo and Botanical Gardens.

THE SOUND: Noodle Slurping

A visit to Nagoya is incomplete without a bowl of earthy miso noodles. Join the city’s chorus of slurping noodle lovers by heading to the nearest branch of the city’s famed noodle chain Yamamotoya Honten and ordering a dish such as miso-nikomi udon – thick noodles stewed in a rich red miso broth.

THE RESTAURANT: Garden Restaurant Tokugawaen

Perhaps Nagoya’s most atmospheric venue, Garden Restaurant Tokugawaen is a serene enclave overlooking an elegant lake and Edo-era landscaped gardens, complete with a network of traditional Japanese buildings linked by lantern-lit stone garden walkways. French food is served in the grand restaurant, while there are also contemporary Japanese tearooms.

THE THEME PARK: Legoland

Families wondering what to do in Nagoya should take note that the city is home to Japan’s first Legoland theme park, which opened in 2017. Don’t miss Miniland, created from 10 million plastic Lego blocks, with highlights including mini versions of Tokyo Tower, Kyoto’s Kiyomizudera temple and Nagoya Castle.

Nagoya guide

THE LANDMARK: Nagoya Castle

Nagoya’s castle is one of the city’s most iconic landmarks. Completed in 1612 (although rebuilt almost entirely after the Second World War), Nagoya Castle has plenty more than just a historical atmosphere: a ninja training school opened a few years ago, and every weekend the castle hosts a ninja show. Spot the castle’s golden kinshachi (mythical tiger-headed carp) from the 14th century, which symbolised the feudal lord’s authority.

THE ROAD TRIP: The Nakasendo

During that sweet spot between chilly winter and sweltering summer, the preserved stretch of the old Nakasendo highway between the picturesque towns of Magome and Tsumago is perfect for a break away from the city. Part of a route that once connected Kyoto with Edo (today’s Tokyo), the eight-kilometre walk between Magome and Tsumago takes in lush countryside, while the towns’ cobbled streets are lined with historical wooden buildings, some functioning as traditional inns and cafes.

THE FESTIVAL: Iga Ueno Ninja Festa

Iga, 90 minutes southwest of Nagoya, is ninja country. During Japan’s feudal era, the Iga-ryu school of ninjutsu built a legendary reputation for the stealth, speed and guile of its spies and assassins. On weekends from early April until early May, the town celebrates this heritage with the month-long Iga Ueno Ninja Festa – visitors can wander Iga dressed as a ninja, learn how to throw shuriken, use blowguns and sample other dark arts mastered by the ninja.

THE DISH: Tebasaki

For a country with such vaunted cuisine, chicken wings might seem out of place. Not in Nagoya. Tebasaki is one of the city’s great comfort foods: chicken wingtips deep-fried until the skin is slightly crispy, then dipped in a sweet-savoury glaze that includes soy sauce, rice wine, vinegar and garlic, and given a sprinkle of pepper before a final showering with white sesame seeds. It’s beer’s best friend. For a taste, head to Sekai no Yamachan izakaya, a Nagoya-based chain with dozens of branches across the city. Or there are restaurants like Gomitori, in business since the 1950s, which also does yakitori using premium Nagoya Cochin chicken, as well as regional staples like miso stew and miso katsu.

THE HOTEL: Kyoya Ryokan

A traditional inn with contemporary touches, the nine-room Kyoya Ryokan provides a touch of tranquillity in the heart of Nagoya. The rooms blend classic design features like tatami mat flooring and sliding screen doors with modern wooden decking and sculpted garden views. And with piping-hot communal baths and multi-course dinners featuring a succession of small dishes using in-season ingredients, Kyoya goes all out on the best ryokan traditions.

THE NEIGHBOURHOOD: Tokoname

Around 45 minutes south of central Nagoya, the town of Tokoname is all about ceramics. You can visit pretty brick-built workshops here, pick up local Tokoname-ware and take part in a pottery class. In spring and summer there’s also the chance to try digging for clams at Sakai beach – a popular activity among Japanese kids.

THE SHOPPING DISTRICT: Osu Kannon

Now 400 years old, the Osu Kannon shopping district initially served the area’s Buddhist temples (including the one it was named after). With 1,200 businesses, ranging from traditional crafts to cosplay shops, it’s since turned into a wonderful mish-mash of anything goes. That includes festivals like its spring matsuri in early April, a cosplay extravaganza in late July and a festival of street performers in October, as well as the flea market at the Osu Kannon temple which normally take place on the 18th and 28th of every month – making it a good place to dig up a souvenir.

Osaka guide essentials icons

Nagoya essentials

  • Arriving at Chubu Centrair International Airport, it’s fewer than 30 minutes by train on the Meitetsu Kuko line to Nagoya. A taxi ride into town is pricey: generally more than ¥13,000.
  • Nagoya is well connected with the rest of Japan: the fastest bullet train to Kyoto takes just over half an hour, while Tokyo can be reached in 100 minutes.
  • A visit to Nagoya Castle should be high on the list: those interested in meeting a local (and learning a bit about the castle) should join a free English-speaking tour offered by the Aichi Goodwill Guides Network.
  • Nagoya is easy to navigate, with a network of six subway lines. The Meijo line forms a loop, making it easy to access a number of key attractions. A one-day subway pass is good value for exploring.

This story was originally published in December 2017 and updated in September 2020

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book