自然和户外

荒野勝景

追隨荒野的召喚,在令人歎為觀止的壯麗風景中神遊

奧林匹克國家公園 Second Beach海灘

奧林匹克國家公園位於美國西北端的華盛頓州,風景變化多端,既有冰川覆蓋的高山,也有巨杉參天的森林及岩石嶙峋的海岸。這些截然不同的風景吸引全國各地旅客及附近西雅圖的居民前來尋幽探勝,其中以Rialto Beach及Second Beach等景色荒涼的海灘深受遊人歡迎。這裡可看到海蝕柱籠罩在濃霧中的景色,還有很多偏僻的小海灣、潮池、被海浪沖上岸的巨型浮木和岩洞供人探索。

國泰航空於2019年3月31日開辦由香港飛往西雅圖的航班服

巴布亞新畿內亞卡爾卡爾島

Chris Caldicott

排得密密麻麻的椰子樹與早上出現的雲海,令Mount Uluman山展現出令人歎為觀止的風景。這是一座活火山,位於距離巴布亞新畿內亞北岸30公里的卡爾卡爾島上。攝影師Chris Caldicott從遊船Coral Discoverer號的船橋上拍下這張照片。他乘坐的這艘遊船在澳洲與巴布亞新畿內亞之間的珊瑚海、所羅門海及俾斯麥海一帶航行,穿梭往返散佈於這些海域上人跡罕至的群島。

四川畢棚溝

畢棚溝位於成都西北面200公里,四周被山頂積雪的高山環繞,擁有優美的自然風景。U形的山谷南面是中國西部最高的山峰四姑娘山,西面接壤西藏高原,北面與大熊貓生長的地區相鄰。這個山谷四季分明,夏季有蒼翠的高山森林和瀑布,冬季則有結冰的湖以及大片白茫茫的冰川。

秘魯彩虹山

Peru rainbow mountain, wild place
Alexander Fuchs

你可以將有彩虹山之稱的Vinicunca當作由巨型戶外混凝土攪拌器製作的產物。秘魯安第斯山區的地殼板塊上下起伏,將地下的礦物質推到地面,經風吹雨打後氧化;針鐵礦及褐鐵礦變成像砂岩的棕黃色,硫酸鐵帶來黃色,而綠泥石則添上一抹綠色,令山脈五彩繽紛。彩虹山吸引不少地質學家前來研究,而秘魯人則將這座5,200米高的山奉為附近庫斯科市的守護神來膜拜。慕名前來的遠足人士有增無減,有部分只來作一日遊,拍些照片上載到Instagram分享;也有人在全長70公里、難度在南美數一數二的Ausangate circuit遠足徑上徒步旅行時,途經這座高山。

蘇門答臘島多巴湖

Lake Toba, Sumatra
Tumpal Hutagalung

多巴湖全長100公里,闊30公里,水深可達505米,可能用「內陸海」來形容更為貼切。

這個巨湖位於印尼蘇門答臘北部,有人認為是於2,500萬年前一次最大型的火山爆發時形成的,當時的火山灰最遠飄到非洲。

從棉蘭駕車,大約四小時就可來到湖邊。湖上有沙摩西島,就在圖中的遠方,是當地巴塔克人的家鄉。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往棉蘭的航班,每周有三班

埃及白色沙漠

Wild place, egypt, white desert
Stephen Belcher

在一望無垠的沙海上,一座座銀白色的雕塑遺世獨立,這裡是埃及白色沙漠國家公園,阿拉伯語稱之為Sahara el Beyda。

它位於開羅西南面600公里外,沙漠上有不少高低起伏、高數十米的白堊小丘,它原是一片連綿不絕的方解石平原,千百年來,強風沙把這個平原慢慢斧鑿成多個小丘和引人入勝的形態,宛如雕塑,令人聯想到駱駝、雞和蘑菇等。

