自然與戶外

改變印尼龍目島傳統的女導遊

Rinjani Women Adventures旅行社創辦人以旅遊業為印尼鄉村女性闖出新路

龍目島原始純樸,與鄰近遊客眾多的峇里島相比儼如世外桃源,亦是通往「打卡」勝地吉利群島的必經之地。可是,女島民Katni Wati在她年少時,便對當地女性備受社會規範壓制而憤憤不平。即使時至今日,當地人仍普遍認為女性的天職就是結婚生子,不需要接受教育或就業。Wati表示,她們是「被打壓的一群」。

她在龍目島北部位於海拔3,800米的林賈尼火山山腳的森納儒村成長,從小就看著村中男丁包攬了這座活火山的導遊工作。15歲時,對這種現象感到氣憤的Wati向父母宣佈,自己也要攀上林賈尼火山。

Credit: Cedric Arnold

過了而立之年的Wati憶述:「父母跟我說:『不行,這對女兒家來說太艱難了。』他們還說攀山是男人的事,女人不可以拋頭露面,應待在家裡生兒育女、照顧家庭。」

此舉反而令Wati下定決心改變現狀,就連雙親也漸漸被她說服。不久之後,她攀上火山之巔,惹得住在森納儒的薩薩克人不悅和非議。

Wati表示:「村民質問我的父母為何讓我登山,放任我破壞傳統,不守婦道。」但她依然故我,繼續登山,逐漸熟悉山上壯麗的天然地貌。1995年,她創辦了Rinjani Women Adventure,它是島上首間由全女班經營林賈尼火山遠足團的旅行社,憑一己之力改寫了森納儒村女性的命運。

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Rinjani Women Adventure為旅客提供多元化的火山遠足體驗,至今已培訓了60多名女性員工,讓她們獨立自強,有能力為家人提供溫飽。不過,萬事起頭難,Wati的公司在成立之初就受到村民極力反對。她說:「男性大表震驚。他們質問我為何要讓女性自力更生?是否要反抗男性?他們不明白我並非要對抗男性,反之,我希望幫助他們以及村中所有家庭。萬一男性有何不測,而女性又缺乏自立能力,那麽一家老少豈不命運堪虞?」

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Wati憑藉恆心和毅力,把旅行社經營得有聲有色,終令同鄉逐漸釋除疑慮。森納儒村目前約有9,000名居民,Wati指出,「其中大概有七成半男性支持我們的女性導遊。」在仍是父權至上的印尼,這條小村的成就確實驕人。

那麼,由Wati和這群令人欽佩的女性帶領的登山團,到底有什麼賣點?Rinjani Women Adventure提供不同路線和難度的行程,女導遊亦會根據旅客喜好而調整前進速度,既有即日來回的遠足體驗,亦可花三天時間登上林賈尼火山之巔。回程時若希望來個水力按摩沖走疲累,大可跳入當地人相信可以治百病的Air Terjun Sendang Gile瀑布和Tiu Kelep瀑布,接受泉水洗禮,亦可浸泡在水池中洗滌身心。

Credit: Cedric Arnold

若恐崇山峻嶺高不可攀,但依然渴望探索薩薩克文化,可跟女導遊一起踏足森納儒周圍的小徑,飽覽稻田和咖啡園的原始風光,並走訪以泥土和竹枝建成的民房,感受鄉村的純樸氣息。品嚐土產的天然棕櫚糖,了解森納儒的歷史文化之際,村民或會為你送上當地的傳統舞蹈表演。

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Rinjani Women Adventure更把盈利回饋社會。Wati表示:「公司的收入不只供我和其他女導遊養家,我們還會撥款資助村中大小活動和村民的生活。我們依靠森納儒村謀生,理應作出回饋。」

與此同時,Wati的公司亦帶動社會變革。她稱:「以往這裡的女孩年僅12歲便已結婚,因為這是她們唯一的選擇。她們沒有機會上學,甫稍為長大就要擇人而嫁,不久就懷孕產子,所以家中除了剛出生的嬰兒,連母親自己都只是孩子。」

Credit: Cedric Arnold

現時,村裡的男性與女性都會出去工作,大家互相支持、共同養活家人,村中大部分兒童均擁有就學機會。女生的婚嫁年齡亦延遲至20多歲,原因是教育水平普遍提升,每個人都有能力賺錢養家。此外,Wati亦致力為社區提供普及的家庭計劃及避孕服務。

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Wati和她的團隊率領的遠足團,探索美不勝收的湖泊、火山口及峰頂絕景。旗下訓練有素、知識淵博的女導遊在林賈尼火山一帶土生土長,對當地的一草一木瞭如指掌,可為旅客解答任何問題,獲得海外旅客一致好評。她指出:「這份工作讓我獨立自主,每當外國旅客稱讚我的旅行團時,我會感到非常鼓舞。我們堅持尊重自身的文化和宗教,因此變革必須循序漸進,過程中不免遇上難關,但無論如何,我們正一步步掙脫施予女性的枷鎖。」

