水上運動

在菲律賓滑浪天堂錫亞高追波逐浪

Stephanie Zubiri來到菲律賓島嶼錫亞高,發現滑浪並非只是當地的旅遊賣點,而且更是當地人的生活方式

形狀猶如眼淚的錫亞高,是菲律賓的滑浪天堂,現年43歲的當地居民Wilmar Melindo說:「滑浪是很特別的活動,令我領略到輕鬆過活的道理。」Melindo是冠軍滑浪手和教練,身兼錫亞高島滑浪協會主席和菲律賓滑浪巡迴賽的聯合創辦人,堪稱是島上的活動大使。他在這裡土生土長,在收割椰子和種植稻田的日子中度過童年,直到1980和90年代美國和澳洲滑浪手蜂擁而至,他在耳濡目染下,於少年時代開始朝著海洋追波逐浪,自此與海洋結下不解之緣。

他指出:「你必須先了解大自然的能量,並且好好感受。」他提到島上鼎鼎大名的衝浪熱點Cloud 9:「這裡的海浪非常適合滑浪,但是暗藏危機。我對它深表敬畏,它給予了我生命。」

浪潮的確主宰了小島的命運。在椰林樹影環抱的大道兩旁,到處浪花遍遍,波濤規律的拍岸聲,也成了錫亞高獨一無二的背景音樂。海浪也同時控制了居民的動向。人潮會視乎季節、當天的天氣和時間,奔走於不同海灘之間追風逐浪。與海洋嬉戲過後,大家也情緒高漲,興奮莫名;即使沒有縱身入海的旁觀者,亦同樣樂在其中。

Surfing in Siargao
Credit: Scott A Woodward

不少錫亞高人也和Melindo一樣,仍然記得小島昔日沒有汽車行走的日子。那時候滑浪人士要自己扛著滑板,徐徐走到海邊捕捉浪潮。時至今日,滑浪重鎮盧納將軍城坐擁不少海濱度假酒店,而且時尚的咖啡室和悠閒的酒吧林立。

Melindo的好友及滑浪夥伴Jolan Saavedra可說一矢中的:「昔日前往錫亞高的交通很不方便,但這未嘗不是好事,因為只有真正熱愛滑浪的人,才會不辭勞苦前來。然而自從機場在2017年啓用後,這裡便熱鬧多了,隨之而來的工作和商機固然可喜,但我們也必須付出代價。」

Siargao_SCOTT-A-WOODWARD_DSC0519a-Mamon-Island
Credit: Scott Woodward

這些變遷驅使這位原居民參加議會競選,爭取保護本地社區的利益及錫亞高的自然生態。現年28歲的Saavedra已成為Barangay Catangnan行政區的議員,他與錫亞高環境關注行動等多個環保組織合作,推動當地關注島上急劇發展帶來的影響,特別是發展引起的廢物處理和海洋保育問題。

錫亞高島和周邊水域被政府規劃為「錫亞高島受保護陸地及海洋生態自然保護區」,歸根究底,大家對島上環境的關注,都是源於居民對滑浪的鍾愛。Saavedra補充:「海浪就是我們的遊樂場,我們深深愛護這片海洋,希望盡量保持它潔淨而不受污染。」

派對勝地長島灘由於旅遊過度而令環境受損,在 2018年曾封島六個月休養生息。錫亞高環境關注行動聯合創辦人Marja Abad指出:「幸好,我們還未過度發展至像長島灘這個地步,因此必須及早預防,確保錫亞高所有人齊心合力,保護自己的家園。」

Surfers Jolan Saavedra, Marja Abad, Wilmar Melindo, Ian Sermoniaon the beach in Siargao, Philippines
由左至右:Jolan Saavedra, Marja Abad, Wilmar Melindo, Ian Sermonia. Credit: Scott A Woodward

居民守護家園之情亦打動了本地商家,促使他們推行更環保的經營策略。Harana Surf Resort 滑浪度假酒店東主兼錫亞高旅行社協會主席Ian Sermonia表示:「我當初開辦Harana時,也深知將會招徠更多旅客前來,因此必須小心謹慎,緊記不能損害四周的環境和本地社區的融洽關係。」他的確做到言行合一,酒店採用環保清潔劑,採用重用塑膠品政策,並與不同的錫亞高非牟利組織合作,成績斐然。

錫亞高要求持續發展的呼聲高唱入雲,加上堅持不懈的遊說工作,終於令部分以不當及不道德手法經營的機構結業。此外,當地人亦明白入夜後醉駕亂衝的危險,因此同意實施晚上禁止駕駛電單車的措施。而在過去兩年,議題的焦點則回歸錫亞高的滑浪文化,鼓勵愛惜海洋和衝浪活動,並且以更悠閒自在的態度享受人生。

錫亞高環境關注行動的Abad如此描述島上典型的晚間消遣:「我們仍然可以自得其樂。大家都提早出外耍樂,一起吃晚餐,然後唱唱卡拉OK,日落時再喝一杯。還有,我們在早上起來的首項要務,便是出海滑浪。」