夏天時,這座沙漠的氣溫可高達攝氏47度。

新墨西哥州Shiprock Pinnacle岩峰

Samuel Hesketh, new mexico, ship rock
Samuel Hesketh

對於Navajo族人來說,這片土地充滿各種傳說。呈鐵銹紅色的Shiprock Pinnacle岩峰高482米,形態嶙峋,是3,000萬年前一次火山爆發後的遺跡,當地人稱之為「Tsé Bit’a’í」,意思是有翼的岩石。

根據其中一個傳說,當年曾有一頭巨鳥載著Navajo族人來到新墨西哥州,最後變成石頭。另一個傳說則提到有兩頭巨型怪鳥居住於岩峰頂上,不時飛下來將人擄走吃掉。

如果你駕車沿著64號公路往西朝著四角地(猶他、科羅拉多、亞利桑那及新墨西哥四州的交匯點)而行,就可以瞥見岩峰的雄姿。

留尼旺島 馬法特冰斗

Simeon / Getty Images

留尼旺島位於馬達加斯加東面的印度洋上,與法國隔著一片大陸和一個海洋;法國於17世紀將這個島嶼用作其東印度貿易路線的中途站,從此為世人所認識。

今天留尼旺島卻以天然美景而聞名,島上不但有白色的沙灘,更有不少如馬法特冰斗這樣壯麗的自然風景。要往返這個山巒起伏、長滿熱帶雨林的火山口,除了乘搭直升機之外,就只有徒步穿過島上的山谷、河流和瀑布一種途徑。

愛爾蘭高威郡

Roundstone Bog
Janet Matthews

愛爾蘭西部沿岸的草原有種獨特的沉鬱氣氛,看上去就像劇集《權力遊戲》的場景,但這裡其實是多種罕有野生動植物生長和棲息之地。

散發粗獷氣息的風景沿海岸線伸延,其中最著名的是Dog’s Bay海灣及Gurteen Beach海灘,旅客走上岬角後,就會看到清澈透明的海水和海灘上有如粉末般的白色幼沙。

這些幼沙其實是貝殼,被大西洋的海浪沖刷成粉末。

德薩斯州與路易斯安那州的卡多湖

Caddo Lake

卡多湖的秘密早就公諸於世了。1910年代湖裡發現出產珍珠,曾掀起短暫的尋珠熱潮。

其後德薩斯州發現石油礦,也出現過同樣的情況。

卡多湖位於德薩斯與路易斯安那兩州之間,面積10,300公頃,乘船在湖上縱橫交錯的水道上漫遊,你會見到這裡仍有不少高大粗壯的柏樹、泛著銀光的苔蘚與偶然閃現的短吻鱷尾巴,瀰漫著美國南方特有的哥德式神秘氣氛。

奧克尼群島

Hero-Wild-Place-1
Theasis/Getty Images

斯丹尼斯巨石陣位於蘇格蘭北部海岸對開、由70個嶙峋小島組成的奧克尼群島中的梅恩蘭島上,是不列顛群島其中一個最古老的巨石陣。這是石器時代居民的遺跡,於5,000多年前是用來進行儀式的地方。4,000年後,維京人在這個地方崇拜斯堪的納維亞的神祇。200年前的3月,奧克尼群島再次揚名;作家瑪麗雪萊在她的小說《科學怪人》內,將那個由人所造的生物送到這個孤寂的群島上,讓他找個妻子。

國泰航空與夥伴航空公司合作,從香港飛往蘇格蘭多個航點

南澳艾爾湖

shore line of Lake Eyre South, outback South Australia.
Excitations / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

艾爾湖盆地極為缺水。這個湖位於南澳內陸,低於海平面15米,是全國最低的地點。雖然這裡大部分時候都是乾旱的不毛之地,但偶然亦會大水泛濫,變成全澳洲最大的湖泊,湖水覆蓋範圍逾100萬公頃。最近出版的新書《Lake Eyre Basin Rivers》探討盆地與附近河流的環境與生態,是極具價值的參考書。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往阿德萊德的航班,每周有五班

