都市生活

香港填海的歷史、現況與未來大計

若你正踏足全球最昂貴的土地上,何不乾脆讓這塊土地的面積繼續增加?我們追溯香港無休無止的移山填海歷史

如果你能穿越時空,回到100年前的香港,最好帶備救生衣,因為你現時立足的地點,當時可能還是一片汪洋。早在香港開埠初期,地型就因填海而不斷改變;同時亦全靠填海這個重要的工具,香港這個海岸線崎嶇曲折、綿延733公里的彈丸之地,才能蛻變為人口達750萬的國際大都會。

「填海」一詞其實不是很恰當,更準確的說法應是「開闢土地」,因為過程中需開山闢洞,把挖出的泥石堆進海裡,藉此擴張海岸線或建造人工島。香港大部分地方都是藉這種方式得來,對不少香港人來說,年少時所看到的城市面貌跟現在已完全不同。

Pump Park Vintage Photography / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

記者陳婉瑩憶述:「小時候,我會到一位朋友家中觀看龍舟比賽。房子位於灣仔告士打道,當時屬海傍地帶。」這已是1950年代的往事,現時這一帶有會展中心、中環廣場,以及多幢摩天大廈,同一地點已無法再見到海景。

住在油麻地渡船角的梁煥松說:「我懷念大海。」這個地方當時是一片伸出維多利亞港的土地,於1970年代開始發展。其後香港進行歷來最大規模的填海計劃,將海岸線往西推進接近600米,令這裡面目全非。「那時我從家裡走到樓下,只需走幾步就來到海邊,如今卻幾乎看不見海了。」

不過,香港多處原有的海傍地段依然有跡可尋。在灣仔和中、上環,曲曲折折的皇后大道見證著昔日浪濤拍岸的風光。英國人於1841年踏足香港後不久,即開始填海闢地,到了1857年,已將海岸線推進至今天的德輔道。

接著,這個年輕城市推出迄今最宏大的填海計劃。生於印度的亞美尼亞裔商人吉席.保羅.遮打滿懷雄心壯志,提出在中環填海24公頃的計劃。工程於1900年左右完成後,這片全新的土地成為城中的黃金地段,香港會、最高法院及皇后像廣場均選址這片新土地之上。

相關故事:香港中環酒店精選推介

Pump Park Vintage Photography / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

在接下來的一個世紀,啟德和赤鱲角機場,以至多個商業區、貨櫃碼頭、工廠區及形形色色的住宅屋苑,均建於由填海而來的土地上。到了1990年代,在九龍西岸進行的填海計劃帶來340公頃的土地,用來興建全新的路段和地下鐵路線,以至後來的高鐵及西九文化區等超級大型項目,成為香港都市發展的另一轉捩點。正當西九項目即將完成之際,當局已計劃在中環至銅鑼灣海濱一帶填海。另一方面,將九龍灣填平的構思亦已推出。

然而不少市民都擔心,若再繼續填海,維港終有一日會完全消失。因此民間出現了反對填海的強烈呼聲,直到現在仍未停止。1996年,社運人士徐嘉慎聯同時任立法會議員陸恭蕙,提倡通過《保護海港條例》。該條例禁止於維多利亞港填海,除非有凌駕一切的公眾需要。近日剛落成啟用的中環灣仔繞道,工程中涉及的填海計劃剛好在條例通過前獲得批准。

然而不少市民都擔心,若再繼續填海,維港終有一日會完全消失。因此民間出現了反對填海的強烈呼聲,直到現在仍未停止。1996年,社運人士徐嘉慎聯同時任立法會議員陸恭蕙,提倡通過《保護海港條例》。該條例禁止於維多利亞港填海,除非有凌駕一切的公眾需要。近日剛落成啟用的中環灣仔繞道,工程中涉及的填海計劃剛好在條例通過前獲得批准。

相關故事:香港機場的過去、現在和未來

Hong Kong map for land reclamation

1. 赤鱲角

約900公頃的填海土地,用作興建於1998年落成的新機場。填海令赤鱲角島的面積增加三倍,快將完成的第三條跑道會令它再增添650公頃土地。

2. 中環

1880年代的德輔道面臨維港。今天新落成的中環灣仔繞道是最近期的填海項目,將海港的形狀改變。

3. 九龍

尖沙咀鐘樓的位置於1900年時是伸出海中的。2000年代時,在油麻地與荔枝角之間的半島藉填海增添了340公頃土地。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Hong Kong’s Land Reclamation: Past, Present and Future

If you’re standing on the world’s most expensive land, why not simply create some more? We examine Hong Kong’s never-ending land grab

If you’re a time traveller in Hong Kong, you’d better pack a lifejacket because chances are the land you’re standing on wasn’t there 100 years ago. Since its first days as a city, Hong Kong has been shaped and reshaped by land reclamation, which has been an indispensable tool in turning 733 kilometres of craggy shoreline into a global metropolis of 7.5 million people.

