頂級酒店

全球最佳的非洲草原旅館

非洲草原上的經典旅館進行大變身。撰文 PETER BROWNE

在草原上觀看野生動物是令人嚮往的體驗,夜幕下在簡陋的帳篷裡度宿,亦自有一番野趣。但每當要在晨光熹微時捨棄溫暖的被窩,在顛簸的路上僕僕風塵,難免使人吃不消。因此,非洲草原上出現了好些高級旅館,提供舒適的大床、設備齊全的浴室、優秀的導遊與令人食指大動的佳餚,吸引不少旅客入住。但隨著歲月的洗禮,即使是非洲歷史悠久的名牌高級旅館,也開始顯得殘舊了。所以,就像非洲草原會由枯黃變成翠綠一樣,當地部分旅館亦同樣改頭換面,變得裡裡外外皆煥然一新。

歡迎光臨新一代的超級豪華草原旅館,以全新方式享受典型的野外之旅。

Chris Bennett / Aurora Photos / Getty Images

南非SINGITA SWENI旅館及LEBOMBO旅館

這兩幢外貌大異其趣的旅館毗鄰而建,坐落在南非Kruger National Park國家公園共13,350公頃的私人土地上。旅館於2001年開業,在當時已因設計新穎而一鳴驚人,尤其是Lebombo亮白的都會格調,跟當時盛行的傳統風格背道而馳。旅館近日由原來擔任設計的Cecile & Boyd室內設計事務所重新設計裝潢,經過翻新後仍不改前衛的簡約本色,並且增設了圖書館、多媒體室和型格泳池。此外,兩間旅館更禮聘了南非極具創意的名廚Liam Tomlin坐鎮,為住客烹調創意佳餚。建於河畔的Sweni旅館環境清幽,周圍有相思樹、非洲烏木和riverthorn灌木叢環抱,翻新後以深淺不一的自然色調為主,再以五彩繽紛的顏色陪襯;旅館設有寬敞的露天陽台,令住客充分享受戶外環境。新增的兩個家庭套房,位於兩幢旅館中間,可合併成一幢四房豪華別墅,與擁有13間套房的Lebombo和六間套房的Sweni互通,組成一個更勝從前的度假天堂。

singita.com/lodge/singita-lebombo-lodge

singita.com/lodge/sweni-lodge

Singita Sweni Lodge

津巴布韋BUMI HILLS SAFARI LODGE旅館

Dook Photo

Bumi Hills Safari Lodge旅館以石材建造,擁有十間客房,前臨Lake Kariba湖的壯闊湖景;1970年代是旅館的全盛時期,後來因日久失修,最終難免結業的命運。現在,經由野外住宿專家Fox Browne Creative設計事務所翻修後,捲土重來。旅館採用當地土產工藝品、津巴布韋最馳名的各式藤器及原木手工家具等作裝潢,氣象一新。旅館現由African Bush Camps管理,這家機構的老闆是甚具個人魅力的Beks Ndlovu。這位土生土長的津巴布韋企業家原為草原導賞團的導遊,現在則於非洲南部的荒野經營多家迷人的旅館和營地。LakeKariba湖是非洲一個景色非常優美的野外地區,是1960年代在Zambezi River河下游的維多利亞瀑布興建水壩而形成的內陸湖。旅館於去年重開,為這一區的旅客提供舒適的住宿,讓他們可以盡情投入釣魚和觀賞野生動物(區內有大量獅子、大象和水牛出沒)等活動,或倘佯於無邊際泳池旁,欣賞醉人湖景。

africanbushcamps.com/camps-safaris/zimbabwe/bumi-hills

Dook Photo

博茨瓦納MOMBO旅館

Crookes And Jackson

這間由南非野外生態旅遊社WildernessSafaris經營的旗艦旅館,抱持永續生態的願景,佔地45,000公頃,開業近30年,位於奧卡萬戈三角洲中央的Chief’sIsland島上一幅私人土地內,這一帶以保護瀕危的犀牛而聞名。Mombo及其別館 Little Mombo於去年經全面翻新後重開,工程由南非建築師Nick Plewman及Artichoke室內設計事務所攜手主理。九間形如帳篷的寬敞套房全部擁有私人泳池,室內裝潢時尚典雅,飾以懷舊的黃銅和皮革,同時配備iPad平板電腦,為住客提供各種詳盡的資訊。旅館部分舊有的地板及走廊建材,經升級再造後用於翻新工程中,象徵旅館承先啟後,繼續藉優秀的服務保持在業內的崇高地位。

wilderness-safaris.com/our-camps/camps/mombo-camp

Crookes And Jackson

肯尼亞ANDBEYOND BATELEUR CAMP旅館

Dook Photo

這家精緻的旅舍位於馬賽馬拉國家保護區旁一塊向當地社群租用的土地上,開業至今已有16年。跟同業老大哥Kichwa Tembo旅館一樣,因毗鄰Mara Triangle三角洲而聞名,因為這一帶位於保護區南面,向來遊人稀少,可以從容暢遊。旅舍分為兩個營地,各有九間形如帳篷的客房。經翻新後引入豪華玻璃浴室及獨立紅銅浴缸,並在兩邊營地分別增設無邊際泳池。旅舍更附設一個全新的水療中心和氈酒吧。Fox Browne Creative設計事務所負責翻新工程,利用古董和獨一無二的懷舊家具延續原設計的經典風格;而舊皮箱和銀器等裝飾元素則經營出優雅的氛圍。暮色四合時,住客可在營火旁仰望星空,細聽從平原遠方傳來的獅吼,體驗真正的東非風味。

andbeyond.com/our-lodges/africa/kenya/masai-mara-national-park/andbeyond-bateleur-camp

