餐飲美食

不可錯過的香港地道小食

為你奉上城中最美味可口的雲吞麵、雞蛋仔以及多種地道香港美食

香港的粵式點心名滿天下,不過本地人日常吃的並非只有蝦餃燒賣。城中有不少鮮為外地人認識的經典美食,原是街頭流動小販出售的簡單小食,有悠久的傳統。這些食物採用的食材與烹調方式,亦反映這個海港商埠的歷史,以及昔日的快餐不斷演變的過程。

路邊小販雖然已經絕跡,香港的街頭美食文化卻另覓生存空間,在細小的店面和餐廳內繼續發揚光大。以下為你介紹多種值得品嚐的香港地道小食。

腸粉

地道食肆推介:合益泰小食

Credit: Tommy Tang

隨便問一個本地學生,放學後最喜歡吃的小食是什麼,他們的答案往往是「豬腸粉」。豬腸粉又叫腸粉,用米粉漿蒸成薄皮,再捲成條狀,然後加入海鮮醬、芝麻醬、辣醬和醬油,再灑上炒香的芝麻,用竹籤挑起來吃。隨著食物生產工業化,沒有加入餡料和防腐劑的腸粉變得愈來愈罕見,但位於深水埗的合益泰小食是少數堅持製作傳統腸粉的小店。店內雖然也設有座位,很多顧客都會端著食物到旁邊的小巷內站著吃,體驗真正的街頭小食風味。

深水埗桂林街121號,+852 2720 0239

雞蛋仔

地道食肆推介:低調高手大街小食

根據坊間流傳的故事所說,有個雜貨店東主為了不想將碎裂的雞蛋扔掉,於是創製出雞蛋仔這種小食。以往小販推著手推車在街邊即做即賣,後來改為開店售賣,並且變化出多款新口味,包括加入朱古力碎或日式抹茶味。低調高手大街小食名副其實,只做兩款實而不華的口味──原味和鹹蛋雞蛋仔。此外,這裡還有與雞蛋仔形影不離的「格仔餅」;這其實是窩夫餅,烘得外脆內軟之後,塗上牛油、煉奶和花生醬,再灑上一層白砂糖增加口感,然後對摺成三文治,就成為地道風味小食。

筲箕灣東大街76A地下B3舖,+852 6601 5300

雲吞麵

地道食肆推介:麥奀記(忠記)麵家

Credit: Tommy Tang

以鮮蝦或豬肉做成的雲吞,配上爽口彈牙的麵條與上湯,就是一碗美味的雲吞麵。據說雲吞麵是由廣州人麥煥池於大約一個世紀前發明,後來由他的兒子將這種美食帶到香港。隨著麥氏家族在香港開枝散葉,其家人在城中各處開設雲吞麵店,提起麥氏,人們自然就會想起雲吞麵。這家麥奀記(忠記)麵家由麥煥池其中一位孫兒開設,店內的雲吞,據老闆自己說,是按照祖父原來的食譜製作,材料只會採用鮮蝦。

中環永吉街37號,+852 2541 6388

豆腐花

地道食肆推介:公和荳品廠

Credit: Tommy Tang

中式豆腐用豆漿加入石膏凝固後造成,這種新鮮食物很容易變壞,在雪櫃和防腐劑尚未出現的年代,每個住宅區的街頭巷尾總會有一間像公和荳品廠這樣的豆腐店。店內除了出售大塊的豆腐供人在家烹調之外,同時也出售一種吸引的小食──豆腐花。這是剛凝固的豆腐,質地嫩滑,撒上蔗糖粉調味就可以吃了。不喜歡甜食也不要緊,這家充滿懷舊氣息的小店還有其他美味選擇,例如鮮搾豆漿和煎釀豆腐。

