餐飲美食

世界美食:馬賽魚湯

MARC FORGIONE為一嚐獲得眾多明星歡心的法國鄉村魚湯的風味,從紐約飛行3,990哩前往Golfe-Juan 鎮

我與太太租了輛車,從尼斯出發,沿著海岸曲折的道路前往康城和昂蒂布,路旁所見,盡是美麗迷人的白色沙灘。

我之前曾在法國西南部的小鎮Eugénie-les-Bains工作過一年多,這個地方附近除了田野之外一無所有。但是蔚藍海岸就完全不同了,除了有一望無際的海洋和散發地中海風情的海灘之外,還有美味的馬賽魚湯。

身為廚師,我往往由食物來決定自己旅行的目的地。在Golfe-Juan這個小鎮裡,有一間樸實的家庭式經營小餐館,名叫Tetou(3月至10月營業),位置就在康城東面的海灘旁。不過Tetou的馬賽魚湯卻是遠近馳名,風味與這道湯的發源地馬賽完全不同,我決定前往一嚐滋味。

魚湯上桌的方式亦與別處有點不同:首先送來的是清澈但魚香濃郁的清湯,盛在一隻巨型蓋碗內。然後就是魚,有海魴、紅衫魚、鮋魚、多寶魚(如果肯多付點錢還可以有海螯蝦)等,全都是整條放進鍋內熬成湯後,再放在大淺盤上送到桌上,侍應在你面前將魚肉剔出。這家餐館自1920年代開業以來,一直以這種方式為客人奉上馬賽魚湯。

Tetou這道馬賽魚湯招徠不少名人顧客,尤其是附近的康城舉行影展時,更是星光熠熠。我們選擇這家餐館時,沒料到它的價錢如此昂貴,而且只收現金。於是我們在點菜時要作一個決定:要一瓶葡萄酒還是要海螯蝦呢?我選了海螯蝦,令我太太大失所望。記住,一定要選海螯蝦。

Marc Forgione是名廚,也是紐約三家餐廳Marc Forgione、American Cut及Lobster Press的東主。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

World’s Best Dishes: Bouillabaisse

Marc Forgione travels 3,990 miles from New York to Golfe Juan to discover a rustic French stew that’s found an audience with the stars

Editor’s Note: Tetou restaurant closed in 2018

In Nice, my wife and I rented a car and drove through Cannes, Antibes, along winding coastal roads and beside perfect white sand beaches.

I’d previously spent a year and a bit working in France, in Eugénie-les-Bains. It’s a tiny village in the southwest, with nothing around it but fields. The French Riviera is the opposite: it has wide-open ocean, Mediterranean beaches – and bouillabaisse.

As a chef, I let food dictate a lot of where I like to travel. In the town of Golfe-Juan, there’s a small restaurant called Tetou (open March-October). It’s a simple, family-run place, in a rustic building by the beach, just east of Cannes. But Tetou’s bouillabaisse is legendary, and quite different from what you get in Marseille, the dish’s spiritual home. I knew we had to go.

It’s served a bit differently. First, the broth, clear but packed with flavour from the various fish cooked in it, is served in a massive tureen. Then the fish – John Dory, red mullet, rascasse, turbot (and langoustines if you pay more), all cooked whole in the broth – is brought out on a huge platter, and filleted at the table for you. This is how they’ve served it since they opened in the 1920s.

Tetou and its bouillabaisse draw a notable crowd, including plenty of actors during the film festival in nearby Cannes. We picked the restaurant without knowing it was so expensive – and that it was cash only. So we had to make a decision: order a bottle of wine or the langoustines? To my wife’s dismay, I chose the langoustines. Always choose the langoustines.

Marc Forgione is a chef and owner of New York restaurants Marc Forgione, American Cut and Lobster Press.