塔斯曼尼亞安妮山

Tourism Tasmania

南海岸路線是19世紀時船隻於塔斯曼尼亞南端遇上海難時,水手利用來重回文明世界的路徑。到了今天,這條穿越西南國家公園這片塔斯曼尼亞最大的荒野、全長85公里的叢林路徑,卻成了遠足者逃離現代文明的捷徑。不過這裡沿途沒有任何旅舍,請帶備露營帳篷。雖然沒有豪華舒適的享受,但你可以欣賞優美的海岸風景,在古老的森林漫步,還可眺望蒼翠的山巒,例如本圖的安妮山。此外,這裡還有不少外形奇特的野生植物,例如葉子尖削而帶紅色的露兜樹,是塔斯曼尼亞獨有的品種。

芬蘭奧蘭卡森林

Wild Place
Teemu Tretjakov / EyeEm / Getty Images

芬蘭有千湖之國的美譽,但稱之為千林之國似乎更貼切。芬蘭的森林面積非常廣闊,覆蓋了這個歐洲人口最稀少的國家近七成的土地。今年較早時,芬蘭更設立了全新的Hossa國家公園,慶祝立國百周年紀念。每年冬天,芬蘭的湖泊和森林就如這個位於南部Kanta-Häme區的奧蘭卡森林一般,變成千里冰封的荒野。若要前往欣賞寒林美景,記住帶備雪鞋。

美國坎伯蘭島

Wild Horses in Cumberland Island
Anouk Krantz

如果你喜歡到戶外的自然環境作漫長的散步,一定會喜歡美國喬治亞州海岸對開的坎伯蘭島。島上有長28公里、佈滿白色細沙的海岸線,前臨大西洋。此外還有古老的橡樹林與荒廢的歷史古蹟供你探索。在島上你有很大機會遇見馬而不是人類,這裡野馬與人的比例是四比一。這些馬匹的祖先最初於16世紀由西班牙人帶到島上,從此自由自在地在島上馳騁和開枝散葉,至今已有逾150匹。如果你未能親自前往探望這些野馬,不妨翻閱攝影師Anouk Krantz出版的攝影集《Wild Horses of Cumberland Island》,欣賞牠們的英姿。

大嶼山澄碧邨

Gary Ng

寬敞的會所,還有直升機停機坪。現在這個偏處香港一隅的海濱住宅區大部分幾近荒廢,只剩少數人居住。

這個地方只能從鄰近的長洲乘搭私人渡輪前往,人跡罕至。我們委約本地攝影師Gary Ng以航拍攝影機拍攝澄碧邨的景色。

日本鳥取砂丘

Hero-Wild-Place-Tottori-Sand-Dunes-Japan-1
Sean Pavone/Alamy Stock Photo/Argusphoto

鳥取砂丘沿著日本本州的海岸綿延16公里,看上去有如置身非洲的撒哈拉沙漠,完全不會令人聯想到這裡是日本。這片沙漠位於鳥取縣鳥取市的海邊,距離大阪約三小時車程,面積是美國曼克頓的一半。這些砂丘有部分高逾50米,10多萬年前,來自日本中國山脈的泥沙加上火山灰被千代川帶到日本海,再沖到岸上,就形成了這一片壯觀的砂丘。

加納利群島Garajonay National Park 國家公園

Pixel 8 / Alamy / Argusphoto

想要見識真正的荒野,就要深入位於西班牙加納利群島的La Gomera島上的Garajonay National Park國家公園。島上的山峰將霧氣引進位於中央的El Cedro山谷,那裡有個常綠月桂雲霧森林,這片森林覆蓋了公園七成面積,有如托爾金式的幻想世界。問題是,要前往這裡,就得經一番長途跋涉,從隔鄰的Tenerife島乘坐渡輪才能抵達。

加拿大育空區

Horizons WWP / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

冰川一天的生活節奏是十分緩慢的。今天,你可能從一個月前的位置向前移動了一米左右。在加拿大西北部的育空區,Kaskawulsh Glacier冰川的移動速度更緩慢。這裡其實是由多條冰川匯聚而成,面積十分廣大,覆蓋面積逾25,000平方公里,因此冰塊要移動70公里,穿過St Elias Mountains山脈,到達冰川末端的河流,就要花上7,000年的時間。冰川的支流交匯處幾乎有六公里闊,冰川規模之大,可想而知。