深水埗北河街118號,+852 2386 6871

蛋撻

地道食肆推介:豪華餅店

港式糕餅的特色是將西式糕餅的烘焙技巧稍加改動,令出品更適合本地人的口味。其中最佳例子是港式蛋撻,靈感來自英式的奶黃撻,但改以蛋漿作餡料,新鮮出爐時口感香軟柔滑有如嫰豆腐。於1975年開業的豪華餅店烘製出極其鬆化美味的酥皮蛋撻(市面上的蛋撻分為酥皮及曲奇皮兩種),不可錯過。前往購買時,如果你運氣好的話,還可能會遇上香港電影明星「發哥」周潤發,他是這家餅店的常客。

九龍城衛前圍道136號,+852 2382 0383

車仔麵

地道食肆推介:高街麵霸

Credit: Tommy Tang

顧名思義,車仔麵昔日是小販推著手推車來賣的,車上放滿各種配料如魚蛋、豬紅、豬皮、蘿蔔及時菜等,還有幾種不同的麵條,顧客可以自由配搭,豐儉隨意。以往這種車仔麵檔隨處可見,是很普遍的平民美食。可是隨著日本拉麵及越南湯河等外地麵食打入本地市場,車仔麵變得不及以往流行。不過高街麵霸令這種充滿本地特色的麵食再度成為時尚美味,店面以工業風糅合現代中式佈置,令人耳目一新;車仔麵的材料亦加入新穎款式,例如南瓜湯底和手打日式麵條等,別具特色。

西營盤高街39號,+852 2858 2680

叉燒

地道食肆推介:新桂香燒臘

Credit: Tommy Tang

對於很多本地人來說,叉燒是無可取代的香港美食。這種粵式燒臘非常普遍,從高級食府到像新桂香燒臘這種街坊小店,都可以見到它的蹤影。叉燒通常選用俗稱「梅頭」的豬上肩肉來製作,製法看似相當簡單──首先將肉用醃料醃好,烤熟後塗上麥芽糖再略烤一次,令表面變色澤光潤,就可以上桌了。不過人人各師各法,製作出來的叉燒口味可以有很大的分別。新桂香的師傅以精湛手藝燒出口感和味道均無懈可擊的叉燒,因此雖然地點偏離香港島的中心,依然吸引大批叉燒迷從四方八面蜂擁而至。

柴灣柴灣道345號金源洋樓地下17號,+852 2556 1183

菠蘿油

地道食肆推介:金華冰廳

Credit: Tommy Tang

菠蘿包是另一種極具香港特色的美食,這種麵包內其實沒有菠蘿,只因表面上有一層形狀凹凸的脆皮,有如菠蘿的表面,因此被人稱作菠蘿包。本地人喜歡在菠蘿包內夾一塊冰凍的厚牛油來吃,叫做菠蘿油。金華冰廳出品的菠蘿油長年累月保持傳統好滋味,深受顧客歡迎。這家茶餐廳於1970年代開業,東主是一位糕餅師傅的兒子;直到今天餐廳仍然自家烘焙各種經典茶餐廳糕點,除了菠蘿包之外,還有椰撻和表面灑了芝麻的雞批等。

太子弼街47號,+852 2392 6830

中西合壁的茶餐廳美食

地道食肆推介:聯華茶餐廳

Credit: Tommy Tang

粵式點心和雲吞麵固然是極具代表性的香港美食,但是不起眼的茶餐廳內供應的食物,則更能代表香港中西文化合壁的特色。隨便到一間像聯華這樣的舊區街坊茶餐廳去,你會發現最常見的一款早餐是火腿湯通心粉,有如中式湯麵一般。火腸和通心粉都不是中式食物,由於香港昔日是個貿易港,本地烹飪往往採用這些西式食材,做出中西合壁的菜式。此外,茶餐廳內還有不少類似的食物如焗豬扒飯,通常會配港式羅宋湯;羅宋湯以番茄而非紅甜菜頭煮成,因為前者在香港更易買到。

西營盤正街28號,+852 2540 1563

奶茶

地道食肆推介:我杯茶

在時尚新潮的咖啡店尚未於香港流行之前,香港人若想以咖啡因提神醒腦,就會喝一杯奶茶。奶茶源自英式傳統,在紅茶中加入牛奶才飲用。香港式的奶茶是英式奶茶的海軍加強版,將錫蘭紅茶煮得非常濃,有時甚至帶點單寧澀味,再加入淡奶而成。奶茶無論熱飲或凍飲(夏季的消暑妙品),都是極受歡迎的日常飲品。由於對奶茶的品質和味道日益講究,香港現在更會舉辦年度奶茶比賽。我杯茶以得獎秘方加上師傅精湛手藝沖調的奶茶,是展開一天活動之前的上佳飲品。

