頂級酒店

九龍區最佳酒店

許多人入住九龍區酒店,其中的誘因莫過於能飽覽香港島壯觀的城市輪廓。近年來,香港多個令人引頸期盼的發展項目相繼落戶九龍,令尖沙咀及九龍多個地區頓成目光焦點

九龍位於維多利亞港以北,乘搭機場快綫可於約20分鐘抵達九龍站;如從香港島前往僅數個港鐵站之遙,乘坐天星小輪亦可輕鬆抵達尖沙咀。尖沙咀海傍是許多遊客訪港的第一站,這裡匯集奢華名店、多個香港地標性建築(包括翻新後的香港藝術館),以及半島酒店和九龍香格里拉酒店等馳名酒店。

此外,從尖沙咀海濱眺望香港島高樓林立的景象亦是畢生難忘的旅遊經歷。在發展如火如荼的西九龍文化區可以找到優美的海濱步道,不少人會在此踏單車看風景;尖沙咀中心部分至尖東則有經翻新的星光大道,這裡有時尚的維港文化匯發展項目,在此走走看看非常愜意。

儘管嶄新亮麗的發展項目陸續登陸尖沙咀,毗鄰的佐敦卻依然保留地道的面貌,讓你親歷經典港產片中熙攘的九龍。在晚間遊佐敦至油麻地尤其值得,因為你可在多條街道看到層層疊疊的霓虹燈招牌、在街頭開檔子的算命師傅、舊式卡拉OK歌廊、別具特色的玉器市場和廟街夜市;這兩區一帶亦有不少由少數族裔人士經營的小店。油麻地也別具文青氣息,有多間時髦的咖啡館、藝術電影院和平價酒店。

九龍區的魅力不會被香港島比下去,更有許多優質的住宿選擇,值得你慢慢探索。請參考以下的九龍區酒店住宿指南,為下次造訪香港或是留港度假做好準備。

尖沙咀

K11 ARTUS寓館

適合欣賞簡約設計的品味之士。$$$$

離家在外,卻想感受賓至如歸的奢華住宿體驗?備受矚目的K11 Artus寓館是尖沙咀綜合發展項目K11 Musea的旗艦式居停,為賓客提供長住或短居、開放式公寓或寬敞頂層複式公寓等多樣化選擇。酒店的室內設計精緻巧心卻不失溫馨的家居感,有開放式起居空間、設玻璃門的露台及廚房等格局。設計是K11 Artus寓館最重視的環節,但這裡不見高調浮誇的細節,反而更關注客房的舒適性。K11 Artus寓館所呈現的氛圍,與一般酒店、甚至是豪華酒店截然不同。從設計活像圖書館的登記處開始,再到客房內精緻的室內裝潢,住客於整個入住期間都能體驗到有如回家的親切款待,對於講究舒適感與設計感的人來說堪稱最完美的選擇。

私心推介:每個客房均設有露台,讓住客盡情陶醉於K11 Artus寓館獨享的無敵美景。

是否設有泳池?設有一個戶外泳池。

尖沙咀梳士巴利道18號;+852 2107 3388

香港九龍香格里拉大酒店

集寬敞空間、優質服務和絕佳景觀三大優點的經典之選。$$

自1981年以來,九龍香格里拉大酒店一直是維港畔的尖東地標。雖然酒店的裝潢可看出歲月洗禮(例如設有噴泉和水晶吊燈的大堂),但空間格外寬敞的688間客房才是亮點所在,有些還坐擁景致絕倫的環迴海景。酒店還設有四家精品餐廳,米芝蓮星級食府香宮可謂其中最著名的一間,那裡以巧妙的上菜方式著稱,例如造成金魚狀的蝦仁餡扇貝餃,還有用宛如恐龍蛋的保溫碗盛載綠豆芽蟹肉。如此精采美饌,吸引了一班酒店常客追捧,其中不乏富商及廠家東主。

