福岡

福岡旅遊指南

我們整理了以下的福岡旅遊攻略,帶你闖進放滿《寵物小精靈》角色玩偶的隱秘酒吧,造訪幕府時代的城堡和搜尋地道美饌

位於日本九州的文化重鎮福岡市朝氣勃勃而且規劃完善,你可輕易地暢遊集中於市內的各景點,也是探索九州島南部的跳板。即使只是初次到訪福岡,已能理解此地為何常被人譽為宜居城市;正因如此,福岡是日本人口增長最迅速的城市。只要想到此城聞名的拉麵、幕府時代城堡和蒸氣氤氳的溫泉,便讓人恨不得立即出發到福岡。

以下的福岡旅遊攻略精選福岡及九州其他地區的特色體驗,令你下一次的日本之旅行程更添精采。

體驗:九州七星列車

九州七星列車對福岡來說,好比巴黎和伊斯坦堡的東方快車,代表一趟豪華列車之旅。日本人對高速列車十分著迷,其實他們同樣熱愛慢速列車;而乘搭日本最豪華的慢速列車之旅,絕對是無可比擬的享受。列車服務自2017年推出,火車環繞九州走一圈,從博多向鹿兒島進發,途經落日的海岸再於黃昏時份到達熊本。華麗的車廂後面設有落地大窗,讓乘客悠閒飽覽九州最瑰麗醉人的風光。

酒店:福岡麗都山頂大飯店及水療中心

在電影裡作道具用的枱燈、由二手物料升級再造的懷舊扶手椅,以及設計博物館收藏的座椅,並非日本酒店常見的家具陳設,而將洋溢後現代風格的溫泉和北歐式水療中心共冶一爐的,更是絕無僅有。客人當然可以在福岡麗都山頂大飯店及水療中心入住有障子門和榻榻米鋪地的傳統日式客房,但更精明的選擇,是下榻可俯覽福岡市風光的套房。

Calbee snacks Japan
廣告

避世勝地: 屋久島

屋久島引人入勝的雪松森林,是吉卜力工作室製作的大熱動畫電影《幽靈公主》的靈感泉源。島嶼不但有獼猴、麋鹿和蜻蜓等野生動物,更有被聯合國教科文組織列為世界遺產的美景,日本人對這一切無不深深著迷。Sankara Hotel & Spa酒店及水療中心完美呈現每個細節,同樣教人歎為觀止;無邊際泳池可遠眺種子島太空中心發射台,景觀別具特色,非一般酒店可比。

隱秘酒吧:Bar Kara Kara

踏入鹿兒島南面天文館商店街區的酒吧Bar Kara Kara (電話:+81 099-223-0214),自會發現當中別有洞天:酒吧鋪天蓋地擺滿塑膠芭比娃娃,以及《寵物小精靈》、漫畫角色和超級英雄的玩偶和模型。至於這是否媚俗的招徠手段,則是見仁見智。不過當地人大多不認識這家小巧的酒吧,令遊客坐上糖果色扶手椅時,不禁有點洋洋自得。

Fukuoka guide Tomaya tea ceremony

旅館: Yamabiko旅館

離福岡往南約三小時南程的黑川鄉鎮,是著名的黑川溫泉的所在地,鎮上聚集了不少木建旅館、溫泉和被竹林環抱的天然浴池,在旅遊旺季時相當熱鬧。不妨下榻古色古香而環境清幽的Yamabiko旅館,在溫泉浸到渾身暖洋洋之後,穿上浴衣,悠閒地細嚐有刺身、香魚及和牛的會席料理。

市場: 平戶海傍瀨戶市場

這個魚市場人流不多,以售賣區內美味特產飛魚著稱。如果你對平戶這個名字感到似曾相識,也許是因為這個位於長崎西北面的小島,昔日是耶穌會傳教士登陸日本的首站,而這段故事早前被名導演Martin Scorsese改編成電影《沉默》,由男星Liam Neeson主演。

Fukuoka guide

主題公園: 豪斯登堡

豪斯登堡主題公園毗鄰佐世保市,園內如假包換地將荷蘭生活風貌重構:有大片種滿鬱金香的廣袤花圃,風車的扇葉隨風舞動,還有一座實物大小的王宮,以自荷蘭運來的石頭逐塊砌成。園區裡的商人屋舍和倉庫內其實建有眾多虛擬實境遊戲設施,包括過山車和的士高,充滿驚喜。

