可持續發展旅遊

中國餐飲界走「塑」減廢之策

中國內地有餐廳、外賣服務供應商和社會組織成為先驅,積極解決國內日益嚴重的塑廢料問題

遊走中國任何一個大都會的大街小巷中,不消一會,總有一輛外賣電單車在你身旁呼嘯而過。中國的事物亦以風馳電掣的速度變遷,連飲食習慣也不例外。十年前,市民還會一如傳統,每早到街市買菜;現在,只需按一按智能電話,各式美食便送到府上。外賣員每天東奔西走,在全國馬不停蹄地送遞美食。

便利的模式換來的代價是大量塑膠廢料。在中國,每天丟棄的外賣餐盒估計超過6,500萬個。這些即棄餐盒大多以單薄的塑膠製成,造價低廉而且佈滿食物殘渣,由於無利可圖,連間接推動國內回收業的拾荒者(大多為外省人)亦置之不理,最終無法回收再造。

不過,近年中國已著手推動和改善廢物處理。2018年初,中國停止從其他國家接收廢物,轉而先解決國內問題;2019年7月1日,上海更實施全新的廢物分類法,嚴令個人、家庭、社區以至企業肩負起垃圾分類的責任。上海居民現時需要將廢物分為四大類,包括可回收、有害、家居食物及廚餘,違者可被罰款達200人民弊(約220港元)。中央政府為包括上海的46個城市訂立了減廢目標,各市須於2020年前將35%的廢物循環再造。

雖然減廢行動尚在起步階段,但已有社會組織和愈來愈多具遠見的餐廳開始積極「走塑」。自2018年底起,位於上海外灘的高級西班牙菜館El Willy便將可持續原則納入營運宗旨中。集團行政總廚Koen Vessies憶起十年前初到上海的光景時說:「中國人大量使用塑膠製品,令初來乍到的我大吃一驚。我仍然清楚記得第一次收取訂貨的情景:檸檬裝在膠袋中,再放進另一個大袋子裡;每個水果都以塑膠物料獨立包裝。那時,我們已促請供應商棄用膠袋,改為將食材裝入大紙箱中。」轉眼間,餐廳已開業十載,員工同心協力推動可持續發展,包括推出純素餐單和改用紙飲管,廚房部又用可重用的容器取代保鮮紙。

鼓吹減廢風氣的先鋒,通常是著重健康或環保的餐廳。有機食品餐廳Tribe Organic在北京及上海皆設有分店,其外賣餐盒由竹漿製成,外賣袋也可循環再用,如顧客將之歸還,可享外賣折扣優惠。另一邊廂,標榜健康飲食的咖啡餐室「摩卡站」於北京、上海及成都的分店推出瓶子重用計劃,以免費升級至大杯裝咖啡作為優惠,鼓勵顧客盡一分力。

餐廳要實行「走塑」,成本無疑是一大阻礙。由石油提煉而成的傳統塑膠成本低廉,其他代替品卻不然。今年4月,來自上海、主打農場直送的休閒快餐店悅衡食集,正式轉用聚乳酸來製造杯具和飲管,這種以植物中提取的澱粉製成的塑膠是可天然生物降解的物質。與此同時,餐廳亦提供以木及竹製成的可重用餐具套裝,由當地公司「御丹」升級再造的牛仔布袋包裝,顧客出示該套裝即可獲得折扣。餐廳的市務總監Lucy Hu表示:「我們採用紙製飲管,冷飲杯和杯蓋則用聚乳酸所造,只需六個月便可被自然分解,兩者的成本比起傳統物料分別貴八倍和四倍。」如有足夠的客戶需求,環保包裝產量才可擴大,自然有望降低成本。

另一邊廂,總部設於北京的公益組織「GoalBlue為藍」,自2016年起一直致力推廣環保意識。機構創辦人子雯表示:「我們積極影響顧客就環境問題而改變取態。」他們有三項重點方針,其一是減少使用塑膠製品,主要透過學校聯網及社交媒體平台進行宣傳;而新推出的iCare計劃,則向消費者推介環保餐廳和企業,例如光顧產品包裝較環保的商戶。