私心推介:電梯內的地毯每日更新,告訴來客當天是星期幾。

是否設有泳池?設有一個室內泳池。

尖沙咀麼地道64號;+852 2721 2111

香港朗廷酒店

典雅歐風格調與世界級美饌。$$$

香港朗廷酒店位於地理位置優越的廣東道,讓住客盡情探索尖沙咀心臟地帶的人氣食肆及購物熱點,但酒店內的環境卻無比優靜舒適。這間洋溢歐陸格調的豪華酒店設有華麗的雲石大堂,安靜的客房內配備舒適的扶手椅及Wedgwood瓷器,部分還安裝了裝飾性壁爐,室內設計處處吐露招牌的粉紅色調。15樓的泳池和按摩池可讓你放鬆身心,而位於頂層的「川」身+心水療中心則設有雅致時尚的理療室,設計結合了中國五行元素。退房之前,當然還要到香閣用餐,因為這間米芝蓮三星食府,是全球連續四年奪星的五間粵菜館之一。

私心推介:酒店為商務旅客提供適合辦公和舉行會議的多項設施和輔助;同時,酒店亦顧及家庭旅客,為同行的子女提供多款有趣的個人用品,例如朗廷門僮泰迪熊和Theodore浴袍等,客房內還有遊戲帳篷和趣致的玩具。

是否設有泳池?設有一個戶外泳池。

尖沙咀北京道8號;+852 2375 1133

Page148晉緻酒店

專為千禧世代而設的精品酒店。$

Page148晉緻酒店被稱為「城市探險者之家」,整體風格走的是簡約實用的路線,時尚鋁材外牆的設計靈感則來自紐約的熨斗大廈。酒店的197間客房可分為六種類型,包括標準的雙人房及可容納四人的家庭房;所有客房均設有落地窗,讓住客俯瞰九龍木球會的青蔥綠意。浴室內的個人用品則使用澳洲的全天然零殘害品牌Appelles Apothecary & Lab。部分客房還配備4G Wi-Fi蛋,讓你遊覽本港的同時還能保持聯繫(方便你隨時將照片上傳到社交網絡)。大堂設有公共餐枱及座椅,是理想的旅人交流空間,你可以帶電腦或書本前來享受靜謐時光。在同一樓層的Page Common咖啡室,則提供各式手工咖啡和輕食。

私心推介:此酒店品牌非常重視咖啡,每間客房都備有Page Common自家調和的咖啡濾袋,讓住客隨時享用香濃咖啡。

是否設有泳池?否。

尖沙咀柯士甸道148號;+852 3844 8888

香港半島酒店

當之無愧的「遠東貴婦」。$$$$

世上能以「標誌性」形容的事物並不多,但半島酒店絕對當之無愧。墨綠色的勞斯萊斯車隊、奢華的購物商場、全城最優質服務⋯⋯無一不令人印象深刻。酒店的多款餐飲供應也已列入經典之選,包括大堂的精緻下午茶、嘉麟樓的一流粵菜,以及Felix餐廳的早午餐(自從酒店拉開窗簾讓食客同時欣賞美景後,餐廳的整體水平更上層樓)等,全皆令人驚艷。此外,半島酒店的室內裝飾以高貴的米白色調配搭沉穩的深色木質裝飾,盡顯優雅格調。縱然酒店於1928年開業,客房內均已配備最新高科技設備。入住時,別忘了抽空造訪半島水療中心;這裡的「Time Together」雙人護理療程,讓愛侶在私人水療套房內享受按摩和漩渦按摩浴。如果你有充足的預算,不妨從酒店天台的停機坪搭乘直升機展開夢幻之旅,親自經歷更上一層樓的「標誌性」體驗,將香江美景盡收眼底。