餐廳: Suito Fukuoka 

精緻的餐廳Suito Fukuoka只設12個座位,賓客得以在極近距離下觀賞廚師在開放式廚房裡大顯身手。餐廳樓上經重新裝修後,成為烹飪學校,教授如何製作章魚燒、捲壽司和品嚐明太子(即鹽醃的鱈魚子)等課程。

Fukuoka guide ramen

美食:馬肉刺身

有些人也許覺得吃馬肉有點噁心,不過如果你可以接受馬肉料理的話,那就要到福岡南面的海邊城市熊本去(乘新幹線可於一小時內到達)。各式各樣的馬肉料理是熊本的名菜之一,包括馬肉刺身、馬肉及呈粉紅色的櫻花肉。將經過冰鎮的生馬肉切成薄片,以紫蘇葉包住,再蘸蒜、山葵或生薑調味的甜醬油同吃,別有一番風味。菅乃屋是馬肉料理專門店,在熊本有四家分店,其中一家在福岡的JR博多城。

Street view on Fukuoka

自駕遊:日田市

江戶時代,幕府將軍根據京都及其商業文化,作為直接管轄的大分縣日田市的建設藍圖,使這座城市贏得了「小京都」稱號,舊城區豆田町至今依然保留了多座白色外牆的「町屋」建築,發思古之幽情。町屋內的泥牆上雕刻了富有想像力的「鏝繪」浮雕,值得細心欣賞。

Yabusame Archery Performed In Yanagawa

節慶:博多咚打鼓節

日本黃金周(由4月底至5月初的多個節日組成的公眾假期)迎來最受歡迎的咚打鼓節,吸引超過200萬人參與盛事。這個節慶歷史悠久,可遠溯至江戶時代(1603至1868年),當時福岡博多地區的商人為了向領主致敬而舉行新年巡遊。現在,當地人會穿上傳統服飾,沿街彈奏三味線、打鼓或敲木勺,營造歡樂氣氛。

Temple in Fukuoka

最宜拍照分享至Instagram的地點:櫛田神社

既然是福岡旅遊攻略,當然不能不提引人入勝的夏季祭典「博多祇園山笠祭」。至於在夏季以外的時節到訪福岡,其實可以前往擁有1,260年歷史的櫛田神社,感受祭典的氣氛。神社內放置了高達13米的「飾山笠」花車,上面飾以歷史和神話故事的精采場景,記得在花車前留影才算不枉此行。

社區:大名

福岡的大名社區網羅了高級商戶和流行時裝連鎖店,但也是獨立的嘻哈古著店、人氣酒吧和餐廳的聚集之地,人氣商戶包括釜喜利烏冬無盡藏。二手動漫商品店Mandarake,更是日本動漫迷必到的朝聖地。

遠足:九重山

大分縣的九重山既是九州島上的最高峰,也是火山風景區,綠意盎然的林木和氤氳繚繞的火山口蔚為奇觀。攀登高峰需要數小時,但由於火車及巴士班次稀少,前往登山起點的遠足徑才是真正的考驗。每到6月,野生杜鵑花漫山遍開,海拔1,791米的九重山變成一片紅色和粉紅色的花海,令登山客頓然忘卻辛勞。不過如未能把握時節到訪也沒關係,九重山帶給遊客的無邊際壯麗景觀乃全年無休。

熊本城曾於1994年的電影
《Godzilla vs Space Godzilla》內出現

城堡:熊本城

熊本城最初是建於15世紀的防禦工事,1877年,西鄉隆盛於西南戰爭時將城堡包圍,圍城時城中的天守閣被焚毀。雖然熊本城於2016年因地震受到破壞,某些部分仍開放供遊人參觀,例如加藤神社。熊本城需要一段頗長的時間才能回復原貌,不過有賴當局的努力,第一階段的完工範圍已於2019年向公眾開放,當局亦積極募集資金以繼續進行修復工程。

Osaka guide essentials

福岡實用資訊

● 從福岡機場乘坐巴士前往市中心(博多區)約16分鐘;或從國內航線大樓乘搭地鐵,車程僅需六分鐘。機場提供免費穿梭巴士來往兩座航線大樓。

● 福岡悠遊卡使用簡便,可於一天內無限次乘搭巴士、鐵路和地鐵。另有一款票價較高、包含太宰府天滿宮入場費的悠遊卡可供選擇。

● 福岡人Emiko和其加拿大籍丈夫Nick打造旅遊資訊網站fukuoka-now.com,為旅客持續發放此地的最新消息和實用貼士,值得參考。

● 福岡一帶於6月上旬至中旬進入梅雨季節,天氣陰晴不定。這段期間到訪福岡,最好帶備輕巧摺傘。市內所有便利商店均有出售價格廉宜的雨傘。

本文原於2017年12月刊登,並於20209月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Fukuoka

