藝術與文化

專訪TeamLab創辦人豬子壽之

日本TeamLab擅長以互動藝術作品讓觀者親歷夢幻國度,俘虜全球粉絲之心,在社交媒體風頭一時無兩,今年在澳門舉行的「TeamLab超自然空間」展覽料將再掀起話題

澳門威尼斯人的「TeamLab超自然空間」叫人期待。這個展覽有否以澳門為靈感?

於今年稍後時間舉行的展覽佔地達53,000平方呎之廣,我們會將豐富多元的裝置分佈在多個樓層,今次更會為澳門帶來一些首度面世的作品,例如「自律雲」。它是漂浮在空中的白色雲霧,當人們走進雲裡面,雲塊會暫時散開,但不久又會合併回原本的巨大雲霧。

與其以主辦城市為靈感,不如啟發當地人的思維。TeamLab渴望達成的是,透過互動展覽空間讓人與藝術品之間的界線變得模糊,並以新角度感受生活。

TeamLab每次展覽都會在社交媒體引起熱烈討論,你認為這會喧賓奪主、讓人忽略了真正的藝術成分嗎?

我認為在社交媒體「打卡」只是人性使然。當你看到觸動心弦的事情,自然想與別人分享。只要來參觀我們的展覽,人們就會明白鏡頭根本無法捕捉身處當中的體驗。有人大花時間拍照,可能是想盡力表達那份難以言喻的美妙感覺吧!

你會把TeamLab的成功歸功於社交媒體嗎?

能夠得到Will Smith、Hugh Jackman和Kendrick Lamar等大明星主動親臨參觀,並且分享給社交媒體的粉絲,我們深感榮幸。他們都憑各自的藝術才華改變世界,所以我很高興他們對TeamLab的作品感興趣和認同。

你認為數碼藝術在未來數年會進化成什麼樣子?

我們在2001年成立TeamLab時,尚未有數碼藝術這門專科,所以便創造這個詞彙來描述整個藝術團隊的作品特色。過去數年逐漸闖出知名度,同時也有不少自稱「數碼藝術家」的人出現,模仿我們的做法;現在數碼藝術已經變得非常商業化。作為一名藝術家,我無法預測未來的發展趨勢,但TeamLab的目標始終不變,繼續做我們認為有意義的事情。

你最喜歡哪一個城市的藝術氛圍?

我喜歡被大自然環抱而且有許多博物館的城市,例如哥本哈根,她有路易斯安娜現代藝術博物館;我也喜歡荷伯特市,那裡建有Mona古今藝術博物館。

「TeamLab超自然空間」展覽於今年稍後時間在澳門威尼斯人舉行

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

Q&A With TeamLab Founder Toshiyuki Inoko

With new museum TeamLab SuperNature in Macao, the Japanese masters of immersive, interactive digital artworks aim to inspire new legions of fans – and millions of Instagram posts

Tell us about TeamLab SuperNature at The Venetian Macao. Did the city serve as an inspiration for the exhibit?

The TeamLab SuperNature exhibition [which opens later in 2020] spans 53,000 square feet over several floors. We are debuting a few pieces here, including The Clouds that Self-Organise, which is a floating white mass. As people walk through the piece, it will break up and merge back into one giant cloud afterwards.

Rather than using the host city as an inspiration, TeamLab wants to inspire these places. We hope to create spaces where the boundaries between the human body and art are blurred, allowing people to gain a new perception of the world they live in.

TeamLab exhibits are social media sensations. Do you think this detracts from the art?

I think that’s part of human nature. If you see something that moves you, you’ll want to share it with others. But once people come to our exhibits, they will know that there’s really no way to capture the whole experience. That’s probably why they spend so much time trying to get the shot.

Would you say social media is an important part of TeamLab’s success?

We’ve been lucky to have some big stars – Will Smith, Hugh Jackman and Kendrick Lamar – who came to see us on their own, and posted their visits on social media. These are people who have changed the world with their art, and I’m happy that they are interested in what we are doing.

How will digital art evolve in the next few years?

When we started in 2001, the term ‘digital art’ didn’t exist, so we used it to describe what we do. As we became more well-known over the last few years, the number of copycats who call themselves ‘digital artists’ has also gone up. The term has now become very commercialised. As an artist, I can’t predict where trends are heading, but our goal is to keep doing what we think is meaningful.

What are your favourite art cities?

I love cities with museums that are surrounded by nature, such as Copenhagen’s Louisiana Museum of Modern Art and the Mona in Hobart.

TeamLab SuperNature opens later in 2020 at The Venetian Macao

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book