私心推介:預訂勞斯萊斯轎車接送服務,讓你在踏入酒店前已開始體驗奢華。

是否設有泳池?設有一個室內泳池。

尖沙咀梳士巴利道;+852 2920 2888

香港瑰麗酒店

坐擁富麗堂皇的裝潢及博物館級藝術品的海傍酒店。$$$$

香港瑰麗酒店於2019年初開業,是雄心勃勃的Victoria Dockside藝文區的重要一環,為商務和休閒旅客新增一個在尖東海傍住宿的優質選擇。酒店進佔一幢65層高大樓的頂部共43層空間,內部收藏了獨樹一幟的當代藝術品、設高空景觀花園和露台等突顯酒店氣派的項目,旁邊更有K11 Musea大型藝術商場。酒店413間客房的面積由500平方呎起,頗為寬敞。從Darkside爵士樂酒吧到彤福軒的順德美食盛宴,瑰麗酒店不乏精采的餐飲娛樂。保健理療中心Asaya設有水療、一個25米長的無邊際泳池和一間提供健康菜式的餐廳。

私心推介:由司機駕駛積架房車迎接你辦理入住手續,讓你的旅程既輕鬆又顯品味。

是否設有泳池?分別設有一個戶外泳池和一個室內泳池。

尖沙咀梳士巴利道18號維港文化匯;+852 3891 8888

香港喜來登酒店

適合家庭和商務旅客的務實之選。$$

香港喜來登酒店位於彌敦道和梳士巴利道的拐角處,便利的地理位置讓遊客一頭栽進精采的尖沙咀區。酒店若進行內部翻新的話會更理想,但現在的782間客房和套房仍非常舒適。位於頂層的蠔酒吧和塔樓酒廊,將維多利亞港的全景盡收眼底。天台泳池是另一個居高臨下的有利位置,雖然它不如大多數香港酒店的泳池般寬大,但設有三個加熱的按摩浴池,全客全年均可盡情享受。塔樓客房和套房提供貼心的額外服務,包括私人入住登記,享用16樓塔樓酒廊和會議室設施,以及每日熨燙西裝等免費優待服務。

私心推介:大堂酒廊每天有現場音樂演奏,並提供飲品及精選小食。

是否設有泳池?設有一個戶外泳池。

尖沙咀彌敦道20; +852 2369 1111

西九龍

香港麗思卡爾頓酒店

尊享高聳入雲的奢華及世上最高的酒吧。$$$

Ritz-Carlton-Deluxe-Victoria-Harbour-Suite-Kowloon-Hotel

香港麗思卡爾頓酒店位於最港最高的建築環球貿易廣場頂部的16層,下方是圓方商場,想鳥瞰香港,沒有比這裡制高點更高的酒店了。高速電梯在80秒內就能將賓客送到103層的接待處,許多遊客由該層前往世上最高的酒吧──Ozone,是欣賞維港匯演「幻彩詠香江」的好地方。亦有很多人是衝著米芝蓮星級餐廳而來,品嚐Tosca di Angelo的意大利菜或天龍軒的粵菜。過夜的客人盡情在這裡享用美酒佳餚而不怕喝得過醉,因為他們知道,只要走幾步就可以回到豪華的房間。這些房間以香檳色為基調,牆面採用皮革鑲板,突出深紅色、紫色或綠色的裝飾。酒店的設施包括一個室內游泳池和堪稱城中最佳的酒廊,兩者均可飽覽目不暇給的美景。自2011年酒店開業以來,西九龍周邊的發展漸入佳境,像戲曲中心和藝術公園這樣的地標性建築經已啟用,未來將有更多的建築落成。

私心推介:許多房間都配有望遠鏡和躺椅,讓你更舒適地欣賞風景,並送贈保溫的港式經典奶茶,歡迎你到埗。

是否設有泳池?設有一個室內泳池。

西九龍柯士甸道西1; +852 2263 2263

W香港

W酒店不負眾望的大膽設計和玩味細節。$$$

自2008年開業以來,香港W酒店一直秉承著W品牌的理念,讓鮮艷色彩和節奏澎湃的音樂帶動派對般的歡樂氣氛,在全港最高、76樓的天台無邊際泳池更會舉行固定的夜間派對。在這裡可暢快地觀賞天際景色,若說不完美,可能是隔壁的環球貿易廣場遮擋了部分的風景。這座摩天大樓體現W酒店尊貴而便利的地理位置,乘搭港鐵的客人只須在機場快綫九龍站下車,而距離市中心中環也僅是一站之遙。酒店又以周末的自助早午餐聞名,周日的早午餐更延長供應至下午5點至9點,同埸加映變裝表演,盡顯W品牌的精髓。