斯洛文尼亞的Julian Alps

Janez-Martincic

這座建於Mount Kanin山崖邊的Kanin 
Winter Cabin小木屋,看上去驚險萬狀,是建築公司OFIS於斯洛文尼亞的Julian Alps山脈上建造的傑作,將山間住宿推向新境界。小木屋面積104平方呎,由鋁及木材建造,位處逾2,000米高的山上。這一帶遍佈山洞和深谷,經常飽受烈風、暴雨和大雪的蹂躪。然而千辛萬苦爬山來到小木屋,就可將斯洛文尼亞與意大利邊境之間的壯觀景色盡收眼底。小木屋目前正進行測試,如想預訂一個床位,最好先寫信通知OFIS。‭ ‬

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

World’s wildest places

Heed the call of the wild by seeking out these remote places where nature is at its most breathtaking

Second Beach, US

The northwest tip of the US is a diverse collection of glaciated mountains, towering Douglas fir forests and rugged coastlines. The contrasting landscapes of Washington state’s Olympic National Park draw adventurous types from across the US and daytrippers from nearby Seattle. Wild beaches – like Rialto and Second Beach – are among the most popular excursions, famed for their crumbling sea stacks shrouded in mist, with plenty of secluded coves, tide pools, driftwood and caves to explore.

Cathay Pacific launches flights to Seattle from Hong Kong on 31 March, 2019. 

Karkar Island, Papua New Guinea

Wild place, Karkar Island, Papua New Guinea
Chris Caldicott

Rows of coconut palms and morning clouds create a dramatic foreground to Mount Uluman, an active volcano on Karkar Island, 30 kilometres off the north coast of Papua New Guinea. Photographer Chris Caldicott snapped this scene from the bridge of Coral Discoverer, an expedition vessel chartered to sail among the little-visited archipelagoes scattered across the Coral, Solomon and Bismarck Seas between Australia and Papua New Guinea.

Bipeng Valley, China

Surrounded by snow-capped mountains, Bipeng Valley is an untamed area of natural beauty found 200 kilometres northwest of Chengdu. The U-shaped valley borders Mount Siguniang to the south, the highest peak in western China; the Tibetan Plateau to the west; and the giant panda corridors to the north. Adopting vivid characteristics for each of the four seasons, the valley has colourful alpine forests and waterfalls in the summer, with frozen lakes and vast glaciers in the winter. 

Rainbow Mountain, Peru

Wild place, Peru's Rainbow Mountain
Alexander Fuchs

Think of Vinicunca – Rainbow Mountain – as the product of a sort of vast open-air cement mixer. Tectonic plates beneath the Andes region of Peru heave up and down. Wind and rain oxidise exposed minerals. Goethite and limonite turn sandstone brown, iron sulphite adds a yellow hue, chlorite lends a shade of green. Hence Rainbow Mountain’s attraction to geologists; Peruvians, who worship the 5,200-metre edifice as the deity of Cusco, the nearest city; and an increasing number of trekkers who either make a day trip to fill their Instagram feeds, or include it as part of the 70-kilometre Ausangate circuit, rated as one of South America’s most challenging hikes.

Lake Toba, Indonesia

Lake Toba, Sumatra
Tumpal Hutagalung

Lake Toba is 100 kilometres long, up to 30 wide and 505 metres at its deepest. So ‘inland sea’ might be a better description.

It’s thought that the lake in North Sumatra, Indonesia, was created by the largest volcanic explosion in the past 25 million years, which spewed ash as far as Africa.

Around four hours’ drive from Medan, the lake is where you’ll also find the island of Samosir (which you can see in the distance), home to the local Batak people.

Cathay Dragon launches a three-times-weekly service to Medan

White Desert, Egypt

Wild place, Egypt, White desert
Stephen Belcher

These iceberg sculptures marooned in an ocean of sand are from Egypt’s White Desert national park, or Sahara el Beyda.