Dook Photo

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Top hotels

Wild luxury: 4 of Africa’s finest safari lodges

The classic African safari lodge has had a makeover. By PETER BROWNE

Going on safari proves there is happiness to be had in simple tents set on open savannah. But all those dawn wake-up calls and early-morning game drives can take their toll. Which is where the comfort of Africa’s finest safari lodges – all with great beds, proper bathrooms, quality guides and tempting cuisine – come into their own.

African Safari, Elephant crossing dirt road, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Chris Bennett / Aurora Photos / Getty Images

But times change and even the grande dames of the African bush, some of which have been around for decades, can begin to look a little frayed around the edges. Which is why, just as the African landscape is transformed by the seasons, from dry and brittle to fresh and green, some of its most magnificent lodges are being treated to a facelift.

Welcome to the new breed of radically redefined classic safari camps.

Singita Sweni & Lebombo, South Africa

Singita Lebombo Lodge

These non-identical twin lodges, set on a 13,350-hectare private concession in South Africa’s Kruger National Park, first opened in 2001. Even then they set a new standard for design, with Lebombo in particular flying in the face of convention with its bright-white urban edges and attitude. The revitalised version is just as trailblazing, now sporting a minimalist new look by its original creators, Cecile & Boyd; a new library; multimedia room; and slick lap pool. In addition, one of South Africa’s most innovative chefs, Liam Tomlin, has been brought onboard to create the menus at both lodges. Sweni, built on a quiet riverbank shaded by acacia, jackalberry and river thorns, has been revamped in rich, neutral shades with flashes of iridescent colour and enhanced with expansive outdoor terraces. The addition of two new family suites (they can be taken together as a grand, four-bedroom villa) positioned between the two lodges serves to link the 13-suite Lebombo and six-suite Sweni.

singita.com/lodge/singita-lebombo-lodge

singita.com/lodge/sweni-lodge

Singita Sweni Lodge, African safari

Bumi Hills Safari Lodge, Zimbabwe

Bumi Hills, African safari
Dook Photo

A 10-bedroom stone lodge with stunning views over Lake Kariba, Bumi Hills had its heyday in the 1970s before falling into disrepair and eventually closing. Now it’s back, completely refurbished and brought up to date by safari camp specialists Fox Browne Creative, using locally sourced art and basketware (a Zimbabwean speciality) and raw timber furniture. The lodge is now managed by African Bush Camps, owned by the charismatic Zimbabwean Beks Ndlovu, who originally trained as a safari guide and now owns charming lodges and camps in remote parts of southern Africa. Lake Kariba is one of Africa’s most beautiful wilderness areas, an inland sea formed in the 1960s with the damming of the great Zambezi river downstream from Victoria Falls. The hotel’s relaunch last year means the region is once again blessed with a comfortable base for fishing, excellent game viewing (lion, elephant and buffalo are plentiful), or just lying by the lodge’s new infinity pool enjoying those amazing lake views.

africanbushcamps.com/camps-safaris/zimbabwe/bumi-hills

Bumi Hills, hotel trends
Dook Photo

Mombo, Botswana 

The firepit, Mombo, Botswana, african safari
Crookes And Jackson

Mombo is the flagship property of Wilderness Safaris, a sustainable safari outfit based in South Africa. The lodge opened almost 30 years ago and overlooks 45,000 hectares of private land on Chief’s Island in the Okavango Delta, known as a safe haven for endangered rhino. Mombo and its satellite camp, Little Mombo, reopened last year after a complete overhaul by South African architect Nick Plewman and interior designers Artichoke. Each of the nine enormous tented suites has a private plunge pool, while classic and contemporary elements have been combined with vintage brass and leather and the introduction of information-loaded iPads. Some of the old flooring and walkways have been upcycled into the new-build, an example of the continuity and consistency that’s kept this lodge at the very top of the game.

wilderness-safaris.com/our-camps/camps/mombo-camp

MOMBO, BOTSWANA , african safari
Crookes And Jackson

Andbeyond Bateleur Camp, Kenya

andBeyond, African safari
Dook Photo

Built on land leased from communities on the edge of the Masai Mara National Reserve, this handsome lodge first opened 16 years ago. Together with big brother Kichwa Tembo, it’s known for its location adjoining the Mara Triangle, the least-visited southern section of the reserve. The 18-tent lodge is split into two camps with nine rooms each. The recent redesign has introduced new glass-encased bathrooms (with standalone copper baths) and an infinity pool for each camp. There is also a new spa and a gin bar. The designers at Fox Browne Creative have kept the look enduring and elegant with antiques and one-off vintage pieces such as old leather trunks and silverware. Evenings are spent as they should be in East Africa: stargazing around the camp-fire listening to lions roar across the open plains.

andbeyond.com/our-lodges/africa/kenya/masai-mara-national-park/andbeyond-bateleur-camp

hotel trends, African safari
Dook Photo

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book