私心推介:房間設施更勝同等級的酒店,例如提供Dyson風筒、擦鞋套裝、Bliss品牌出品的衛浴用品、Nespresso咖啡機、調酒器和一張瑜伽墊。

是否設有泳池?設有一個室內泳池。

西九龍柯士甸道西1; +852 3717 2222

紅磡

香港嘉里酒店

坐擁獨特天際線的城中度假之選。$$$

香港以令人嘆為觀止的天際線為招牌之一,受全球旅客讚譽,沿海的酒店便盡攬其優勢。嘉里酒店充分利用尖東的臨海位置,將港島東面高聳的住宅大廈至灣仔和中環的摩天大樓,全部盡收眼底。酒店546間客房中,超過60%都能欣賞到這片美景。客房由建築名師傅厚民設計,全部配備免費無線網絡、藍牙揚聲器和Nespresso咖啡機。入住貴賓廊客房的客人還可進入貴賓廊,享用免費的半自助早餐、餐前雞尾酒和小食。到泳池舒筋活絡、在健身房揮汗鍛練、或在酒吧及紅糖餐廳的露天陽台喝杯酒,全部均有維多利亞港海景映入眼簾。

私心推介:客房內的免費迷你吧非常貼心,確保你的住宿是美好旅程的好開始。

紅磡灣紅鸞道38; +852 2252 5888

佐敦

逸東酒店

當住宿遇上藝術和具爭議性的議題。$

香港逸東酒店位於在佐敦和油麻地的交界處,吸引不少創作人、社運人士和環保鬥士聚集。這主要歸功於這家精品酒店的藝術和音樂節目——但當然,酒店內的酒吧Terrible Baby也必記一功,它的雞尾酒、供應慷慨的歡樂時光和花園露台是亮點所在。2018年,朗廷酒店家族後人羅寶璘率先重塑逸東酒店的品牌並領導翻新,增加了一個協同工作空間和一所養生中心,並以酒店為薈萃各式藝術之地,自設媒體公司、畫廊、現場音樂表演場地和錄音室。逸東的客房誠然偏小,卻洋溢仿70年代的懷舊風格,別出心裁。酒店大聲疾呼其價值觀,致力成為激發和培養自由思想的聚集地,歡迎每一個人──特別是那些渴望產生積極影響的人──前來。

私心推介:在迸發靈感的對話、藝術和音樂之後,看著喜馬拉雅鹽燈可緩和澎湃的思緒

佐敦彌敦道380; +852 2782 1818

酒店價格指南
$ = 每晚房價不高於1,000港元
$$=1,000港元起
$$$=2,000港元起
$$$$=3,000港元起

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Top hotels

The Best Kowloon Hotels

Spectacular views of the Hong Kong Island skyline are just one reason to favour Kowloon hotels. Some of the city’s most exciting developments have cropped up in Kowloon – in Tsim Sha Tsui and beyond

On the north side of Victoria Harbour, Kowloon is just 20 minutes from the airport and one MTR stop or an easy-breezy Star Ferry ride away from Hong Kong Island. The waterfront neighbourhood of Tsim Sha Tsui (TST) is the first port of call for many visitors, drawn to its luxury shops, landmarks – including the renovated Hong Kong Museum of Art – and storied hotels like The Peninsula and Kowloon Shangri-La.

TST also delivers epic views of the Hong Kong Island skyline from its upgraded promenade, perfect for an extended stroll. Those views can be enjoyed from West Kowloon’s burgeoning arts district to the revitalised Avenue of Stars and on to the sleek Victoria Dockside development.