Siargao_SCOTT-A-WOODWARD_DSC0433-Cloud-9
Credit: Scott Woodward

沿著碼頭長長的木棧道一路走到觀景台,便可以看到Cloud 9的滔滔白浪。置身這裡,不少人都急不及待拿起滑板投身海中,與其他同好一較高下。但只要仔細一看,你便會發現很多弄潮兒都並非在衝浪滑行,他們只是坐在板上與友儕傾談說笑,樂在其中。事實上,除了盧納將軍城和Cloud 9這兩個旅遊勝地,錫亞高翠綠的稻田、佈滿耀目白沙的無人小島、清澈見底的石澗和茂密的紅樹林,都是值得探索發掘的勝景。無論衝浪或探險,你也肯定能盡興而回。說到底,錫亞高的迷人之處,正是在於其樸實無瑕的天然景致。

在Harana Surf Resort滑浪度假酒店工作的Sermonia由馬尼拉移居錫亞高,他由衷地說:「搬到錫亞高令我如獲新生。在這裡總是不自覺地與自然融為一體,我經常閒看著風吹,還不時留意潮汛和水流。滑浪就像是冥想的一種方式,是靈性的體驗。」

錫亞高充電好去處

美食

Eat at Siargao
Credit: Scott A Woodward

Shaka

這家海邊咖啡店可飽覽Cloud 9浪潮拍岸的美景,店內的沙冰是一碗色彩繽紛的視覺饗宴,冰上鋪滿厚厚的新鮮水果和自製素麥片,賣相漂亮又可口。

 

Bravo

前臨海灘美景的度假酒店兼餐廳Bravo,供應西班牙小吃和帶有環球特色的地中海風美食,甚受旅客歡迎,即使整天呆在這裡吃喝也不會厭倦。

Siargao_SCOTT-A-WOODWARD_DSC9376-Kermit
Credit: Scott Woodward

Kermit

意大利餐廳Kermit的招牌柴燒薄餅和意粉,肯定令滑浪過後胃口大開的大胃王也稱心滿足。

暢飲

Drink at Siargao
Credit: Scott A Woodward

Loose Keys

Loose Keys酒吧以電單車、滑浪和現場音樂為主題,難怪成為錫亞高夜生活的焦點。這裡隨意自由,沒有衣著守則,但搖滾精神卻是不明文規定。

住宿

Harana Surf Resort滑浪度假酒店

這家質樸的滑浪度假酒店不但房間寬敞,服務窩心,氣氛更是好得無話可說。酒店有一家出色的手工咖啡店和手製雪糕店,酒廊更呈奉滋味無窮的菲律賓美食。

Stay at Harana Surf Resort in Siargao
Credit: Scott A Woodward

Kalinaw度假村

Kalinaw是兩名法國好友的夢想結晶,他們約十年前移居錫亞高,在這裡築起五間別墅,每間都設有私人泳池和露台。從酒店可步行至Cloud 9,島上最備受追捧的餐廳和酒吧同樣信步可達。

 

Nay Palad Hideaway度假酒店

在盧納將軍城的南面遠處,佇立著設施包羅萬有的豪華度假酒店Nay Palad Hideaway。住客可在白沙碧海的環境中,盡情享用當地新鮮捕獲的海鮮,以及無限供應的美酒和雞尾酒。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Watersports

Chasing Waves in Siargao, the Surfing Capital of the Philippines

On the Philippine island of Siargao, surfing isn’t just an attraction. As Stephanie Zubiri finds out, it’s also a way of life

‘Surfing is special. It teaches me to relax in life,’ says Wilmar Melindo, a champion surfer and coach, president of the Siargao Island Surfing Association and co-founder of the Philippine Surfing Championship. The 43-year-old native of Siargao —  the surfing capital of the Philippines — is the man about town. Born and raised on this teardrop-shaped island, Melindo grew up harvesting coconut and planting the paddy fields. Through the influence of incoming American and Australian surfers in the 1980s and ’90s, he began riding the waves in his early teens. Since then, he’s lived in symbiosis with the ocean.

‘You need to study the energy of nature and feel it. Look at Cloud 9,’ says Melindo, referring to the island’s best-known surf break. ‘It’s a beautiful wave but dangerous. I have immense respect for this wave. It gives me life.’

The waves rule the island. Not only are they omnipresent along the fringes of the coconut grove-lined main road with a constant whoosh that has become part of Siargao’s soundtrack; they also regulate the comings and goings of the inhabitants. Depending on the season, weather and time of day, the crowd moves from beach to beach chasing the best waves, and everyone is constantly high on post-surf endorphins. Even for those who don’t surf, the chill vibe is palpable.

Surfing in Siargao
Credit: Scott A Woodward

Many like Melindo still remember a time when the island had no vehicles, and surfers had to shoulder their boards and trek to the coast to catch the waves. But nowadays, the main surf town of General Luna is full of seaside resorts, cute cafes and laidback bars.