Located 600 kilometres southwest of Cairo, the desert’s chalky waves – which soar dozens of metres high – were once a continuous plateau of calcite.

But over millennia, the steady influence of sand and strong wind sculpted them into dunes and intriguing shapes resembling camels, chickens and mushrooms. Temperatures top 47°C in summer.

Shiprock Pinnacle, US

Samuel Hesketh
Samuel Hesketh

For the Navajo people, the land is rich in legends. Shiprock Pinnacle, the rust-red remains of a volcanic plume formed 30 million years ago, is known to locals as Tsé Bit’a’í – ‘the rock with wings’.

One legend says it’s because the jagged 482-metre-tall rock was once a giant bird that carried the Navajo to New Mexico before turning to stone; another tells of two monstrous birds who lived on the rock and occasionally swooped down to feast on the natives.

You can glimpse the outcrop if you drive west on Highway 64 towards the Four Corners – where Utah, Colorado, Arizona and New Mexico meet. 

Cirque de Mafate, Réunion Island

Landscape in Mafate Cirque, La Réunion
Simeon / Getty Images

Rising out of the Indian Ocean, east of Madagascar, Réunion Island is a continent and an ocean away from France – the country that put it on the map in the 17th century as a stopover on its East Indies trade routes.

Today, it’s a stopover for its natural beauty: white-sand beaches and wild landscapes like Cirque de Mafate. The only way in – or out – of this mountainous, rainforested caldera is via helicopter or trekking through its valleys, rivers and waterfalls.

County Galway, Ireland

Roundstone Bog
Janet Matthews

A rare habitat, the moody machair grasslands of western Ireland feel like a set of Game of Thrones. This raw landscape hugs the coastline, best known for Dog’s Bay and Gurteen Beach.

Just over the headland, travellers will find gin-clear waters and bleach-white sand, made of seashell fragments pummelled to powder by the mighty Atlantic Ocean.

Caddo Lake, US

Caddo Lake

Caddo Lake gave up its secrets long ago. Almost as quickly as pearls were discovered in the 1910s, the rush fizzled out.

It was the same for oil when greater reserves were discovered elsewhere in the Lone Star state.

But take a slow, floating trip down the tangled waterways of the 10,300-hectare lake on the Texas-Louisiana border, and you’ll see there’s still plenty of Southern Gothic mystery lurking among the hulking cypresses, silvery mosses and occasional flashes of alligator tails.

Orkney Islands, Scotland

Hero-Wild-Place-1
Theasis/Getty Images

Found on one of the Orkney Islands, a cluster of 70 rocky outcrops off Scotland’s northern coast, the Standing Stones of Stenness on Mainland are one of the oldest stone circles in the British Isles. The stones were left by Stone Age settlers, used for ceremonies more than 5,000 years ago; then by Vikings to worship Norse gods 4,000 years later. Two hundred years ago this month, the Orkneys achieved a different kind of fame in the novel Frankenstein. Author Mary Shelley sent her man-made creature to this lonely land in search of a wife.

Cathay Pacific flies to destinations in Scotland from Hong Kong with its partner airlines

Lake Eyre, Australia

shore line of Lake Eyre South, outback South Australia.
Excitations / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

Water is scarce in the Lake Eyre Basin. The lake, in the heart of South Australia, is the lowest point in the whole country – 15 metres below sea level. And while it spends the majority of the time as a dry, barren expanse covering more than one million hectares, on the rare occasions it floods it becomes the largest lake in Australia. A new book, Lake Eyre Basin Rivers, explores the basin, its rivers and the life it supports.

Cathay Pacific flies to Adelaide from Hong Kong five times a week

Mount Anne, Australia

Mount Anne, Tasmania, Australia
Tourism Tasmania

The South Coast Track was the route back to civilisation for 19th century sailors shipwrecked off Tasmania’s southern tip. Today the 85 kilometre bushwalk through Southwest National Park, Tasmania’s largest wilderness, is where hikers come to flee the modern world. You won’t find any lodges, luxury or otherwise (pack a tent). The reward: coastlines, ancient forests and lush mountains like Mount Anne; and weird and wild Tassie flora like these spiky, red-tinged pandani plants, only found on the island.