While such shiny new projects are opening in TST, nearby Jordan and Yau Ma Tei still exemplify the gritty, hustle-bustle of Kowloon as captured in the city’s golden age of film. Picture neon signage, streetside fortune-tellers and karaoke, the touristed Jade and Temple Street markets, and small businesses run by ethnic minorities. Hipster coffee shops, arthouse cinemas and affordable hotels await around the border with the Yau Ma Tei area.

In other words, there’s at least as much to explore on Kowloon side as there is on Hong Kong Island, and a variety of places to spend the night. Use our hotel reviews to book your next stay – or staycation.

Tsim Sha Tsui

Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui

Business travellers and tourists looking for a piece of the action in Kowloon.  $$

Hyatt Regency TST Club Harbour View King Room

Set above the K11 Art Mall on Hanoi Road,  Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui is perfect for anyone looking to indulge in some retail therapy (Victoria Dockside and a Japanese shopping complex are also nearby). Foodies will be pleased, too, as there’s a host of dining restaurants on the hotel’s doorstep – as well as fine-dining establishments on site. The 381 rooms and suites range from 300 to 1,400 square feet, done in a standard contemporary style with art inspired by local surroundings and attractions, including the Star Ferry.

Detail you’ll love: Workshops give you a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into signature hotel creations, from the whisky cocktails at Chin Chin to handmade dim sum at The Chinese Restaurant.

Pool? Yes, two outdoor pools.

18 Hanoi Road, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 2311 1234

K11 Artus

For sophisticates who appreciate less-is-more design. $$$$

K11-ARTUS_ARTUS-Studio-Kowloon-Hotel

Looking for a luxurious home away from home? K11 Artus, the flagship residences attached to Tsim Sha Tsui’s gleaming K11 Musea complex, is hard to look past – whether you’re staying short- or long-term; in a studio or a sprawling penthouse. And they really are homey, in a very fancy kind of way: open living spaces, terrace doors, kitchens. Design is high on the agenda at K11 Artus, but it’s not the ostentatious, ‘look at me’ approach. It’s more about comfort. K11 Artus’ residential feel gives it a different atmosphere to your average hotel even at the luxury end of the spectrum. There’s an intimacy to the entire experience, from the library check-in to the homely in-room touches, meaning that it’s the perfect option for a stay where comfort and design are sought in equal measure.

Detail You’ll Love: Balconies in every room, providing more opportunity to soak up K11 Artus’ peerless views.

Pool? Yes, an outdoor pool.

18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 2107 3388

Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong

A classic choice for space, service and views. $$

Shangri-La-Kowloon-Harbour-View-Room-Hotel

Kowloon Shangri-La has been a landmark along Victoria Harbour in East Tsim Sha Tsui since 1981. The decor is admittedly showing its age – consider the lobby with its fountain and crystal chandeliers – but the 688 guestrooms are very spacious and graced with panoramic water views. Gourmet delights are doled out from four outlets, most notably at Michelin-starred Shang Palace, which excels at exquisite presentations: shrimp and scallop dumplings resemble a goldfish; green sprouts with crab meat come in a thermo bowl shaped like a dinosaur egg. No wonder they attract a following among hotel regulars, who include businessmen and factory owners.

Detail You’ll Love: Carpets in the lifts that mark the days of the week.

Pool? Yes, an indoor pool.

64 Mody Road, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 2721 2111

The Langham, Hong Kong

Timeless European elegance and world-class cuisine. $$$

Langham-Hong-Kong-Hotel-Tsim-Sha-Tsui-Kowloon-Deluxe-Courtyard-R

Right on Canton Road, The Langham, Hong Kong’s prime location is a big draw as it puts you in the middle of Tsim Sha Tsui’s dining and shopping action. But the hotel also feels like an escape from the throngs; there’s a distinct European appeal, from the grand marble lobby up to the serene rooms with cushy armchairs, Wedgwood china, pink accents and, in some cases, decorative fireplaces. The 15th-floor pool and hot tub is an appealing spot to unwind, as is Chuan Body + Soul spa, whose stylish treatment rooms, based on the five elements, fill the entire rooftop. Don’t check-out before dining at T’ang Court, one of only five Cantonese restaurants in the world to receive three Michelin stars for four years in a row.

