都市生活

建造全新的香港市中心區

隨著鰂魚涌新地標快將落成,Mark Jones探討這個舊工業區如何改頭換面

從未見識過建築物的平頂儀式嗎?不過,只要在香港住上一段日子,就很有機會可以一開眼界,目睹這個城市的天際線再添一座摩天大樓。

香港擁有的摩天大廈,數目冠絕全球,就連摩天大廈的發源地紐約亦只能屈居第二,紐約有257幢高逾150米的大廈,比香港還少60幢。隨著位於鰂魚涌、樓高220米合共48層的全新太古坊一座於日前平頂,雙方的差距更變成61幢。 毗鄰的康橋大廈於2003年落成,是本雜誌的大本營。

這幢辦公大樓矗立於海港和馬路對面的大潭郊野公園之間,很少機構能有我們這種優越的地理位置:從我們位於17樓的辦公室往窗外眺望,老鷹翱翔於亞熱帶叢林上空,彷彿在一片碧波中揚帆前進。

同樣的一扇窗,亦能讓人回望香港歷史的光輝一頁。 除了對離地220米的高度感到驚詫之外,若站在1880年代的太古坊一座所在地,還可看見當時正冒起的工業:製糖業。40年後,由John Swire & Sons經營的太古糖廠業務蒸蒸日上,成為全球規模最大的製糖企業。太古糖廠不只是一間工廠,公司與相連的太古船塢均設有員工宿舍、游泳池和供員工子女就讀的學校。山上還設有療養院,並附設專用吊車供員工往返。

1960年代,香港經濟起飛,隨著太古糖業改為進口業務,糖廠於1972年功成身退,成為歷史陳跡後,更被迅速拆卸。新一代香港人需要居所,於是催生了龐大的太古城發展項目,令港島東逐漸由工業區變成住宅區。

太古集團(也是國泰航空的母公司)需要為鰂魚涌策劃未來的新路向。鰂魚涌位於大部分城市都視之為黃金地段的海傍,不過香港並不缺乏海傍地段。鰂魚涌距離中環雖不足十公里,但由於以往是個工業區,許多人覺得這是個偏遠的地點;除了專門替辦公室尋找新地點搬遷的專家之外,一般人對這個地方興趣缺缺。

在日前吸引傳媒聚首一堂的平頂儀式上,鰂魚涌的發展藍圖終於清晰展現:這一區無意成為中環的附屬品,而是在中環以外提供另一個選擇,兩者分庭抗禮。

這個願景顯然深受企業租戶歡迎。不過,這個昔日由太古一手經營出來的小社區,能否於2018年吸引上班族於下班後和周末繼續逗留其中?

「混合用途」是城市規劃專家的潮語。因此除了辦公大樓之外,鰂魚涌還有住宅和服務式公寓、東隅酒店、港島區其中一個最大的商場、糖廠街市集、高級私人會所The Refinery(這個名字充滿了向歷史致敬的意味)、共享工作空間Blueprint、海濱長廊、健身室、展覽與表演場地ArtisTree,還有數百家餐廳,從深藏小巷內的麵店到高級日式料理與西餐廳等,應有盡有。

無論於殖民時代或回歸後,政府向來都不是社群發展的推手。創造昔日經濟奇蹟的政策,是徹頭徹尾的「自由放任」,即一切交由私營機構代勞。鰂魚涌的故事正是香港的縮影,但發展商於2018年面對的壓力,與1880年或1970年不可同日而語:除了建設物業,還得建立新社群。引用城市規劃幾個時髦術語,這一切都關乎「營造和保留空間」,還有現代發展商的終極潮語「可持續發展」,即創造綠色空間,並應用最先進的環保科技。畢竟,最重要的目標,是創造超越公司商標和名字的身分認同。

鰂魚涌五大好去處

Shiro 白鮨

這家高級日式壽司吧供應簡便快捷的壽司套餐和便當,滿足上班族的午膳需求。白鮨的鰂魚涌分店位於太古坊林肯大廈,室內空間設計高雅,另有一家分店位於金鐘太古廣場。

shiro-sushi.com

Sugar

這家精緻的天台酒吧,位於取名貼切的東隅酒店,既可在這裡品嚐精心調製的雞尾酒,同時將九龍和港島東的風光盡收眼底,是欣賞日落的理想去處。

east-hongkong.com

Espresso Alchemy

這家位於海灣街的小店,供應鰂魚涌最美味的咖啡和優質午市套餐,亦出售店家使用的意大利咖啡,不妨買一袋回家自行沖調。

alchemycoffee.net

Quarry Bay Park 鰂魚涌公園

這個公園多為區內人士所熟悉,設有網球場、籃球場和足球場,還有涼風送爽的海邊長廊,可眺望維多利亞港。公園亦是通往西灣河Soho East的捷徑,那裡匯聚不少酒吧、餐廳和咖啡室,亦是消閒好去處。

lcsd.gov.hk/en/parks/qbp

Public

位於摩天大樓港島東中心37樓的餐廳Public,除了有多種亞洲和西式美食可供選擇,還坐擁落地玻璃窗外的開揚景致,有別於一般的食肆。

taikooplace.com/en/amenities/Dining/PUBLIC.aspx

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Urban life

The creation of Hong Kong’s new downtown

As Quarry Bay’s latest landmark tops out, MARK JONES looks at how a former industrial neighbourhood is changing its image

Never been to a topping out ceremony? Hang around in Hong Kong long enough there’s a good chance you will as yet another tower gets added to the skyline.

