西安

西安現代活力

西安雖以兵馬俑而聞名,但憑藉優越的地理位置及悠久的歷史,使它成為中國最現代化、最富活力的城市之一

我們不時以「新舊並存」來形容古蹟與景點眾多的城市。這個詞彙教人想起新舊建築交替的畫面,而西安在這方面可謂獨領風騷。

這個中國古都的歷史可遠溯至公元前11世紀的周朝,而鼎鼎大名的明朝城牆則由14世紀至今依然保存完好。與此同時,天台戲院、酒廊、爵士酒吧、時尚咖啡館和書店在城牆下星羅棋佈,形成尤其強烈的對比。

Keren Su / China Span / Getty Images

令西安舉世聞名的無疑是1974年出土的兵馬俑。這支陶俑軍隊由中國第一位皇帝秦始皇下令製造,作為在死後世界供他差遣的近衛軍,並約於公元前3世紀末長埋黃土之下。時至今日,秦始皇陵大部分面積依然未被發掘,而考古學家仍在尋找安全發掘皇陵的方法。

雖然秦始皇陵近乎原封不動,但華西陝西省省會西安,在過去幾年卻經歷了巨變。城市近年急速發展,背後的重要推手是來自陝西省的國家主席習近平。現在除了市容明顯較過去整潔外,西安亦積極發展曲江和高新兩大新區。

曲江區的大唐不夜城在古代塔樓之間興建步行街作連接,街道兩旁酒店、購物中心、劇院及音樂廳林立。入夜後,燈飾及激光照亮長達1.5公里的步行街,沿途有街頭音樂人在指定地點獻技,吸引遊人聚攏。有人模仿騷靈歌手James Brown唱歌,附近的二胡手同時拉奏樂曲,而一旁的中國歷史偉人雕像則似在靜觀世態;這一切與我想像中的古都迥然而異。

Imaginechina

相比之下,高新區的氣氛則低調多了。這裡是創新科技樞紐和商業中心,200家在財富世界500強中榜上有名的企業均選擇在此落戶。傲然矗立的西安君悅酒店,是高新區的矚目地標,其數字營銷總監袁譯表示:「西安現在被譽為新絲路的起點,許多跨國企業都看準西安位處國家中心的地利及其歷史意義,並選擇以此作基地。」除了傳統的中菜餐廳外,酒店亦設有以柴火烤製手工薄餅的意大利餐廳,一座座裝置藝術妝點著酒店範圍,恰好是西安近貌的縮影。

社交媒體可謂主導了全球各大城市的熱門潮流,西安當然毫不例外,而最貼切的例子得數美食及購物熱點永興坊。早前網上流傳一段影片,片中有人在永興坊以小碗喝光啤酒後將碗摔到牆上打碎。影片迅速掀起網民熱話,吸引各地遊客爭相倣效,專程來砸泥碗。化名NPC的微信公眾號網紅平日愛在微信發帖報導西安的新事物,他帶我遊覽其家鄉時說:「摔碗酒雖然不是陝西傳統,但遊人似乎十分喜愛,你能拿他們怎樣?在向新一代受眾推廣西安方面,網上視頻平台『抖音』應記一功。以前這裡沒有太多消遣的地方,所以人們通常只會去回民街。西安一直以『古都』見稱,因此即使這裡有不少年輕人,卻沒有太多能代表新一代文化的地方。」

不過西安貴為中國其中一個主要的旅遊城市,對新事物的接受程度顯然較高。務本精釀的老闆囧子跟妻子小蕊透過參與當地的啤酒節,積極推廣手工啤酒文化,他說:「手工啤酒在過去幾年愈來愈受歡迎,而西安的年輕一代也比較願意嘗試新事物。」

與此同時,設計充滿街頭風格的麵館無雙,則以非傳統食材炮製傳統麵食而打響名堂,滿足當地人對創新和生活品味的要求。經營泰國餐廳悅泰和市內幾間日本餐廳的己南道:「現在西安人對世界有更深厚的認識,更希望回味在旅行時品嚐過的美食。」

不過要數當地最令人雀躍的潮流熱點得數大華1935。這個表演藝術中心前身是紡織廠,建於1935年(你可能已經猜得到),曾是陝西省最大規模的紗廠,卻在2008年破產,後來當地政府把它改建成集餐廳、裝置藝術及博物館於一身的大型綜合建築。當中的大華1935劇場則是各大音樂會、舞蹈表演和舞台劇的演出場地,其演出項目負責人李璇表示:「我們不僅邀請國際級單位表演,還為本地藝術家提供寶貴的表演平台。」