Rinjani Women Adventure旅行社為不同年齡的旅客(包括兒童)舉辦由龍目島的森納儒村或森巴侖村出發的遠足團。  

本文原於2019年10月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

Meet the Female Tour Guide Challenging Tradition in Lombok

The founder of Rinjani Women Adventures is blazing a trail for women in tourism in her Indonesian village

Katni Wati was still a teenager when she became frustrated with the passive role of women on Lombok, a comparatively untouched neighbour to the popular Indonesian holiday island of Bali and the gateway to the much-Instagrammed beaches of the Gili Islands. Women were – and in many cases still are – expected to be housewives and have children, with little opportunity for education or employment. They ‘tended to be ruled out,’ says Wati.

She was sick of seeing the men in her village of Senaru, which sits at the base of the 3,800-metre-high Mount Rinjani in the north of Lombok, get all the work as tour guides on the active volcano. At the age of 15, Wati defiantly told her parents that she was going to climb Rinjani.

Credit: Cedric Arnold

‘My parents said, “you can’t do that, it’s too hard for a girl”,’ Wati recalls. ‘They told me climbing the mountain was only for men, as women stayed at home, gave birth and looked after the family.’

This only fuelled Wati’s determination, and slowly her parents came round to the idea. Soon, she was hiking to the top of the mountain, much to the shock and dismay of the Sasak people of Senaru.

‘The community was asking my parents why they let me go up there, and why they let me rebel. Why was I allowed to be a “naughty woman”?’ Wati recalls. But she continued to climb the mountain and learn about its beautiful natural landscape, and in 1995 she set up Lombok’s first all-female trekking business, Rinjani Women Adventure (RWA) – and as a result, has single-handedly revolutionised the lives of women and girls in Senaru.

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Rinjani Women Adventure runs comprehensive Rinjani trekking experiences and has trained more than 60 women, allowing them to become independent, empowered and able to support their families. But it hasn’t always been straightforward. Wati’s venture initially met with disapproval from her community. ‘Men were shocked,’ she says. ‘They asked me, “Why are you setting women up to be independent? You want to fight the men?” They just didn’t understand that I didn’t want to fight men, I wanted to help men and all the families in our community. If something happens to a man and the woman can’t be independent and provide support, what will happen to the family?’

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Wati’s persistence and grit, teamed with the success of her tours, gradually wore away at the scepticism. Of Senaru’s population of approximately 9,000, ‘about 75 per cent of the men now support our women guides,’ says Wati – which, in a country still deeply entrenched in patriarchal values, is a staggering success.

So, what can you expect from a tour with Wati and her team of formidable women? RWA covers various routes and levels of difficulty, and the women will adjust the pace according to guest preferences. Treks range from day trips to three-day excursions to the summit of Rinjani. You can visit the Air Terjun Sendang Gile and Tiu Kelep waterfalls and take a dip in the surrounding pools – perfect for when you return from your trek and feel the need for a pummelling jet massage by waters that reputedly have the power to cure any ailment.

Credit: Cedric Arnold

If the mountain feels a little lofty but you’re still keen to learn about Sasak culture, the women will guide you along the trails surrounding Senaru and show you the rice fields, coffee plantations and the village itself, with its mud and bamboo houses. You might be treated to some traditional local dancing as you sample raw palm sugar and learn about the culture and heritage of Senaru. And as Wati’s expertly trained, knowledgeable women have spent their whole lives on and around Mount Rinjani, there’s barely a question they can’t answer.

Credit: Cedric Arnold

RWA shares its profits with the community. ‘The money we make is not only for me and the women guides to support our families,’ says Wati. ‘We send money to the village as donations for activities or general support for all families. We support the community because the community supports us.’

Wati’s company has brought about social change, too. ‘Girls here used to be married from as young as 12, because that was their only option. They weren’t going to school, so as soon as they seemed old enough, they got married. Then they were pregnant very young, and there’d be a mother who’s a child herself at home with a baby,’ says Wati.

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Now that men and women are working together to support each other and their families, almost all children in the village are going to school. Additionally, girls are getting married later, in their 20s, because everyone is more educated and able to support their families by working. Wati has also focused on providing access to family planning and contraception for the community.

Credit: Cedric Arnold

The guide says she has received overwhelmingly positive feedback from the many international clients she and the team take for treks to the heart-stopping lakes, craters and summit. ‘My job has made me so independent, and when people from other countries tell me they enjoy my tours, it makes me stronger,’ she says. ‘We’re making changes slowly, because we want to respect our culture and our religion. It can be difficult, but now we’re starting to be free women.’

Rinjani Women Adventure organises treks for all ages, including children, starting from both Senaru and Sembalun, Lombok

This story was originally published in October 2019 and updated in September 2020

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book