Detail You’ll Love: Business travellers have a range of meeting solutions available to them, while families can enjoy fun branded amenities for the kids, like the Langham Bell Boy teddy bear and the Theodore bathrobe, as well as an in-room tent with toys.

Pool? Yes, an outdoor pool.

8 Peking Road, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 2375 1133

Page148

A lifestyle boutique hotel catering to millennials. $

p148-Kowloon-Hotel

Billed as the ‘home of urban explorers’, Page148 has a sleek aluminium facade inspired by New York’s Flatiron Building and takes a generally minimalist yet functional approach. The 197 rooms are divided into six types, from standard two-person rooms to family rooms that can host up to four guests. All have floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Kowloon Cricket Club. Bathroom amenities are courtesy of Appelles Apothecary & Lab, an Australian all-natural, cruelty-free label. A 4G pocket Wi-Fi device is also included in select rooms, enabling you to stay connected while you explore the neighbourhood (and post it all to your Instagram on the go). With its communal tables and movable seats, the lobby doubles as a space to mingle or spend quiet time with a laptop or book. On the same floor, Page Common cafe serves artisanal coffee and light meals.

Detail You’ll Love: The brand takes coffee very seriously, and each room stocks Page Common blend coffee drip-bags to ensure guests are well caffeinated.

Pool? No.

148 Austin Road, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 3844 8888

The Peninsula Hong Kong

The ‘Grande Dame of the East’ deserves her crown. $$$$

The-Peninsula-The-Lobby-Kowloon-Hotel

There aren’t many places you can describe in good conscience as ‘iconic’, but The Peninsula tops the list. Take its fleet of bottle-green Rolls-Royces; the lavish shopping arcade; the service that’s among the finest in the city. Dining options are equally legendary: from high tea in the lobby, to elegant Cantonese fare at Spring Moon, to brunch at Felix – much improved since they pulled up the blinds to let the astonishing view in. Interiors are a study in elegance – a plush cream palette accented in rich, dark woods – and for a hotel opened in 1928, the in-room tech is agreeably up to date. Make time for a treatment at The Spa, in particular ‘Time Together’, which pairs a couples’ massage with whirlpool bath in the Private Spa Suite. And if you can really stretch that budget, plump for a helicopter tour, which departs from the hotel’s rooftop helipad. The experience and the views are – here comes that word again – iconic.

Detail You’ll Love: Rolls-Royce transfers lock in the luxury before you’ve even set foot in the building.

Pool? Yes, an indoor pool.

Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 2920 2888

Rosewood Hong Kong

Opulent interiors and museum-quality art along the harbour. $$$$

Rosewood-Hong-Kong-Grand-Harbour-View-Corner-Suite-Living-Room

Rosewood Hong Kong’s opening in early 2019 was an important piece in fitting together the puzzle that is the ambitious Victoria Dockside art and design district. It has added a sophisticated option for business and leisure travellers along the East Tsim Sha Tsui waterfront – complete with an outstanding contemporary art collection and high-rise landscaped gardens and terraces. Spanning the top 43 floors of a 65-storey tower in a complex that includes K11 Musea, Rosewood Hong Kong’s 413 rooms start at an expansive 500 square feet. You’re not short on entertainment spaces either, from Darkside jazz bar to the celebration of Shunde cuisine at The Legacy House. The hotel’s wellness retreat Asaya has a spa, a 25-metre infinity pool and a health-focussed restaurant.

Detail You’ll Love: Being collected in a chauffeur-driven Jaguar makes checking in as effortless as it is stylish.

Pool? Yes, both outdoor and indoor pools.

