餐飲美食

8項必嚐曼谷街頭美食及目的地

泰國的高級餐飲雖然發展蓬勃,不過曼谷街頭美食仍是該國的飲食文化靈魂所在,以下為你介紹多個尋味好地方

曼谷街頭美食並不限於在街上找到,如要品嚐當地經典風味,你可到城中多個社區,熱鬧的周末市集攤檔,只有數層高、店前放了多張桌子待客的店屋,或者在穿梭運河水上市場的遊船,均能大快朵頤。

貴為繁華的泰國首都,曼谷的高級餐飲發展得相當成熟,金碧輝煌的餐廳,居高臨下俯瞰全景的天台酒吧比比皆是。不過,只有在毫不離地的街頭,你才能真正體會到曼谷飲食文化的精髓,有些更獲得米芝蓮星級加持。以下為你介紹八樣不能錯過的泰國街頭美食,還有品嚐它們的最佳地點。

1. Thipsamai餐廳的泰式炒金邊粉

Pad Thai is a classic Bangkok street food in Thailand

這道經典泰國菜看似簡單,多數伴以雞肉、大蝦或豬肉,不過以棕櫚糖調味的惹味醬汁、羅望子和青檸卻令它「味」力大增,贏得不少饕客芳心。難怪它由曼谷街頭名揚海外,在世界各地的館子都可找到其蹤影。原來其起源是近代的事:相傳1930年代食米短缺,為了鼓勵泰國人多吃麵食,這款地道佳餚便應運而生。要品嚐即叫即製的泰式炒金邊粉,曼谷不作他選,特別是市內的Thipsamai餐廳。菜館原本在歷史悠久的帕那空區開業,是曼谷最先售賣泰式炒金邊粉的地區之一。Thipsamai餐廳在下午5點開始營業,不過請有心理準備,食客早已在此排隊守候。

曼谷313-315 Maha Chai Road, Khwaeng Samran Rat Khet Phra Nakhon, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon; +662-226-6666

2. Mae Varee芒果專門店的芒果糯米飯

Food markets are some of the best places to try mango sticky rice in Bangkok

泰國盛產熱帶水果,而芒果糯米飯可說是其中一款最新鮮滋味的甜品,這款常見的泰國街頭美食十分簡單,只有三種材料:糯米飯、熟芒果和濃郁的椰漿。而街市有很多攤販均有售賣,任君選擇。當中位於BTS通羅站Sukhumvit Soi巷 55號的芒果專門店Mae Varee非常受歡迎,那裡用外賣盒盛載的芒果糯米飯香甜多汁,更撒上了香脆的綠豆仁,在煙韌有嚼勁之中增多一重口感。

曼谷1 Thonglor Road, Khlong Tan Nuea, Watthana; +66 2 392 4804

3. Pee Aor餐廳的冬蔭功

Tom Yum Goong is a shrimp soup that combines the four flavours sweet, sour, salty and spicy in Thai cuisine

甜、酸、鹹和辣是泰國菜的特色,而冬蔭功就是以上所有味道的完美結合。冬蔭功的酸辣湯中充滿了蝦的鮮甜;泰國青檸葉的濃郁香味;香茅和南薑的清新芬芳;還有醒腦的青檸汁。我們建議你去曼谷街頭美食熱點Pee Aor餐廳,這間小店屋鄰近BTS Ratchathewi站,其冬蔭功不僅加入了香濃的椰奶和特大鮮蝦,把滋味升級,而且份量十足,因而馳名。

曼谷68/51 Soi Phetchaburi 5, Thung Phaya Thai, Ratchathewi; +66 2 612 9013

4. 水上市場的船麵

Boat noodles are served from the boats on floating markets in Bangkok

Kway Teow Rua即船麵,單從其名字判斷,相信大家都能猜到,這麵食原來就是在穿梭曼谷運河的船上烹調的。其湯底主要用醬油和腐乳熬成,非常濃郁,有時更會加上豬紅或牛血,令味道更為層次分明。市內賣船麵的食店多的是,不過如果你想懷舊一下,可到距離市中心以西10公里的空叻瑪榮水上市場,在海濱的矮桌旁坐下,花費30泰銖(約8港元)即可享用一碗在小船上烹調的新鮮船麵。空叻瑪榮水上市場只在周末營業,若你想在平常日子都能盡興,可到更具人氣(即外國旅客集中)的丹嫩沙多水上市場品嚐。

曼谷30/1 Moo 15 Bang Ramat Road, Bang Ramat, Taling Chan

5. 路邊餐廳Raan Jay Fai的蟹肉奄列

Jay Fai’s roadside restaurant won a Michelin star and is famed for its crab omelette

