都市生活

集懷舊與新潮於 一身的銅鑼灣

銅鑼灣是個車水馬龍的鬧區,香港國際七人欖球賽就在這裡舉行。除了店舖和商場,這一區還有不少歷史傳統和時髦好去處

經常有人問我,為何選擇住在全球人口密度數一數二的城市裡一個極為繁華熱鬧的地區?即使在香港,一提起銅鑼灣,就只會令人想起街上一間接一間、數之不盡的店舖。可是區內還有數以百間出色的餐廳和酒吧,全都在五分鐘的步行範圍內;而只要步行十分鐘,就可來到野豬經常出沒的遠足徑。此外,附近低矮樓房林立的大坑區內,亦有不少充滿個性的小店,散落在橫街窄巷,與樓房外掛著的晾衣繩、油跡斑斑的車房和家家戶戶拜神燒香的味道和諧共存。

有賴投資者高瞻遠矚,加上日本零售業巨頭的青睞,以及從維多利亞港填海得來的土地,銅鑼灣從昔日叫做「東角」的工業區搖身一變,成為香港國際七人欖球賽的舉行場地,同時將街頭小食魚蛋和「打小人」習俗發揚光大,更擁有大量價值冠絕全球的商舖物業。

Calvin Sit

與其乘搭地道的「叮叮」電車,以極其緩慢的速度穿梭於長期水洩不通的街道上,沿街步行或許是更適合遊客的選擇。這裡終日人流絡繹不絕。零售業界愛用「客流量」為指標,而眾所周知,銅鑼灣的客流量極高,令地產物業的價格亦隨之上升,區內的商廈價值不菲,可與紐約第五大道及東京銀座媲美。

其中時代廣場是個人流特別暢旺的地點。這裡前身是毫無吸引力的電車廠舊址,現在變身為極具香港特色的多層購物商場,裡面雲集高級時裝店、百貨公司及餐廳。如果你追求浮華耀目的事物,這裡會令你感到如魚得水。

Calvin Sit

不過,位於時代廣場不遠處的小店如Cafe Corridor咖啡室依然在營業,實在令我感到寬慰。這家小店藏身於一道狹長走廊的盡頭,走廊兩旁貼滿各式海報和傳單,洋溢學生氣息與披頭族的型格。店內的咖啡香濃美味,並特意不設無線上網,貫徹大隱於市的風格。

附近的街頭小食檔新時代美食,擺賣一串串穿在竹籤上、染成鮮橙紅色的豬腸,還有臭豆腐和咖哩魚蛋等常見的地道小食,店員待客態度粗魯,而顧客似乎亦不以為忤。不過我總是想不通,這家小店就在名錶百達翡麗的專門店對面,租金必定不便宜,他們到底要賣多少串小食才足夠支付租金呢?

Calvin Sit

一直以來,不少日本人聚居於港島的銅鑼灣,因此每次當我在繁忙時間於日式百貨公司崇光百貨外面的軒尼詩道過馬路時,就會感到彷彿置身於號稱全球最繁忙的東京澀谷十字路口上。

若想避開擁擠的人潮,找個地方透一口氣,最好到維多利亞公園去。雖然公園四周高樓大廈林立,但園內不乏賞心悅目的花草樹木。公園內有足球場和籃球場,可約三五好友去磨練球技;或者靜坐一旁,欣賞長者們練習太極拳的優雅姿態。公園內還有一個模型船池,經常有人在池上玩遙控電動模型船。看著他們控制模型船在水池上來回飛馳,令我非常羡慕,恨不得也試玩一下。

Calvin Sit

距離維多利亞公園不遠處,就是大坑。這裡有不少低矮的樓房,氣氛亦較為寧靜悠閒,令人想起昔日的港島風貌。在這一帶閒逛,可以見到在本地舊樓之間夾雜了新潮的設計精品店、特色咖啡室和價廉物美的食肆小店等,是個非常有趣的地區。

說到食方面,原來香港首家麥當勞餐廳就正正於1975年開設在銅鑼灣百德新街。令人意想不到的是,根據《經濟學人》周報制訂的「巨無霸指數」顯示,時至今日,本地麥當勞餐廳的食物價格與其他國際城市相比,依然是最物有所值的。

如果想一嚐本地舊式快餐的滋味,就要到丹麥餅店去。這家老字號位於禮頓道與加路連山道交界的角落,已有數十年歷史;下月前往香港大球場觀看七人欖球賽的觀眾,途中定會經過。店內以包點、炸雞腿、熱狗和加了蛋黃醬的豬扒包最為馳名,是不少球迷觀賽前後的充飢美食之選。

這家小店雖以丹麥為名,其實跟丹麥完全無關。店舖位於禮信大廈地下,這是一幢建於1960年代的舊式大樓,也是銅鑼灣區內僅餘的一點老香港風貌。大樓商住兩用,裡面有各式各樣的店舖,包括一家出售古著皮褸的潮人精品店、一家保齡球用品專門店,以及多家氣氛輕鬆的小型食肆。這些食肆距離城中最大規模的卡地亞專門店不過一箭之遙,但是價錢經濟實惠,再次令我關心它們是否可以維持經營。若你喜歡香辣滋味,可光顧泰菜小館泰滋美;餐館距離大球場不過五分鐘路程,不少球迷途經這裡時,都喜歡坐在餐館的戶外座位上,喝一瓶勝獅啤酒。