Victoria Dockside, 18 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 3891 8888

Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers

A reliable base for families and business travellers alike. $$

Sheraton-Rooms-Towers-Corner-suite-Bedroom-Hotel-Kowloon

On the corner of Nathan Road and Salisbury Road, Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers is positioned to let visitors dive headfirst into Tsim Sha Tsui. While the interiors – 782 rooms and suites – could use a refresh, we found it perfectly comfortable. The two lounges on the top floor, Oyster & Wine Bar and Sky Lounge, offer sweeping panoramas of Victoria Harbour. The rooftop pool is another prime vantage point – while it isn’t as large as most Hong Kong hotel pools, it can be enjoyed year-round, thanks to the three heated Jacuzzis. The Tower-level rooms and suites offer thoughtful extras: private check-in, access to the Towers Lounge on the 16th floor, use of the boardroom facilities, and complimentary perks such as daily suit pressing.

Detail You’ll Love: The Lobby Lounge offers live music daily, along with drinks and a selection of small plates.

Pool? Yes, an outdoor pool.

20 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui; +852 2369 1111

West Kowloon

The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Sky-high luxury and the world’s highest bar. $$$

Ritz-Carlton-Deluxe-Victoria-Harbour-Suite-Kowloon-Hotel

For a bird’s-eye perspective on Hong Kong, hotels don’t get higher than The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, which occupies 16 floors atop ICC and Elements mall. An express lift zooms up to the 103rd-floor reception in 80 seconds flat. From there, many tourists continue on to Ozone, famously the world’s highest bar and a great perch for the Symphony of Lights display over Victoria Harbour. Others are here for the Michelin-starred dining: a pick of Italian at Tosca di Angelo or Cantonese at Tin Lung Heen. Overnight guests get to wine and dine knowing it’s just steps back to the palatial rooms, done in shades of champagne with leather-panelled walls and accents in deep reds, purples or greens. Facilities include an indoor pool and the Club Lounge – arguably the city’s best – both with views galore. Since the hotel opened in 2011, the surrounding West Kowloon area has only been getting better; landmarks like Xiqu Centre and the Art Park have opened, with still more to come.

Detail You’ll Love: Many rooms come with a telescope and chaise lounge to better appreciate the view – along with the welcome flask of milk tea, a Hong Kong classic.

Pool? Yes, an indoor pool.

1 Austin Road West, West Kowloon; +852 2263 2263

W Hong Kong

The bold style and sense of fun you expect from W Hotels. $$$

W-Hong-Kong-WET-pool-Hotel

W Hong Kong stays true to the W brand’s sensibilities: bright pops of colour fit with the party vibe, which it has upheld since opening in 2008, thanks to its playlist of upbeat tunes and the regular night-time bashes held at its stunning 76th-floor rooftop infinity pool – the highest outdoor pool in Hong Kong. The skyline view is only obscured by ICC, just next door. That skyscraper is a reminder of the W’s prestigious, convenient location: guests arriving by MTR alight at Kowloon station, which is on the Airport Express line and one stop from Central. The hotel has been known for its weekend brunch buffets and has pushed the envelope in very W fashion with late Sunday brunches (5pm-9pm) featuring drag shows.

Detail You’ll Love: Above-average room amenities include a Dyson hairdryer, shoe-shine kit, Bliss toiletries, Nespresso, a cocktail shaker and a yoga mat.

Pool? Yes, an outdoor pool.

1 Austin Road, West Kowloon; +852 3717 2222

Hung Hom

Kerry Hotel

An urban resort with a unique skyline vantage point. $$$

Kerry-Arial-shot-Kowloon-Hotel-Exterior

The skyline is one of Hong Kong’s most marketable assets, and the city’s waterfront hotels know it. Kerry Hotel makes the most of its harbourfront location east of TST, delivering a panorama of Hong Kong Island that stretches from towering residential blocks in the east across to the skyscrapers of Wan Chai and Central. More than 60 per cent of its 546 guest rooms – designed by the acclaimed André Fu – come with that view; all feature free Wi-Fi, Bluetooth speakers and a Nespresso coffee maker. Guests staying in Club rooms also have access to the Club lounge with complimentary semi-buffet breakfast and pre-dinner cocktails and canapes. Retreat to the pool, get a sweat on in the gym or park yourself on the outdoor terrace of bar and restaurant Red Sugar for sundowners – all of which also come with harbour views.

