建築

解構重慶的天空之城

來福士廣場是中國西南部城市重慶最新的大型綜合建設,這個劃時代的地標或會改寫未來摩天大樓的設計構思

在重慶市岸邊,有八幢略為向外彎曲的高樓屹立於嘉陵江與長江的交匯點上,在中國聲勢浩大的建築熱潮中搶盡風頭。出奇制勝的地方在於橫跨其中四幢大樓的高架天橋,看起來恍如未來世界的巨石陣,締造中國又一建築奇觀。這條長300米的架空天橋名為「水晶連廊」,離地40多層並打通部分的大樓,旁邊的塔樓也有較小的廊橋相連。

此綜合發展項目由建築師Moshe Safdie操刀,並由新加坡地產巨擘凱德集團籌建,是獅城在中國迄今最大型的發展項目,總投資額達240億人民幣(約268億港元)。大樓內的辦公室、公寓及酒店均已投入服務,其大型購物中心來福士廣場的規模更冠絕重慶,於去年秋季開幕的周末不負眾望,吸引近百萬人到訪。水晶連廊是整個項目最後階段的建築,預期於今年竣工,將設全玻璃幕牆觀景台,讓公眾更上一層樓觀賞市貌。

重慶來福士廣場面世五年前,國家主席習近平曾指示停止建設外形「奇奇怪怪」的建築,點名批評北京的央視總部大樓像「大褲衩」。雖然重慶來福士廣場的外觀也非比尋常,但仍備受嘉許,皆因其設計著重環保,整體形象更以中國傳統商船的船帆陣為藍本,向區內的水運交通致敬。雖然它樣子前衛,但你會否有似曾相識之感?對了,正是那座引來無數人「打卡」的新加坡濱海灣金沙酒店。它同樣出自Safdie手筆,實踐相當類似的建築平衡手法。

架空天橋的另一個重要意義,在於提供可行的出路,解決大城市人多擠逼的問題。Safdie曾建議,即使摩天大樓的高度已達極限,仍可在千呎空中向橫發展。在重慶來福士廣場,眾人無須返回地面,即可直接穿梭各幢大樓。

有人會視這項建築構思前衛大膽,有人則認為太天馬行空了。無論如何,這座巨型帆船將引領中國人民航行到理想的生活方向。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Architecture

How Chongqing Built a City in the Sky

Raffles City Chongqing, the southwestern Chinese city's newest megaproject, may change how skyscrapers of the future are designed

Eight gently arcing high-rises stand at the confluence of Chongqing’s Jialing and Yangtze rivers: another routine entry in China’s construction boom. But it’s what’s placed atop four of them, like a space-age Stonehenge, that’s causing a stir. A 300-metre sky bridge, dubbed Crystal, connects the towers some 40 floors above ground. This complex is the Raffles City Chongqing, a megaproject worth the headlines.

Designed by architect Moshe Safdie and developed by Singapore real estate group CapitaLand, the complex is the Lion City’s largest-ever development in China, clocking in at RMB24 billion (HK$26.8 billion). Offices, apartments and hotels are already open for business, while Chongqing’s largest mega-mall pulled in almost a million visitors on its opening weekend last autumn. As the project’s final phase, Crystal is slated for completion this year and will house an all-glass viewing deck open to the public.

The building comes five years after President Xi Jinping called for an end to ‘weird-looking’ buildings. A case in point: Beijing’s CCTV Tower, dubbed ‘Big Pants’ for the fact that its design resembles a giant pair of trousers. But despite its own unusual look, Raffles City Chongqing has been commended for its environmentally conscious design and nods to the region’s waterborne transportation – it’s intended as a homage to the sails of a traditional trading junk. That said, it doesn’t exactly look original: Singapore’s Marina Bay Sands, another Safdie creation, performs much the same architectural balancing act.

What’s significant about the sky bridge is how it might herald a solution to urban congestion in megacities. When skyscrapers can’t get any higher, Safdie has suggested that they can grow by spreading above ground. At Raffles City Chongqing, you can move between the towers without having to descend to the earth. Depending on who you ask, that sounds very brilliant or very scary. Either way, China’s latest trophy project is looking a lot like the future of humanity.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book