Land reclamation is actually a bit of a misnomer; land creation would be more accurate. Mountains are levelled, holes excavated and the resulting soil and debris piled into the sea to extend shorelines or create artificial islands. Most of Hong Kong has been so thoroughly transformed through this process that, for many people, the city they remember from their youth no longer exists.

Reclaimed Hong Kong land
Pump Park Vintage Photography / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

‘When I was small, I used to go to a friend’s flat to watch the dragon boat races,’ recalls journalist Chan Yuen-ying. ‘It was in a building on Gloucester Road in Wan Chai – which was the harbourfront then.’ That was in the 1950s. Today, it would be hard to see the harbour from the same spot, blocked as it is by the Convention and Exhibition Centre, Central Plaza and a thicket of skyscrapers.

‘I miss the sea,’ says Christopher Leung, who grew up in the Yau Ma Tei enclave known as Ferry Point. When it was first developed in the 1970s, it jutted out into Victoria Harbour. That changed when Hong Kong’s largest land reclamation project shifted the shoreline by nearly 600 metres to the west. ‘I would go downstairs, just a few steps and I was at the water. Now I can hardly see it.’

It’s still possible to trace the original waterfront in many parts of Hong Kong. In Wan Chai, Central and Sheung Wan, the twists and turns of Queen’s Road mark the spot where waves once lapped against the shore. Almost as soon as the British arrived in 1841, they began to push the shoreline outwards until it reached present-day Des Voeux Road in 1857.

The next stage of land reclamation was the young city’s most ambitious to date. Indian-born Armenian businessman Catchick Paul Chater hatched a plan to reclaim 24 hectares of land in the middle of Central. When work finished around 1900, the new land became the city’s most prized real estate, providing space for the Hong Kong Club, Supreme Court and Statue Square.

Reclaimed Hong Kong land
Pump Park Vintage Photography / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Over the next century, reclamation made room for airports at Kai Tak and Chek Lap Kok, along with business districts, container ports, factory zones and vast housing estates. But a turning point came in the 1990s, when 340 hectares of land were reclaimed off the west coast of Kowloon to make way for new roads, MTR lines and eventual mega-projects like the Express Rail and West Kowloon Cultural District. Just as that project was being completed, plans were underway to fill in the harbourfront from Central to Causeway Bay. The idea of filling in the whole of Kowloon Bay was floated.

People genuinely worried the harbour would one day disappear, which sparked a backlash that’s still felt today. In 1996, activist Winston Chu teamed up with legislator Christine Loh to pass the Protection of the Harbour Ordinance, which bans any future reclamation in Victoria Harbour unless there is an overriding public need. The reclamation for the newly opened Central-Wan Chai bypass was approved just before the ordinance was passed.

But reclamation is not off-limits outside the harbour. Government officials have proposed filling in parts of Tolo Harbour and Lung Kwu Tan to create more space for housing, and Chief Executive Carrie Lam recently unveiled plans for a massive artificial island that may be built off the tranquil south shore of Lantau Island. In Hong Kong, the ground under your feet is never quite as firm as it might seem.

Hong Kong map for land reclamation

1. Chek Lap Kok

About 900 hectares of reclaimed land tripled the size of the island for the new airport in 1998. The upcoming third runway will add a further 650 hectares.

2. Central

Waves lapped Des Voeux Road in the 1880s. Today, the new Central-Wan Chai bypass is the latest reclamation project to alter the shape of the harbourfront.

3. Kowloon

In 1900, Tsim Sha Tsui’s Clock Tower jutted into the sea. That changed in the 2000s when 340 hectares of land were added to the peninsula between Yau Ma Tei and Lai Chi Kok.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book