管理大華1935劇場其中一個表演空間的樂隊經理人龍偉傑亦道:「人們現在可以透過社交媒體接觸更多獨立音樂,吸納聽眾比以前容易得多。現在大量本地新晉樂隊開始嶄露頭角,他們大多表演原創音樂,風格亦相當多元化。」這股「樂勢力」在南門附近特別興盛,每逢周末晚上10時後,街頭音樂人都聚集在這裡展示實力,並將演出片段上載至抖音與人分享。

走在西安,可以感到城市空氣中瀰漫著一股活力,因為每個人都對未來感到樂觀。堅春天在大華1935經營綠驢咖啡廳並幫助弱勢社群,顧客如捐出舊玩具和衣物便可免費獲贈雪糕和咖啡。他表示:「儘管西安是一個老城,在我心中他卻是一名少年,總是朝氣勃勃、熱血沸騰和充滿希望,畢竟年齡只是一個數字,對吧?」

西安不能錯過的景點

住-西安君悅酒店

酒店於去年開業,共設有396間客房。華麗的裝潢以野生動物為主題,建築風格宏偉奪目。連接相鄰建築的天橋可以飽覽西安全景,而酒店的五間餐廳則提供多國美食,由中菜以至意大利菜兼備。其他設施包括水療中心、室內恆溫泳池及24小時健身房。

Jonathan Leijonhufvud

食-麵館無雙

踏進這家滿佈電影海報、超級英雄模型和吹氣太空船天花吊飾的時尚麵館,品嚐以蔬菜、牛肉、墨魚丸和大蝦等配料炮製的傳統西安麵食。

碑林區德福巷

飲-務本精釀

這家時尚的聚腳點白天是咖啡館,沖泡出西安最上乘的咖啡;晚上則變身酒吧,提供來自世界各地的手工啤酒。

池東路333號萬眾國際W Five Park B1層西側

遊-大華1935

這間前紡織廠現在開設餐廳、咖啡店、博物館、劇場空間,以及西安最受歡迎的夜店15cm。綠驢咖啡廳外每天有原音樂表演,吸引無數新晉音樂人和樂迷到此。

太華南路251號

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往西安的航班,每周有七班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Xian

Xi’an’s Modern Energy

Xi’an is traditionally known for its Terracotta Army, but its prime location and historical past are making Xi’an one of China’s most modern, energetic cities

‘Old meets new’: it’s a phrase we hear a lot when it comes to heritage-filled cities and attractions. It alludes to that mix of modern developments alongside historical sites, each enhancing the other. In this realm, Xi’an wins – by a lot.

Here you have China’s ancient capital, with a history stretching to the Zhou dynasty (11th century BC), its famed Ming dynasty (14th-century) city walls well intact. At the same time, you have rooftop cinemas set up amid live music bars, jazz haunts, hip cafes and bookshops at the foot of the fortifications. Talk about contrast.

Xian
Keren Su / China Span / Getty Images

Around the world, people know Xi’an for its Terracotta Army – a collection of relics in the emperor Qin Shi Huang’s tomb, discovered in 1974. The first emperor of China, he created and buried this army in the late third century BC for protection in the afterlife. Today, large parts of his final resting place remain unexcavated, as archaeologists fear the damage that would result from further disturbances.

While Qin Shi Huang’s grave is left barely touched, Xi’an, the capital of Shaanxi province in western China, has undergone a massive transformation in the past few years. Development in the city has been swift, and President Xi Jinping being from Shaanxi province has been a driving factor behind its changes. Roads are noticeably cleaner, and two new districts, Qujiang and Gaoxin, have risen.

Xian

The Great Tang All Day Mall in Qujiang links ancient pagodas to the pedestrian-only avenue lined with hotels, shopping centres, theatres and concert halls. At night, the entire 1.5-kilometre stretch is lit up with light installations and lasers, with countless musicians entertaining the huge crowds at dedicated busking stations. A James Brown lookalike sings, with an erhu player 10 paces away, while statues of China’s cultural heroes look on. It’s not the ancient capital setting I was expecting.

Xian
Imaginechina

The atmosphere is more subdued in Gaoxin. It’s the centre of business and a hub for innovation, home to 200 of the Fortune 500 companies. ‘Xi’an has been touted as the starting point of the new Silk Road, and many international corporations use Xi’an as their base due to its central location in the country and its historical significance,’ says Clair Yuan, director of digital marketing for the Grand Hyatt Xi’an, the towering jewel of the Gaoxin area. The hotel offers traditional Chinese cuisine alongside artisanal pizzas from wood-fired ovens, and art installations can be seen around it. This juxtaposition is an apt reflection of what Xi’an is like today.