灣仔香園街6號,+852 2386 0007

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Must-Try Hong Kong Food

Follow our handy guide to sampling the best wonton noodles, egg waffles and other local Hong Kong delicacies

When it comes to Hong Kong food, the city might be the land of dim sum but what locals eat on a daily basis goes well beyond har gow (shrimp dumplings). There are plenty of modern classics that few outsiders know, featuring ingredients and traditions from the city’s trading-port history, as well as reflecting the fast food of yore – simple dishes originally designed to be sold by street vendors.

As roadside selling (or ‘hawking’ as it’s known – a remnant of colonial English) dies out, Hong Kong’s street-food culture continues to flourish in other spaces, from tiny shopfronts to subdivided restaurants. Here’s our guide to what to eat in Hong Kong.

Cheung Fun

Where to Try It: Hop Yik Tai

hong-kong-food-cheung-fun-hop-yik-tai
Credit: Tommy Tang

Ask a local what their favourite after-school snack was, and there’s a good chance they’ll say ju cheung fun – unfilled rice paper rolls doused in hoisin, peanut and soy sauces, sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds and eaten with skewers used as ad hoc chopsticks. With the advent of industrial food, it’s become increasingly rare to find rice paper rolls without additional fillers and preservatives, and Sham Shui Po institution Hop Yik Tai is one of the last bastions of the traditional version. Although there are seats inside the tiny shop, chow down while standing in the adjacent alley for the true street-food experience. 

121 Kweilin Street, Sham Shui Po; +852 2720 0239

Egg Waffles

Where to Try It: Master Low Key

hong-kong-food-Master-Low-Key-egg-waffles
Credit: Tommy Tang

Legend has it that gai daan zai, or egg waffles, were created by a grocery shop owner who had to use up some broken eggs. They were once sold from streetside carts, but vendors have since moved into shops, and many have modernised the original recipe to include flavourings such as chocolate chips or matcha. However, true to its name, Master Low Key only serves two humble variations of this Hong Kong food – original and salted egg yolk. You’ll also find the egg waffle’s sidekick, ‘grid pancake’, a classic waffle folded into a sandwich of butter, condensed milk, peanut butter and a sprinkle of white sugar for added crunch.

Shop B3, G/F, 76A Shau Kei Wan Main Street East, Shau Kei Wan; +852 6601 5300

Wonton Noodles

Where to Try It: Mak’s Noodle Restaurant (Chung Kee)

hong-kong-food-maks-noodles-won-ton-noodles
Credit: Tommy Tang

Wonton noodles – dumplings filled with shrimp and sometimes pork, served with thin, bouncy noodles in a clear broth – are said to have been invented by a Guangzhou man called Mak Woon-chi about a century ago. His son brought the dish to Hong Kong, and since then the Mak name has almost become synonymous with wonton noodles, with branches of the Mak family tree opening dumpling shops around the city. This Mak’s, also called Chung Kee, was opened by one of Mak Woon-chi’s grandsons, who says that his wonton are made according to the original recipe of shrimp-only dumplings.

37 Wing Kut Street, Central; +852 2541 6388

Tofu Fa

Where to Try It: Kung Wo Dou Bun Chong

hong-kong-food-kung-wo-dou-bun-chong-tofu-fa
Credit: Tommy Tang

Chinese-style tofu, made by setting soy milk with gypsum, is a fresh product that spoils easily, so before the age of refrigeration and preservatives there were tofu shops like Kung Wo in every neighbourhood. Apart from selling blocks of tofu that you can buy to cook at home, tofu shops are also known for a snack – tofu fa – which are the delicate, just-set tofu curds, designed to be eaten with a dusting of cane sugar. If you don’t have a sweet tooth, you can still head into this retro shop for other local delicacies like fresh soy milk or pan-fried tofu stuffed with fish cake.