Hossa National Park, Finland

Aulanko, Finland
Teemu Tretjakov / EyeEm / Getty Images

Finland is sometimes called the Land of a Thousand Lakes, but it could easily be called the Land of a Thousand Forests: they cover almost 70 per cent of Europe’s least densely populated country. (A new national park, Hossa, was established to celebrate the country’s centenary.) In winter, its lakes and forests – like this one in Aulanko, in southern Finland’s Kanta-Häme region – turn into a frozen wilderness: pack your snowshoes.

Cumberland Island, US

Wild Horses in Cumberland Island, US
Anouk Krantz

If long walks through nature are your thing, you’ll love Cumberland Island, just off the coast of the US state of Georgia. You’ve got 28 kilometres of Atlantic-facing, white sand shoreline, ancient oak forests and abandoned historical sites to explore. And you’re more likely to bump into a wild horse than a person – they outnumber people four to one. Originally brought to the island by the Spanish in the 16th century, they’ve since been left to roam free (and reproduce: there are now more than 150). If you can’t visit them, pick up a copy of photographer Anouk Krantz’s book Wild Horses of Cumberland Island.

Sea Ranch, Hong Kong

Sea Ranch, Lantau island, Hong Kong
Gary Ng

At the end of the 1970s, Lantau Island’s Sea Ranch was a fantasy development complex with a helipad and a clubhouse; now it’s an (almost) abandoned beachside residence shut off from the rest of Hong Kong.

Only a handful of people call the development – accessible only by private boat from neighbouring Cheung Chau – home now. We commissioned local photographer Gary Ng to capture Sea Ranch by drone.

Tottori Sand Dunes, Japan

Tottori Sand Dunes Japan
Sean Pavone/Alamy Stock Photo/Argusphoto

Stretching 16 kilometres along the coast of Honshu, Japan’s main island, is a sight that’s definitely more Sahara than Shinjuku – the Tottori sand dunes. This desert, half the size of Manhattan, sits at the edge of Tottori prefecture, three hours from Osaka. The dunes, some more than 50 metres high, were created over 100,000 years ago by the build up of sediment and volcanic ash from the Chugoku Mountains carried down to the Sea of Japan by the Sendai River.

Garajonay National Park, Spain

La Gomera island Canary islands Spain
Pixel 8 / Alamy / Argusphoto

You’ll have to go deep into the Garajonay National Park, on the island of La Gomera in Spain’s Canary Islands, to find this wilderness. Here, the island’s peaks funnel mist into the central valley of El Cedro – the heart of the evergreen laurel cloud forest that covers 70 per cent of the park – creating a landscape straight out of a Tolkien fantasy. Only problem is, it’s a trek to get there – you need to take a ferry from neighbouring island Tenerife.

Kaskawulsh Glacier, Canada

Horizons WWP / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

A day in the life of a glacier is pretty slow. Today, you might be a metre or so ahead of where you were a month ago. Life is even slower in the Kaskawulsh Glacier, in northwest Canada’s Yukon.

It’s so large – the glaciers, plural, cover more than 25,000 square kilometres – that it takes up to 7,000 years for the ice to travel the 70 kilometres through the St Elias Mountains to the rivers at its end. For scale, this junction where the arms meet is almost six kilometres wide.

Julian Alps, Slovenia

Ofis Winter Cabin in Slovenia
Janez-Martincic

Perched precariously on Mount Kanin, in Slovenia’s Julian Alps, architectural firm OFIS’ Kanin Winter Cabin takes mountain accommodation to new extremes. And this is an extreme place: more than 2,000 metres high, dotted with caves, abysses and ravaged by extreme wind, rain and snowfall. Your reward for climbing through all that is the view across the Slovenian-Italian border from the snug 104-square-foot aluminium and timber cabin. The cabin is currently in its testing phase – so best to write to OFIS about snagging a bunk.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book