‘It used to be very difficult to get to the island, which was nice in a way because only people who are truly passionate about surfing would come,’ says Melindo’s friend and fellow surfer Jolan Saavedra. ‘But since the opening of the airport [in 2017], things have gotten a lot busier. It’s wonderful that we have more work and business opportunities, but it’s not without consequence.’

Mamon Island in Siargao, Philippines
Credit: Scott Woodward

This drive to protect the interests of the local community and the island’s natural habitat led the 28-year-old Siargao native to run for office. Now, as a Councilor for Barangay Catangnan, Saavedra works to address concerns about the impact of the island’s rapid development, particularly in the area of waste management and marine conservation, alongside environmental groups like the Siargao Environmental Awareness Movement (SEA Movement).

As an official protected natural site known as Siargao Island Protected Landscape and Seascape (SIPLAS), the concern about the environment stems from its residents’ love of surfing. ‘The waves are our playground, we have so much respect for the ocean and want to keep it as clean and pure as possible,’ adds Saavedra.

‘We are not quite at the level of Boracay yet,’ says SEA Movement co-founder Marja Abad, referring to the party island which was closed for six months in 2018 for rehabilitation due to the effects of overtourism. ‘That’s why we’re here, to try to make sure that all the stakeholders are working together to preserve Siargao.’

Surfers Jolan Saavedra, Marja Abad, Wilmar Melindo, Ian Sermoniaon the beach in Siargao, Philippines
Pictured from left: Jolan Saavedra, Marja Abad, Wilmar Melindo, Ian Sermonia. Credit: Scott A Woodward

This sentiment has also driven local entrepreneurs to push for better business practice. As Ian Sermonia, owner of Harana Surf Resort and president of the Siargao Tourism Operators Association, says: ‘When I first opened Harana, I knew that it would attract more people to the island. I wanted to be responsible about it, bearing in mind the environment and the integration of the local community.’ As such, the resort prides itself in the use of eco-friendly detergents and adopting an anti-single-use plastics policy, as well as its partnerships with various Siargao-based non-profit groups.

The commitment to sustainable development is so strong that through persistent lobbying, certain establishments with questionable practices and ethics were shut down. A ban on driving motorcycles at night has also been implemented, as people recognise the hazards of zipping around the island inebriated after dark. And over the past two years, the focus has shifted back to Siargao’s surf culture, embracing the sea and the sport and enjoying life in a more relaxed manner.

‘We still have fun in our own way,’ SEA Movement’s Abad says of a typical night out here on the island. ‘We start the evening earlier, enjoy a communal dinner, some karaoke and sunset drinks. Then we’re always up first thing in the morning to surf.’

The pier at Cloud 9 beach in Siargao, Philippines
Credit: Scott Woodward

Walking on the long pier down to the tower that leads to the rolling waves of Cloud 9, it’s hard not to want to get on a board and join in the fun. But if you look closer, many of the surfers aren’t actually surfing. Instead, they are sitting on their boards, laughing and chatting with their friends. Beyond General Luna and Cloud 9, Siargao’s rice paddies, uninhabited islets with blinding white sand, glassy rock pools and lush mangroves are all there to be explored – whether or not you can hang ten. Perhaps, the ultimate appeal of Siargao is its unpretentiousness.

‘Moving to Siargao has changed me,’ says Harana Surf Resort’s Sermonia, a former Manila resident. ‘You become very in tune with nature. I’m always looking at the wind, the tides and the currents. Surfing is like a form of meditation. It’s a spiritual experience.’

Where to Refuel and Relax in Siargao

Eat

Eat at Siargao
Credit: Scott A Woodward

Shaka

This seaside café overlooking the Cloud 9 break serves up colourful smoothie bowls generously topped with fresh fruit and homemade vegan granola.

 

Bravo

Serving tapas and Mediterranean-style cuisine with a global twist, Bravo is a popular beachfront joint that is perfect for all day eating and drinking.

Eat at Siargao
Credit: Scott Woodward

Kermit

This Italian restaurant’s signature wood-fired oven pizzas and pasta dishes will satiate any post-surf carb cravings.

Drink

Drink at Siargao
Credit: Scott A Woodward

Loose Keys

A bar with motorcycles, surfing and live music as its themes, Loose Keys is undoubtedly the heart of nightlife in Siargao. No dress code, but a rock-and-roll attitude is de rigueur.

Stay

Harana Surf Resort

This rustic resort offers spacious rooms, warm service and a really fun vibe. The compound has an excellent craft coffee joint, artisanal ice cream and the lounge serves great Filipino fare.

Credit: Scott A Woodward

Kalinaw

Run by two French friends who moved to Siargao almost a decade ago, Kalinaw features five villas, each with its own private pool and terrace. It’s within walking distance from Cloud 9 and the island’s most popular restaurants and bars.

 

Nay Palad Hideaway

Further south from General Luna, Nay Palad Hideaway is an all-inclusive luxury resort. White sands and calm water set the scene for indulging in freshly caught seafood and free-flowing wine and cocktails.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book