Calvin Sit

除了各式餐廳之外,銅鑼灣亦有數以百計的酒吧。位於耀華街上的Ruggers酒吧堪稱欖球迷和球員的第二個家;無論以前還是現在,每到國際七人欖球賽舉行時,這裡都是熱鬧非凡的。酒吧在社交媒體上使用的標籤#poweredbybeer(以啤酒推動),意思無須多加解釋,因為在這裡你可以找到數十種來自全球各地的啤酒品牌,例如出色的新西蘭Yeastie Boys以及香港本地土產鬼佬啤酒等。

若喜歡安靜地小酌的話,可往位於Ruggers酒吧對面大廈頂樓內的b.a.r Executive Bar酒吧。這裡由資深日本調酒師吹留一郎主理,為客人調製各款經典雞尾酒。酒吧空間小巧,但佈置得豪華而優雅,往外望去,雖然見到跑馬地馬場,卻令人有恍如置身東京某個角落的感覺。酒吧內有超過300款威士忌供人品嚐,全都是出色上乘之選,質量可說是全港數一數二,因此雖然收費不便宜,而且氣氛較為拘謹,仍然有不少捧場客。這裡調製的Old Fashioned雞尾酒,名副其實帶著應有的傳統風味。

酒吧所在的大廈,外貌平平無奇,不過銅鑼灣有許多餐廳、酒吧、卡拉OK酒廊等,都是開設於類似的大廈內。從酒吧往下走幾層樓,就來到我最喜歡的香港餐廳四姐川菜。這裡的四川菜辛香麻辣兼而有之,有八成菜式都以令人吃後嘴唇發麻的花椒作配料。若機緣巧合的話,有時你會見到老闆娘從廚房走出來,向各檯客人挑戰,與她競飲啤酒或其他飲品,場面非常超現實。

Calvin Sit

最後你一定不能錯過俗稱鵝頸橋的堅拿道天橋。橋上交通車水馬龍,橋下空地上則常見一群老婦在那裡進行「打小人」的儀式。這是個古老的習俗,人們手持拖鞋敲打置於磚塊上印有人像的紙片,並且口中唸唸有詞,藉此驅除厄運。前來打小人的顧客形形色色,偶然亦有好奇的遊客前來光顧。他們會將心目中的「小人」,例如上司、情敵或其他曾與之結怨的人的照片或名字拿出來進行儀式,當紙片或照片被敲打成碎紙條後,就會用肥豬肉包住燒掉,至於儀式是否有效,讀者請自行
查證。

不少政客都曾經是市民打小人的對象,如果將七人欖球賽的舉辦地點由香港大球場遷往舊啟德機場(政府建議興建一座可容納50,000人的新場地)的計劃落實,他們可能會再度成為打小人的對象。想知道今年誰人榜上有名,最好前來鵝頸橋一看究竟,同時順道探索銅鑼灣鮮為人知的一面。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Causeway Bay Without the Scrums

They’re used to crowds in Causeway Bay, the home of the Hong Kong Sevens. But there’s more – history, heritage, hipness – to neighbourhood than shops, malls and more shops

am frequently asked why I choose to live in one of the busiest parts of one of the world’s most densely populated cities. Even in Hong Kong, say ‘Causeway Bay’ and people think of one thing only: shops. Lots and lots of shops. But I could cite the hundreds of brilliant restaurants and bars within five minutes’ walk, the hiking trail 10 minutes away where meeting wild boars is not uncommon, or maybe the low-rise enclave of Tai Hang with its bohemian hangouts in lanes filled with washing lines, wafts of incense and oil-spattered car workshops.

Home to the Hong Kong Sevens, fishballs, photo-beating grannies and sky-high commercial rents, Causeway Bay (Tung Lo Wan in Cantonese) has grown immensely from its industrial origins as East Point, thanks to forward-thinking investors, Japanese retail giants and land reclaimed from Victoria Harbour.

Calvin Sit

Handily for visitors, it’s easy to explore on foot, a quicker option than the iconic ‘ding ding’ trams which slowly creak their way through the always-crowded streets. And there are lots of feet. ‘Footfall’, as the retailers like to call it, is so heavy that CWB (as it’s also known) is now home to some of the world’s most expensive commercial real estate, regularly fighting for the number one spot with New York’s Fifth Avenue and Tokyo’s Ginza.

One especially popular spot is Times Square, which sits on the site of a decidedly unglamorous former tram depot. Today, the space boasts a vertical mall – itself a Hong Kong speciality – featuring dozens of high-end boutiques, department stores and restaurants. If bling is your thing, then you’ve quite possibly found the Promised Land.

Calvin Sit

But for me it’s reassuring that just metres away from Times Square, independent places like Cafe Corridor are still in business: a studentish, beatnik enclave serving great coffee in a defiantly no-Wi-Fi zone hidden down a dinky passageway decked with posters and flyers.