The Fukuoka Guide

Our guide on the best things to do in Fukuoka, including secret bars full of Pokémon, shogun-era castles and the best local delicacies

Visit Fukuoka once and you’ll soon understand why the city ranks highly for quality of life. Compact, young and convenient, Fukuoka also has the fastest growing population in Japan – plus it’s the jumping off point for exploring the southern island of Kyushu. Add to that tasty ramen, shogun-era castles and steamy onsen and you’ll see why Fukuoka deserves consideration for your next Japan trip.

Here’s a selection of the very best things to do in Fukuoka and wider Kyushu to add to your itinerary.

THE EXPERIENCE: Seven Stars in Kyushu

The Seven Stars in Kyushu is to Fukuoka what the Orient Express is to Paris and Istanbul. The Japanese are obsessed with bullet trains, but few realise they’re equally smitten with slow ones – and the country’s foremost luxury cruiser is a treat. Launched in 2017, the locomotive follows a loop to Kagoshima, before trundling up the sunset coast to Kumamoto. Inside, the deluxe cabins’ standout feature is an expansive rear-facing window, parading Kyushu’s greatest hits in slow motion.

THE HOTEL: Agora Fukuoka Hilltop Hotel and Spa

Cinema prop lamps, upcycled retro armchairs and design museum chairs aren’t the norm when it comes to Japanese hotels, but neither is a postmodern onsen that’s more in keeping with a Scandi spa. At Agora Fukuoka Hilltop Hotel and Spa, it’s still possible to reserve a traditional room with shoji doors and tatami flooring, but the smart money is on a suite with pinch-yourself views across the top of Fukuoka’s skyline.

Fukuoka guide sunset cityscape from Fukuoka Tower Observatory
Calbee Snacks
Advertisement

THE ESCAPE: Yakushima Island

Yakushima’s haunting cedar forest inspired Studio Ghibli’s anime hit Princess Mononoke. While the Japanese fetishise the island’s Unesco-listed wonder, its macaques, deer and dragonflies; equally spectacular is the Sankara Hotel & Spa, a hotel prone to showing off its best bits at every opportunity. The infinity pool, with a view to the Tanegashima Space Center launch pad, is fit for royalty as well as astronauts.

THE SECRET BAR: Bar Kara Kara

Like tumbling down the rabbit hole, Bar Kara Kara (+81 099-223-0214), in Tenmonkan district of the southern city of Kagoshima,  is covered from top-to-toe with plastic Barbies and Pokémon, manga characters and superhero figures. Kitsch gimmick or not, few locals know about it, which makes it all the sweeter when you land a candy-coloured armchair at the teensy-tiny bar.

Fukuoka guide tea ceremony

THE RYOKAN: Yamabiko Ryokan

Kurokawa Onsen, a small town of immaculately packed with timber-framed ryokans, hot springs and bamboo-trimmed natural pools about two hours south of Fukuoka, can get a little tense in high season. Get hot-pink in your yukata gown instead at Yamabiko Ryokan, a time-warp inn set back from the main throng; then dine on its kaiseki tasting menu of sashimi, sweetfish and wagyu.

THE MARKET: Hirado Seaside Seto Market

Hirado Seaside Seto Market is a fish bazaar that comes without the crowds and is famous for the region’s delicious flying fish. If Hirado sounds familiar, the small island northwest of Nagasaki was where Jesuit missionaries first landed, a story now retold in Martin Scorsese’s Silence, starring Liam Neeson.

Park in Fukuoka

THE THEME PARK: Huis Ten Bosch

A theme park near Sasebo, Huis Ten Bosch recreates Dutch life – from fields of tulips and sail-flailing windmills to a full-size royal palace built brick-by-brick using stone from the Netherlands. Inside, merchant houses and warehouses are the absurd home of virtual reality rollercoasters and a disco.

THE RESTAURANT: Suito Fukuoka 

Dinky 12-seater Suito Fukuoka is more than a chef’s table placing you in arm’s reach of the open kitchen. The upstairs has been recast as a low-key cookery school, offering classes in making takoyaki (fried, battered octopus balls), sushi rolling and mentaiko (salted pollock roe) tastings.

