餐飲美食

世界美食:Mataichi海鹽

SHANE OSBORN為見識他最喜愛的鹽的來源,從香港飛1256哩往福岡

距離日本九州福岡市45分鐘路程以外,就是寬闊開揚的美麗海岸。兩年前我為了準備開設Arcane餐廳,前往那裡尋找Mataichi海鹽。

有兩個男子因為找不到合用的日本鹽,於是開設了Kobo Tottan採鹽工場。工場每10天把逾180,000公升的海水抽送到一個大型竹架內懸掛的乾竹葉上過濾。經過八天左右,竹架下的盤子就會收集到棕色的鹽水。接著將這些鹽水倒進大缸內,以松柴煮沸,直至出現粗、幼和大型三種鹽結晶。大型的鹽結晶大約有一個2港元硬幣般大,用作菜式做好後灑上的調味鹽。

採鹽工場的地點風景優美,但選擇這個地方的原因並非風景,而是因為九州Fukunoura漁港這一帶,是兩道水流交匯的地點。這裡有從立石山上流到海裡的泉水,含有豐富的礦物質,然後就是玄海的海水。你可以見到兩道水流之間清晰的分界線。由於這個地理環境,用這裡的海水製成的鹽充滿滋味無窮的礦物香味。

在Arcane餐廳我們會在烹調好的魚類菜式灑上這種Mataichi海鹽,鹽片有如雪花般薄,看來有點像鑽石。

Shane Osborn是香港中環Arcane餐廳的總廚

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

World’s best dishes: Mataichi-no-shio salt

SHANE OSBORN travels 1,256 miles from Hong Kong to Fukuoka to discover the source of his favourite salt

Forty-five minutes outside Fukuoka, on Japan’s Kyushu Island, is beautiful open coast. I went there two years ago, before we opened Arcane, to find Mataichi-no-shio salt.

The Kobo Tottan salt farm was set up by two guys who couldn’t find any proper Japanese salt. The salt is made by pumping seawater over dried bamboo grass hung within a huge bamboo frame. Over 180,000 litres of water are used every 10 days. After around eight days you get this salty brown liquid collecting in pans underneath. It’s then put into vats, cooked over cedar wood and boiled down until you get three types of salt crystals – fine, course and large. The large ones are about the size of a HK$2 coin. That’s used as finishing salt.

The location of the farm is beautiful.

The reason it’s in this bit of Kyushu is that at Fukunoura Gyoko two waters meet. You’ve got the water that washes down from Mount Tateishi, full of minerals, and then the Genkai Sea. There’s actually a line where you can see the two currents meeting. Thanks to this the salt has this incredible minerality: like an artwork.

We use this Mataichi-no-shio salt to finish the fish dishes at Arcane. The salt crystals are like snowflakes. They almost look like diamonds.

Shane Osborn is head chef at Arcane in Hong Kong’s Central district

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book