There’s also the grandly named street food stall New Era Delights, run by staff who seem to delight in being rude to all their customers, offering curls of dayglo-orange pig intestines on a skewer, stinky tofu or fishballs with curry sauce. What never ceases to blow my mind is how they sell enough skewered delights to pay the rent when they’re located directly opposite a Patek Philippe shop.

Calvin Sit

Causeway Bay has historically been Hong Kong Island’s hub of all things Japanese, so it’s apt that every time I cross the busy Hennessy Road thoroughfare outside Japanese department store Sogo at rush hour, it feels like Tokyo’s Shibuya crossing – reputed to be the busiest in the world.

Handily, it takes you to Victoria Park, somewhere that offers an airy break from the masses of humanity, even if it seems to feature far more concrete than grass. Join in on the football pitches and basketball courts, watch the elegant flow of elderly tai chi practitioners or follow my lead and seethe with jealousy as you wish you could have a go piloting the remote-controlled boats that local enthusiasts whizz across a mini man-made lake.

Calvin Sit

From there it’s a short hop to Tai Hang, a much more sedate, low-rise spot that recalls how most of Hong Kong Island used to look. Wandering the grid of streets brings a beguiling mix of local tenement blocks, funked-up design boutiques, great coffee shops and cheap eats.

Talking of eating – it is a Hong Kong obsession, after all – Causeway Bay was also home to Hong Kong’s first McDonald’s, which opened back in 1975 on Paterson Street. Surprisingly, the golden arches remain one of the best value destinations for a feed when compared to other global cities – at least according to the Big Mac Index devised by The Economist newspaper.

Far more old school and local fast eats come at the Danish Bakery. Located on the corner of Leighton and Caroline Hill Road, directly en route to Hong Kong Stadium – where spectators will flock to check out the bone-crunching tackles and fast-paced rugby next month – the bakery’s been serving buns, fried chicken on a stick and hot dog and mayonnaise-filled rolls for decades, making them a perfect stop for fans in serious need of carbs.

The bakery – which is in no way Danish – sits in one of the last bastions of old Hong Kong in Causeway Bay, Leishun Court. It’s a 1960s block, home to an eclectic mix of businesses including a hipster boutique filled with vintage leather jackets, a shop for all your tenpin bowling needs and cheap and cheerful local eateries with prices that again seem unfeasibly low given that you’re about 30 seconds from the city’s largest Cartier shop. For those after spice, no-frills Delicious Thai occasionally lives up to its name, while its outdoor seats are popular with fans in need of a cold Singha to fortify them… for that epic five-minute walk to the stadium.

Calvin Sit

Talking of beverages, Causeway Bay is dotted with hundreds of options to wet your whistle, including the unmistakable Ruggers on Yiu Wa Street. It’s a second home for rugby fans and players past and present, making it one of the liveliest spots to go during the Sevens. The bar’s hashtag #poweredbybeer needs no explanation, while it has dozens of global labels such as New Zealand’s excellent Yeastie Boys and Hong Kong’s local Gweilo beer.

A decidedly more sedate spot comes on the top floor of the building opposite Ruggers, where veteran Japanese barman Ichiro Hiidome crafts perfect classic cocktails at b.a.r Executive Bar. The elegant, compact space feels like a little corner of Tokyo, albeit one overlooking the Happy Valley racecourse in the distance. Expensive and with its own sense of etiquette, it’s beloved for what must rank as one of Hong Kong’s best whisky collections, with more than 300 varieties – while an Old Fashioned has never felt so aptly named.

Its location atop an otherwise nondescript block is a reminder of how many Causeway Bay restaurants, bars, karaoke lounges and more are located well above street level. A few floors down in the same building is home to one of my favourite Hong Kong restaurants, the brilliant Si Jie. It translates as ‘fourth sister’ and is a temple to spicy Sichuan cuisine, with lip-numbing huajiao peppercorns featuring in about 80 per cent of dishes. If you’re lucky, there will be a surreal twist as the woman who runs it will come from the kitchen and challenge tables to down shots of beer – and more – with her.

Calvin Sit

A final spot not to be missed comes underneath the Canal Road flyover, with buses hurtling past, as elderly women practise a centuries-old Hong Kong ritual that translates as ‘villain hitting’. Using slippers, they beat small pieces of paper against bricks so that people can repel sources of bad luck. Clients from every walk of life, along with occasional curious tourists, hand over photos or write the names of their boss, partner’s mistress or others against who they seek revenge. Once the paper or photos have been beaten to shreds, the remains are rubbed in pork fat and then burned. Whether the ladies can work their curses on opposition scrum halves – or maybe make hangovers disappear – has yet to be tested.

Politicians have been known to be the target of their soles and may be in the firing line again if plans to move the Sevens from Hong Kong Stadium – to a proposed 50,000 seat venue on the site of the city’s former airport, Kai Tak – come to fruition. All of which means that there has never been a better excuse – or time – to explore the myriad hidden delights of Causeway Bay.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book