Social media has had a remarkable effect on what’s considered hot in Xi’an, as it has in cities around the world. Case in point: Yongxing Fang, a food and shopping area, won attention thanks to a viral video of people drinking bowls of beer there before smashing the bowls against a wall. Ever since, tourists from all over have flocked to the square just to destroy these clay bowls. ‘This is not a part of the Shaanxi tradition, but people do enjoy it, so what are you going to do?’ says a blogger known as NPC, who posts about Xi’an happenings on social site Weixin, as he takes me on a tour of his city. ‘Douyin (a platform for short video clips) really helped put Xi’an on the radar of new audiences. Back in the day people only went to Huimin Street, as there weren’t many places to hang out. The city had an “old city” reputation. Even though it had a lot of youngsters, there weren’t a lot of places that represented youth.’

As a major tourist destination, Xi’an has always been open to new trends. ‘Craft beer has been on the rise for the past few years, and youths are more than willing to try something new,’ says Jiong Ze, the owner of Wuben Taproom. Along with his wife Xiao Rui, he promotes craft beer culture in the city by taking part in beer festivals.

Meanwhile, STA Food has made its mark by serving traditional noodles with non-traditional ingredients, in a shop that takes its design cues from street style. It’s meeting a demand for greater innovation and depth in the city’s lifestyle offerings. ‘People are more educated now, and they enjoy tasting something they’ve experienced while travelling,’ says Ben Ji, owner of Thai spot It’s Thai and several Japanese restaurants around the city.

Xian

But the most exciting hangout comes in the form of Dahua 1935, a performing arts centre converted from textile mills. Built in, you guessed it, 1935, it was once the biggest cotton mill in Shaanxi province. After the mill went bankrupt in 2008, the government took over and transformed this sprawling complex into a hub of restaurants, art installations and a museum. The Dahua 1935 Livehouse includes spaces for concerts, dance shows and theatre productions. ‘Not only do we invite international acts to perform in our venues, we also provide a much-needed platform for local artists,’ says Enid Li, the Livehouse’s project manager.

Xian

‘Through social media, people can now have access to more indie music, and there’s much greater potential to get more listeners than before,’ says Rockie, a band manager who also oversees one of the performing spaces in the Livehouse. ‘Numerous young bands have burst onto the scene. They mostly write their own music as well, and with a lot of variation.’ This is especially evident near the South Gate, where after 10pm on weekends street musicians congregate to show off their skills, uploading their performances on Douyin while they’re at it.

You can feel an excitement in the air about Xi’an’s future. ‘Even though Xi’an is old, I think of this city as more of a teenager,’ says Spring Jie, who runs the Lv Lv Store café in Dahua 1935, providing free ice cream and coffee in exchange for old toys and clothes for the underprivileged. ‘This city is hopeful, hot-blooded and full of energy. Age is just a number, right?’

Xian

Don’t miss these spots in Xi’an

Stay-Grand Hyatt Xi’an

Opened last year, this 396-room hotel boasts opulent decor inspired by wildlife, and striking architecture. A Sky Bridge connecting it to an adjacent building is a prime spot to take in unobstructed views of the city, while its five restaurants provide cuisine ranging from Chinese to Italian. Other amenities include a spa, heated indoor swimming pool and 24-hour gym.

Xian
Jonathan Leijonhufvud

Eat-STA Food

Step into this ultra-hip noodle haunt decked in movie posters, action hero figurines and inflatable airships hanging from the ceiling, and slurp up traditional Xi’an noodles topped with vegetables, beef, squid balls, prawns and more.

Defuxiang Alley, Beilin district

Xian

Drink-Wuben Taproom

This stylish hangout is a cafe during the day, brewing the best coffee Xi’an has to offer and transforming into a speakeasy at night, providing craft beer from all over the world.

B1 West, W Five Park, 333 Chidong Road

Xian

Visit-Dahua 1935

This former textile mill is home to restaurants, coffee shops, museum, theatre spaces and Xi’an’s hottest nightclub, 15cm. Acoustic music plays every day outside the Lv Lv Store cafe, a top draw among aspiring musicians and music lovers.

251 Taihuanan Road

Cathay Dragon flies to Xi’an from Hong Kong seven times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book