中國內地另一個減廢方向是致力避免塑料包裝。外賣公司「異口良食」於2014年由文宇辰創立,外賣團隊將用陶瓷碗碟盛載的美食連同可重用的餐具送到顧客府上,再於送餐後90分鐘收回碗碟餐具。有趣的是,這家初創食店的初衷並非為了樹立零塑膠外賣模範。文宇辰表示:「老實說,我們的做法並非只為環保或推動可持續發展。」他解釋,公司的理念是以家用餐具取代塑膠品,讓顧客感受家常便飯的溫馨。 無論如何,此舉吸引到綠色和平東亞分部北京辦事處的注意,決定邀請「異口良食」參與減塑推廣計劃。項目總監許文靜表示,計劃主要擔當中介角色,撮合已成功減塑的餐廳跟有意仿傚的同儕合作。

另一個獲綠色和平青睞的環保先鋒是北京的薄餅店「叫板比薩」。後者於2017年設立內部環保部門Blue Mountain,目前與專營外賣服務的美團公司合作;同時又與澳洲包裝生產商Detpak合作研發新款薄餅盒,將生產原料大幅減少五成,並選用FSC認證的環保紙,就連支撐薄餅盒蓋的白色小塑膠支架亦改以紙料製成。該公司的可持續發展經理Kerry Lim說:「這可能是全世界首個紙製小支架,聽來實在荒謬,但我們的確找不到其他更環保的做法。」

但說到底,所有人都同意落實政策才最重要。中國共益企業組織負責認證牟利機構在提升環保及社會責任標準的成效。小組總監高敏漢表示:「如果在廢物分類方面能對餐廳實施更嚴格的規管,一定能夠迅速整頓風氣。中國優勝的地方在於一旦作出改革,他們的實行速度通常較其他國家快,因此我對前景感到樂觀。」

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Sustainable travel

How China’s Food Industry Is Reducing Plastic Waste

China’s forward-thinking restaurants, delivery services and social organisations are taking on the nation’s growing plastic waste problem

Spend a minute in any Chinese metropolis and within a moment, you’ll feel the rush of air from a delivery bike speeding past. Like almost everything else in China, eating habits have transformed at a breakneck pace. A decade ago, morning trips to the vegetable market were tradition. Now, food of all sorts can be summoned to your home at the touch of a finger to your smartphone. Deliverymen rocket around, racking up hundreds of millions of trips per day across the country.

But this convenience doesn’t come without a cost. It’s estimated that more than 65 million takeaway containers are discarded every day in China. Generally made of thin, low-value plastic and covered in food residue, they never make it to recycling centres as the return is too small for the ‘informal’ collectors (often migrants to the cities) who comprise the country’s recycling system.

China's food industry is reducing plastic waste

In recent years, though, there’s been a push to improve China’s waste management. At the beginning of 2018, China stopped receiving imported waste from other countries and turned its focus inwards. On 1 July, 2019, strict new regulations for waste-sorting came into effect in Shanghai that hold everyone from individuals and households to communities and businesses accountable. Shanghai residents must now separate their trash into four categories (recyclable, hazardous, household food and residual) or face fines of up to RMB200 (HK$220). The city is one of 46 across the country with a target, set by the central government, to recycle 35 per cent of its waste by 2020. 