由Jay Fai掌廚的路邊館子原本只是老饕的秘密尋味勝地,不過自從摘下米芝蓮一星殊榮之後,就變成了人龍不絕的知名食店。Jay Fai個子小小、經常戴著護目眼鏡炒菜,本尊跟其招牌菜蟹肉奄列同樣蜚聲國際。蟹肉奄列定價1000泰銖(約250港元),收費並不平民化,而且等待需時。不過,當你親自嚐過,便會發現這美食完全物超所值,奄列煎得外脆內嫩,軟滑如絲的煎蛋裹著一塊塊鮮味多汁的蟹肉,一切的守候全是值得的。餐廳設有網上預約,但這並不表示數天前預訂便可成事,已是數月前你便要作出行動。

曼谷327 Samran Rat Intersection; +66 2 223 9384

6. Watsana Khao Man Gai食店的泰式雞飯

Thai chicken rice, a staple Bangkok street food, is adapted from Chinese-style Hainan chicken rice

說到鍾情曼谷街頭美食,特別是khao man gai(泰式雞飯),不論是本地人還是遊客同樣喜愛。這道菜是海南雞飯的變奏,做法是先將米飯加入雞湯和雞油煮熟,讓其充滿雞的香味,上面再放水煮雞肉奉客;並大多伴以一碗湯同吃,而醬汁沒有新加坡或中國海南雞飯的版本那麼粘稠和甜,但依然十分惹味。Watsana Khao Man Gai是泰式雞飯專門店,更擁有一班忠實的粉絲,可見其「味」力非凡。

曼谷9/275 Phutthabucha Road; +66 87 711 6456

7. Cha Tra Mue食店的泰式奶茶

Cha Tra Mue is an established tea room specialises in Thai-style iced milk tea

人在曼谷,你會發現自己冰凍飲料不離手,因為很容易買到,而當地白天的平均溫度徘徊在攝氏30度左右,實在是消暑恩物。當中以鮮橙色的泰式冰奶茶最受歡迎,它跟亞洲其他同類奶茶截然不同,主要用上紅茶葉及多款香料泡製而成,再加入甜煉奶,最後加大量冰,因而呈現出鮮艷的顏色。曼谷幾乎所有餐廳、攤檔和食店都有供應,不過我們還是推介創立於1945年的老字號 Cha Tra Mue,除了分佈曼谷各地的分店,香港亦設有一間專門店。

曼谷市內各處均有分店,包括在991 Rama 1 Road的大型商場 Siam Paragon亦設有零售點

8. 夜市的泰式鹽焗魚

Pla Pao (salt grilled fish) is a staple Bangkok street food at night markets in Thailand

泰式鹽焗魚所用的魚可有不同種類,如烏鱧和鯽魚,然而烹調方式萬變不離其宗。魚身先釀入香茅、泰國青檸葉,有時加入羅勒或斑蘭葉,然後用大量鹽包裹整條魚,用炭火慢慢烤熟,以達至魚皮香脆、魚肉鮮嫩多汁的效果。泰式鹽焗魚的精髓在於用來蘸著吃的泰式魚露汁,它用了蒜、辣椒、芫茜根、青檸和魚露調製而成,令魚的味道鮮上加鮮。當地夜市一定少不了這道曼谷街頭美食的蹤影,單是在Tha Pra Chan港口的河畔夜市,便有大量攤檔和手推車擺賣,非常熱鬧。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

8 Must-Try Bangkok Street Food Dishes – And Where to Eat Them

It may have a thriving fine-dining scene, but in Bangkok street food is the heart and soul of the city’s culinary culture. Here’s where to find the best bites

In Bangkok, street food isn’t just limited to the street. A tasting tour of classic Thai dishes can take you through the city’s many neighbourhoods, bustling weekend market stalls, low-rise shophouses with tables spilling out into the street, and even onto a boat cruising along the canals to floating markets.

And while the buzzy Thai capital has a maturing fine-dining scene, replete with glitzy restaurants and rooftop bars with panoramic views, it’s down at street level where you’ll find the heart and soul of Bangkok’s dining scene – and even a Michelin nod or two. Here are eight great street food dishes to tuck into and recommendations on where to find them.

1. Pad Thai at Thipsamai

Pad Thai is a classic Bangkok street food in Thailand

This classic Thai dish has made it from the streets of Bangkok to tables around the world. It’s a seemingly simple dish of noodles stir-fried with chicken, prawns or pork – but it’s the tangy sauce of palm sugar, tamarind and lime that really sets this dish apart. The dish actually has quite recent origins: the story goes that it was invented in the 1930s during a rice shortage, to encourage the Thai people to eat more noodles. You won’t find a fresher plate than in the city’s capital – especially at Thipsamai. The restaurant’s original location in the historic Phra Nakhon district is one of the city’s oldest diners specialising in the dish. Service begins at 5pm, but expect a queue.