Fukuoka guide Ramen

THE DISH: Basashi

The idea of eating horse meat makes some people squeamish. But if you’re open-minded about equine delicacies, then the place to visit is Kumamoto, a coastal city 90 minutes south of Fukuoka. Known variously as basashi (horse sashimi), baniku (horse meat) or sakura niku (cherry blossom meat) for its pink colour, it is a delicacy in the prefecture. Thin slices of chilled raw horse meat are served wrapped in shiso leaf and dipped in sweet soy sauce seasoned with garlic, wasabi or fresh ginger. Suganoya serves locally raised horse meat in four locations in Kumamoto and one in JR Hakata City in Fukuoka.

Street view on Fukuoka
Credit: JTB/Argusphoto

THE ROAD TRIP: Hita

During the Edo period, the city of Hita in Oita prefecture came under direct control of the shogun and was modelled after Kyoto and its merchant culture. Today, the city is known as Little Kyoto, and its history can still be felt in the architecture of the white-walled machiya-style townhouses of Mameda Old Town. Visitors should pay special attention to the kote-e – imaginative reliefs sculpted into the clay walls of the houses.

Yabusame Archery Performed In Yanagawa
Credit: The Asahi Shimbun/Getty Images

THE FESTIVAL: Hakata Dontaku

With more than two million attendees, Dontaku is by far the most popular event during Japan’s Golden Week, a holiday usually held during late April and the early May. The festival dates back to the Edo period (1603-1868), when the merchants of Fukuoka’s Hakata district organised a New Year’s parade in honour of their feudal lord. Today, locals dressed in traditional costumes – some playing the shamisen or beating drums; others clapping wooden spoons – join in the merrymaking.

Temple in Fukuoka
Credit: Sanga Park/Shutterstock

THE INSTAGRAM SPOT: Kushida Shrine 

Held in the summer, the thrilling Hakata Gion Yamakasa festival is one of the best things to do in Fukuoka – but you can still get a feel for it year-round at the 1,260-year-old Kushida Shrine. Take your picture in front of the shrine’s kazariyama, a 13-metre-high float decorated with fantastical scenes of historical and mythical events.

THE NEIGHBOURHOOD: Daimyo

Fukuoka’s Daimyo neighbourhood has it all: high-end shops and fast-fashion chains to independent, vintage hip-hop fashion retailers, as well as some of the best bars and restaurants including Kamakiri Udon and Mujinzo. For fans of Japanese anime and manga, Mandarake, a second-hand anime goods shop, is a must.

THE HIKE: Mount Kuju

A volcanic wonderland filled with luscious greenery and steaming gas vents, Oita prefecture’s Mount Kuju is the highest peak on the island of Kyushu. While the climb itself takes a few hours, the real challenge is getting there, as train and bus connections to the hiking trails are limited. Your efforts will be rewarded as the slopes of the 1,791-metre-high peak are ablaze in reds and pinks in June when the wild azaleas bloom, but offer gorgeous panoramas year-round.

Infographic: KUMAMOTO CASTLE APPEARED IN THE 1994 FILM GODZILLA VS SPACEGODZILLA

THE CASTLE: Kumamoto

The original fortifications of Kumamoto Castle date back to the 15th century. It was the scene of a pivotal siege led by Saigo Takamori in the 1877 Satsuma Rebellion, during which the tenshukaku (castle keep) burnt down. Although Kumamoto Castle was damaged in the 2016 earthquake, visitors can still view the castle from limited areas, such as Kato Shrine. Restoring Kumamoto Castle is expected to be a long-term project, but the first sections were unveiled to the public in 2019 and the city has pledged funds to continue the restoration.

Osaka guide essentials icons

Fukuoka essentials

  • Central Fukuoka (Hakata) is a 16-minute bus ride from the airport’s international terminal or a six-minute subway ride from the domestic terminal. A free shuttle service connects both terminals.
  • The Fukuoka Tourist City Pass is a convenient one-day ticket giving unlimited rides on buses, trains and the subway. The more expensive pass gives you access to the Dazaifu Tenmangu Shrine.
  • For further tips on what’s happening in the city, visit fukuoka-now.com, run by Fukuoka native Emiko and her Canadian husband Nick.
  • Tsuyu, or the rainy season, usually begins in early to mid-June, bringing with it unpredictable weather. If travelling at this time, you’ll want to pack a compact umbrella – or buy a cheap one at any convenience store.

This story was originally posted in December 2017 and updated in September 2020

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book