118 Pei Ho Street, Sham Shui Po; +852 2386 6871

Egg Tarts

Where to Try It: Hoover

hong-kong-food-hoover-bakery-egg-tarts

Hong Kong-style baking is the result of tweaking Western baking techniques for local tastes. One of the best examples of such unique Hong Kong food is the egg tart, inspired by the British custard tart, with a rich, eggy filling that’s as delicate as silken tofu. Hoover, which has been around since 1975, makes a great version with a flaky crust (there are two types of crust on the market – flaky or pie). While stuffing your face with a tart, keep your eyes peeled for Hong Kong movie star Chow Yun-fat, who’s a regular.

136 Nga Tsin Wai Road, Kowloon City; +852 2382 0383

Char Siu

Where to Try It: Sun Kwai Heung

hong-kong-food-sun-kwai-heung-char-siu-fan
Credit: Tommy Tang

For some locals, there’s no greater Hong Kong food than char siu. The quintessential Cantonese dish of barbecued pork can be found everywhere from fine-dining restaurants to neighbourhood holes-in-the-wall like Sun Kwai Heung. Pork butt (which is actually the upper part of the shoulder) is the preferred cut for char siu. Although it’s deceptively simple to make – the meat is first marinated, then roasted twice (once to cook it through and another to caramelise the maltose glaze) – results can vary widely; although Sun Kwai Heung is far from the centre of Hong Kong Island, the perfect balance struck by its sifu (master artisan) draws char siu fanatics from all over the city.

G/F, Shop 17, Kam Tam Yun House, 345 Chai Wan Road, Chai Wan; +852 2556 1183

Pineapple Bun with Butter

Where to Try It: Kam Wah Cafe

hong-kong-food-kam-wah-cafe-pineapple-bun-butter
Credit: Tommy Tang

Another iconic Hong Kong food is the pineapple bun, so named for the crackly top that looks like pineapple skin. There’s no actual pineapple in the bun, but locals love a thick slab of cold butter inside, and Kam Wah is a perennial favourite for this calorific treat. Kam Wah is a cha chaan teng, or Hong Kong-style cafe, opened by a baker’s son in the 1970s. It continues to make all of its own bakery items, from pineapple buns to other classics like coconut tarts and sesame-flecked chicken pies.

47 Bute Street, Prince Edward; +852 2392 6830

Cha Chaan Teng Meal Deal

Where to Try It: Luen Wah

hong-kong-food-cha-chaan-teng-luen-wah
Credit: Tommy Tang

More than dim sum or noodle shops, the humble cha chaan teng represents the city’s best – because here dishes are edible metaphors for Hong Kong itself. Like many cha chaan tengs, a popular breakfast option at retro neighbourhood joint Luen Wah is macaroni served in soup (like a Chinese noodle soup), topped with ham. These ingredients aren’t Chinese, but thanks to Hong Kong’s trading-port past, they’ve been part of the culinary lexicon for decades. Any time of day you’ll find plenty of hearty East-meets-West meals, such as the signature pork chop and rice au gratin, with an optional Hong Kong-style borscht, made with tomatoes (more common in Hong Kong) rather than beetroot.

28 Centre Street, Sai Ying Pun; +852 2540 1563

Milk Tea

Where to Try It: My Cup of Tea

hong-kong-food-my-cup-of-tea-milk-tea

Before the proliferation of hip coffee shops, Hongkongers’ caffeine hit of choice came in the form of nai cha, or milk tea. Although inspired by the British tradition of adding milk to black tea, the Hong Kong version is a navy-strength version of the British original, combining strong, sometimes even tannic Ceylon tea with unsweetened evaporated milk. It’s popular city-wide, either served hot or iced (a welcome treat in the summer). The significance of this daily brew is epitomised by the fact that there’s even an annual Hong Kong milk tea competition – and what better way than to start your day with My Cup of Tea’s winning recipe.

6 Spring Garden Lane, Wan Chai; +852 2386 0007

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book