Hong Kong has more skyscrapers than any other city. New York has long been relegated to second place: its 257 tall (more than 150 metres) buildings are 60 short of Hong Kong’s total. Make that 61: the new 220-metre, 48-storey One Taikoo Place has just been topped out in Quarry Bay.

This website and its magazine is produced in neighbouring Cambridge House, which itself topped out in 2003. We are sandwiched between the harbour and the Tai Tam Country Park over the road. Few of us have ever known a corporate topography to rival it. From our 17th floor windows, black kites float above a sub-tropical forest: it feels like sailing though a sea of green.

But those windows also look back over a fascinating chapter in Hong Kong’s history.

One Taikoo Place

An observer from the site of One Taikoo Place in the 1880s – as well as being surprised at being suspended 220 metres in the sky – would have seen the dawn of a new industry: sugar refining. At its height 40 years later, the Taikoo Sugar Refinery, run by John Swire & Sons, was the largest in the world. It was also more than a factory. Workers from Taikoo Sugar and the adjacent Taikoo Dockyard lived in company houses, went to company schools and swam in company swimming pools. There was a company sanatorium in the hills and a company cable car to take them there.

The refinery closed its gates for the last time in 1972 as the Taikoo Sugar brand switched to importing. The factory became a relic of a past that was rapidly being wiped clean by Hong Kong’s 1960s economic boom. The new Hongkongers needed apartments: and soon the sprawling Taikoo Shing development began to turn the eastern part of Hong Kong Island from industrial to residential.

Taikoo Sugar Refinery

Swire (also parent company of Cathay Pacific) needed to devise a new future for Quarry Bay. It occupies what in most cities would be a prime bayside spot. But Hong Kong has lots of bayside: Central might be fewer than 10 kilometres away, but for much of its history it might as well have been 100 for all the interest it attracted from anyone other than office relocation experts.

As the media gathered for that latest topping out, it was finally clear what the blueprint was: not to be an adjunct of Central, but an alternative – decentralisation, as it’s been dubbed since.

That vision clearly works for the 
corporate tenants. But can this former company town keep 2018 workers here after 7pm and on weekends?

Tong Chong Street Market

The urban planners’ buzzword is ‘mixed-use’. So as well as office towers you get flats and serviced apartments, a hotel (EAST), one of the island’s biggest shopping malls, a street food market (Tong Chong Street Market), a private members’ club (called, in a nod to the past, The Refinery), a co-working space (Blueprint), harbourside walkways, gyms, an exhibition and performance venue (ArtisTree) – and hundreds of restaurants, from hole-in-the-wall noodle joints to high-end Japanese and Western restaurants.

Whether during the colonial days or post-1997, making communities has not been seen as the job of the civic authorities. The policies that created that economic miracle were unequivocally laissez-faire: let the private sector do it, or it won’t be done at all. So Quarry Bay’s is a very Hong Kong story. But the pressure on developers in 2018 is different to 1880 or 1970: not just to build, but to build new communities. It’s about placemaking and placekeeping, to borrow a couple of vogue words from the urban planning dictionary. Add the über-buzzword for the modern developer, ‘sustainability’, which involves creating green spaces and deploying the latest green tech. Above all, it’s about creating a sense of identity that goes beyond the logo and letterhead.

Quarry Bay’s best five spots

Shiro

This premium Japanese sushi bar (also with a Pacific Place location) ticks all the work lunch boxes: quick sushi sets and bento boxes, served in an elegant space in Lincoln House.
shiro-sushi.com

Sugar

Panoramic views across Kowloon and eastern Hong Kong (come for the sunset) mix with upscale cocktails at this rooftop bar of Quarry Bay’s boutique bolthole, the appropriately named EAST hotel.

east-hongkong.com

Espresso Alchemy

Quarry Bay’s best coffee is from this tiny shop on Hoi Wan Street. It does a great set lunch and also sells bags of its Italian coffee to take away.
alchemycoffee.net

Quarry Bay Park

This park, known mostly to locals, has tennis and basketball courts, football pitches and a breezy promenade overlooking Victoria Harbour – plus it’s a great shortcut to Soho East, the collection of neighbourhood pubs, restaurants and cafes in Sai Wan Ho.

lcsd.gov.hk/en/parks/qbp

Public

On the 37th floor of skyscraper One Island East is Public – a restaurant with both Asian and Western choices that’s amplified above the usual offering with epic views from the floor-to-ceiling windows.

taikooplace.com/en/amenities/Dining/PUBLIC.aspx

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book