313-315 Maha Chai Road, Khwaeng Samran Rat Khet Phra Nakhon, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon; +662-226-6666

2. Mango Sticky Rice at Mae Varee

Food markets are some of the best places to try mango sticky rice, one of the flavourful Bangkok street food in Thailand

One of the freshest and most flavourful expressions of Thailand’s bounty of tropical fruit is khao niaow ma muang – mango sticky rice. The dessert is a delightfully simple street food snack with just three key ingredients: glutinous rice, ripe mango and rich coconut cream. Food markets are some of the best places to try the snack, as you’ll have your pick of vendors serving freshly made plates – one popular choice is Mae Varee at Sukhumvit Soi 55 in Thonglor, where the takeaway boxes of juicy mango sticky rice come sprinkled with crispy yellow mung beans for an extra textural crunch.

1 Thonglor Road, Khlong Tan Nuea, Watthana; +66 2 392 4804

3. Tom Yum Goong at Pee Aor

Tom Yum Goong is a shrimp soup that combines the four flavours sweet, sour, salty and spicy in Thai cuisine

Sweet, sour, salty and spicy are the flavours that define Thai cuisine, and they come together beautifully in tom yum. This spicy-and-sour broth is suffused with the umami flavours of shrimp, the herbal kick of makrut lime leaves, fragrant lemongrass and galangal, and zesty lime juice. Slurp up a version upgraded with creamy coconut milk at Bangkok street food hotspot Pee Aor, a small shophouse restaurant close to the Ratchathewi BTS Station known for its generous portions and giant prawns.

68/51 Soi Phetchaburi 5, Thung Phaya Thai, Ratchathewi; +66 2 612 9013

4. Boat Noodles at a Floating Market

Boat noodles are served from the boats on floating markets in Bangkok

Kway Teow Rua, or boat noodles, are so named because they were originally served from the boats which plied the canals of Bangkok. A rich broth of soy sauce, fermented bean curd and often pig’s or cow’s blood create a complex, layered dish. It’s available throughout the city – but you can still try it the old-fashioned way with a visit to Khlong Lat Mayom floating market, 10 kilometres west of downtown. Take a seat at a low table by the waterfront where fresh bowls prepared on small boats will set you back about 30 baht (HK$8). Khlong Lat Mayom is only open on weekends; but some more popular (read: more touristed) options like Damnoen Saduak market can be visited during the week.

30/1 Moo 15 Bang Ramat Road, Bang Ramat, Taling Chan

5. Crab Omelette at Raan Jay Fai

Jay Fai’s roadside restaurant won a Michelin star and is famed for its crab omelette

When the Michelin Guide gave chef Jay Fai’s roadside restaurant the one-star nod, it turned this hidden foodie’s favourite into a queues-round-the-block kind of joint. Now its diminutive chef and her trademark ski goggles are almost as famous as her crab omelette. But the omelette is worth the wait and the price alike. At THB1000 (HK$250) it’s hardly cheap and cheerful, but that crisp exterior gives way to silky egg and generous, juicy chunks of crab. There’s a reservations system in place allowing you to book ahead – but think months in advance, not days.

327 Samran Rat Intersection; +66 2 223 9384

6. Khao Man Gai at Watsana Khao Man Gai

Thai chicken rice, a staple Bangkok street food, is adapted from Chinese-style Hainan chicken rice

Locals get just as excited for Bangkok street food as visitors do – this is especially true for a beloved staple like khao man gai (Thai chicken rice). Adapted from Chinese-style Hainan chicken rice, poached chicken is served over rice that’s been cooked with chicken stock and fat for added flavour. It typically comes with a bowl of broth on the side and a tangy sauce that’s less sticky or sweet than versions found in Singapore or China. Watsana Khao Man Gai specialises in the dish – and has a loyal following to show for it.

9/275 Phutthabucha Road; +66 87 711 6456

7. Cha Yen at Cha Tra Mue

Cha Tra Mue is an established tea room specialises in Thai-style iced milk tea

You’re never far from an ice-cold beverage in Bangkok – handy, when the average daytime temperature hovers around 30°C. The vividly orange cha yen (Thai-style iced milk tea) is one of the most popular. The colour comes adding sweetened condensed milk to a blend of black tea and spices, served over ice for a refreshing drink that’s distinct from its other Asian counterparts. While cha yen can be found at pretty much every restaurant, stall and diner in town, try the version at Cha Tra Mue – it dates back to 1945, and has outlets across the city (as well as one in Hong Kong). 

Various locations including Siam Paragon, 991 Rama 1 Road

8. Pla Pao at Night Markets

Pla Pao (salt grilled fish) is a staple Bangkok street food at night markets in Thailand

There are various types of fish used for pla pao (salt grilled fish) from snakehead to tilapia, but the prep is the same. Stuffed with lemongrass, makrut lime leaves and sometimes basil or pandan leaves, the fish is then coated in a thick layer of salt and barbecued low and slow over charcoal. Peeling back the crust reveals juicy meat: it’s essential to dip it in the accompanying nam jim sauce, which bursts with incredible flavour from the garlic, chillies, coriander root, lime and fish sauce that go into it. Pla Pao is a staple of night markets throughout the city – such as the cacophony of stalls and carts selling popular Bangkok street food close to the river at Tha Pra Chan.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book