While the movement is still small, social organisations and a growing number of forward-thinking restaurants are also starting to actively address plastic waste issues. Since late 2018, El Willy, an upscale Spanish restaurant on the Bund in Shanghai, has added sustainability into its company goals. ‘Coming to China was quite a shock because everything comes in plastic,’ says Koen Vessies, executive chef of the group, recalling his arrival a decade ago. ‘I remember the first time receiving orders here. For instance, lemons arrived in a plastic bag within a big bag, but then each individual fruit was wrapped again in more plastic. Even then we pushed our suppliers to just bring it in a crate and forgo the plastic.’ Over the past year, in a concerted effort towards greater sustainability, which includes initiatives such as the introduction of a vegan menu, the 10-year-old restaurant has made moves to swap out plastic straws for paper ones and employ reusable containers instead of cling film in the kitchen. 

Often, it’s health-focused restaurants, or those with an existing environmental bent, leading the charge. Tribe Organic, which has locations in Beijing and Shanghai, uses boxes made from bamboo pulp, and reusable bags that can be returned for small discounts on its meal delivery plans, while health food cafe Moka Bros, with branches in Beijing, Shanghai and Chengdu, recently launched a reusable bottle programme with free coffee upgrades as an incentive. 

One major challenge for restaurants is cost. Traditional petroleum-based plastics are cheap, while alternatives are not. In April, farm-to-table, fast-casual restaurant Hunter Gatherer in Shanghai switched to polylactide (PLA), a bio-plastic made from plant starch, for its cups and straws. The eatery also offers reusable cutlery packs made of wood and bamboo, wrapped in upcycled denim cases made by local company UseDem, which customers can present for discounts. ‘Our straws are paper, our cold drink cups – the lid and the body – are PLA, which are six months biodegradable and four times the cost. The straw? Eight times the cost,’ says Lucy Hu, Hunter Gatherer’s marketing director.

In order to achieve economies of scale for the production of environmentally friendly packaging options, there must be enough customer demand. Since 2016, Beijing-based non-profit GoalBlue has worked on exactly that. ‘We’re focused on influencing customer behaviour changes towards environmental issues,’ says founder May Mei. One of GoalBlue’s three areas of focus is reducing the use of plastic, which it promotes through schools and social media platforms as well as through a new programme called iCare, which provides consumers with recommendations for responsible restaurants and businesses, such as those using more environmentally friendly packaging.

Another approach is to avoid plastic packaging altogether. Delivery-only business Yikou Liangshi, established in 2014 by Wen Yuchen, employs its own team to transport meals packed in ceramic dishware with reusable cutlery that they automatically retrieve 90 minutes after drop-off. But, surprisingly, sustainability is not the underlying motive for the start-up kitchen’s zero-plastic takeaway model. ‘It’s less about being eco-friendly or sustainable, to be honest,’ says Wen, who explains that the idea was to create the feeling of home comforts, where you eat off real dishes instead of out of plastic.

Nevertheless, Yikou Liangshi caught the eye of Greenpeace East Asia’s Beijing office, which is starting a plastic reduction advocacy programme. It’s essentially playing a matchmaker role to partner restaurants who’ve successfully reduced plastic with ones eager to do so, explains the project’s campaigner Xu Wenjing.

China's food industry is reducing plastic waste

Another leading example tapped by Greenpeace is Beijing pizza company Gung Ho. Currently, it works in partnership with food delivery service Meituan, which launched its own environmental protection division, Blue Mountain, in 2017. Gung Ho has also teamed up with Australian packaging manufacturer Detpak to develop a new pizza box which uses 50 per cent less material than usual. The new box is made of FSC-certified paper, and comes with a paper version of the little white plastic table that supports a pizza box’s lid. ‘It’s quite possibly the very first one in the world, which is ridiculous,’ says Gung Ho’s sustainability manager, Kerry Lim. ‘But it is actually because there’s just no alternative.’ 

When it comes down to it, everyone seems to agree that policy is paramount. ‘If there’s more serious regulation for restaurants in terms of sorting the trash, then I’m sure that it will change very fast,’ says Min Ko, director of B Corps China, an independent taskforce that certifies businesses’ commitments to high environmental and social standards. ‘One thing China does well when change happens is it speeds up at a pace quicker than any other country. In that way, I’m optimistic.’ 

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book