Detail You’ll Love: The complimentary mini-bar is a nice touch, ensuring your stay gets off to a good start.

Pool? Yes, an outdoor pool.

38 Hung Luen Road, Hung Hom; +852 2252 5888

Jordan

Eaton HK

Accommodation meets arts and activism.  $

Eaton-HK_Eaton-Room-Kowloon-Hotel

At the border of Jordan and Yau Ma Tei, Eaton HK has become a magnet for creatives, activists and eco-warriors. This is largely thanks to the boutique hotel’s art and music programming (though Terrible Baby’s cocktails, generous happy hours and garden terrace certainly help). In 2018, Langham hotel scion Katherine Lo spearheaded the Eaton’s rebranding and renovation to add a coworking space, a wellness centre and an arts hub with its own media company, gallery, live music venue and recording studios. The Eaton Rooms, admittedly on the small side, got a ’70s-style refit. Eaton HK shouts its values loud: to be a gathering place that inspires and nurtures the freedom of ideas, one that welcomes everybody, especially those who wish to make a positive impact.

Detail You’ll Love: Himalayan salt lamp to soothe the mind (handy after all that stimulating conversation, art and music).

Pool? Yes, an outdoor pool.

380 Nathan Road, Jordan; +852 2782 1818

Mong Kok

Cordis, Hong Kong

Gorgeous views, Chinese contemporary art and some of the best-value rooms. $$

Hotel room at Cordis Hotel Mongkok with a swinging sofa

Cordis, Hong Kong is part of the Langham Place development, meaning that it sits right on top of Mong Kok MTR station – and right in the middle of one of Hong Kong’s most frenetic districts. But that all fades away as you rise 30 storeys up to your room. The large Club Studio Rooms offer gorgeous, unobstructed views out over Mong Kok and the Tsim Sha Tsui peninsula. The sense of relaxation deepens at the Chuan Spa, which merges the tenets of Traditional Chinese Medicine with a globe-spanning variety of treatments. There’s also an impressively fully-featured gym – complete with squat rack – and a rooftop pool. Make time for the one-Michelin-starred Ming Court restaurant, where cheery service and innovative dim sum come together in a superb whole. Complimentary wet market tours and morning tai chi classes keep the hotel plugged into a Hong Kong identity. Perhaps best of all is the price point, which offers fantastic value for staycationers and visitors alike.

Detail You’ll Love: The 1,500-strong collection of contemporary Chinese art, with works by some of the nation’s biggest names scattered around the public spaces.

Pool? Yes, an outdoor pool.

555 Shanghai Street, Mong Kok; +852 3552 3388

Yau Ma Tei

Tung Nam Lou

A vintage-inspired hotel with art and events that attract a young crowd.  $

Tung Nam Lou R2102 South Room

First a seafood restaurant then a commercial centre, Yau Ma Tei’s Tung Nam Lou was reborn in 2018 as a boutique hotel, co-working space and art gallery rolled into one. The 52 rooms feel distinctly vintage, with rotary dial-up phones and Victorian green and gold furnishings. Add an Art Explorer Day Pass to gain access to different floors, where you’ll discover hand-painted murals, a DIY fragrance studio and an experimental art lab that encourages rolling up your sleeves. Work your way up to the 22nd floor to pick up a souvenir from the art shop – featuring brilliant work from locals – then take the stairs to room68, a pub that regularly hosts live music, with 180-degree views of Yau Ma Tei and beyond as a backdrop.

Detail You’ll Love: The tactile art throughout the hotel, from the knitted stairwell handrail to the fragrance studio that encourages you to create your own scent sachets.

68 Portland Street, Yau Ma Tei; + 852 3708 7788

Hotel Pricing Guide
$ = nightly room rates up to HK$1,000
$$ = from HK$1,000+
$$$ = from HK$2,000+
$$$$ = from HK$3,000+

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book